Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Which Irish person has the most grating voice?

• 20-03-2019 8:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Is it Deirdre O'Kane or PJ Gallagher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Rule Nugent.
    Keith Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Brian O'Driscoll, definition of grating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Joan Burton, Mary Lou, chris o'donoghue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I haven’t heard the whole populations yet. I’ll get back to you when I do with a definitive answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

Has to be Ryle Nugent, although some of the fake D4 ones are up there with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I haven’t heard the whole populations yet. I’ll get back to you when I do with a definitive answer.

I hadn't either but if there's anyone worse than the aforementioned duo, or George Hook or Miriam O Callaghan then I'll be shocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Kaaaatie Taaaaylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭daheff

katie taylor

• Subscribers Posts: 41,836 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Who's that eejit who presents DWTS??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭Reati

deise08 wrote: »
    Keith Barry.

Without a ****ing doubt! I switch off anything he comes on. I don't know what accent that's meant to be but it's offensive :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Joan Burton, sounds like a drunk cat having a stroke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭billyhead

Eoghan McDermott.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

Rachel Allen, hands down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,722 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The judge on Dancing With The Staff who sounds like he’s smoked 80 Players a day since the age of 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭furiousox

The ones that soften their d's and pronounce water as "wadder" and british as "briddish" etc.

CPL 593H

Ankhyu wrote: »
    Rachel Allen, hands down

She has somehow invented her own vowels.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Tommie (I just realised that was spelled with a 'ie') Gorman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The judge on Dancing With The Staff who sounds like he’s smoked 80 Players a day since the age of 4

Julien has cystic fibrosis and hence his raspy voice . He has been very ill at times

Neven Maquire , he owns a rest runt so he does

Conor Mc Gregor, if his accent is real.

Graeme Mc Dowell, see above.

Oh and before anyone says it, Brian Kerr has the voice of an angel and I'll hear no different. The man is a treasure and should be Taoiseach.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

Not Irish, but they plays an Irish man in their roles.
    Tom Cruise in "far and away" and yer main Iain Glen who plays "Jack Taylor".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Deirdre O Kane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,384 ✭✭✭facehugger99

MLD, Luke 'Ming' Flanagan and that American one on Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Yer one who speaks, while you’re on hold to bank of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Mary Lou "we the party" McDonald.

800 years of oppression to create that voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Martin Brennan from Sligo

• Subscribers Posts: 41,836 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

MLD, Luke 'Ming' Flanagan and that American one on Today FM.

Canadian ...

Gerry Adams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭fishy_fishy

Well thats easy. Joan Burton.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Katie Taylor.

Father Fitzgerald. He has an awful dreary monotonous voice, God help him . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Dave Fanning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's either Joan Burton or Katie Taylor I can't decide - I think we should make them fight and the looser gets the title.

Win / Win

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Iamlegend24

Mrs Doyle, cant think of her real name...Deirdre O'kane...motor tax phone waiting woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭Esse85

Philip Boucher-Hayes, absolutely painful.

Saoirse Ronan, yer Carlow wan from Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Mary Lou "we the party" McDonald.

800 years of oppression to create that voice.

Her voice is actually getting worse as she is getting older. It’s very very difficult to listen to her, especially when she thinks she is being smart, and puts on that condescending tone where she slows down slightly and almost sneers out what she is tying to say.

Speaking of SF, that Eoin Ó Broin also has a very annoying voice. What is it about SF, privately educated toffs from South Dublin, and being lectured about fantasy economics that is so annoying??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭markc1184

Lottie Ryan.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Yer one who speaks, while you’re on hold to bank of Ireland.

What about that absolute "we're backing brave" bint from the AIB ads. Sounded like she was a nanosecond away from crying.

Her voice is actually getting worse as she is getting older. It’s very very difficult to listen to her, especially when she thinks she is being smart, and puts on that condescending tone where she slows down slightly and almost sneers out what she is tying to say.

Speaking of SF, that Eoin Ó Broin also has a very annoying voice. What is it about SF, privately educated toffs from South Dublin, and being lectured about fantasy economics that is so annoying??

A thinly-disguised homage to the Shinners. Where does Shane Ross live?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

A thinly-disguised homage to the Shinners. Where does Shane Ross live?

What’s your point my friend?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Has to be Nugent. Some posh accents sound okay on girls(depending how posh) but on a man it sounds so stupid. He sounds like a 3rd year in Muckross

What’s your point my friend?

You mention 'toffs', I present thee a plum candidate.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Skyfloater

Before we get the inevitable list anyone who has ever uttered a word on air from RTE, I propose the entire staff of RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

George Hook.

Like listening to a rusty concrete mixer with a few shovelfuls of gravel fcuked into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Geimhreadh

****ing Ben Dunne and he's ****ing ads for he's ****ing gyms.

Sounds like he's chewing a steak and about to have a heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Any one from the countryside in Laois.

Heard that accent for the first time the other week and thought the we’re takin the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Jennifer Maguire
    Deirdre O'Kane
    Brian Kerr
    Vogue Williams
    Eoghan McDermot
    Mick McCarthy

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Geimhreadh

XsApollo wrote: »
    Any one from the countryside in Laois.

Heard that accent for the first time the other week and thought the we’re takin the piss.

Sur it's like we're singing fine song when we speak.

Anytime I take a phone call from some down home the Dubs in office think I m speaking tongues

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Senator David Norris
    Hotelier Francis Brennan