Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards Beers 27th July

• 22-07-2019 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

Only re-regged this evening and she's already starting threads about Boards beers. Notions!

Anyone attended one in the past? How were they organised? Anyone up for it? QUESTIONS!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

kikilarue2 wrote: »
    Only re-regged this evening and she's already starting threads about Boards beers. Notions!

Anyone attended one in the past? How were they organised? Anyone up for it? QUESTIONS!

Can only imagine how tragic they were especially back in the early 2005 to 2010 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

No matter how many people act all excited and keep mentioning how much they wanna go ten people max turn up and half of them leave within an hour or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

No matter how many people act all excited and keep mentioning how much they wanna go ten people max turn up and half of them leave within an hour or two.

Maybe it should be a Boards brunch then? That'd suit that size of a crowd with no expectation of a big night out!

I think some people are less likely to meet up with ''internet strangers'' these days.

Personally ive no issue with it i was at a beers on here before and have met plenty of people from online things in the past i just think people are a lot more fussy about this stuff these days.

Theres way to much thinking evolved! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

I think some people are less likely to meet up with ''internet strangers'' these days.

You are probably right...but same people scour tinder looking for the ride all the same

Beerz sounds good though....except.i dont live in dublin

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I would be up for this...but I’ll be having a couple of non-alcoholic beers and soda waters with lime.

I want to see some of yis in person for the first time! :D:cool:

_blaaz wrote: »
    You are probably right...but same people scour tinder looking for the ride all the same

Beerz sounds good though....except.i dont live in dublin

Looking for a ride and having to sit drink and make conversation with someone is fairly different :P

I actually think these types of things can be a really good laugh as u always end up meeting new people and having random nights.

The very worst type of meet ups are the ones in which a big section of the group are all ''friends'' and keep bringing up all these little story's and insider jokes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Best boards beers I ever went to ended up going on for three days, thankfully the people who hosted it were very chill about it! But that was one from one of the more specialised forums, I went to another few off more generalised location-based forums and there was some amount of awkwardness, good god. Still talk to some of the people from the three day one and one of the people I don't talk to is because we ended up going out together for several years :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

The very worst type of meet ups are the ones in which a big section of the group are all ''friends'' and keep bringing up all these little story's and insider jokes!

I remember going on a stag and 1st day was like that....kinda felt i was intruding tbh....but by end everyone got on great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,635 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Went to a few back in the Boards glory days, circa 8-10 years ago, they were always pretty good craic. About 20% of the people allegedly mad keen to go actually turning up on the night was a defining feature, but there was usually enough in attendance to make them a good night.

It does make a bit nostalgic for when Boards was a bit of a community, as well as a place for people to complain on the Internet, but the time has probably passed for them now. The average age of people here is older and I think people were a lot more into Boards back then.

Best boards beers I ever went to ended up going on for three days, thankfully the people who hosted it were very chill about it! But that was one from one of the more specialised forums, I went to another few off more generalised location-based forums and there was some amount of awkwardness, good god. Still talk to some of the people from the three day one and one of the people I don't talk to is because we ended up going out together for several years :eek:

Serious question: did ye all ride each other?

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I would be up for this...but I’ll be having a couple of non-alcoholic beers and soda waters with lime.

I want to see some of yis in person for the first time! :D:cool:

Thats one of the more interesting parts of meet ups is putting a face to a username.

Ive no idea what half of the people on here think i look like to be honest. Ive never really taught about what many here look like though as its usually nothing how u imagine based on how a person posts.

Personally ive no issue with it i was at a beers on here before and have met plenty of people from online things in the past i just think people are a lot more fussy about this stuff these days.

Theres way to much thinking evolved! :pac:

I actually don't know about this - GirlCrew and MeetUp have made it a lot more normal to meet strangers off the internet for a group activity, no?

I dont really know how those places work as ive never been part of them to be honest so i cant comment on them.

I imagine one there main features is to meet people and make friends etc though ?

Boards.... ive no idea anymore what the goal on here is :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Boards beers sounds good. Can we have it in this place?link

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Anyone up for it?
    newp but knock yourself out :)

No.

Ballyheigue so? We can have a few cans in the dunes after the pub closes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭hankless

I imagine this would be as fun as a Young Fianna Gael meeting

Serious question: did ye all ride each other?

There was a bit of it I think, I was mostly just getting locked! No orgies or anything but definitely a sexual buzz at times. As I said it was off one of the more specialised, smaller forums where we'd all been chatting a good bit beforehand, also the hosts ended up just kind of folded it into a nice big hippie party that was going on too.

Most awkward thing was remembering not to call each other by our screen names in front of the other people who were there.

There was definitely some streaking down a country boreen in the small hours.

Man that was a good party.

Ballyheigue so? We can have a few cans in the dunes after the pub closes.

Can you put somewhere between 8 and 50 boardsies up for the night?

hankless wrote: »

Maybe now with all the political correct carry on but 10 years ago they were good craic. You'd find the odd dhrip turning up alright but they were a rarity. The only way to find out really is to try it

Can you put somewhere between 8 and 50 boardsies up for the night?

Possibly. Do they need to have much free space around them?

Maybe now with all the political correct carry on but 10 years ago they were good craic. You'd find the odd dhrip turning up alright but they were a rarity. The only way to find out really is to try it

The vast majority of people wont act the same in person as they do on here or anywhere else on online sure!

Which is why it almost works better sometimes if you dont know what there username is!

hankless wrote: »

I'd say the Resident's bar at an Ard Fheis gets pretty feisty :)

The vast majority of people wont act the same in person as they do on here or anywhere else on online sure!

Which is why it almost works better sometimes if you dont know what there username is!

People are exactly 9 times meaner online than in real life

I think its the added safety of being hidden away more then anything.

I normally get on really well with most people i meet from online stuff. The actual interactions with people online can turn out very differently though which is funny considering im the same person on here as out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

What's this about me? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Could do something other than a beers? Like a games night or a stroll or somesuch? There can still be beer of course, for those who need it for social lubricant..

Lord save us and guard us. 2 pages and the thread already dead. Clearly no appetite for boards beers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

From my memory of them even though After Hours was nearly always the highest traffic forum the AH beers had the lowest attendance by a good margin. Maybe because of the generalist subject matter there's less of a community? The biggest beers were from more community shared interest type forums.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Went to one years ago, it was actually great craic. There's was always a decent turnout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,149 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

It would just turn into a vigilante marauding mob. Turfing scumbags out of council houses, shaking down dole scroungers with the audacity to drink, killing people on suspended sentences, torching halting sites, deporting junkies, showing immigrants the boat and not making insurance claims!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

It would just turn into a vigilante marauding mob. Turfing scumbags out of council houses, shaking down dole scroungers with the audacity to drink, killing people on suspended sentences, torching halting sites, deporting junkies, showing immigrants the boat and not making insurance claims!
    No it wouldn't it would just be a load us giving out about those things, not doing anything about them, drinking lots and then going to home to masturbate while crying.

Or to put it another way, a standard night out for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Sounds like a top class night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭De Bhál

is there a date set for this?

I can't do Wednesday evenings

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Wibbs wrote: »
    From my memory of them even though After Hours was nearly always the highest traffic forum the AH beers had the lowest attendance by a good margin. Maybe because of the generalist subject matter there's less of a community? The biggest beers were from more community shared interest type forums.

Aye, would agree with you there Wibbs. Been to 3 meetups with the Forum Games crew myself, have been very enjoyable affairs. The first one I had a bit of trepidation, but genuinely have met some really nice and friendly people at them that I'd talk to off site on a regular basis now.

As AH is so general there's probably less of a 'common ground' per se for conversation starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Necro wrote: »
    As AH is so general there's probably less of a 'common ground' per se for conversation starters.

Usually after the first drink or 2 the common ground is easy enough to find anyway. Although with AH your less likely to recognise someones username as you would with other forums within boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Ficheall wrote: »
    Could do something other than a beers? Like a games night or a stroll or somesuch? There can still be beer of course, for those who need it for social lubricant..
    We play games at Forum Games meet ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Why not introduce a bukkake round? Always very popular at Eton when Nanny went home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

De Bhál wrote: »
    I can't do Wednesday evenings

Dole day ?

Well you'll obviously be great fcuking craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

Edgware wrote: »
    Why not introduce a bukkake round?
    Me during my turn

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Edgware wrote: »
    Why not introduce a bukkake round? Always very popular at Eton when Nanny went home

There used to be an After Hours' annual soggy biscuit night AFAIK but eventually no one could agree on the biscuit so it was canned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MrCostington

What about the venue?

How about the Dean Hotel, I'm sure we will have a swinging time there!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Well people...can we agree on a date and venue and run with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,911 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Wibbs wrote: »

Or, y'know, it could also be because AH is full of mouthy keyboard warriors who'd shrivel up and die if they actually had to stand over any of their edgelord rantings in person.

Just a thought...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

sullivlo wrote:
    We play games at Forum Games meet ups.

What games do you play?

Ive been to a few meet ups, great fun :)

I was supposed to go to a mods meet up once.

Then I realised these were people who moderated other folks' Internet posts as a hobby, and would have been unimaginably fussy, a veritable den of social awkwardness. So no, I don't quite get the boards beers thing. There are plenty of people here I'd like to have (and have had) a pint with, but I'm not sure about à room of boardsies.

Well you'll obviously be great fcuking craic.

Hate this reaction to someone having the temerity to suggest an activity as well as beers.

I think it’s a great idea.