Boards Beers 27th July

• 22-07-2019 11:22PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

Only re-regged this evening and she's already starting threads about Boards beers. Notions!

Anyone attended one in the past? How were they organised? Anyone up for it? QUESTIONS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

kikilarue2 wrote: »
    Only re-regged this evening and she's already starting threads about Boards beers. Notions!

Anyone attended one in the past? How were they organised? Anyone up for it? QUESTIONS!

Can only imagine how tragic they were especially back in the early 2005 to 2010 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

No matter how many people act all excited and keep mentioning how much they wanna go ten people max turn up and half of them leave within an hour or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

No matter how many people act all excited and keep mentioning how much they wanna go ten people max turn up and half of them leave within an hour or two.

Maybe it should be a Boards brunch then? That'd suit that size of a crowd with no expectation of a big night out!

I think some people are less likely to meet up with ''internet strangers'' these days.

Personally ive no issue with it i was at a beers on here before and have met plenty of people from online things in the past i just think people are a lot more fussy about this stuff these days.

Theres way to much thinking evolved! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

I think some people are less likely to meet up with ''internet strangers'' these days.

You are probably right...but same people scour tinder looking for the ride all the same

Beerz sounds good though....except.i dont live in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I would be up for this...but I’ll be having a couple of non-alcoholic beers and soda waters with lime.

I want to see some of yis in person for the first time! :D:cool:

_blaaz wrote: »
    You are probably right...but same people scour tinder looking for the ride all the same

Beerz sounds good though....except.i dont live in dublin

Looking for a ride and having to sit drink and make conversation with someone is fairly different :P

I actually think these types of things can be a really good laugh as u always end up meeting new people and having random nights.

The very worst type of meet ups are the ones in which a big section of the group are all ''friends'' and keep bringing up all these little story's and insider jokes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Best boards beers I ever went to ended up going on for three days, thankfully the people who hosted it were very chill about it! But that was one from one of the more specialised forums, I went to another few off more generalised location-based forums and there was some amount of awkwardness, good god. Still talk to some of the people from the three day one and one of the people I don't talk to is because we ended up going out together for several years :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

The very worst type of meet ups are the ones in which a big section of the group are all ''friends'' and keep bringing up all these little story's and insider jokes!

I remember going on a stag and 1st day was like that....kinda felt i was intruding tbh....but by end everyone got on great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Went to a few back in the Boards glory days, circa 8-10 years ago, they were always pretty good craic. About 20% of the people allegedly mad keen to go actually turning up on the night was a defining feature, but there was usually enough in attendance to make them a good night.

It does make a bit nostalgic for when Boards was a bit of a community, as well as a place for people to complain on the Internet, but the time has probably passed for them now. The average age of people here is older and I think people were a lot more into Boards back then.

Best boards beers I ever went to ended up going on for three days, thankfully the people who hosted it were very chill about it! But that was one from one of the more specialised forums, I went to another few off more generalised location-based forums and there was some amount of awkwardness, good god. Still talk to some of the people from the three day one and one of the people I don't talk to is because we ended up going out together for several years :eek:

Serious question: did ye all ride each other?

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I would be up for this...but I’ll be having a couple of non-alcoholic beers and soda waters with lime.

I want to see some of yis in person for the first time! :D:cool:

Thats one of the more interesting parts of meet ups is putting a face to a username.

Ive no idea what half of the people on here think i look like to be honest. Ive never really taught about what many here look like though as its usually nothing how u imagine based on how a person posts.

Personally ive no issue with it i was at a beers on here before and have met plenty of people from online things in the past i just think people are a lot more fussy about this stuff these days.

Theres way to much thinking evolved! :pac:

I actually don't know about this - GirlCrew and MeetUp have made it a lot more normal to meet strangers off the internet for a group activity, no?

I dont really know how those places work as ive never been part of them to be honest so i cant comment on them.

I imagine one there main features is to meet people and make friends etc though ?

Boards.... ive no idea anymore what the goal on here is :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Boards beers sounds good. Can we have it in this place?link

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Anyone up for it?
    newp but knock yourself out :)

No.

Ballyheigue so? We can have a few cans in the dunes after the pub closes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭hankless

I imagine this would be as fun as a Young Fianna Gael meeting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Serious question: did ye all ride each other?

There was a bit of it I think, I was mostly just getting locked! No orgies or anything but definitely a sexual buzz at times. As I said it was off one of the more specialised, smaller forums where we'd all been chatting a good bit beforehand, also the hosts ended up just kind of folded it into a nice big hippie party that was going on too.

Most awkward thing was remembering not to call each other by our screen names in front of the other people who were there.

There was definitely some streaking down a country boreen in the small hours.

Man that was a good party.

Ballyheigue so? We can have a few cans in the dunes after the pub closes.

Can you put somewhere between 8 and 50 boardsies up for the night?

hankless wrote: »

Maybe now with all the political correct carry on but 10 years ago they were good craic. You'd find the odd dhrip turning up alright but they were a rarity. The only way to find out really is to try it

Can you put somewhere between 8 and 50 boardsies up for the night?

Possibly. Do they need to have much free space around them?

Maybe now with all the political correct carry on but 10 years ago they were good craic. You'd find the odd dhrip turning up alright but they were a rarity. The only way to find out really is to try it

The vast majority of people wont act the same in person as they do on here or anywhere else on online sure!

Which is why it almost works better sometimes if you dont know what there username is!

hankless wrote: »

I'd say the Resident's bar at an Ard Fheis gets pretty feisty :)

The vast majority of people wont act the same in person as they do on here or anywhere else on online sure!

Which is why it almost works better sometimes if you dont know what there username is!

People are exactly 9 times meaner online than in real life

I think its the added safety of being hidden away more then anything.

I normally get on really well with most people i meet from online stuff. The actual interactions with people online can turn out very differently though which is funny considering im the same person on here as out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

What's this about me? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Could do something other than a beers? Like a games night or a stroll or somesuch? There can still be beer of course, for those who need it for social lubricant..

Lord save us and guard us. 2 pages and the thread already dead. Clearly no appetite for boards beers