Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangladeshi Trainee Garda and His Sham Marriage

• 24-04-2018 3:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭

See on rte there is an item about a Bangladeshi chap who got himself a sham marriage and then was admitted into AGS training.

This stuff annoys the hell out of me.
    Couple of questions arise.

1) What are we doing bringing dodgy Bangladeshi guys in to the police force.
    There are no Bangldeshi people in Ireland, who are likely to join the Gardai.

2) Are the Garda not a bit extra suspicious when bringing these guys for interview that broadly, they are spurious characters who shouldn't really be here in the first place.

Bangladeshis who are here legitimately tend to be working as doctors, IT engineers and Pharmacists for example, not call centres and farm hands.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0424/956889-garda-sham-marriage/

The whole thing is just so stupid. The fact a Bangladeshi or other similar national who wants to join the guards at all should lead to suspicion immediately.
    We are mugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Eh?

Is that some sort of an attempt at a serious post?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭irishproduce

As serious as you'll get Sam.
    Bangladesh is not part of the EU, so when a Bangladeshi lad presents for enrollment into AGS, questions should be immediately raised as to what this person is doing here.
    Visas are issued outside the EU for areas that are of interest to us or we are short on.
    Lads entering our police force is not an area we issue visas for.
    Any made up reason for them being here, is essentially that, made up nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Maybe it shows up the interview process rhat AGS has. After all look at the quality of the top brass we're stuck with. everything flows downwards and i mean everything.

Okay so you're suggesting his immigration status should be subject to a robust check, not that simply being Bangladeshi raises questions on why he wants to be a guard?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Look at Limerick it’s a joke all the Non eu people here at present

• Registered Users Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭brianblaze

This is a very thinly veiled 'feckin foreigners' thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭irelandrover

brianblaze wrote: »

It wasn't veiled in any way.

Okay so you're suggesting his immigration status should be subject to a robust check, not that simply being Bangladeshi raises questions on why he wants to be a guard?

Countries outside EU yes, and of them, we have about five countries that we receive alot of people from. Bangladesh being one.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

He was legally here. He applied and went through the selection process and got in. It was later found out that he obtained his residency illegally and he left.

How is this the guards fault?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

OP is being a bit ham fisted, but.. with the gift of hindsight, the article states the trainee handed over 15,000 euro for a sham marriage. Had there been closer scrutiny, events might have played out in a different manner.

It is absolutely not.
    It is an open attempt at highlighting the stupidity of some of our policies.
    We have loads of foreign people who provide great help to our country where we are short. Help that allows us to advance and progress.
    No point allowing dodgy lads from Bangladesh (or anywhere else) waste time trying to come in and get in to call centres, farm jobs, AGS etc

It wasn't veiled in any way.
    Countries outside EU yes, and of them, we have about five countries that we receive alot of people from. Bangladesh being one.

More like a fcuking neon sign.

Sham marriage aside and I'm glad that was caught, there's a cohort of people that constantly moan about people not assimilating to Irish culture. This lad or others of similar ancestry try and are subjected to this sort of rubbish, and presumably a load of additional abuse when they finally roll off the production line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

It is absolutely not.
    It is an open attempt at highlighting the stupidity of some of our policies.
    We have loads of foreign people who provide great help to our country where we are short. Help that allows us to advance and progress.
    No point allowing dodgy lads from Bangladesh (or anywhere else) waste time trying to come in and get in to call centres, farm jobs, AGS etc

But he wasn't allowed in, he got in (or at least stayed here) illegally and has been found out.

So what's your problem?

Grayson wrote: »
    He was legally here. He applied and went through the selection process and got in. It was later found out that he obtained his residency illegally and he left.

How is this the guards fault?

His application should never have made it as far as training.
    He should have been subject to robust scrutiny immediately once a Bangladeshi passport was handed in for a Garda job.
    Unless he was a person changing role from medical, pharma, ICT or some other specialised area, then it is fairly obvious what he is doing here.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

But he was here through marriage, not as part of an essential trade.

The marriage was dodgy, but the interview panel obviously weren't privvy to this info.

amcalester wrote: »
    But he wasn't allowed in, he got in (or at least stayed here) illegally and has been found out.

So what's your problem?

He had no business making it as far as training in AGS. None whatsoever.
    It is PC hands off policies that allowed him to get that far.
    I repeat, if applications like that are received, the applicant should be subject to scrutiny immediately, not treated as if he were John Murphy from Offaly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭irelandrover

He should have been subject to robust scrutiny immediately once a Bangladeshi passport was handed in for a Garda job.
    Unless he was a person changing role from medical, pharma, ICT or some other specialised area, then it is fairly obvious what he is doing here.

Can you make a list of passports and the list of jobs that they are not allowed to apply for?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

He was in recruit training when detectives from the Garda National Immigration Bureau discovered he and his friend married two Lithuanian women a number of years ago.

Tbh the Garda knows well about these sham marriages, it's not the first and certainly not the last.

The girl gets 1500 euro and the man gets to stay in Ireland.

I repeat, if applications like that are received, the applicant should be subject to scrutiny immediately, not treated as if he were John Murphy from Offaly.

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Stereotyping isn't a good way to run a state. Checking documents, investigating possible wrong doing is.

kneemos wrote: »
    But he was here through marriage, not as part of an essential trade.

The marriage was dodgy, but the interview panel obviously weren't privvy to this info.

The moment AGS seen the application, they should have been on it immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So Bangladeshi's should never be allowed become Garda is the point of the thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Someone must have been "on it" if he got caught?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I'm sure Garda HR checked his paperwork which would have all been valid so not much more they can do.

It was a sham marriage and he was caught, so again what is the issue?

Why?

Read my posts Sam, Bangladeshi or other such nationals have no business here unless they are on holidays, working in Hospitals, Pharmacies, big tech firms or the like.
    Working in Spar etc is not the type of Visa we hand out which allows one to progress on to AGS.
    People attempting to access blue collar roles from places outside EU better have a great reason for being here. Married to women from Lithuania or Latvia should mean robust scrutiny immediately. It should not be on RTE news a year later that the chancer got that far as to be in Templemore.

pjohnson wrote: »
    So Bangladeshi's should never be allowed become Garda is the point of the thread?

No, not at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Christ just change ‘After Hours’ to ‘ranting about Muslims, foreigners, and PC libtards’ already.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

No, not at all.

What are you on about then?

You allow Bangladeshi's to work in Hospitals but refuse to let them be Gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You can't start investigating the marriages of everyone who applies and you can't just target some people with having their marriages investigated simply because they applied for a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Had this chap been a policeman back in Bangladesh?

Or is this merely diversity for diversity's sake?

Because if it is the latter - I think a big discussion is needed as to what the heck we are doing in this country.