Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Being approached by people of the same sex

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

What are you even on about?

As the question says, perhaps you were approached by an attractive trans man, does that upset and offend you? Hoping you didn't react violently to any member of the LGBT community on your "experience"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

wakka12 wrote: »
    Some gay men are remarkably forward, and you happened to be to their taste. Nothing more to it, some gay guys I know are very uninhibited and like to try their luck with any guy they like the look of, regardless of whether they necessarily think he might be gay or not.
    Would you feel the same "nothing more to it" with Straight men being "remarkably forward" with women that "happened to be to their taste"? Or would you be suspicious of them from the get go and waiting to step in, or much more likely judge if they were too persistent?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

klaaaz wrote: »
    As the question says, perhaps you were approached by an attractive trans man, does that upset and offend you?
    For me it would depends on how open they were. I'd want to hear the I used to be a man speech as soon as humanely possible so I would have a choice in the matter. Which would be a big fat Nope. Otherwise, work away.
    Hoping you didn't react violently to any member of the LGBT community on your "experience"
    Second time repeating that sorta hope that he'll respond in the positive.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Annnnnnnnd... we're off.

As for being in a Gay bar. I've gone to such places with Gay friends and acquaintances. So what?

Good for you and glad for you to open your mind for once to minorities out there who are zero threat to you and your like minded posters like the OP.
    Just hope that there are no violent reactions from the OP to a misunderstanding situation in a gay bar involving the OP who himself has a habit not liking the LGBT community on boards, whether that approach is from gay men or trans men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

JayZeus wrote: »
    Yeah, but mutual attraction is the aim of the game.

So if you’re proving attractive to gay men and you’re a straight man, what’s gone wrong there? I mean, are gay men supposed to find straight men attractive? All men attractive? Any man they think they could ride, wanted or not, attractive? Slippery slope. All men should just accept that no means no. Doesn’t matter who’s saying it.

Ive hit on ladies, crashed and burned. Maybe they were gay, fond of the flat shoe, or maybe they were straight and just revolted by the cut of my jib.
    Sometimes i soared like an eagle, but you dont get lucky, by eh., not trying your luck!

No is no though. We're agreed on that.

Maybe if you're proving overly attractive to the queer lads, maybe ask yourself "is my shirt too fitted? "Is my leather sleeveless biker jacket and tight jeans really the look that'll get me some beors"?

Good for you and glad for you to open your mind for once to minorities out there who are zero threat to you and your like minded posters like the OP.
    Just hope that there are no violent reactions from the OP to a misunderstanding situation in a gay bar involving the OP who himself has a habit not liking the LGBT community on boards, whether that approach is from gay men or trans men.

"For once" Wibbs.
    Thats you told.

Thread was a bit of craic

For me it would depends on how open they were. I'd want to hear the I used to be a man speech as soon as humanely possible so I would have a choice in the matter. Which would be a big fat Nope. Otherwise, work away.

They used to be a woman you mean. Believe me Wibbs, there are trans men out there in Ireland you'd meet in a LGBT friendly bar and no-one can "read" them no matter how brilliant they are. It's quite possible on the gambling odds that if a male was in a gay bar, there would be a chance he'd encounter a trans man even for a chat. I'd like to know how our resident Smiths fan would react to said situation, would he react violently?
    Second time repeating that sorta hope that he'll respond in the positive.

Let's hope that as some men have a habit of using "gay panic" as a defence in rejecting even chatting to a trans male person nevermind a cisgender male.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It has happened to me twice that I know of. I'm a bit of an idiot, so it took me a while to realise that they weren't just being friendly. Anyway, I turned them down politely/shuffled away awkwardly, but I don't blame them for wanting a piece of this... *points at this*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jesus I've never seen someone to put words in your mouth as bad as this fella!

Why are you bringing transexuals into a conversation they had no part in?

Your throwing whatever little bit of **** you have got hoping it will stick.

To answer your stupid ****ing question if a trans man tried it on with me and I found out what they where no I woulfnt react with violence. Id walk away and be done with the situation.

Happy? No of course your not!

By the way I don't dislike the lgbt community on boards it's some of the pricks who single handedly try and speak for all of them I have issue with.

youre-so-funny.jpg
    Just hope that there are no violent reactions from the OP
    Three for three...
    I'd like to know how our resident Smiths fan would react to said situation, would he react violently?
    This is beginning to feel a tad uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I would be aroused. :cool:

To answer your stupid ****ing question if a trans man tried it on with me and I found out what they where no I woulfnt react with violence. Id walk away and be done with the situation.

Assuming you were actually in a gay bar, there is a chance that you'd meet a trans man, it's 2019 not 1950. Am glad to hear that you'd walk away from such an encounter that you disagree with, it's a refreshing perspective on such encounters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Assuming you were actually in a gay bar, there is a chance that you'd meet a trans man, it's 2019 not 1950. Am glad to hear that you'd walk away from such an encounter that you disagree with, it's a refreshing perspective on such encounters.

This is exactly the sort of attitude behind someone who simply cannot take no for an answer, who persists in spite of being told numerous times, to fcuk off - tries to paint themselves as the victim of some terrible wrongdoing because they’ve experienced being told to fcuk off on numerous occasions :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I was in the place years ago not recently. The George to be exact. The second time around I was in The Dragon down the road while it was still there.

I was there because of my friend at the time who s a lesbian. My girlfriend at the time was there also and few of my other straight friends. We all worked together.

At that point I was in my early twentys Ireland was a very different place transexuals where the last thing on my mind going into a gay bar!

To be honest I took both nights as nothing more then an experience.

It wasn't until later in my life and at that point a lot more "experiences" in between I taught about it and kinda wondered right it's one thing getting this attention in a gay bar but in other bars as well...

In fairness the guy I mentioned who I knew while I was abroad I could of reacted very badly to what he was trying!! I didn't though I just made light of the situation and made sure he knew there was nothing happening. This guy was older then me as well and knew my ma and da!

Am glad to hear that you'd walk away from such an encounter that you disagree with, it's a refreshing perspective on such encounters.

Wait - did they do the right thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

No harm done and all that, but I don’t think it’s at all necessary to be polite when you decline an entirely unwelcome advance. I’d prefer to watch them crash and burn than let them think they have a parachute they can use.

Ah, it's nice to be nice. We've all been rejected by women at some point, a polite not interested is a lot less unpleasant than a fúck off!

There's no need to be an asshole in these things, gay or straight makes no difference in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Matter of time now until the thread is locked.
    These things always descend into bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Used to happen to me the odd time back in America , in fairness they were grand as soon as they realised I'm straight.

Also , the guys that would approach me wouldn't be the full shillin so to speak ...

Ah, it's nice to be nice. We've all been rejected by women at some point, a polite not interested is a lot less unpleasant than a fúck off!

There's no need to be an asshole in these things, gay or straight makes no difference in this regard.

Maybe there'd be no need if people just accepted the answer the first time.

You run the risk of having to deal repeatedly with an asshole or you just be an asshole and get on with enjoying your night out, day, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,288 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Is it common that a fella would be approached in a gay bar? I would think so :D

The reason for it? You’re a fella, in a gay bar.

Think of this another way.

You're a good-looking married woman in a heterosexual bar just out for a drink with your friends. Is it right that you should have be put up with different guys hitting on you every ten minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

blanch152 wrote: »

You're a good-looking married woman in a heterosexual bar just out for a drink with your friends. Is it right that you should have be put up with different guys hitting on you every ten minutes?

Yer trying to compare apples with oranges.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

blanch152 wrote: »

You mean present the question in a completely different context?

Nah, not only would that be whataboutery, but it would be beside the point I made seeing as I didn’t try and justify the behaviour, I merely suggested the reasoning behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

so this whole thread is basically the OP trying to subtly let on that he is attractive. secondly, did you consider that the people chatting you up were merely desperados attempting to chat up ANYONE in their vicinity? thirdly, if i got a violent reaction from a straight guy like mentioned, i would simply kick the sh!t out of them.

too many people forget that not all gay guys are these weak little flowery camp people who cant kick the crap out of you if needed.

most straight guys who get chatted up like that are usually chatted up by creeps and those creeps would ride anything, so no, it's not a compliment, merely something that just happened because you happened to have a pulse and be in the area at the time.

Maybe there'd be no need if people just accepted the answer the first time.

I agree. It's not like you're going to say "you know what, you've held on in there so fúck it, I will try a bit of cock"

I think as a general rule, people aren't really for turning!

too many people forget that not all gay guys are these weak little flowery camp people who cant kick the crap out of you if needed.

Possibly the toughest bloke I know is as gay as Christmas, and actually as camp as fúck too, but you certainly wouldn't want to let that fool you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Also , the guys that would approach me wouldn't be the full shillin so to speak ...

Ah well, that explains it then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭Dickie10

my neighbour chatted me up on thebus home from a local nightclub, he ran his hand under my shirt too. i really dont know how he knew i was bi or gay he later said he just knew , very strange i hadnt really chatted to him before but he said he knew from me looking a little too long at him?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Dickie10 wrote: »
    my neighbour chatted me up on thebus home from a local nightclub, he ran his hand under my shirt too. i really dont know how he knew i was bi or gay he later said he just knew , very strange i hadnt really chatted to him before but he said he knew from me looking a little too long at him?!

It is a strong sign but wow he is sure confident in himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

It’s a strange concept though isn’t it, like two bullet trains in the night about to crash headlong. Which is intevitably going to result in catastrophe one signals ahead switch man, switch before it’s too late in the hope he does the logical thing yet it is determined to continue on its trajectory and so smack!!

..bam; wallop well actually I would say in this instance it is more like one train at the end of the line being serviced. Whilst unbeknownst to it another approaches rear ending it and ploughing into the back. Boom! Disaster. Just an analogy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,988 ✭✭✭✭zell12