Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW drivers

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭emeldc

Full volume on this one. 🙂

https://youtu.be/ZJB8BtkSEHM

(Sorry can’t embed)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I was offered one of them(E30 M3 in silver) in the late 90's for around the five grand mark. I would have gone for it as it was a nice yoke to go(and pretty practical with it) but some eejit had put the steering wheel on the wrong side. That would have been some investment. :eek:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

Wibbs wrote: »
    I was offered one of them(E30 M3 in silver) in the late 90's for around the five grand mark. I would have gone for it as it was a nice yoke to go(and pretty practical with it) but some eejit had put the steering wheel on the wrong side. That would have been some investment. :eek:

I'd never recover from missing out on that :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭emeldc

Seriously? He converted it from left to right?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd never recover from missing out on that :(
    Oh you'd likely not believe the cars me and my mates have turned down in the past before they went from "old car" to "classic". Older petrolhead rellies of mine have stories like that from their day which would make your eyes pop out.

It was a nice yoke to go I have to say. They're not a fast car, but they are a quick car, if you know what I mean I? That lovely balance between chassis and power, without one wanting for the other. And human level speed. I agree with Jay Leno when he says the best fun you'll have in a car is from 20 to 120 Mph(allegedly...). Given a choice between a spin in a top end Bugatti Chiron, or a 1920's Type 35 and I'll take the pensioner please. Every day of the week. Some cars feel like you want to shout at them(most), others feel like they want to shout at you. The best cars in my humble is where it feels like a conversation. Mad, but petrolheads will tend to get this bit. :D

The E30 defo felt like the latter and few enough cars do. These days it's all about Power! When I was a callow youth 200Bhp was rocket ship territory(Sierra and Escort Cossies weren't much more and they were considered defilers of farmyard animals and a threat to civilisation), now that's more family car level. "Sporty" cars aren't very happy with much less than 300. You pays your money, you point and squirt, and the traction control will save you when the road turns. While you're connected to the office and life via bluetooth(I always have my phone off in the car. It's an escape, downtime from the near constant "notifications" that notify eff all 98% of the time).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

emeldc wrote: »
    Seriously? He converted it from left to right?
    Nope. It was standard, so LHD. Id est the wrong side.

Oh you'd likely not believe the cars me and my mates have turned down in the past before they went from "old car" to "classic". Older petrolhead rellies of mine have stories like that from their day which would make your eyes pop out.

It was a nice yoke to go I have to say. They're not a fast car, but they are a quick car, if you know what I mean I? That lovely balance between chassis and power, without one wanting for the other. And human level speed. I agree with Jay Leno when he says the best fun you'll have in a car is from 20 to 120 Mph(allegedly...). Given a choice between a spin in a top end Bugatti Chiron, or a 1920's Type 35 and I'll take the pensioner please. Every day of the week. Some cars feel like you want to shout at them(most), others feel like they want to shout at you. The best cars in my humble is where it feels like a conversation. Mad, but petrolheads will tend to get this bit. :D

The E30 defo felt like the latter and few enough cars do. These days it's all about Power! When I was a callow youth 200Bhp was rocket ship territory(Sierra and Escort Cossies weren't much more and they were considered defilers of farmyard animals and a threat to civilisation), now that's more family car level. "Sporty" cars aren't very happy with much less than 300. You pays your money, you point and squirt, and the traction control will save you when the road turns. While you're connected to the office and life via bluetooth(I always have my phone off in the car. It's an escape, downtime from the near constant "notifications" that notify eff all 98% of the time).

Once missed out on a 1500 puma racing and a 2500 147 GTA :(

MX-5 ticks the box big time for Leno's statement but a hard one to explain to the family.

The weekender doesn't have traction control or bluetooth c/d, nothing but pure mid box delete and muffler bypass.

Good God Sir, we're not Americans, it's not a "muffler" *sniffs haughtily* it's a Silencer. :D

Sorry my love for premium superior German brands is getting the better of my grammar :(

• Registered Users Posts: 51,153 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I had a good giggle reading this thread and I'm a BMW driver. I'm heading out now for a drive in order to maintain the stereotype.

Sorry my love for premium superior German brands is getting the better of my grammar :(
    Auspufftopf. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭citygal93

had to search for this thread in case I wasn't losing my mind...I've noticed absolute crazy impatient driving from BMW drivers a number of times in traffic over the past number of months but this morning I was blown away by one....how is it that so many drivers of a certain make of car live up to the stereotype?

I was in 2 lane traffic which merged into one lane (the lane I was in) and the BMW in the other lane but a bit behind me kept sticking his nose right up to the person in front of him (and me) so that I was getting pushed to the other side of the road. I got ahead of him anyway because I was already in front regardless. BUT then once I was in front of him in the single lane, he aggressively overtook me immediately, only to turn off the road a couple of meters later anyway? I don't know if it's because I have N plates, a small car, or I'm a young female, but the level of intimidation and arrogance was astounding to me at 7am.