Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord using tenants address for his post.

Options
  • 06-01-2019 1:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 40

Wife and I have been renting an apartment for over three years now in Dublin.We rented through an agent.Shortly after moving in the landlord came to apartment and informed me he would be using our apartment for his post. Over the next couple of years any time he came to the apartment to carry out maintenance he demanded all his post which we were required to collect and store.Other times he comes to the apartment unannounced demanding his post.His father and mother who apparently live abroad also use our address which is collected by the landlord.All the post is of an official nature, nothing that appears to be personal. For example letters addressed to these three people come from Revenue,Social protection banks etc.
    Despite repeated objections the landlord has told me it is his absolute right to have anything he wants delivered to the apartment.He was quite menacing at times and both my wife and I are fearful of a violent reaction if we pursue the matter legally.We are also worried our address is being used as a drop box for some nefarious purpose.
    The tenancy is unregistered and landlord will not give us a contact address or e mail address,only a phone number. The Landlords father has taken over from the agent and deals with any issues by phone.
    We have part 4 rights and know we should have exclusive right to the property in accordance with the Residential Tenancies Act.