Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Angel Lane Bouncers

• 25-02-2019 11:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1

I've never met bigger PIGS in my life! They've been rude to me before and I've left it off but this has just tipped me off!! I was meeting my friends inside angel lane as I had to work. I went home got ready and made my way in sober as a judge. Seeing as I was by myself I went up to the Bouncers and kindly asked if i could go in ahead of the queue. First of all, 3 of them ignored me and walked away, I walked down to the queue where I asked a bouncer the same question he said yes go up to the manager and tell him I said to let you in so I did and the manager said why would I let you in?
    I politely explained that I had just finished work my friends were inside so I was by myself and I felt anxious waiting by myself in the queue
    His reply was '' I don't care **** out of my face''
    The absolute rudeness and off a MANAGER at that, what kind of manager speaks to someone like that?? You're the bouncer of a nightclub not Buckingham Palace get off your high horse and show some respect for PEOPLE! and To make it even funnier I have more money than all the students inside with there 20 euro and a bottle of vodka in their bags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

DD1200 wrote: »
    I've never met bigger PIGS in my life! They've been rude to me before and I've left it off but this has just tipped me off!! I was meeting my friends inside angel lane as I had to work. I went home got ready and made my way in sober as a judge. Seeing as I was by myself I went up to the Bouncers and kindly asked if i could go in ahead of the queue. First of all, 3 of them ignored me and walked away, I walked down to the queue where I asked a bouncer the same question he said yes go up to the manager and tell him I said to let you in so I did and the manager said why would I let you in?
    I politely explained that I had just finished work my friends were inside so I was by myself and I felt anxious waiting by myself in the queue
    The absolute rudeness and off a MANAGER at that, what kind of manager speaks to someone like that?? You're the bouncer of a nightclub not Buckingham Palace get off your high horse and show some respect for PEOPLE! and To make it even funnier I have more money than all the students inside with there 20 euro and a bottle of vodka in their bags

Your first mistake was expecting bouncers to have any common decency or politeness, the majority of them are only a step up from pond scum.

but why should you expect special treatment to be let in ahead of other people who were queuing?

if you had just waited in the q you wouldn't have had any hassle.

and it wasn't the bouncer who was rude - it was the manager as you say in your post.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,431 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Expects to jump the queue

Isnt allowed to skip queue

Registers on boards to whinge about it :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

The days of the queue.

Showing my age now that i can't be arsed with all that and on the few occasions that i do go out these days, i much prefer to sit in a pub and have a conversation.

Most bouncers are fine in my opinion now that i am in my 40's. I certainly did not have that opinion when i was younger.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

and To make it even funnier I have more money than all the students inside with there 20 euro and a bottle of vodka in their bags

How much money were you carrying?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm genuinely curious OP. Why should they let you skip the queue? I'm not clear on this.

If the manager was rude, perhaps contact them directly. I don't know if any of them frequent here.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

How much money were you carrying?

Not enough for the VIP queue jumping treatment.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I used have that trouble with queues before but now I find if I march up, grab the first bouncer by the throat, pin him to the wall, the other bouncers just wave me in!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

To make it even funnier I have more money than all the students inside with there 20 euro and a bottle of vodka in their bags

That's hilarious, i'm creased with the laughs.

So, you expect to get in ahead of everyone else, why? Oh, you were meeting a friend and were on your own? Ya, that doesn't entitle line skipping

only hot birds can skip the Q.

OP wasn't hot enough obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

MarkR wrote: »
    I'm genuinely curious OP. Why should they let you skip the queue? I'm not clear on this.

If the manager was rude, perhaps contact them directly. I don't know if any of them frequent here.

I think the OP was inside already and had to leave to go home and get changed as she was in her work clothes and couldnt pull in her work clothes presumably? Her friends were in there and she asked could she go back in ahead of the now formed queue?

Tbh I've asked the bouncers in Smyths if I could skip the queue before and they've left me in, rather suprisingly. But I always give a good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Bouncers are a joke in limerick for sure.

That being said you had no right to skip that line.

I wonder are you the kind of person who sprints into the newly opened till in aldi and lidl even when there is big lines at the other tills, or the person who saunters onto a bus totally ignoring the line that is formed.

Edit: Probably too much money to be in Aldi or Lidl or getting the bus.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭bennyl10

MarkR wrote: »

because she has friends inside and is better than a student.

pretentious BS. simply

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Why couldn't you just queue up like everybody else?
    If everyone queues to get in so should should you.
    As for the bouncers being rude they probably thought you had notions about yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

Were you wearing tackies.......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Next time just say to the manager, "do you know who I am".

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hate queue hoppers.

Causes war on nights out. Back of the queue with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Next time just say to the manager, "do you know who I am".

And jab your finger in his chest.

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Forget Angel Lane, Entitled lane nite club is opening shortly, full of people who think they are better than anyone else! A great night out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Were you wearing tackies.......

And white socks . . . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

474138.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Pikasso

To be honest I feel sorry for the person who posted this. Not just her experience on the night but some of the inane and rude responses she got here.
    I'm presuming she's female. She didn't feel comfortable standing on the street on her own and made a polite request.
    The bouncer she asked saw no problem with it and gave his permission.
    The problem the OP has is with the manager.
    And yes, the manager was downright rude. Unbelievably so.
    And yes, the OP is perfectly correct in posting here and sharing her experience.
    If Angel Lane have any business acumen they will PM her and make an apology.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Pikasso wrote: »
    To be honest I feel sorry for the person who posted this. Not just her experience on the night but some of the inane and rude responses she got here.
    I'm presuming she's female. She didn't feel comfortable standing on the street on her own and made a polite request.
    The bouncer she asked saw no problem with it and gave his permission.
    The problem the OP has is with the manager.
    And yes, the manager was downright rude. Unbelievably so.
    And yes, the OP is perfectly correct in posting here and sharing her experience.
    If Angel Lane have any business acumen they will PM her and make an apology.

I can tell you right now the manager doesn’t give a flying duck. Angel lane and icon are dyeing...all the money is being pumped into 101 and Maggie Choos and now the new club.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭brianregan09

and I'm sure Angel Lane are on here and even less likely that they will pm her

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Paddico

Dont like bouncers in general but this person is whinging, moaning and bragging all in one go.
    Maybe the bouncers were right.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭Persiancowboy

This reminds me of the famous story about the Shannon RFC legend Buddha Healy who was a bouncer one time in Teds. One night with te usual long queue outside a taxi pulls up and two lads jump out and make to go straight into Teds. Buddha immediatley challenges them to which they reply "we're the Hogans and we're in the Cranberries....."

Buddha's response......."I don't give a bollix if you're in the Gooseberries.....get back to the end of the queue......."

This reminds me of the famous story about the Shannon RFC legend Buddha Healy who was a bouncer one time in Teds. One night with te usual long queue outside a taxi pulls up and two lads jump out and make to go straight into Teds. Buddha immediatley challenges them to which they reply "we're the Hogans and we're in the Cranberries....."

Buddha's response......."I don't give a bollix if you're in the Gooseberries.....get back to the end of the queue......."

I doubt that's really true. I heard the exact same urban legend except it was Dolores pulling up in a limo going into Docs. I don't know the rest of the band but I did go to school with one member so tbh I really don't think any of them would be that pretentious.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^

don't let the truth get in the way of a good yarn

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Pinkerton

Who remembers the wicked chicken and Baker place, proper night spots

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Pinkerton wrote: »
    Who remembers the wicked chicken and Baker place, proper night spots

I do, very very fondly too. Loved the wicked chicken.