Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Guinness is a good drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Hard to beat a good pint of Guinness. I previously drank Smithwicks but the farting was getting out of hand and the girlfriend said it was either her or the Smithwicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Feeling a strong thirst reading this thread...

Guinness was the drink I stuck to when I first started drinking in pubs. I don't really know why; it just seemed like the thing to drink. But I eventually took up drinking bland swill like Heineken and Carlsberg instead. It was all about getting drunk as fast as possible then and those vital few minutes waiting for Guinness were time wasted, or so I thought. Plus, Guinness was heavy - all it would do was slow you down, nice and all as it was. Sure wasn't there Jagerbombs to be drinking.

Then, I started drinking pale ales and all that "crafty" stuff, because they did taste better than the other muck. But, after a few years of that I realised that a lot of those beers taste exactly the same and I was beginning to tire of the endless nonsense that goes with all that accompanying beer-wankery, "brewed with the steam off some nun's fanny for a 100% ergonomic finish". There's only so many ways you can make beer taste really.

I used to drink the odd stout here and there too. And usually I would respond to them in how they compared to Guinness. Tastier, fouler, more chocolately. I liked the Porterhouse Plain Porter for a while. It was smooth and lighter than Guinness and that's what I liked, back then.

But, eventually, like the way a lapsed Catholic finds his way back to the church, I found my way to back to the light and the truth: Guinness. I figure I did my beer appreciation apprenticeship and it turns out my first love was the truest of them all. When I tried that Plain Porter stuff there again a while back I was left partially disgusted; What is this watery shite, I thought, where's the heaviness?

So, yeah, Guinness is beautiful. Good to hear it pour, brilliant to see it settle, wonderful for you to look at and best of all to drink. For a few simple pints and a good night of talking sh!te, trust in Guinness. Without sounding like a dipsomaniac I would encourage people who hate it to just drink more of it - at some point the worm will turn for you. It's lovely stuff.

I was talking recently to some guy who was mad for craft brewing. He was almost evangelical about the processeses and the results. According to him, everything else but craft beer was practically radioactive. Brie stout and turkey and ham IPA was where it was at - Carlsberg and Heineken were for the tragic in this life and people who drank Budweiser should have been killed at birth. I asked him about Guinness. "GUINNESS!, he spat, I wouldn't let that chemical poison pass my lips." He was a guy in his fifties and in many ways seemed quite normal, but, in that moment, I felt sorry for him, because he was so clearly for the fcking birds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,260 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

JayZeus wrote: »
    A random site? You mean the most popular site used worldwide for rating beer. Interesting take on it. Best you to stick to listening to Nox. And yes they're all **** too, obviously.

I prefer to conduct statistical analysis based on how many pints of Guinness I see fellas consuming happily in their local, totally devoid of any pure bullsh** waffle about the mellow lingering aftertaste and smooth as silk texture of the head on a pint of My Stinky Middle Finger Stout from some plaid shirted, short trouser wearing dickhead who thinks their ability to rate pints with fellow internet bores lends them any special authority on the subject of what is or is not a decent pint.

Ball scratching eejits. They’re twice as bad as the muppets who go down to their local off license and pay 10-20 times the price they’d pay in Carrefour, just because they want the ‘experience’ so they can talk to their wine-o friends about it.

It’s a decent pint of stout. Don’t make out it’s trying to be anything else, or failing to be what it is. It’s a Guinness. Take it or leave it. Just don’t act like you know any more than the fellas who quietly sup on a few and know how good they have it.
    So angry, it's worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,336 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I wouldn't drink Guinness that often but the few times over the years I've been in Dublin it's the safest option for a stout drinker. I couldn't find a pint of beamish for love nor money in Dublin(plenty of beamish glasses though) but beamish when home and in my local. Even though Murphys is from cork I wouldn't use it to clean my toilet for fear to what it'd do to the toilet bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Go on the few pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Tastes like piss when it’s half gone and warm.

Which leads to drinking it to quick and getting messy too early.

First few mouthfuls are heaven in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Personally I find it hard to get real messy on Guinness - it's a kind of steady going drink. I'll get drunk for sure but other beers tend to be far worse.

Some pale ales - when I have to drink them - will leave me absolutely wankered and feeling like someone took a sh!t in my brain the next day after.

So angry, it's worrying.

There’s no room for anger when I’m so busy laughing at the ridiculous eejits who base their second hand (at best) opinions of obscure beer/ale/stout (which are pretty much unobtainable in Ireland without having entirely too much of an interest in hunting such thinngs down) on some entirely unqualified and wildly subjective assessment by strangers.

Everyone should have a look here and decide for themselves whether or not they’d even consider the people doing the ‘rating’ know WTF they’re drinking, because it doesn’t look like many of them have ever sat down in a pub in Ireland and drank a pint:

https://www.ratebeer.com/beer/guinness-draught/1267/

Eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I’d sooner take Murphy’s over Guinness, but either will do. Add in a few packets of Taytos and a small Bushmills or two towards the end and you’ve the perfect session there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Prefer other stouts but will happily drink a Guinness.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Arghus wrote: »
    I was talking recently to some guy who was mad for craft brewing. He was almost evangelical about the processeses and the results. According to him, everything else but craft beer was practically radioactive. Brie stout and turkey and ham IPA was where it was at.

Ironically, the only people you ever hear talking about "brie stout" or "turkey and ham IPA" and the like are those who are hard set macro beer drinkers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Arghus wrote: »
    Feeling a strong thirst reading this thread...

Guinness was the drink I stuck to when I first started drinking in pubs. I don't really know why; it just seemed like the thing to drink. But I eventually took up drinking bland swill like Heineken and Carlsberg instead. It was all about getting drunk as fast as possible then and those vital few minutes waiting for Guinness were time wasted, or so I thought. Plus, Guinness was heavy - all it would do was slow you down, nice and all as it was. Sure wasn't there Jagerbombs to be drinking.

Then, I started drinking pale ales and all that "crafty" stuff, because they did taste better than the other muck. But, after a few years of that I realised that a lot of those beers taste exactly the same and I was beginning to tire of the endless nonsense that goes with all that accompanying beer-wankery, "brewed with the steam off some nun's fanny for a 100% ergonomic finish". There's only so many ways you can make beer taste really.

I used to drink the odd stout here and there too. And usually I would respond to them in how they compared to Guinness. Tastier, fouler, more chocolately. I liked the Porterhouse Plain Porter for a while. It was smooth and lighter than Guinness and that's what I liked, back then.

But, eventually, like the way a lapsed Catholic finds his way back to the church, I found my way to back to the light and the truth: Guinness. I figure I did my beer appreciation apprenticeship and it turns out my first love was the truest of them all. When I tried that Plain Porter stuff there again a while back I was left partially disgusted; What is this watery shite, I thought, where's the heaviness?

So, yeah, Guinness is beautiful. Good to hear it pour, brilliant to see it settle, wonderful for you to look at and best of all to drink. For a few simple pints and a good night of talking sh!te, trust in Guinness. Without sounding like a dipsomaniac I would encourage people who hate it to just drink more of it - at some point the worm will turn for you. It's lovely stuff.

I was talking recently to some guy who was mad for craft brewing. He was almost evangelical about the processeses and the results. According to him, everything else but craft beer was practically radioactive. Brie stout and turkey and ham IPA was where it was at - Carlsberg and Heineken were for the tragic in this life and people who drank Budweiser should have been killed at birth. I asked him about Guinness. "GUINNESS!, he spat, I wouldn't let that chemical poison pass my lips." He was a guy in his fifties and in many ways seemed quite normal, but, in that moment, I felt sorry for him, because he was so clearly for the fcking birds.

TBF he's not wrong there.

Not sure about the killing part though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

irish_goat wrote: »
    Ironically, the only people you ever hear talking about "brie stout" or "turkey and ham IPA" and the like are those who are hard set macro beer drinkers.

Fact: constant use of the word 'macro' is one of the things that make you lot insufferable which in turn is a very good reason to give the whole craft beer 'scene' massively wide berth.

I prefer "craft" beers.
    But beer is beer to me., hate the labelling.

There is good beer and bad beer.

I like a pint of Guinness the same as I like a Canadian breakfast stout, just prefer different beers at different times.

I also like a double IPA the same as I'd like a lager at a bbq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,016 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

realale.jpg

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

realale.jpg

Calm the cacks girls

realale.jpg

The same ones that can't help themselves and have to call the dreaded "macro" beer "swill".

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The same ones that can't help themselves and have to call the dreaded "macro" beer "swill".

You can drop it now, dude. People are allowed have different opinions than you. It shouldn’t bother you so much. Maybe have a pint or two to calm down? Your choice.

Johnny, a pint at this hour?
    Your round :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'm a Heineken drinker but being the day that's in it I went on the black stuff yesterday and it was surprisingly nice. Such an easy pint to drink. I might change my habits.

Remember.
    Flush twice
    Don’t look back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Guinness, yeah it’s grand, it is what it is. It doesn’t have a lot of flavour or body but I’ll drink it on a session no problem. It pisses me off that it can vary so much from pub to pub though, that’s pretty poor to be honest and quite often that’s the reason I drink something else, it’s too much of a lottery.

And yeah, the 2 part pour is marketing sh1te lads, get over it. If you pour it properly then it doesn’t matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Love a good pint of Guinness. Thankfully my local in somewhat the arsehole of nowhere serves a fantastic pint of the black stuff and is in walking distance, even last year in the snow it didn't stop me making the unusual trek! The only other place that has come very close is a pub in Milltown in Kildare. Smooth, the right texture and just the right level of cold. Goes down well at any time of the year when presented properly, my own thinking on this

I won't drink Guinness when in Dublin though as I have yet to find an establishment that serves a decent pint, with the exception of this place. If a lot of places in town serve a bad pint I can't blame others for not taking to the drink

That's a good one when I don't think anyone gets as would up as a beardo seeing someone drinking 'macro swill'.

It doubt anyone actually gives a sh1te what you drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Only in Ireland could an argument break out about alcohol without it actually being consumed in each other's presence.

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    It doubt anyone actually gives a sh1te what you drink.

You'd be very surprised.

You could take Johnny's advice though and calm down a bit.

You'd be very surprised.

You could take Johnny's advice though and calm down a bit.

I wouldn’t and I’m grand, thanks for your concern though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    Guinness, yeah it’s grand, it is what it is. It doesn’t have a lot of flavour or body but I’ll drink it on a session no problem. It pisses me off that it can vary so much from pub to pub though, that’s pretty poor to be honest and quite often that’s the reason I drink something else, it’s too much of a lottery.

And yeah, the 2 part pour is marketing sh1te lads, get over it. If you pour it properly then it doesn’t matter.

I agree for the most part.

On the two part pour though, it allows the cream to come to the top so when it's top it gets that domed head slightly proud of the top of the glass.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Mike Oxlong

Can we have that in English now....

You're about the only one here stamping their feet :D

Can we have that in English now....

You're about the only one here stamping their feet :D

Of course. This is what you lot always do so it's hardly going to come as a surprise.

Have a good read back like a good little lad.