Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you LISTEN to music?

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

So we agree to agree!?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

sei046 wrote: »
    So we agree to agree!?

That's not allowed!!

Ye its probably bannable.

I am into music for very selfish reasons!
    I like music for me and no one else! I dont care why i like something, If I do I roll with it and take what I want from it. I have morals but I dont really think they are needed in my enjoyment of music.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

So we agree to agree!?

Yes!

Anyway yes I do listen to music. Check out "No Blues". Some great stuff. They have a few tunes on you tube. My bro gave me a listen so I must get into them a bit more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEM-bxpitv8

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

haha. this thread went off topic fairly quickly!!!

dav to answer your question, my father's a producer in RTE radio. He's worked with (yes i'm namedropping- i'm ashamed) Bryan Adams, Cranberries (on their Live recordings), Joe elliot (yer man from def leppard) and a good few others. He mostly hates rock music and is established as a classical music specialist but i'd mention those just because people would know them more than the classical guys.
    He used to do a lot of the Fanning 'live' sessions back in the old days so there were a hell of a lot of Irish bands back then doing them.

There's loads of other stuff I'm forgetting to mention because i doubt you'd know them. oh that tribute to phil lynott record about ten years ago with scott goram and a few others playing and stuff (i was young and can't remember. I remember showing my guitar skills to scott goram though. I was about 10 at the time! He gave me a plec and I didn't know who he was. that happened quite a bit actually).

Oh and funnily enough he recorded the Riverdance original (including the taps. yes, you heard it, the taps you were hearing on the night weren't live on the night!)

I'm not quite comfortable speaking about my own family in detail on the internet though so we'll leave it at that.

My history is a little different. I was around all this from an early age, and regularly was in on sessions, sitting there, making tea, learning everything i could (i was just a kid so couldn't exactly say 'give us a shot at the mix'.

I was in a band a few years ago that I left while signing with one of the majors. (the band broke up as soon as I left. hurrah.)

Did tours with the Revs, the Walls (same management at the time),and a few others.
    We were the new 'next big thing' (isn't everyone except we were getting a major deal) and the guys from the label etc. had us out living a life we could never have dreamt of.

The name of the band was Walter by the way. Three piece piano/bass/drums (very Ben Folds five).
    I've done live sound for a few big names when i was working in the venue in NUI Maynooth (Roderigo y Gabriela, BellX1, Mundy, Damien Rice [wasn't doing FOH on all of those to be honest though])

I don't think by any means that I've worked with any huge acts or anything, but I've been around this all my life.
    I also have a solo album but quit doing all that as soon as it was finished. Bored with rock music tbh.
    Now the reason I never wanted to discuss this, is simply I have another career now in the techno world. I'm not entirely comfortable people knowing stuff about my past as these things get blown out of proportion by many people doing bios etc. and I'd hate to see 'he's worked with so and so' when in reality I wasn't exactly producing their albums if you catch my drift.

I recently have been working as an engineer on broadcasts and recordings of some pretty big classical works. That's very recent though.

As I said, like many, I don't like losing my anonymity on boards as I use it more for reasons that aren't commercial to any extent.

Also, I don't like anyone being able to google my name and see what I said about a,b or c. The same reason I keep my bebo profile privatised.

And anyway it's not that difficult to find out who I am from my sig.

I remember actually being stunned when an employer asked me years ago about what I was doing in hotpress (they couldn't read the article because of subscription stuff). He had googled my name and found it.

For those of you that are moaning about why people don't use their real names on the internet, you really need to realise that if you do use your real name, any stranger can pretty much see everything you have to say about anything, see what you're up to at anytime, and do all sorts of rude things while looking at your photos.

Anywho...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

Well thanks for sharing that much, it is nice to hear some heart felt speak around here. Clearly you know much and have experienced much and your electronic music is very good as I had a listen just recently. I can understand why you may feel it is appropriate to keep your name under the hood. I went to college with a guy who really did not want everyone to know who he was. When people found out he was embarrassed. In all fairness to him he writes brilliant songs and understandably does not want his talent to be over or under shadowed by his family history. If I was in the same boat I would feel the very same but I am the only musician in my family. The experience you have is excellent and clearly I applaud you for that. Thankyou for sharing jtsuited.

Well.... I dunno! Leave it at that!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

dav nagle wrote: »
    Well thanks for sharing that much, it is nice to hear some heart felt speak around here. Clearly you know much and have experienced much and your electronic music is very good as I had a listen just recently. I can understand why you may feel it is appropriate to keep your name under the hood. I went to college with a guy who really did not want everyone to know who he was. When people found out he was embarrassed. In all fairness to him he writes brilliant songs and understandably does not want his talent to be over or under shadowed by his family history. If I was in the same boat I would feel the very same but I am the only musician in my family. The experience you have is excellent and clearly I applaud you for that. Thankyou for sharing jtsuited.

no problem man, i hope you see my point though. My grandmother was a composer, my grandad and dad engineer, my auntie's an internationally renowned violinist and her husband an established contemporary composer.

I really wouldn't want any of that to overshadow my own stuff.

btw, my releases on bnv records coming in august, my track on queep (irish label) coming in september, 2 tracks out on redsession (LA based smallish label) out next month and 3 on a french label (mpdigital) out sometime in the summer, and a few others that are up in the air.

plug plug plug. although I doubt many people here are into that sort of thing (thankfully).
    although if i need money for food come september, I'll be a proper publicity whore!!!

Good Lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Jebus. I leave yiz alone for 6 hours and look what happens, the thread descends into debauchery of licking balls.

You people crazy.:pac::pac:

I know! tell me about it

Do I see the award for most off topic thread being polished off in the wings? :p

If there is a SURE way to kill a thread........

Use the quote button! Never know who you're replying to!

Lol dont worry Fro!

It's too sunny a day for worry. I'm off to write songs in the sun in the back garden and ponder time stretching a burst of white noise to layer under my snare. :p

Rafter Boardsies....