Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England v Ireland Autumn Nations Cup | 21.11.20 KO 15:00 | RTE 1 Read Post #5

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Kelleher is poor but wtf is Ryan at calling to the back and the middle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Kelleher just isn't ready. No two ways about it.

Absolutely awful from Farrell who isn't up to this level at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Is the issue Kelleher or the lineout?

Kelleher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Other than line out we're not that bad, some inaccurate kicks but good play otherwise. We just need to stem the tide now and build momentum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

[PHP][/PHP]
    Excellent crossfield from Farrell, not a whole lot Keenan could do bar grow a few inches.

Other than catch it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Boys and men.

One team is professional enough to have a stable set piece.

The other isn't.

And it's a coaching issue as much as the players.

If you can't do the basics, it doesn't really matter what else you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,223 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

He isn't..not by a country mile.. but that's an argument for a different day

He probably is though. Has the best open field game of all the available hookers and his throwing is pretty much the par with others as well. We've had lineout problems with Herring, Scannell and Best in the past as well. It's far more than just the hooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭KaneToad

leakyboots wrote: »
    How was POM the closest to him going over the line, he was still in the air when the English got the ball?

Lowe is in the background jogging

Very impressive chasing back by POM.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

The Honeymoon period resolutely ends here today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Poor missed tackle by Farrell in the build up too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

How was POM the closest to him going over the line, he was still in the air when the English got the ball?

Lowe finding things a bit of a step up today. How was a flanker who isnt known for his speed the closest chaser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

How the hell was Peter O'Mahony the one closest to May after running 100m. Where are all these speedy backs we're supposed to have?. They would run like the wind if it was a potential try at the other end. Need to put the work in at both ends lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Stupid one out carries to static ball carriers as always.

How was POM the closest back to May, where was Lowe?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

Niallof9 wrote: »
    The Honeymoon period resolutely ends here today

It hasnt really been much of a honeymoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

Is the issue Kelleher or the lineout?

Hooker. Too high.
    First line out was crooked. Definitely not Best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Overhead showed him taking a straight line back.

• Administrators Posts: 54,109 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We’re being bullied.

Lineout for ireland, that means try number 3 for England is coming ofcourse...

I thought that they might put the kiboksh on England's fast start with this lineup but it seems not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

going for the line, hmmm

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

bennyl10 wrote: »
    How can we not have any test level hooker?

Herring is decent.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

England tackle bloody hard don't they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Clegg wrote: »
    He probably is though. Has the best open field game of all the available hookers and his throwing is pretty much the par with others as well. We've had lineout problems with Herring, Scannell and Best in the past as well. It's far more than just the hooker.
    He isnt though. Being best open field runner which might not be true considering at provncial level he's in an extremely dominant pack which his rivals dont have. And he's hooker and primary duties are throwing into the lineout and scrummaging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

Sinkler always good for a few brain dead penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Why are we not taking the points? Would be 5-3 if we took on the 1st one? Ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Will Ryan ****ing call to the front!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Paul Weller

i don't think anyone really believes he's the best hooker in the country.. not even a close run thing...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭KH25

Our lineout is a mess.

Suppose we're going to blame Kelleher for that one too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

That was on Ryan not securing it, not Kelleher before people jump on him again.

The lineout would get torn apart at amateur level.

almostover wrote: »
    Lowe finding things a bit of a step up today. How was a flanker who isnt known for his speed the closest chaser?

Desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Kevin OByrne could legitimately be in line for an Ireland call up

Cant be any worse than what we have

Won 1 line out from 4, this is really unforgivable at this level.

He isnt though. Being best open field runner which might not be true considering at provncial level he's in an extremely dominant pack which his rivals dont have. And he's hooker and primary duties are throwing into the lineout and scrummaging.

I think it's pretty clear that the problem is a systems issue. We've had the same issue with numerous different hookers. Bette roff persisting with the young gun with a huge upside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Not that one, but in general we’ve seen time and time again he isn’t test level

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

No that was Ryan not protecting the ball and Itoje out playing him

We keep being told how physical England are.

That's not the issue.

Our play is predictable and they're lining us up in 2s and 3s.

Easy to defend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Solutionking

The only way Ireland is going to bring in new player is to play them,.....everyone is giving out and wants change, Ireland changes and put in new players and every one complains......

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

kmart6 wrote: »
    That was on Ryan not securing it, not Kelleher before people jump on him again.

It was on Itoje being a world class lineout defender.

Itoje the complete player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

KH25 wrote: »
    Our lineout is a mess.

Kelleher will be lucky to make it to half time. Between the lineout and the scrums he's being destroyed.

We have won 20% of our lineouts today, how do you plan to win any test match with stats like this?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Kevin OByrne could legitimately be in line for an Ireland call up

Cant be any worse than what we have

This is nonsense that everything is put on Kelleher.

The last two throws were bang on the money, but the English jumpers read it perfectly.

That’s not Kellehers fault.

I swear we’re so quick to find someone to blame here.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

England are everywhere, have to give it to them. We are giving them (literally), but they are impressive.

Attacking line is too deep, passing is too slow, too easy to read, England are just blitzing like they always do. Turn the fûckers round.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Garda Kenny

Murray would be killing us here if he was playing. Gibson park much improving our play

Pass. Pass. Gets tackled.

Rinse. Repeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

All too predictable in attack

As much as it’s not nice to see how we are getting beaten in scrum, lineout and in the tackle it’s fascinating to watch Itoje playing the game. He is the most complete forward I have ever seen playing the game.