Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Moncrieff - Newstalk

What am I expected to produce here, transcripts? I've given a fair example from his book (it is very good, people should read it) where he goes on about his strong aversion to "junkies". I think a good gauge of someone's position on the woke spectrum (we did a whole seminar on this where Ruth Coppinger shouted at everyone in fluent russian) is what kinda thoughts you have towards the most vulnerable people in the group.

I feel like i am labouring a point that I actually don't feel very strongly about. Moncrieff is a very talented presenter, and undoubtedly one of the most progressive voices in radio. I just think that accolade is indicative of an extremely low standard. That whole notion of the "woke" or socialist media bubble is an absolute joke.

Plenty of socialists are hostile to the lumpen proletariats, not least the grand daddy of them all Marx and Engels.

here's the communist party of the USA on the issue ( from wiki)

The Communist Party USA website defines it as follows:[9]

Generally unemployable people who make no positive contribution to an economy. Sometimes described as the bottom layer of a capitalist society. May include criminal and mentally unstable people. Some activists consider them "most radical" because they are "most exploited," but they are un-organizable and more likely to act as paid agents than to have any progressive role in class struggle.

Engels had even choicer language. Nowadays the fact that socialism is pro worker seems to be forgotten. And who exactly is the working class ( i.e proletarians too).

Most people in the private sector for instance

Plenty of socialists are hostile to the lumpen proletariats, not least the grand daddy of them all Marx and Engels.

Engels had even choicer language. Nowadays the fact that socialism is pro worker seems to be forgotten. And who exactly is the working class ( i.e proletarians too).

Most people in the private sector for instance
    I agree with all of this. It's very interesting that people associate socialism-communism with things like the welfare state, which is an anathema even to contemporary schools of Marxism.

However, I'm not sure that people with addictions to drugs are lumpen-proles, they have a neurological disorder that is recognised as a medical (not just a psychiatric) condition by every mainstream medical association. It has been so for a very long time. It is our economy, in partnership with political economy, which is behind the perception of addicted people as useless. We'd never say the same about someone who has cancer brought on by lifestyle 'choice' but that's a whole other rabbit-hole.

Not that it's totally irrelevant, it's a topic I wish was given some real examination in our media. I can't remember the last time I heard a radio report that dealt with addiction as a medical disorder, the focus is always on bad choices.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Ahwell

It's very interesting that people associate socialism-communism with things like the welfare state, which is an anathema even to contemporary schools of Marxism.

Really? I find it more interesting someone decides Moncrieff advocates "everyone should be let alone to be themselves, society owes them nothing and expects nothing" because he doesn't like sitting next to junkies on the Dart. Yet in that book you read he concludes that the better the social security safety net a state provides the more equal those societies are and more equal societies do better. Whereas, your classical liberal types would see the welfare state as interfering in a free market.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,561 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Seán really OWNED that Tatiana McGrath guy.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 20,028 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

caught out with the need for mass debates on buses etc as well :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Sean had his claws out but to be fair it wasn’t your mans first rodeo.

He is awfully guilty of scoffing at people who aren’t card carrying lefties like himself. It’s a really bad trait.

Yesterday Sean interviewed partner in a gay couple who will be moving from Ireland when they are able to. And an environmentalist architect yesterday.

Too many humans.
    Modern architecture is bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Sean had his claws out but to be fair it wasn’t your mans first rodeo.

He is awfully guilty of scoffing at people who aren’t card carrying lefties like himself. It’s a really bad trait.

I haven't listened for a long time and a big reason is this. It's hard not to allow your 'politics' to come through a little bit on a show like this and that's okay, but there's few more annoying traits in a presenter than sneering at contrary views. He's up there with D'Arsey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

Cole wrote: »
    I haven't listened for a long time and a big reason is this. It's hard not to allow your 'politics' to come through a little bit on a show like this and that's okay, but there's few more annoying traits in a presenter than sneering at contrary views. He's up there with D'Arsey.

In fairness he is just giving his audience what they want, alturism on steroids for the greater good. It's awful radio but there is obviously enough people who are willing to tune in to his preachy nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

On the Montcrieff show on Friday there was a documentary mentioned and recommended. I didn’t catch the name of it and would rather not relisten to the whole show.

Does anyone know what it was called?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    On the Montcrieff show on Friday there was a documentary mentioned and recommended. I didn’t catch the name of it and would rather not relisten to the whole show.

Does anyone know what it was called?

Henry Glassie: Field Work

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Henry Glassie: Field Work

That’s great. Thank you very much.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

What time is the TV slot on a Monday now?

BPKS wrote: »
    What time is the TV slot on a Monday now?

Between 2pm and 4pm.

I think it jumps around a lot, but you used to be able to find segments by searching for them on the app. If you try searching "tv on the radio" it should come up as its own podcast listing.

Between 2pm and 4pm.

I think it jumps around a lot, but you used to be able to find segments by searching for them on the app. If you try searching "tv on the radio" it should come up as its own podcast listing.

It used to be on Thursdays (last Thursday being the last) after 3 o clock but he said its been changed to Monday now so I assumed they would have a specific slot for it.

I didn't like the Dempsey lad who does the TV reviews at the start but he has grown on me now - seems like a nice fella. Has recommended some good stuff over the last few years.

forgot it was moved to Mondays , enjoyed that slot every week

• Registered Users Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Is that the only slot they moved around?

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Is that the only slot they moved around?

Think they were just swapping the "Now you think your an adult" and TV segments.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

BPKS wrote: »
    Think they were just swapping the "Now you think your an adult" and TV segments.

Swapping it into the bin, by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,860 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That third girl they've got on Movies & Booze lately for all the showbiz gossip - as well as being utterly fatuous and superflous (IMHO) - does she qualify for the most annoying voice/accent combination, like EVER?????

Only because I really like the slot can I bear to leave the radio on at all.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    That third girl they've got on Movies & Booze lately for all the showbiz gossip - as well as being utterly fatuous and superflous (IMHO) - does she qualify for the most annoying voice/accent combination, like EVER?????

i was wondering where the feck the accent is from

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

I don't listen to Moncrieff, but I listened back because I'm into accents. It's all pretty subjective of course, but I don't hear anything 'unusual'. It's hard to pinpoint where in the country she's from, but when she says "yah", I was guessing Cork and low and behold...after Googling her...tis Cork she's from.

When we have Caitriona Perry, Miriam, Afric O'Connell, Baz etc. on the airways, this girl sounds positively authentic...but like I said, it's all subjective.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,561 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Covid can cause erectile disfunction now? A worrying development.

Felt they said “penile” way too much in that segment though.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Sean talking fanny again! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭scotchy

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Sean talking fanny again! lol

I drove into work this morning, just because I didn't know the name of all the streets didn't mean I got lost.:P

:o

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Claire, I didn't get her full name, is doing a good job of filling in for Sean.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Gammyeye

Can't listen to that slot anymore because of her. The most annoying accent on radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭4Ad

Gammyeye wrote: »
    Can't listen to that slot anymore because of her. The most annoying accent on radio.

She add's nothing, a bit of showbiz gossip, who cares?? Just review another beer or wine, much more interesting..
    As for the accent, agh !!!

I thought Clare McKenna was as boring as bejaysus !!

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Claire, I didn't get her full name, is doing a good job of filling in for Sean.

McKenna. She was ****e. Turned it into a show about her viewpoints. Moncrieff is untouchable in this slot. The usual replacement actually does ok in this slot too but not a patch on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭sterz

McKenna. She was ****e. Turned it into a show about her viewpoints. Moncrieff is untouchable in this slot. The usual replacement actually does ok in this slot too but not a patch on him.

I haven't listened to the guy in years as I find him to be unbearable but isn't this exactly what he does in terms of his own viewpoints?