Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dreamer of the year (Arcade Edition)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,263 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Sure who doesn't love sitting down in front of an arcade machine for some Netflix?

Skewed viewing angle, arcade sticks in the way, fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Inviere

o1s1n wrote: »
    Sure who doesn't love sitting down in front of an arcade machine for some Netflix?

Sure why stop there? May as well fit the Virgin Media box in there too, and fit a DVB-S card to the emulation pc to capture satellite feeds...plonk an armchair in front of the cab...sorted

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

You're correct, its my main source for binging hours of netflix and my main reason i cannot stand straight and see a physio weekly :D

That aside, im really tempted to call this guy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

That one keeps on giving really.

That marquee is outstanding, so it the wall light switch on top of the cab

And am I wrong or is that not paint? Looks like the cab has a very cool "black duct tape" wrap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

the_syco wrote: »
    Hah! After reading that, I asked him "Any pictures of them turned on and working?" on one of the TV ads. It'll be interesting to see his response :pac:
    I asked him for proof that the €200 CRT worked; https://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/crt-tv/20664312

His response was of a €270 CRT that worked. https://www.adverts.ie/tv/crt-tv/20683448

I'd say that that is the only one that works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Hmm. Looks like someone took a strip of wallpaper off their grannies living room wall for the marquee, and then poured black creosote over the cabinet.

Gradius wrote: »
    Hmm. Looks like someone took a strip of wallpaper off their grannies living room wall for the marquee, and then poured black creosote over the cabinet.

It is haha, he bought one of them cheap-o pandoras box arcade sticks that plugs into the TV and smashed together a "bespoke" cabinet, comprised of vinyl tape, stained glass from an old church, spray painted mdf and slapped some wheels on it "for mobility"

Asked for some pics of the sides and back, it's made of plywood with some ****ty tape wrap it looks like. If he removed a zero off that price it would be fair....kinda

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

the_syco wrote: »
    I asked him for proof that the €200 CRT worked; https://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/crt-tv/20664312

His response was of a €270 CRT that worked. https://www.adverts.ie/tv/crt-tv/20683448

I'd say that that is the only one that works!

The Sony telly looks lovely, at least without the stand which is pure firewood.
    But he'll be sitting on that one for a long time, or have to withdraw it, no one is going to be spending that much for that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

https://www.adverts.ie/20763888

Years ago a post selling a system with roms wouldn’t last a minute on the old boards selling forum, when it changed to adverts.ie seems it’s OK now, I remember listing a modded Xbox and I wasn’t even including any games/roms and was instantly banned for 2 weeks.

I still always report anything including roms just to piss the sellers off :p
    There was one guy last week selling PS4 with your choice of 50 pirate games and he’s listed the full library to choose from, in fairness when I reported that it was removed and he relished a couple minutes later and I reported again, this went on for about 20 times, I’m not sure if he got banned or gave up :D

Better move fast lads.shes going to the skip.

http://www.adverts.ie/20153781

Master of the Universe

I'm starting to think his ads are actually in a different currency, it's the only way any of it makes sense

Master of the Universe

Apparently there's lots going in the skip! :pac:

https://www.adverts.ie/home-audio/coca-cola-hifi/20769293

Better move fast lads.shes going to the skip.

http://www.adverts.ie/20153781

Gonna swing by his gaff on Sunday and save a fortune

My hole is this going into the skip, it'll still be up by next week. Surely he would take a tener rather than throwing it out.... Cowboy

Hes trying to buy this lovely coffee table,
    Will soon be an attic find.

https://www.adverts.ie/coffee-tables/furniture/20747529

belongs on the ugly Irish houses instagram

Another one of his comments

"@nikk30 no it can go skip if dont get what it's worth"
    who does he think hes fooling!

Another bit of gold

skip-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BGOllie

Gonna swing by his gaff on Sunday and save a fortune

yay. we could all chip in, fiver each, rent a skip, and get all this stuff for free.

Master of the Universe

HAHAHA ah god, which one of you hilarious bastards is A1 Skip hire??? :D:D:D

a1-skip-hire.jpg

Thats brilliant HAHA, their comments on the manhole ad are brilliant too.

https://www.adverts.ie/other-building-materials/wanted-manhole/20676984

bmorrissey wrote: »
    Thats brilliant HAHA, their comments on the manhole ad are brilliant too.

https://www.adverts.ie/other-building-materials/wanted-manhole/20676984
    Someone tell him there’s probably one under that skip that’s taking up room in his garden, he should throw it up into that huge attic of his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BGOllie

what a nutjob : https://www.adverts.ie/tv/vintage-tv/20777465
    he could've gotten some realistic money for them but instead he decided to pay for a skip and chuck them.

BGOllie wrote: »
    he could've gotten some realistic money for them but instead he decided to pay for a skip and chuck them.

I don't seem to recognise any of the stuff in the skip... The sofa isn't in the skip, it's still up for sale so, I'm so relieved

Also was the skip not coming Saturday I thought?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

BGOllie wrote: »
    He just googled skip full of old televisions

airmax87 wrote: »

That's the modern retro gaming scene for you. Someone will buy that as an investment and try sell it for €300 in 5 years

2 different skip pictures.fairly sad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

2 different skip pictures.fairly sad.

Let's face it, the lot are back in the attic, including the skips, both of them.
    Possibly an explanation of supply/demand could come in helpful

https://www.adverts.ie/20779829

Arcade 1up SF2 cabinet only €550

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,075 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Well, this seems a steal.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/264769307995

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Master of the Universe

I'd love to know how an Atari console ends up underground in someone's garden :confused:

When I initially saw it I thought it might be part of the famous Atari landfill that was dug up recently.

Just stick it in a frame and charge 500 quid instead.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Atari-FireWorld-From-the-Alamogordo-NM-Landfill-Dig/264495675723?hash=item3d952bb94b:g:HekAAOSwffRdoORm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

a1-skip-hire.jpg
    Tempted to set up an account called Thortons!

b2the.jpg

Master of the Universe

Seller 'Andrew1968'

I think Andrew76 may have a nemesis.

So,
    What do you do when you own the following?
    An AliExpress special Pandoras Box/Arcade Stick? €200
    A flat panel telly? €250
    Some MDF? €50
    And lots of black duck tape? €10

You make something out of it that's arcade shaped and try to flog it for nearly two grand! (€1800)

http://www.adverts.ie/20747918

They even show a close up of the black tape, very proud of the tape this seller is, very proud indeed...

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    So,
    What do you do when you own the following?
    An AliExpress special Pandoras Box/Arcade Stick? €200
    A flat panel telly? €250
    Some MDF? €50
    And lots of black duck tape? €10

You make something out of it that's arcade shaped and try to flog it for nearly two grand! (€1800)

http://www.adverts.ie/20747918

They even show a close up of the black tape, very proud of the tape this seller is, very proud indeed...

I seen that ad a few days ago, i was very curious about the tape haha, i asked for more pics of the back and side, looks absolutely awful. Oh and its plywood as he described it, not the luxury of MDF there haha

plywood for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,784 ✭✭✭eddhorse

It has sky sports apparently ;)

eddhorse wrote: »
    It has sky sports apparently ;)

Also all worldwide TV movies vood (whatever vood is)

A bargain at 1800....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,558 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

vood you buy it? vood I fúck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

bmorrissey wrote: »
    Also all worldwide TV movies vood (whatever vood is)

A bargain at 1800....:rolleyes:

Vood is a synthetic wood substitute developed in Ballybrack in 1999, virtual wood = "vood"

It has all the negatives of wood such as being inflammable, but with the added factors of less strength and less durability.

A challenge to the patent was brought before the European Court almost immediately by Gorilla Tape, who claimed that "vood" was actually just Gorilla Tape folded over itself many times.

A third litigant entered the legal battle, a giant ape who counter-claimed against Gorilla Tape on the grounds that no gorillas were used in the production of, or benefitted from, Gorilla Tape.

Gorilla Tape counter-counter-claimed that apes are in fact not gorillas.

The court threw the case out, with the only remaining piece of vood allowed to remain in Ballybrack. What ever happened to that unused prototype vood remained a much discussed legend, until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭deadl0ck

Check out this baby for 900 yo-yos: https://www.adverts.ie/20843597

"This is the real deal and not some cheap import, probably the best portable retro console on the market!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭phily2002

deadl0ck wrote: »
    Check out this baby for 900 yo-yos: https://www.adverts.ie/20843597

"This is the real deal and not some cheap import, probably the best portable retro console on the market!"

900 quid, what planet is he on

"No, sorry it is expensive.. only because it was made by a Japanese company in England and all components are of top quality."

Anyone know a Japanese company in England? :S

You can order them from AliExpress, shipped from Spain, for less than €190 with free shipping!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Anyone know a Japanese company in England? :S

Superdry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,784 ✭✭✭eddhorse

I'd say he means he got the joysticks and buttons from ArcadeWorld?

Also this :
    #Aliexpress € 93,66 51%OFF | IYO Pandora Box 9H 3288 Arcade Console USB Joystick Arcade Buttons With Light 2 Players Control Retro 3D Arcade Game Box
    https://a.aliexpress.com/_dU9tIDk

H17c7724dabe14aa0bcd57889b5ec39d9Y.jpg_640x640Q90.jpg

Yeah, that's pretty much it, but it uses a Raspberry Pi instead of a Pandora's Box.

Oh, and I'm being threatened now.
    It loses some effect when he says it in an Ardee accent...

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Yeah, that's pretty much it, but it uses a Raspberry Pi instead of a Pandora's Box.

Oh, and I'm being threatened now.
    It loses some effect when he says it in an Ardee accent...

Man he's not helping himself at all with his comments back 😂

If he sells that at all now he deserves the ****ing money 😂

I even told him how to block my comments...
    I mean, seriously, even I am feeling sorry for him.