Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

Why do people refer to strangers by their first names?

You'd swear some people were describing the plot to some daytime soap-opera. I'm not sure what inspires such apparent infatuation with this family.

because their lives are like a soap opera, they attempt to portray this wholesome cooking family from the countryside just to make money whilst behind the scenes they are far from that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Loads of posters have suggested that Tim took the blame for a younger family member. It might be true but it could also suggest a cunning plot to save him from family expulsion while still protecting the guilty party.
    I for one am not buying that unless someone can relay a convincing story.

The man is a horrible creep, just listening to his voice on that YT video of him posted further back is enough me of his guilt

because their lives are like a soap opera, they attempt to portray this wholesome cooking family from the countryside just to make money whilst behind the scenes they are far from that
    Isn't it all a bit nasty, though?

Imagine your Mum or your sister cooked buns for a living, and maybe did so on the telly.

Is that really a carte blanche for people to idly gossip about the innermost workings of your mind, impute all sorts of malevolent/ sinister motives to you, and talk about you as if they knew the first thing about you?

I don't think so. Most people are decent people at their core, including people contributing to this thread, probably. And i really don't see why they sometimes feel they can say what they want, in public, about total strangers.

Imagine your Mum or your sister cooked buns for a living, and maybe did so on the telly.

Is that really a carte blanche for people to idly gossip about the innermost workings of your mind, impute all sorts of malevolent/ sinister motives to you, and talk about you as if they knew the first thing about you?

I don't think so. Most people are decent people at their core, including people contributing to this thread, probably. And i really don't see why they sometimes feel they can say what they want, in public, about total strangers.

because they put themselves out there in the public domain to make as much money as they can from auld ones buying their rehashed cook books, anybody willing to do that must take the good with the bad and if you are in the public eye you just wont get away with hoarding kiddie porn or peddling drugs.... its not like rachel goes on tv to bake a few buns for the love of baking....its to make as much money as they possibly can

its to make as much money as they possibly can
    Who cares? it's called making a living. We all try to make as much money as we can.

Fine, i'm only making a suggestion. Go back to the curtain-twitching and overly-personal accusations then.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair that's a debate about celebrity itself. I don't think it really matters if they're making buns or are a politician, they're in the public eye. there is a discussion about how much intrusion is allowed. Is it ok to report on a celebrity wedding, or on their crimes? Does it matter how much they put themselves out there, for example if it was a reality TV personality who's constantly trying to get themselves in a gossip magazine, is it different to a celebrity chef who just turns up for work?
    I think celebrity gossip is really the lowest form of news, if it can even be called that. That however doesn't mean that it's unethical to report it.

Who cares? it's called making a living. We all try to make as much money as we can.

Fine, i'm only making a suggestion. Go back to the curtain-twitching and overly-personal accusations then.

we all try to make as much money as we can but not all of us do it in the public eye and as i have said, if you go into the public domain to make your living you must know that you are open to scrutiny and certainly selling drugs and collecting kiddie porn for people in the public eye, of course people are going to talk about it, two of the worst things anybody could do....all the while rachel is baking buns on the television whilst launching a new cookbook, it doesnt wash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

Why do people refer to strangers by their first names?

You'd swear some people were describing the plot to some daytime soap-opera. I'm not sure what inspires such apparent infatuation with this family.

Its shorter than typing "Tim Allen", "Rachel Allen", "Darina Allen" each time.

Would seem a bit odd to be typing out their whole names when the entire readership of boards.ie knows exactly who is being referred to when we refer to Tim in this thread.

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair that's a debate about celebrity itself. I don't think it really matters if they're making buns or are a politician, they're in the public eye. there is a discussion about how much intrusion is allowed. Is it ok to report on a celebrity wedding, or on their crimes? Does it matter how much they put themselves out there, for example if it was a reality TV personality who's constantly trying to get themselves in a gossip magazine, is it different to a celebrity chef who just turns up for work?
    I think celebrity gossip is really the lowest form of news, if it can even be called that. That however doesn't mean that it's unethical to report it.
    Can't disagree with anything you've said, and I happen to think the story about the drug seizure is newsworthy, even the bit about the guy's family connections.

i have no issue at all with how this was reported. All I'm saying is that any ordinary family (and regardless of their fairly comfortable lives, this is just an ordinary family) must be in turmoil right now.

maybe we should have a bit of compassion and a bit of cop-on when discussing people who themselves have done nothing wrong. Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light? What gives anyone the right to do that, isn't that just being a colossal dick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light?

If you can tell us how to talk about the supporters of a convicted child pornographer in a in a non sinister light we would all be delighted to hear about it.

....... wrote: »
    If you can tell us how to talk about the supporters of a convicted child pornographer in a in a non sinister light we would all be delighted to hear about it.

here here...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Can't disagree with anything you've said, and I happen to think the story about the drug seizure is newsworthy, even the bit about the guy's family connections.

i have no issue at all with how this was reported. All I'm saying is that any ordinary family (and regardless of their fairly comfortable lives, this is just an ordinary family) must be in turmoil right now.

maybe we should have a bit of compassion and a bit of cop-on when discussing people who themselves have done nothing wrong. Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light? What gives anyone the right to do that, isn't that just being a colossal dick?

I think it's all down to that old phrase "in the public interest". It's very broad though and there's a lot of grey areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,902 ✭✭✭thesandeman

We can't let Cork steal all the limelight:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

thefloss wrote: »
    Young Joshua was a pal's dealer and has been importing amounts like what was reported regularly for years.

Lots of drug squad activity in Midleton over the weekend. The guards were aware him for a while, and waited until he was 18 to nab him. They plan on making an example of him so watch this space.

Of course everything I said could be fiction.

A dog never bites just the one time. I think this is perfect opportunity for him to be a role model/poster boy for "I did drugs and now I am REALLY sorry!!!". I doubt he wasnt warned to "cease and desist".

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Visconti

....... wrote: »

Here here here here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    First Katy French, now Joshua Allen.

When will these evil drug dealers leave our innocent celebrities alone.

and another Z name to be revealed soon I'd say

http://www.thejournal.ie/model-drugs-north-dublin-4273964-Oct2018/
    The woman, who is in her 20s, is active on the modelling scene and is regularly seen in the company of Irish and international celebrities.

However, in recent months she and her parent have allegedly become involved in the cocaine trade due to the parent’s link to a serious criminal who is a target of the Garda Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau (DOCB).

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Visconti

and another Z name to be revealed soon I'd say

http://www.thejournal.ie/model-drugs-north-dublin-4273964-Oct2018/

Interesting..........

• Registered Users Posts: 12,364 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Why is this news?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why is this news?

Probably his family requested that this story be covered, as they love publicity

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

they relish publicity

ftfy

• Registered Users Posts: 8,927 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I thought it was 30,000 euro worth of cannabis not 13,000

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Imagine if this turned out to be a secret ingredient for their relish...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Imagine if this turned out to be a secret ingredient for their relish...

That would make a lot of sense actually

• Registered Users Posts: 31,835 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I thought it was 30,000 euro worth of cannabis not 13,000
    It counts as possession of cannabis for sale or supply if market value exceeds 13k.
    Its right there in the story twice.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0411/1042034-joshua-allen-court/

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why is this news?

Public interest........... I find it interesting tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,927 ✭✭✭pgj2015

it will work out the same as what happened paul scholes son for beating some guy up. no prison time.

rich kids usually turn out to be a total waste of space. They have no respect for money or anything or anyone really.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

gmisk wrote: »
    It counts as possession of cannabis for sale or supply if market value exceeds 13k.
    Its right there in the story twice.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0411/1042034-joshua-allen-court/
    To be fair, the headline is wrong. Makes it sounds like he was charged with possession of €13k of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Slap on the wrist the most likely out come cant see this rich kid doing porridge. His grandfather walked out of the same courthouse and did very well for himself....