Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

Ballymaloe Cranberry Sauce is 3.35 right now in shops.

I think this gets cheaper closer to Christmas- anyone have any past Christmas prices?
    Might be good to do a compare and contrast.

Christmas Turkey not the same without Ballymaloe Cranberry Sauce- but not at any price.

Ballymaloe is an Irish Family Food Company-Whatever that means- it says so on the jar- so it must be true.

5099229000453_3.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'll never forget the Christmas I worked in Tesco. The amount of Ballymaloe sauces they sold was crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'll never forget the Christmas I worked in Tesco. The amount of Ballymaloe sauces they sold was crazy.

I'm a Chivers woman meself for donkey's years when it cones to the cranberry sauce.

Have had to resort to making me own Mint jelly at Christmas since Colman's stopped doing their delicious concoction and the Ballymaloe variety is not to my satisfaction.

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    I'm a Chivers woman meself for donkey's years when it cones to the cranberry sauce.

Have had to resort to making me own Mint jelly at Christmas since Colman's stopped doing their delicious concoction and the Ballymaloe variety is not to my satisfaction.

I used to be Chivers but I changed. :o

Sorry Chivers. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

That does answer my question sorry about the post being jumbled.
    I think my main point was you don't really know how you'll react until it actually happens in my experience.

Like I said, I have personal experiences that have greatly informed my opinion. I do actually know how I would react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

*engages curtain twitching nosey auld wan mode*

I am all ears :D

Ditto, you can DM me the tale.
    So very very true. Lesson to be learned; 3rd generation need to be deliberately restricted in means by parents (set up a trust to mature in much later life), no luxuries except likes of educational holidays only (eg arctic adventures etc etc where vslue of planet is learned), being sent to work part-time in another catering outlet and telling the boss to be realistically hard/kind with lad, Money is very basic pocket money, then instead what is earned part-time, any further money contingent upon successfully doing at least a basic pass in a course of lad’s choice outside Ballymaloe.

Even just put him to work, make him earn money and pay off the legal fees. He could very well work his way up the ladder in a restaurant outside of Ballymaloe.
    Allow him means to pay for fuel, his insurance, and food-from what he earns.

It just seems like he was allowed run rampant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ditto, you can DM me the tal...

I too, would be interested in this! :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

Is this just the Tim Allen covering for his son.

Nope

Tim Allen was covering for his son who was the real pedo? na, why the heck would he do that?

There is a story which would tend to change the minds of people who hear it, to make them more sympathetic towards the Allens; I've heard it, it's pretty much an open secret.

Is it true? Not sure. I will say this, it's one that the family itself wouldn't have made up, you can be sure of that.

please do tell i am intrigued

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

PM me the story too or post it here.
    I heard from a local years ago that Tim took the blame for a family member. The local said this was the belief of the locsls who knew the family.
    This would explain the family support for Tim Allen, the family were badly advised at the time. They should have stayed away from the court completely.
    The family learnt nothing. Rachel should have said absolutely nothing to the media, by going into such detail about what happened she three her DS to the wolves. This was a matter for the Gardai and justice will be done eventually in public, she should have told the media to clear off.

tretorn wrote: »
    PM me the story too or post it here.
    I heard from a local years ago that Tim took the blame for a family member. The local said this was the belief of the locsls who knew the family.
    This would explain the family support for Tim Allen, the family were badly advised at the time. They should have stayed away from the court completely.
    The family learnt nothing. Rachel should have said absolutely nothing to the media, by going into such detail about what happened she three her DS to the wolves. This was a matter for the Gardai and justice will be done eventually in public, she should have told the media to clear off.

i dont get it, why would tim take the rap for someone else? unless it would have affected their branding even more than if it was tim....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,204 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Loads of posters have suggested that Tim took the blame for a younger family member. It might be true but it could also suggest a cunning plot to save him from family expulsion while still protecting the guilty party.
    I for one am not buying that unless someone can relay a convincing story.

Loads of posters have suggested that Tim took the blame for a younger family member. It might be true but it could also suggest a cunning plot to save him from family expulsion while still protecting the guilty party.

the only thing i could think of that it was isaac who was the pedo and as rachel was the rising star of the ballymaloe brand, it would hurt them more than it being tim so tim was made take the rap...it also may explain why they let the kids do what they wanted over the guilt of the father and maybe rachel wanted them to get away....i dont know i'm only speculating and it sounds far fetched

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

I waiting for a murder actually all the family needs at this stage. Then a book after a movie etc......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

But what the proponents of the "Tim the Hero" story seem to forget is that the heroic Tim first tried to blame one of his employees, only when that failed did he put his own hand up.

He's a scummy old perv, nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

But what the proponents of the "Tim the Hero" story seem to forget is that the heroic Tim first tried to blame one of his employees, only when that failed did he put his own hand up.

He's a scummy old perv, nothing else.

The also forget the evidence.such as credit card payments and the old scumbag guding his missus the the horrible printouts in his office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

There is a story which would tend to change the minds of people who hear it, to make them more sympathetic towards the Allens; I've heard it, it's pretty much an open secret.

Is it true? Not sure. I will say this, it's one that the family itself wouldn't have made up, you can be sure of that.

I think the hard part to explain away is that his credit card was being used to purchase photos of child sexual abuse. Not a once off purchase but over a period of time. The covering for someone else doesn't hold water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

the only thing i could think of that it was isaac who was the pedo and as rachel was the rising star of the ballymaloe brand, it would hurt them more than it being tim so tim was made take the rap...it also may explain why they let the kids do what they wanted over the guilt of the father and maybe rachel wanted them to get away....i dont know i'm only speculating and it sounds far fetched

Youve got it backwards.

Rachel HAD to become the rising star because Tim was caught out. The Garda investigation on his activities was going on long before the media was reporting on it. When the Allens knew the game was up with Tim they moved to push Rachel into prime position because they knew Darina would stay with him and thus be no good to them for tv etc for some time. So Rachel was on the up and up before we all knew about Tim, but not before the Allens did.

....... wrote: »
    Youve got it backwards.

Rachel HAD to become the rising star because Tim was caught out. The Garda investigation on his activities was going on long before the media was reporting on it. When the Allens knew the game was up with Tim they moved to push Rachel into prime position because they knew Darina would stay with him and thus be no good to them for tv etc for some time. So Rachel was on the up and up before we all knew about Tim, but not before the Allens did.

it wouldnt surprise me if isaac was gay and he was made marry rachel for the brand.... she was probably hand picked by darina, only my speculation of course

Youve got it backwards.

Why do people refer to strangers by their first names?

You'd swear some people were describing the plot to some daytime soap-opera. I'm not sure what inspires such apparent infatuation with this family.

because their lives are like a soap opera, they attempt to portray this wholesome cooking family from the countryside just to make money whilst behind the scenes they are far from that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

The man is a horrible creep, just listening to his voice on that YT video of him posted further back is enough me of his guilt

because their lives are like a soap opera, they attempt to portray this wholesome cooking family from the countryside just to make money whilst behind the scenes they are far from that
    Isn't it all a bit nasty, though?

Imagine your Mum or your sister cooked buns for a living, and maybe did so on the telly.

Is that really a carte blanche for people to idly gossip about the innermost workings of your mind, impute all sorts of malevolent/ sinister motives to you, and talk about you as if they knew the first thing about you?

I don't think so. Most people are decent people at their core, including people contributing to this thread, probably. And i really don't see why they sometimes feel they can say what they want, in public, about total strangers.

Imagine your Mum or your sister cooked buns for a living, and maybe did so on the telly.

Is that really a carte blanche for people to idly gossip about the innermost workings of your mind, impute all sorts of malevolent/ sinister motives to you, and talk about you as if they knew the first thing about you?

I don't think so. Most people are decent people at their core, including people contributing to this thread, probably. And i really don't see why they sometimes feel they can say what they want, in public, about total strangers.

because they put themselves out there in the public domain to make as much money as they can from auld ones buying their rehashed cook books, anybody willing to do that must take the good with the bad and if you are in the public eye you just wont get away with hoarding kiddie porn or peddling drugs.... its not like rachel goes on tv to bake a few buns for the love of baking....its to make as much money as they possibly can

its to make as much money as they possibly can
    Who cares? it's called making a living. We all try to make as much money as we can.

Fine, i'm only making a suggestion. Go back to the curtain-twitching and overly-personal accusations then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,314 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair that's a debate about celebrity itself. I don't think it really matters if they're making buns or are a politician, they're in the public eye. there is a discussion about how much intrusion is allowed. Is it ok to report on a celebrity wedding, or on their crimes? Does it matter how much they put themselves out there, for example if it was a reality TV personality who's constantly trying to get themselves in a gossip magazine, is it different to a celebrity chef who just turns up for work?
    I think celebrity gossip is really the lowest form of news, if it can even be called that. That however doesn't mean that it's unethical to report it.

Who cares? it's called making a living. We all try to make as much money as we can.

Fine, i'm only making a suggestion. Go back to the curtain-twitching and overly-personal accusations then.

we all try to make as much money as we can but not all of us do it in the public eye and as i have said, if you go into the public domain to make your living you must know that you are open to scrutiny and certainly selling drugs and collecting kiddie porn for people in the public eye, of course people are going to talk about it, two of the worst things anybody could do....all the while rachel is baking buns on the television whilst launching a new cookbook, it doesnt wash

Its shorter than typing "Tim Allen", "Rachel Allen", "Darina Allen" each time.

Would seem a bit odd to be typing out their whole names when the entire readership of boards.ie knows exactly who is being referred to when we refer to Tim in this thread.

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair that's a debate about celebrity itself. I don't think it really matters if they're making buns or are a politician, they're in the public eye. there is a discussion about how much intrusion is allowed. Is it ok to report on a celebrity wedding, or on their crimes? Does it matter how much they put themselves out there, for example if it was a reality TV personality who's constantly trying to get themselves in a gossip magazine, is it different to a celebrity chef who just turns up for work?
    I think celebrity gossip is really the lowest form of news, if it can even be called that. That however doesn't mean that it's unethical to report it.
    Can't disagree with anything you've said, and I happen to think the story about the drug seizure is newsworthy, even the bit about the guy's family connections.

i have no issue at all with how this was reported. All I'm saying is that any ordinary family (and regardless of their fairly comfortable lives, this is just an ordinary family) must be in turmoil right now.

maybe we should have a bit of compassion and a bit of cop-on when discussing people who themselves have done nothing wrong. Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light? What gives anyone the right to do that, isn't that just being a colossal dick?

Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light?

If you can tell us how to talk about the supporters of a convicted child pornographer in a in a non sinister light we would all be delighted to hear about it.

here here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,314 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Can't disagree with anything you've said, and I happen to think the story about the drug seizure is newsworthy, even the bit about the guy's family connections.

i have no issue at all with how this was reported. All I'm saying is that any ordinary family (and regardless of their fairly comfortable lives, this is just an ordinary family) must be in turmoil right now.

maybe we should have a bit of compassion and a bit of cop-on when discussing people who themselves have done nothing wrong. Do we really need to paint innocent people, running a successful business and trying to get on with their lives, in such a sinister light? What gives anyone the right to do that, isn't that just being a colossal dick?

I think it's all down to that old phrase "in the public interest". It's very broad though and there's a lot of grey areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

We can't let Cork steal all the limelight:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

thefloss wrote: »
    Young Joshua was a pal's dealer and has been importing amounts like what was reported regularly for years.

Lots of drug squad activity in Midleton over the weekend. The guards were aware him for a while, and waited until he was 18 to nab him. They plan on making an example of him so watch this space.

Of course everything I said could be fiction.

A dog never bites just the one time. I think this is perfect opportunity for him to be a role model/poster boy for "I did drugs and now I am REALLY sorry!!!". I doubt he wasnt warned to "cease and desist".

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Visconti

Here here here here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    First Katy French, now Joshua Allen.

When will these evil drug dealers leave our innocent celebrities alone.

and another Z name to be revealed soon I'd say

http://www.thejournal.ie/model-drugs-north-dublin-4273964-Oct2018/
    The woman, who is in her 20s, is active on the modelling scene and is regularly seen in the company of Irish and international celebrities.

However, in recent months she and her parent have allegedly become involved in the cocaine trade due to the parent’s link to a serious criminal who is a target of the Garda Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau (DOCB).

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Visconti

and another Z name to be revealed soon I'd say

http://www.thejournal.ie/model-drugs-north-dublin-4273964-Oct2018/

Interesting..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Why is this news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why is this news?

Probably his family requested that this story be covered, as they love publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

they relish publicity

ftfy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,419 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I thought it was 30,000 euro worth of cannabis not 13,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Imagine if this turned out to be a secret ingredient for their relish...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Imagine if this turned out to be a secret ingredient for their relish...

That would make a lot of sense actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,302 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I thought it was 30,000 euro worth of cannabis not 13,000
    It counts as possession of cannabis for sale or supply if market value exceeds 13k.
    Its right there in the story twice.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0411/1042034-joshua-allen-court/

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why is this news?

Public interest........... I find it interesting tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭pgj2015

it will work out the same as what happened paul scholes son for beating some guy up. no prison time.

rich kids usually turn out to be a total waste of space. They have no respect for money or anything or anyone really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

gmisk wrote: »
    It counts as possession of cannabis for sale or supply if market value exceeds 13k.
    Its right there in the story twice.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0411/1042034-joshua-allen-court/
    To be fair, the headline is wrong. Makes it sounds like he was charged with possession of €13k of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Slap on the wrist the most likely out come cant see this rich kid doing porridge. His grandfather walked out of the same courthouse and did very well for himself....