Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How long ago has Southside vs Northside been a thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭newport2

What separates humans from animals?
    The Liffey

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

What they do tend to share is this misguided belief that they are a fountain of this mythical creation known as ‘Dublin wit’.

I blame Ronnie Drew.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

benjamin d wrote: »
    I was reading about this before and it's pretty fascinating. The northside around Parnell and Mountjoy squares were the fancy spots until Leinster house was built in the early 19th century, then all the rich folk followed over Southside and the Georgian northside buildings were converted to tenements, hence becoming the "rough" side. I may have the finer points of that wrong but that's roughly it.

You're not far off. And Capel Street used to be one of the most sought after addresses in the city. Very wealthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vita nova

It's always been a confection generally as there are plenty of nice areas on the northside and rough ones on the south.

It probably comes about from the relative neglect of the north city centre vs the south city centre but even that has changed in recent times.

The best one is when you see somebody, usually culchies, referring to somebody having a 'Northside accent'.
    Whatever about northsiders or southsiders or whatever-siders-you're-having-yourself, those Dubliners that refer to people outside Dublin as "culchies", come across as totally narrow-minded, ignorant individuals.

I remember being youngin the early 2000's and a group of Northside lads and a group of Southside lads would have battles on one of the bridges at the liffey. Throwing rocks and such, slagging, fighting...purely because they were on opposite sides of the river. But not one of them ever crossed the middle part of the bridge. Some lads got seriously injured and they deserved it. Retards.

It used to be breakdance battles on bits of lino in the 80s. Polyester, headbands and battery cassette players as far as the eye could see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Vita nova wrote: »
    Whatever about northsiders or southsiders or whatever-siders-you're-having-yourself, those Dubliners that refer to people outside Dublin as "culchies", come across as totally narrow-minded, ignorant individuals.

Culchie is fine. It’s better than toothless hick, mucksavage, bogtrotter, silage arse, or Paddy Hayseed.

Don’t be so thin skinned.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭muppetshow1451

The american civil war ended in 1865

LadyMacbeth reported for extreme daughter of the soil bias :pac:

vXgecIu.jpg

qcwBlGA.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Similar to those people outside dublin who refer to all Dublin people as "jackeens"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

LadyMacbeth reported for extreme daughter of the soil bias :pac:

vXgecIu.jpg

qcwBlGA.jpg

Corkonian bias :p

Chrongen wrote: »
    Similar to those people outside dublin who refer to all Dublin people as "jackeens"
    Absolutely, comes from the same era as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Absolutely, comes from the same era as well.

Whatever era you referring to?

The Jackeen nomiker I believe comes from the time of the segregation of Dublin under English rule from the rest of the country - when those inside the pale were 'English' aka 'Jack' and as such was used with the diminutive term from the Irish 'een' to refer to those living there as 'Jackeens' or little English people ....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

frag420 wrote: »
    Ever since they bridged the Liffey...
    Nah, it was long before that

Baile Átha Cliath was an Irish settlement north of a river ford.

Dubh Linn was the southside town named for the black pool that was drained for Queen Vic's visit.

gozunda wrote: »
    Whatever era you referring to?

The Jackeen nomiker I believe comes from the time of the segregation of Dublin under English rule from the rest of the country - when those inside the pale were 'English' aka 'Jack' and as such was used with the diminutive term from the Irish 'een' to refer to those living there as 'Jackeens' or little English people ....

You're right. I was referring mainly to the 1970s when both words were used frequently as counterparts.