Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Audi A4: scumbag car

• 16-04-2021 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭

How come these are so popular with scumbags?

Every skanger in town seems to want a black A4 TDi. Slap on a sh1tty Chinese chrome exhaust from eBay and away you go. Did some famous drug dealer I don't know about used to own one and they're all vying to become more like said drug dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Go back to 2007 and type this about Glanzas.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭TheQ_Man

And V-TEC Civics

Every skanger in town seems to want a black A4 TDi. Slap on a sh1tty Chinese chrome exhaust from eBay and away you go. Did some famous drug dealer I don't know about used to own one and they're all vying to become more like said drug dealer?

Passat’s as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,935 ✭✭✭✭banie01

And Passat's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭handpref

banie01 wrote: »
    And Passat's...

I think I’d add Passat CC’s to that along with 2015 or older 5 series and A6’s, usually in black or white...often found a meter or two from your rear bumper in heavy traffic on the M1 with nowhere to go in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

banie01 wrote: »
    And Passat's...

Whassats in Limerick..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Id need a DeLorean for that though

How did the Glanza->A4 transition work? Two completely different types of car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,463 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think the young fellas move around in a game of chase with the insurance companies. When they all drive civics and the claims go up, insurers load civics.
    Then they moved to Boras, insurers got wise, then passat and A4.
    Of course they like tdi cause they can make them Boo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,293 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The transition to 4 doors probably came about due to a split in the condom event. Boras/Jettas/Passats and A4s were always big with the agri/felt spec culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

TheQ_Man wrote: »
    And V-TEC Civics

I have seen a resurgence in vtec civics recently, the extra 10 years have not been kind to them... based on the sound of the screaming vtec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,875 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

This is funny, it's like dogs. Fine dogs, but dodgy owners. Fine cars, dodgy owners

1970's Capris - German Shepards ("allers" for Alsaition)
    1980's Escorts - Doberman Pinchers
    1990's (early) Glanza's - Rothweilers
    1990's (later) Passats - Bull Terriers
    2000's Audi A4 - American bully's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

John_Rambo wrote: »
    1990's (early) Glanza's - Rothweilers

Impressive when you consider the Glanza wasn't released until 1996. They really were ahead of their time :)

He probably means a GT Turbo Starlet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

bazz26 wrote: »
    The transition to 4 doors probably came about due to a split in the condom event. Boras/Jettas/Passats and A4s were always big with the agri/felt spec culture.

More doors for more whores according to a sticker I saw recently

mloc123 wrote: »
    I have seen a resurgence in vtec civics recently, the extra 10 years have not been kind to them... based on the sound of the screaming vtec

They’re selling for silly money now

Amateur mistake :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

And when he said A4 he probably means Audi 80 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Or 'Starbo'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭McCrack

I think the irony is lost on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Or 'Starbo'

Or Turlet

Or 'Starbo'

That's exactly what I meant :o

They were sort of cool though, the GT Turbo Starlet and the Glanzia, much cooler than the A4. At least they were different and unashamedly brash.

And when he said A4 he probably means Audi 80 :pac:

Ah here!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Today's modern day scumbag car is the Golf R

With a 1.6 TDI Lump....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The people who drove Glanzas are in their 30’s and 40’s now. The people driving the VAG arsedragging ****boxes these days are in their 20’s plus I honestly believe they’re a different breed of scumbag these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

black golf or black passat usually for the knackbag usually no ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

black golf or black passat usually for the knackbag usually no ?

From what I've seen color isn't usually too important. She just has to boo and be remapped.
    The blacker the back bumper the better

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,195 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the nurburgring sticker on the back of a 15 year old golf or passat TDi is a dead giveaway for people to avoid on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,862 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Must ask the father....he's 72 this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

the nurburgring sticker on the back of a 15 year old golf or passat TDi is a dead giveaway for people to avoid on the road.

You're forgetting The CB radio antenna too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I actually have this little game when I go for walks.

You hear loud music banging out of some car, but you don't see the car yet. 90% it's going to be VW, 8% it's going to be something from VW family like Audi. The other 1% going to be a lad in white Van and the rest is 1%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Vicxas wrote: »
    You're forgetting The CB radio antenna too

But no actual CB

I actually have this little game when I go for walks.

You hear loud music banging out of some car, but you don't see the car yet. 90% it's going to be VW, 8% it's going to be something from VW family like Audi. The other 1% going to be a lad in white Van and the rest is 1%.

And almost all will be rough and looking like they're being held together by willpower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭maddness

Today's modern day scumbag car is the Golf R[/
    Not yet, give it a while though.

I always think that BMW and Audi’s get to a certain age when they become affordable and driven by the dodgy types.
    Black A6 S lines with 20’s and all the windows tinted or the 520d’s with similar spec and lots of M badges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

maddness wrote: »
    Today's modern day scumbag car is the Golf R[/
    Not yet, give it a while though.

No it is, walk through any estate in West or North Dublin and spot the Golf R to find out who's peddling what :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,059 ✭✭✭kirving

Was out for a jog the other day and had a guy in felt spec Volvo S40 1.6d slow down beside me (I was on the path) and attempt to roll coal at me, and yes they actually call it that.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolling_coal

Can't wait for the day the NCT test for this.

kirving wrote: »
    Was out for a jog the other day and had a guy in felt spec Volvo S40 1.6d slow down beside me (I was on the path) and attempt to roll coal at me, and yes they actually call it that.

Nct? They just change them back, get tested and **** the car up again.

New generations. Civic was the car if choice when I started driving. When I was about 30 it seemed to be ****ty starlets. Not it's a4.

The car being cheap at the 10 year mark seems to be a factor.

The last in his 40s that has put thousands into his **** box but still lives at home are the ones I save my point and laughs for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bif

An honourable mention for the Altezza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mjolnir

Nct? They just change them back, get tested and **** the car up again.

Just a case of changing the map, not incredibly time consuming or difficult at all.

What did the Guards say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Thing is you can pick up a 2012 M Sport for about 10-11k, in my head a 2012 car is still quite a fresh car. The same year Audi A4 is cheaper still and both cars are quite affordable (and unfortunately modifiable) to a lot of people. Some people see a badge and think €€€ but not really in the case of both the above cars. In my town, there’s a certain profession that are importing and vrt’ing M sports and A6’s and they’re all 2015/16. Same profession, where the troops claim the pay is terrible!!

I’ve had 3 glanzas in the past, all brought in Japan myself and not a thing done to them engine wise. Was never into the modified scene, never went to a ‘meet’ , never raced them, just a fun car to drive and have always regretted selling the last one I owned.

For me there’s one modified type that just screams scumbag and that’s the caddy or transit that’s been lowered, bull bar and side steps and a light bar on the bull bar with 20’ alloys and fancy number plates.

No it is, walk through any estate in West or North Dublin and spot the Golf R to find out who's peddling what :pac:

The unauthorised pharmaceutical sales men...

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

Some snobbiness in this thread, young fellas will buy what they can afford and in that 10 year old bracket A4s passats and golfs are nicer places to be for sitting in forecourts than other offerings.

Same whinging done over young ones all have the same haircut and clothes no ones original!

It's the is200 that are up to no good in fairness, but they are just this generations twincam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,412 ✭✭✭ofcork

Seen a passat around doing that all the time twin exhausts covering the place in soot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

One drove through lights and nearly hit my car on the front passenger side as the driver decided to drive through the lights when red for him and green for me.

I thought all the buses did the 'roll coal' thing. There has long been a moderate case for wearing a mask when cycling where there are a lot of buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Very much so.

The getaway car of choice for many too.

History checks on lots of ones for sale in the uk are apparently eye opening...

Scumbag gets a very loose definition on here by many.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭French Toast

Bif wrote: »
    An honourable mention for the Altezza?

Prices have sky-rocketed. Decent ones were bought for 4-5k not terribly long ago, looking at double that now. They'll go the way the AE86s did, mark my words.

Lexus is200's are the scumbags go-to cheap RWD these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭BeginnerRunner

Skip to 2011 and search "IS200".

EDIT: FFS... did not see the posts above :D:D