Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am the Necrus - Walrus Reveal Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Reberetta

Back in contention! Did you ever hear that song before Necro?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

No I didn't, really enjoyed it though. :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

In 5th Place with 18 points:
    LeVar

Gary Moore & Phil Lynott - Out In The Fields

Ah Jaysus now we’re rocking. The top 5 in this are what I like to call God Tier – just absolutely untouchable, the only tough part about it was determining their rankings. Familiarity has this drop a place or two but it’s a belter. Fingers are twitching again!!

I always try to submit songs that the host won't have heard beforehand. I could have gone for Bon Jovi or AC/DC if I wanted to be boring. ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Very happy with 5th, especially combined with the 2nd place in the previous round... It's been a good Premiere Night Double Bill for LeVar... :D

In 4th Place, with 19 points:
    Osh

Led Zeppelin - Rock And Roll

Here we fcukin go lads, this is a cracking track. Fits the bill to a tee in what I was thinking about for this category. Screw Stairway, this is much much better. *Runs*

And that takes us to our final 6 again… Nervous times ahead for
    Deja Boo
    Mustang shelly
    RasTa
    Arghus
    Trigger
    Irish Aris

200.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Necro wrote: »
    In 4th Place, with 19 points:
    Osh

Led Zeppelin - Rock And Roll

Here we fcukin go lads, this is a cracking track. Fits the bill to a tee in what I was thinking about for this category. Screw Stairway, this is much much better. *Runs*
    Quite right, Stairway is overrated. I can think of at least a dozen better Zep songs offhand.

In 20th Place with 3 points…
    Deja Boo

I'm the Only One - Melissa Ethridge

Not gonna be two in a row for
    Deja
    unfortunately. This is an ok song, I do think she is straining herself so much in the chorus she’ll end up with haemorrhoids though. It’s just not ‘there’ when I think of Rock’N’Roll. Meredith Brooks would have done way better, but anyways…

IN 3rd Place with 20 points…

Mustang shelly
    ZZ Top - Sharp Dressed Man

Heh,
    mustang shelly
    this time was reading from my notes. ZZ Top are great, this is great. Fab choice.

In 21st Place, with 2 points
    Arghus

The Dwarves – Let’s ****

Well I suppose at least it’s short? That’s definitely one plus to it :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

In 21st Place, with 2 points
    Arghus

The Dwarves – Let’s ****

Well I suppose at least it’s short? That’s definitely one plus to it :P

I like the pic

In 2nd Place with 21 points…
    Trigger
    Life is Beautiful - Sixx.A.M

Ah here, from last to second – have you only started to play now :P

What a song. It’s got it all, the belting guitars, the epic chorus. Some great lyrics to boot. Fab choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,538 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Woohooo!

In 22nd Place with 1 point….
    RasTa
    Pink Floyd - One Of These Days

I know some people dig Pink Floyd and their psychedelic stuff, unfortunately for the player I am not one of those people. It takes waaaaayyyy too long to get going.

Lyrics are also my thing really, I can’t enjoy a song too much without them so this was unfortunately never going to do well, and the fact that The Dwarves rank above this probably references that better than any soliloquay from me ever could :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

In 22nd Place with 1 point….
    RasTa
    Pink Floyd - One Of These Days

I know some people dig Pink Floyd and their psychedelic stuff, unfortunately for the player I am not one of those people. It takes waaaaayyyy too long to get going.

Lyrics are also my thing really, I can’t enjoy a song too much without them so this was unfortunately never going to do well, and the fact that The Dwarves rank above this probably references that better than any soliloquay from me ever could :D

You poor man. This is a masterpiece.

Which brings us to 1st Place – and a Super 22 Points to
    Irish Aris
    Tom Hanks & The Wonders-That Thing You Do

I didn’t expect to enjoy this at all, the live video sent to me was a bit low but when I whacked it on Spotify with just the audio version – WOW. It’s so doo wop and old school rock and roll. Great choice and tbh once it went to the top it was never moving.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,361 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

A fun movie also, congrats and Aris and Boo boo, great reveals Necro

First place to the O'Neders :pac:

Well done Aris.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

OHHH!!! Thank you!!! I thought it was a gamble to be honest, but when I was making my selections Spotify threw a cover that Billy from Green Day did recently. I haven't heard the song in years but in the spur of the moment I thought "f it" and went for it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 85,378 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I do like that film

Are you sure you didn't make a mistake there Necro?

Pink Floyd first, The Wonders last? ;)

And that's our lot for the night!!!

Rock'N'Roll Playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/02FwEDAy8jIqOhCYh3QSxS

Songs ranked in table format

Rock'N'Roll Song Name Score
    1st Tom Hanks: The Wonders-That Thing You Do 22
    2nd Life is Beautiful - Sixx.A.M 21
    3rd ZZ Top - Sharp Dressed Man 20
    4th Led Zeppelin - Rock And Roll 19
    5th Gary Moore & Phil Lynott - Out In The Fields 18
    6th Girl Trouble My Hometown 17
    7th Eddie Money : Two Tickets to Paradise 16
    8th Little Monster - Royal Blood 15
    9th Thunderstruck - AC/DC 14
    10th Bon Jovi - Livin' on a prayer 13
    11th Thin Lizzy - The Boys Are Back In Town 12
    12th 80's Matchbox B-Line Disaster - Celebrate Your Mother 11
    13th The Eagles - Victim of Love 10
    14th Firehouse - All She Wrote 9
    15th Mansun - Rock And Roll Loser 8
    16th Johnny Cash - Cocaine Blues 7
    17th Kings of Leon - Taper Jean Girl 6
    18th Dead Kennedys: California Uber Alles 5
    19th Foreigner - Jukebox Hero 4
    20th I'm the Only One - Melissa Ethridge 3
    21st Let's **** - The Dwarves 2
    22nd Pink Floyd - One Of These Days 1

And our combined scores table!!!

Player Name Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6 Round 7 Round 8 Round 9 Round 10 Total
    Irish Aris 15 22 37
    s1ippy 18 8 26
    ShaneU 20 12 32
    Deja Boo 22 3 25
    the purple tin 11 5 16
    RasTa 8 1 9
    LeVar 21 18 39
    Sawduck 17 4 21
    Gru 9 13 22
    Mustang Shelly 14 20 34
    Clarabel 4 15 19
    osh 2 19 21
    Green&Red 10 6 16
    JP Liz 16 7 23
    Trigger 1 21 22
    JohnGreenFan 12 14 26
    Kolido 6 9 15
    Rikand 19 16 35
    Arghus 7 2 9
    Reberetta 5 17 22
    tusk 13 10 23
    fixXxer 3 11 14

• Registered Users Posts: 17,538 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Has anyone ever done 3 rounds in one evening.. no?

You can do it Necro.. we believe!

Reberetta wrote: »
    Are you sure you didn't make a mistake there Necro?

Pink Floyd first, The Wonders last? ;)

Nope Nope. I really don't like that sort of psychadelic weirdness that Pink Floyd bring at all at all. :D

The Wonders song seems to have a bass line which sounds like the bridge in The Cars My Best Friend's Girl.

Levar Burton is top again. Nothing to see here.

Trigger wrote: »

tenor.gif?itemid=14006408

Trigger wrote: »

tenor.gif?itemid=6243645

I mean.... I suppose I can go ONE more. But that would be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Reberetta wrote: »
    Levar Burton is top again. Nothing to see here.

Holding on to the lead this early in the game is much harder than making a comeback towards the end...

giphy.gif