Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you LISTEN to music?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

AH right. this thread got hella confusing hella fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

So this looks again as one of those threads that ends up drifting away from its original subject!

But speaking about good and bad music and what makes a band/musicians successful,
    I always like music to be a form of art and like bands who consider their music as thought out pieces of artwork put together.
    Bands like NIN, Tool, Thrice, they keep pushing the boundries of what music can do composing their pieces like a piece of artwork rather than building their music upon a worked out successful formula that can make them rich and famous. Bands like Fall Out Boy, Panic at the Disco, Avenged Sevenfold are really good examples of this. A tried and tested formula for composing music that would go down very well in mainstream popularity.
    Problem with such music is that although it might appeal to the masses, its lacks any sorta substance and gets very predictable and boring very soon. You can't look at that sorta music as an artform. Cuz its not art, its just music.

I think the best music is made when the musician is not chasing money and fame but rather the music is created from the emotions and passion of an artist to create a timeless piece of artwork that can be adored and appreaciated by many for centuries to come. Just like Mona Lisa or the Sistine Chapel.

And speaking about music as art, i think what makes a band/musician famous can be explained pretty well by aesthetics:

The philosopher Denis Dutton identified seven universal signatures in human aesthetics:

1. Expertise or virtuosity. Technical artistic skills are cultivated, recognized, and admired.
    2. Nonutilitarian pleasure. People enjoy art for art's sake, and don't demand that it keep them warm or put food on the table.
    3. Style. Artistic objects and performances satisfy rules of composition that place them in a recognizable style.
    4. Criticism. People make a point of judging, appreciating, and interpreting works of art.
    5. Imitation. With a few important exceptions like music and abstract painting, works of art simulate experiences of the world.
    6. Special focus. Art is set aside from ordinary life and made a dramatic focus of experience.
    7. Imagination. Artists and their audiences entertain hypothetical worlds in the theater of the imagination.

And a little more about aesthetics:

Objects are aesthetically valuable if:
    - they possess a special aesthetic property or exhibit a special aesthetic form.
    - they have the capacity to convey meaning or to teach general truths.
    - they have the capacity to produce pleasure in those who experience or appreciate them.
    - they have the capacity to convey values or beliefs central to the cultures or traditions in which they originate, or important to the artists who made them.
    - they have the capacity to help bring about social or political change.
    - they have the capacity to produce certain emotions we value, at least when the emotion is brought about by art rather than by life.
    - they have the capacity to produce special non-emotional experiences, such as a feeling of autonomy of the will or suspension of disbelief.

Something to think bout!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

dav nagle wrote: »
    Look here you pack of harp drinking bikers! If you!!! Jsuited are going to declare who is in your family then brilliant! Because I would love to know! )

I know who both their Dads are !

sei046 wrote: »

I could not listen to the likes of S club lets say!

Ah Dave - "Don't stop movin' to da phunky phunky beat' what a foot tapper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    I know who both their Dads are !

Fair play, but the point is, even the small people who have achieved small things our entitled to an opinion regardless if they made it to the top or not and that opinion is worth hearing and learning from as much as any opinion.:pac::pac:

Is that a bad sign paul!?!

This thread has gotten seriously off topic alright!
    But I think its pretty relevant in a way as music production has a lot to do with knowing the effect you want the music to have and that depends a lot on the artist.

Anyway I think we are all regurgitating (sp thats obviously wrong!) the same stuff as each other

The philosopher Denis Dutton identified seven universal signatures in human aesthetics:

1. Expertise or virtuosity. Technical artistic skills are cultivated, recognized, and admired.
    2. Nonutilitarian pleasure. People enjoy art for art's sake, and don't demand that it keep them warm or put food on the table.
    3. Style. Artistic objects and performances satisfy rules of composition that place them in a recognizable style.
    4. Criticism. People make a point of judging, appreciating, and interpreting works of art.
    5. Imitation. With a few important exceptions like music and abstract painting, works of art simulate experiences of the world.
    6. Special focus. Art is set aside from ordinary life and made a dramatic focus of experience.
    7. Imagination. Artists and their audiences entertain hypothetical worlds in the theater of the imagination.

Something to think bout!!

Yea .... but I said it simpler .... innit?:cool:

Actually paul I do find when a "classic.." spice girls tune comes on the radio I am like "AW YEAH!". Time and space heals any wounds. You can definitely appreciate things for what they are when you stand away and them bands need to be appreciated for what they are!

The long and winding thread!

I
    1. In my books a top notch act has musical integrity AND showmanship

Aha!!!

But how can you categorically measure 'INTEGRITY' who's to say Ronan Keating doesn't dedicate every molecule of his being into his work with as much passion as a human can have ....

.... and Bob Dylan isn't laughing at us all and thinking of Filthy Lucre....

How do you KNOW!?

Actually paul I do find when a "classic.." spice girls tune comes on the radio I am like "AW YEAH!". Time and space heals any wounds. You can definitely appreciate things for what they are when you stand away and them bands need to be appreciated for what they are!

A Zigga zig Ah to that!

By that I meant that nomatter what music it is, that your dedicated to it. I dont care if the songs are crap! But I can enjoy someones music a lot more if I believe they really care for their songs and put everything into them.

It really has to be about the music. If Ronan Keating really loves his music and pours everything into it I dont care if he is singing jingles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Yeah, i find myself doing that to loads of sounds by bands i dislike too...

Muse is the best example for me here. Its one band that just doesn't do it for me. But i'ld still sing out to the words of "hysteria" or find myself playing the opening riff of "plug in baby" quite often!
    And although i don't like them much, i do say they are one of the best bands currently out there. They do what they do and they do it pretty damn good.

Similar reason why we all end up singing along to the words of songs by Elvis or Beatles or Led Zepplin. They're "classics". They made music for the sake of making good music and they did a pretty damn good job at it. Music being appreciated for what it is!!

3. Elitism spells death for aspiring artists

Nah ! That's exactly what you want in yer filthy Rock band ... the belief that they are the best!!

Well what I really mean there is that if you are so stubborn about your music that you shun showmanship because you feel you dont need it you are not going to get too far!

But I can enjoy someones music a lot more if I believe they really care for their songs and put everything into them.

So you agree one can't know absolutely another person's intentions ? And therefore 'INTEGRITY' as a measurable concept can only be speculated upon?

And therfore the idea of judging anyones music with that idea is twaddle? Huh?;)

Well what I really mean there is that if you are so stubborn about your music that you shun showmanship because you feel you dont need it you are not going to get too far!

Ah! a different sort of elitism ! A perhaps more common one locally?

But it doesnt matter does it?

If I feel someone is really into their music then I can get into it. Great for me, great for them!

If they are not it doesnt really matter because I wont know! And all that matters is MY judgement of the music because why do I care if you dont like the music i listen to!

Music is a personal thing, I dont care if you dont like what I like because its me who has to listen to it!

So it doesnt matter if I know their real intentions! Its my view on their integrity that counts

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Ah! a different sort of elitism ! A perhaps more common one locally?

I dont really know??? Not sure what your getting at

But it doesnt matter does it?

If I feel someone is really into their music then I can get into it. Great for me, great for them!

If they are not it doesnt really matter because I wont know! And all that matters is MY judgement of the music because why do I care if you dont like the music i listen to!

Music is a personal thing, I dont care if you dont like what I like because its me who has to listen to it!

So it doesnt matter if I know their real intentions! Its my view on their integrity that counts

My Point Exactly!!

So we agree to agree!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

So we agree to agree!?

That's not allowed!!

Ye its probably bannable.

I am into music for very selfish reasons!
    I like music for me and no one else! I dont care why i like something, If I do I roll with it and take what I want from it. I have morals but I dont really think they are needed in my enjoyment of music.

So we agree to agree!?

Yes!

Anyway yes I do listen to music. Check out "No Blues". Some great stuff. They have a few tunes on you tube. My bro gave me a listen so I must get into them a bit more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEM-bxpitv8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

haha. this thread went off topic fairly quickly!!!

dav to answer your question, my father's a producer in RTE radio. He's worked with (yes i'm namedropping- i'm ashamed) Bryan Adams, Cranberries (on their Live recordings), Joe elliot (yer man from def leppard) and a good few others. He mostly hates rock music and is established as a classical music specialist but i'd mention those just because people would know them more than the classical guys.
    He used to do a lot of the Fanning 'live' sessions back in the old days so there were a hell of a lot of Irish bands back then doing them.

There's loads of other stuff I'm forgetting to mention because i doubt you'd know them. oh that tribute to phil lynott record about ten years ago with scott goram and a few others playing and stuff (i was young and can't remember. I remember showing my guitar skills to scott goram though. I was about 10 at the time! He gave me a plec and I didn't know who he was. that happened quite a bit actually).

Oh and funnily enough he recorded the Riverdance original (including the taps. yes, you heard it, the taps you were hearing on the night weren't live on the night!)

I'm not quite comfortable speaking about my own family in detail on the internet though so we'll leave it at that.

My history is a little different. I was around all this from an early age, and regularly was in on sessions, sitting there, making tea, learning everything i could (i was just a kid so couldn't exactly say 'give us a shot at the mix'.

I was in a band a few years ago that I left while signing with one of the majors. (the band broke up as soon as I left. hurrah.)

Did tours with the Revs, the Walls (same management at the time),and a few others.
    We were the new 'next big thing' (isn't everyone except we were getting a major deal) and the guys from the label etc. had us out living a life we could never have dreamt of.

The name of the band was Walter by the way. Three piece piano/bass/drums (very Ben Folds five).
    I've done live sound for a few big names when i was working in the venue in NUI Maynooth (Roderigo y Gabriela, BellX1, Mundy, Damien Rice [wasn't doing FOH on all of those to be honest though])

I don't think by any means that I've worked with any huge acts or anything, but I've been around this all my life.
    I also have a solo album but quit doing all that as soon as it was finished. Bored with rock music tbh.
    Now the reason I never wanted to discuss this, is simply I have another career now in the techno world. I'm not entirely comfortable people knowing stuff about my past as these things get blown out of proportion by many people doing bios etc. and I'd hate to see 'he's worked with so and so' when in reality I wasn't exactly producing their albums if you catch my drift.

I recently have been working as an engineer on broadcasts and recordings of some pretty big classical works. That's very recent though.

As I said, like many, I don't like losing my anonymity on boards as I use it more for reasons that aren't commercial to any extent.

Also, I don't like anyone being able to google my name and see what I said about a,b or c. The same reason I keep my bebo profile privatised.

And anyway it's not that difficult to find out who I am from my sig.

I remember actually being stunned when an employer asked me years ago about what I was doing in hotpress (they couldn't read the article because of subscription stuff). He had googled my name and found it.

For those of you that are moaning about why people don't use their real names on the internet, you really need to realise that if you do use your real name, any stranger can pretty much see everything you have to say about anything, see what you're up to at anytime, and do all sorts of rude things while looking at your photos.

Anywho...

Well thanks for sharing that much, it is nice to hear some heart felt speak around here. Clearly you know much and have experienced much and your electronic music is very good as I had a listen just recently. I can understand why you may feel it is appropriate to keep your name under the hood. I went to college with a guy who really did not want everyone to know who he was. When people found out he was embarrassed. In all fairness to him he writes brilliant songs and understandably does not want his talent to be over or under shadowed by his family history. If I was in the same boat I would feel the very same but I am the only musician in my family. The experience you have is excellent and clearly I applaud you for that. Thankyou for sharing jtsuited.

Well.... I dunno! Leave it at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

dav nagle wrote: »
    Well thanks for sharing that much, it is nice to hear some heart felt speak around here. Clearly you know much and have experienced much and your electronic music is very good as I had a listen just recently. I can understand why you may feel it is appropriate to keep your name under the hood. I went to college with a guy who really did not want everyone to know who he was. When people found out he was embarrassed. In all fairness to him he writes brilliant songs and understandably does not want his talent to be over or under shadowed by his family history. If I was in the same boat I would feel the very same but I am the only musician in my family. The experience you have is excellent and clearly I applaud you for that. Thankyou for sharing jtsuited.

no problem man, i hope you see my point though. My grandmother was a composer, my grandad and dad engineer, my auntie's an internationally renowned violinist and her husband an established contemporary composer.

I really wouldn't want any of that to overshadow my own stuff.

btw, my releases on bnv records coming in august, my track on queep (irish label) coming in september, 2 tracks out on redsession (LA based smallish label) out next month and 3 on a french label (mpdigital) out sometime in the summer, and a few others that are up in the air.

plug plug plug. although I doubt many people here are into that sort of thing (thankfully).
    although if i need money for food come september, I'll be a proper publicity whore!!!

Good Lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Jebus. I leave yiz alone for 6 hours and look what happens, the thread descends into debauchery of licking balls.

You people crazy.:pac::pac:

I know! tell me about it

Do I see the award for most off topic thread being polished off in the wings? :p

If there is a SURE way to kill a thread........

Use the quote button! Never know who you're replying to!

Lol dont worry Fro!

It's too sunny a day for worry. I'm off to write songs in the sun in the back garden and ponder time stretching a burst of white noise to layer under my snare. :p

Rafter Boardsies....