Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corona Virus and events

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I hate this lockdown and disagree with many aspects of it but I’m biting my lip and following the rules.

How can this happen but I can’t run with a couple of buddies?

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

I suspect it's a fairly unofficial underground type race as no way it would ever have been given any type of permit - not many elite looking athletes in those photos!

That said, are people here really still religiously sticking to the 5km limit for solo individual training? An absolutely ridiculous rule. I don't know a lot of people obeying that anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,426 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I suspect it's a fairly unofficial underground type race as no way it would ever have been given any type of permit - not many elite looking athletes in those photos!

That said, are people here really still religiously sticking to the 5km limit for solo individual training? An absolutely ridiculous rule. I don't know a lot of people obeying that anymore.

I wouldn't say religiously, but yes, I'm sticking to it. Sometimes stray out of it, but never by much. 5k is big enough, although the long runs are getting a bit boring.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,911 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'd love to go to Wicklow for some solo mountain running but been avoiding it due to the Garda checkpoints. They seem to be quite keen on catching weekenders. The Phoenix park is within my 5km so that's plenty for my needs, more hassle than it's worth to risk a fine going elsewhere. I wouldn't begrudge anyone who lives somewhere **** for running getting a change of scenery though.

Anyone who gives out about someone crossing their 5km radius despite starting/finishing at home is a tool imo. A fair few Strava twitchers out there with nothing better to do. Dr. Ronan Glynn admitted the other week that the actual distance was meaningless, it was there as a "signal" to stay at home as much as possible and not have people abusing the exercise exemption for going socialising. At the end of the day, it's about limiting your close contacts, not your training.

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

OOnegative wrote: »
    Terraces are opening up here(The Netherlands) on the 31st of March which is a big step forward.

Tentatively crossed fingers for the Amsterdam Marathon/Half in October.

What’s the view in Netherlands re this? Likely?

Did the full in 2018, think I’ll sign up for the half and book a cancelable hotel.

Wonder will it sell out, with the 2020 rollovers, there can’t be many slots

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

For training I am sticking to it. So many parks and business parks around me its easy to get good runs in. 5k radius is quiet a big area

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭ariana`

I'm trying to stick to it here too. A long run takes me 100m outside of it just to get in a loop rather that an out & back but that's it. I'm at a slight disadvantage in that I can't run out my door, i have to drive about 1km and park up so I've eaten into my radius slightly but still 5km is quite generous - remember when it was 2km :eek:

Stark wrote: »
    I'd love to go to Wicklow for some solo mountain running but been avoiding it due to the Garda checkpoints. They seem to be quite keen on catching weekenders. The Phoenix park is within my 5km so that's plenty for my needs, more hassle than it's worth to risk a fine going elsewhere. I wouldn't begrudge anyone who lives somewhere **** for running getting a change of scenery though.

Anyone who gives out about someone crossing their 5km radius despite starting/finishing at home is a tool imo. A fair few Strava twitchers out there with nothing better to do. Dr. Ronan Glynn admitted the other week that the actual distance was meaningless, it was there as a "signal" to stay at home as much as possible and not have people abusing the exercise exemption for going socialising. At the end of the day, it's about limiting your close contacts, not your training.

There is people on strava watching to see if you break the 5k?
    That is pretty sad.

I agree with everything you said. Friends of mine go for big cycles. bring snacks with them so not stopping in a shop. So they are doing no harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    What’s the view in Netherlands re this? Likely?

Did the full in 2018, think I’ll sign up for the half and book a cancelable hotel.

Wonder will it sell out, with the 2020 rollovers, there can’t be many slots

Permits for any social gatherings won’t be issued here before the 6th of May at the earliest. There’s still over 5,000 cases daily here so long way to go before Amsterdam will take place. If I had to give my honest opinion on it, Amsterdam won’t happen in 2021.

Love to be proved wrong though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭opus

One of the loops I do has me ~7k away from home before I start heading back however can't say I'm losing any sleep over it.

opus wrote: »
    One of the loops I do has me ~7k away from home before I start heading back however can't say I'm losing any sleep over it.

But is that 7k radius or 7k distance :)

Someone could be watching you:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭opus

Don't use Strava & have connections to precisely two people via Garmin both of whom I know well so reasonably confident they're not busy denouncing me :)

OOnegative wrote: »
    Permits for any social gatherings won’t be issued here before the 6th of May at the earliest. There’s still over 5,000 cases daily here so long way to go before Amsterdam will take place. If I had to give my honest opinion on it, Amsterdam won’t happen in 2021.

Love to be proved wrong though.

In saying that entries for the CPC Loop Den Haag in September opened this morning, maybe they know something I don’t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭Kurt_Godel.

UM1 wrote: »

I know I'll be an easy target for some for saying this... but it looks like they organised a small event with a lot of smiling faces. Personally speaking, it's a delight to see people happy and exercising, so good luck to them. The rest of the world seems to be able to do similar small-scale gatherings and limit transmission risk... IMO the problem here is overly-restrictive Irish rules.

At this stage the benefit is worth the risk.

^2cents worth of opinion on an opinion forum

I know I'll be an easy target for some for saying this... but it looks like they organised a small event with a lot of smiling faces. Personally speaking, it's a delight to see people happy and exercising, so good luck to them. The rest of the world seems to be able to do similar small-scale gatherings and limit transmission risk... IMO the problem here is overly-restrictive Irish rules.

Nothing of the sort happening in The Netherlands so the rest of the world comparison isn’t really apt. The event at the weekend linked above is two fingers to other runners though, loads are itching to do something similar but will abide by the rules in place.

None of us like what’s happening worldwide but unless we or every other countries get our house in order it’s going to continue for a long time yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

I'll see your 2 cents and raise you 2 ðŸ˜႒
    Whatever a person's opinion on the restrictions (perfectly entitled to that view BTW- not arguing with that), we don't get to decide which ones we to ignore or follow, that is not how a society works, you don't like a rule you have public representatives who you can complain to.

While I agree that its great to see smiling faces at a running event, mainly because I miss it so much, what happened here is giving runners a bad name which is not hard these days.
    The majority of this country are sticking more or less to the rules. A couple of people heading off for a run I can't see an issue with, a large organised "race" is just giving 2 fingers to the rest of the country many of whom have suffered mentally, financially or health wise over the last year. Sure there may not be any virus spread at this event but if we all decided to ignore the guidelines where would that leave the us? Why do they think they should be special and be let off (both legally and morally), basically putting themselves above public health.
    The organising of this event was not only foolish but also incredibly selfish and shows no regard with what is going on all around us. We all want to race/meet friends/go for a pint again as soon as possible but this can only set that back rather than help
    All runners are lumped in together in public opinion (same way as GAA heads, soccerballers, mamils) so we will all be tarred with the same brush and will look bad because of this.
    Dick move by those who ran (in my opinion).

I'll see your 2 cents and raise you 2 ðŸ˜႒
    Whatever a person's opinion on the restrictions (perfectly entitled to that view BTW- not arguing with that), we don't get to decide which ones we to ignore or follow, that is not how a society works, you don't like a rule you have public representatives who you can complain to.

I totally appreciate where you are coming from, and its worth arguing as Devils advocate. I guess my point is a better society wouldn't impose these restrictive rules. So we get to live by compliance, rebellion, or (Irish default) asking for forgiveness rather than permission. Whatever NPHET says; and that means "stay at home".

The obvious thing to do for an island is close all borders and impose martial law for three weeks to kill viral spread. Since that's not an option apparently, I'm choosing to ignore 5k rules. I've had the virus; it's a bitch to a 50 yr old, but not so much of a bitch to society that teenagers/younger need to hunker down for over a year. Science says there's not a lot of risk of viral spread outdoors, so let 'em on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Agree that the risk from that event is minimal to non existant. The problem is the flouting of the regulations and giving runners a bad name for when we are allowed to hold events again. Then people will suddenly remember the nonsense about catching covid from sweat or similar rubbish and complain about us meeting up of a Saturday morning for a 5km run around the local park.

It's possible to meet up with a mate for a run without making a song and dance about it and posting about it all over Facebook to draw attention to your rebellion.

robinph wrote: »
    Agree that the risk from that event is minimal to non existant. The problem is the flouting of the regulations and giving runners a bad name for when we are allowed to hold events again. Then people will suddenly remember the nonsense about catching covid from sweat or similar rubbish and complain about us meeting up of a Saturday morning for a 5km run around the local park.

Sorry for highlighting the above if it seems out of context.

But you seem to be arguing for perception, and against science. That's the reason I made my point in the first instance.

I'd prefer to live in a society where public health was science driven, but to be honest in Ireland it's not driven by science. Infuriating (and especially so to see people complaining about others running). At this stage a small rant against a point on this message board is all I got- I look at the science and there are obvious alternatives to controlling viral spread (when you consider younger people and how they live their lives which are more important than the 50+'s)

I totally appreciate where you are coming from, and its worth arguing as Devils advocate. I guess my point is a better society wouldn't impose these restrictive rules. So we get to live by compliance, rebellion, or (Irish default) asking for forgiveness rather than permission. Whatever NPHET says; and that means "stay at home".

The obvious thing to do for an island is close all borders and impose martial law for three weeks to kill viral spread. Since that's not an option apparently, I'm choosing to ignore 5k rules. I've had the virus; it's a bitch to a 50 yr old, but not so much of a bitch to society that teenagers/younger need to hunker down for over a year. Science says there's not a lot of risk of viral spread outdoors, so let 'em on.

It's always worth playing Devils advocate and debating these things. Sorry to hear you had the virus and really hope you've recovered.
    There is some things this government has done well and some things it hasn't ( as with all governments around the world some better than others). The thing is neither of us nor the people who decided to race at the weekend have the expertise or the data to make these decisions, NPHET would have glady done a severe lockdown (imo) but government has to take into account compliance (joys of living in a democracy).
    January saw our health service almost crippled because we relaxed over Christmas (myself included), if we all just ignore what rules we don't like we will end up back there. Young people are getting sick too and new variants are making that more common.
    Like it or not we are where we are and there is only one road out, holding a race is not it. God i miss racing!!

Once again it is good to have these discussions without the usual bickering and batching.

If you don't mind me asking, have you recovered fully? Are you back running and did it take long to get back to where you were (if you've got there)? Genuinely hope you have recovered.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I've never joined a group and never want to, but I don't have any problem with that group deciding to go ahead and organise something.

It is one thing to say that they should be following the "rules", but whether people admit it or not we all have our own point where sticking to rules we don't agree with becomes unacceptable.

Is it after one year? Two years? We all know there is **** all harm or risk from somebody going out for a run so how many months and years are people going to sit there quietly waiting for their betters to allow them out of the house again?

I know what society is and the need for adherence to social norms and rules. But I also know the dangers of blind and unquestioning compliance to incompetence. Personally I wish there were more groups of people serving notice that they no longer accept what our government is doing (or not doing, to be more accurate) and are prepared to do something about it. A little social disobedience is healthy for a society, and this is a very mild example of it.

It's always worth playing Devils advocate and debating these things. Sorry to hear you had the virus and really hope you've recovered.
    There is some things this government has done well and some things it hasn't ( as with all governments around the world some better than others). The thing is neither of us nor the people who decided to race at the weekend have the expertise or the data to make these decisions, NPHET would have glady done a severe lockdown (imo) but government has to take into account compliance (joys of living in a democracy).
    January saw our health service almost crippled because we relaxed over Christmas (myself included), if we all just ignore what rules we don't like we will end up back there. Young people are getting sick too and new variants are making that more common.
    Like it or not we are where we are and there is only one road out, holding a race is not it. God i miss racing!!

Once again it is good to have these discussions without the usual bickering and batching.

If you don't mind me asking, have you recovered fully? Are you back running and did it take long to get back to where you were (if you've got there)? Genuinely hope you have recovered.

Appreciate your genuine questions, and agree its much better to come to these discussions with an open mind.

Yes, its all about our health service. We could be like USA (20% income tax and health insurance part of your job, and content to let those outside the system die), or have a "free" health system in Ireland (53% income tax which pays for a substandard system for everyone in the name of equality). What we do in Ireland with regard to Covid is no different to others countries- we don't want out Health system overwhelmed. Those countries that manage better do so because they have better ("better targeted") health systems.

On my personal health (and thanks for asking), I'm pretty frightened physically. Caught Covid early January, and my HR still rockets now in mid March. I run at at very slow pace and still sweat a lot. My daily lung capacity seems way down: I wake up panting at night. To be honest I'm surprised at how much its taken out of me.

But I'm age 50- at the back of my head I'm still growing up, but lets be honest, I've had my fun. My son is 18- guaranteed I wasn't worried about quarantine when I was his age; ditto my daughter who is 16. They are the ones missing out big time (from dating, from drinking, from doing all the things you don't want your parents knowing at that age). They can survive Covid better, and society should be more concerned about them than the 80+'s.

Don't get me wrong, I have a lot of friends who are in their 80's, and they have an awful lot to offer society- but there is a way to protect them while also allowing freedom to the younger age group in this covid world.

Jaysus Kurt sounds like you had a bad dose, take care of yourself and best of luck with the recovery.
    I won't derail the thread any further, we'll have to agree to disagree. I'll never judge someone for breaking the guidelines as we all have our own breaking points and we don't know what an individual is going through however what happened with this race was akin to bringing our sport into disrepute. If you are doing it as a protest then have the balls to announce it as such(like the lady who announced she was going to open her salon - I disagreed with her stance but fair play to her for taking a stand and being honest). This race was just selfish, I want to have my fun so f€=k the rest of you attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

To me the notion that kids can be packed together indoors in and around schools but can’t meet outside to take part in managed sport is just completely bonkers and defies logic.

I’ve obeyed the rules but I’m fraying around the edges and I’m not sure how much longer I’m prepared to be compliant especially around outdoor activities

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

On my personal health (and thanks for asking), I'm pretty frightened physically. Caught Covid early January, and my HR still rockets now in mid March. I run at at very slow pace and still sweat a lot. My daily lung capacity seems way down: I wake up panting at night. To be honest I'm surprised at how much its taken out of me.

Kurt much the same with me got it at Christmas but don't have the breathing difficulties. I agree with you regarding lockdowns for younger age group hell even all age group are suffering from the same everyday is a Monday fatigue. Its ironic that we are trying to prevent people from doing what will eventually happen to us all.
    We all get a ride in the taxi with the long window.
    With lockdowns no one is getting to live their lives. For some of us that's okay cause we may have a good few more years left once this ****e passes to enjoy it, but the over 70's those whom we are trying to protect in general don't have that grace and really should be enjoying the rest of their days now and not locked up in their houses scared ****less.,

ger664 wrote: »
    Kurt much the same with me got it at Christmas but don't have the breathing difficulties. I agree with you regarding lockdowns for younger age group hell even all age group are suffering from the same everyday is a Monday fatigue. Its ironic that we are trying to prevent people from doing what will eventually happen to us all.
    We all get a ride in the taxi with the long window.
    With lockdowns no one is getting to live their lives. For some of us that's okay cause we may have a good few more years left once this ****e passes to enjoy it, but the over 70's those whom we are trying to protect in general don't have that grace and really should be enjoying the rest of their days now and not locked up in their houses scared ****less.,

Problem without lockdown, our hospitals would be fecked. My neighbour 18 year old had a massive heart attack last week. If it had happen in Jan she would of been dead the medics told the family.

All the intensive units would be gone.

Now shutting the borders would of been the right approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Appreciate your genuine questions, and agree its much better to come to these discussions with an open mind.

Yes, its all about our health service. We could be like USA (20% income tax and health insurance part of your job, and content to let those outside the system die), or have a "free" health system in Ireland (53% income tax which pays for a substandard system for everyone in the name of equality). What we do in Ireland with regard to Covid is no different to others countries- we don't want out Health system overwhelmed. Those countries that manage better do so because they have better ("better targeted") health systems.

But I'm age 50- at the back of my head I'm still growing up, but lets be honest, I've had my fun. My son is 18- guaranteed I wasn't worried about quarantine when I was his age; ditto my daughter who is 16. They are the ones missing out big time (from dieting, from drinking, from doing all the things you don't want your parents knowing at that age). They can survive Covid better, and society should be more concerned about them than the 80+'s.

Don't get me wrong, I have a lot of friends who are in their 80's, and they have an awful lot to offer society- but there is a way to protect them while also allowing freedom to the younger age group in this covid world.

I am fraying at the edges too, it feels ludicrous that I can't go 10k down the road to hike on a mountain where you might meet one or two others but I can run/walk in my local, very busy park. The rules could easily have been expanded for specific outdoor solo activities but then I guess everyone would have been looking for their piece of the cake, we all think we should be allowed to do 'our' thing. Golfers want courses open, tennis clubs want to be allowed open etc etc.

Did you have something specific in mind re protecting older people while still allowing freedom to younger people? I don't know what the right or wrong thing to do is although I'd be a supporter of closing the border/airports to all but essential travel. I do think the people that organised that race were utterly wrong though, two fingers to the rest of us and the authorities. I wouldn't criticize someone going a few km's outside their 5km for a run/bike ride though and I think people are using their own judgement when it comes to that.

I am fraying at the edges too, it feels ludicrous that I can't go 10k down the road to hike on a mountain where you might meet one or two others but I can run/walk in my local, very busy park. The rules could easily have been expanded for specific outdoor solo activities but then I guess everyone would have been looking for their piece of the cake, we all think we should be allowed to do 'our' thing. Golfers want courses open, tennis clubs want to be allowed open etc etc.

Did you have something specific in mind re protecting older people while still allowing freedom to younger people? I don't know what the right or wrong thing to do is although I'd be a supporter of closing the border/airports to all but essential travel. I do think the people that organised that race were utterly wrong though, two fingers to the rest of us and the authorities. I wouldn't criticize someone going a few km's outside their 5km for a run/bike ride though and I think people are using their own judgement when it comes to that.

Alot of outdoor sports should be allowed. Kids sports should allowed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭ariana`

Alot of outdoor sports should be allowed. Kids sports should allowed
    Especially now that they are back in school as for the most part it's the same kids in school as it is in football, soccer, ballet etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 20,911 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Well no issues with golf and tennis also being allowed imo.

It's the way the rules are enforced that does my head in. I get having blunt blanket rules for simplicity sake rather than trying to write every exception into the rules. But then I look on Waze app and today of all days they have a checkpoint up on Ticknock to stop people walking/biking when if anything the Gardaí should be delighted that people are getting out of the city for healthy outdoor activity instead of staying in the city and partying/protesting. All about the soft targets at the end of the day.

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥