Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-11-2016, 04:08   #1
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19,569
Amazon Alexa and Echo FAQ

What is Amazon Alexa?

Amazon Alexa is Amazons Artificial Intelligence that can work across multiple devices (Amazon Echo, Echo Dot, Fire TV, etc.) and can be used to answer questions asked by voice and control home automation devices by voice.

What is Amazon Echo?

Echo is a Bluetooth speaker that can sit in a room and comes with microphones and Amazons AI Alexa that can be used to answer questions by voice and control music playback and home automation devices by voice.

What is Amazon Echo Dot?

The Echo Dot is the little brother of the full size Amazon Echo. It is a smaller, cheaper device that lacks the full size speaker of the Echo. It includes the same microphones and Alexa AI as the full size speaker. While it also includes a small speaker, the speaker isn't good enough for quality music playback, but ok for answering voice commands and alarms. However the Echo Dot can be connected to better quality speakers (hifi system, AV receiver, bluetooth speakers, etc.) via either a 3.5mm audio out connection or over bluetooth.

Can I buy the Amazon Echo/Dot in Ireland?

No, not directly. However you can buy it from Amazon UK and get it shipped to Ireland by either Parcel Motel, Parcel Wizard or Address Pal shipping services.

How do I set the Echo/Dot up?

You either use the website alexa.amazon.co.uk or you use the Alexa app for iPhone or Android. The easier way is to use the website, but see below for more information of the mobile apps.

Can I use alexa.amazon.co.uk on a mobile browser.

Yes, initially it will tell you to use the app, however you can use your mobile browsers optino to display the desktop version of the website, it will work fine.

Can I get alexa app for iPhone?

The Alexa app isn't available on the Irish Apple App Store, however it is reltivaly easy to temporarily change your app store to the UK App Store and download it from there after which you can change it back to the Irish app store.

Can I get the alexa app for Android?

The Alexa app isn't available in the Irish Google Play Store. However it is possible to install the app by downloading the app to your laptop and sideloading the app to your Android phone. You can do a google search for more details on how to do this.

Will I be able to use my Irish address in the app?

Sort of. Amazon uses the Microsoft Bing Maps for it's addresses. Bing Maps address database for Ireland is very poor. Your address might not work, however you might find that a near by street address will work.

Will commuting times work?

If you manage to set your home and work address (see above answer), then yes you will be able to get commuting times.

However Amazon uses Bing Maps, so commuting times aren't as accurate as Google Maps and also you can't get commuting times by walking/cycling/public transport.

Will I be able to ask for the weather in my location?

Yes, though you will have to specify the location:

"Alexa, what is the weather like in Dublin?"

Note you will have to specify "in Dublin" "in Cork"

Will I be able to play music using Spotify Premium.

Yes, and in general it works well. For instance:

"Alexa, play music on spotify"
"Alexa, play rock on spotify"

Note the you have to specify "on spotify" each time.

Will Spotify Free work on Echo

No, it requires a premium account.

Can I play music out in multiple rooms if you have multiple Echo/Dots?

No, however you can change the room it is playing in by saying "Alexa, resume Spotify" in the room your are currently in and it will start playing in that room.

Will I be able to play Irish and UK radio stations?

Irish radio stations are extremely buggy and mostly don't work by voice control. It is extremely hard to get it to play the usual Irish radio stations.

UK radio stations work ok, for instance:
"Alexa, play BBC Radio 1 on tunein"

Notice that you have to specify "on tunein" for each station.

A work around for Irish stations is to select the station by the Alexa app or website and then you can pause it by voice.

If you listen to the same station every day, then you can select the station via the app or website first time and from then on use the follwoing vocie command to play it:

"Alexa, resume tunein".

Does it support other music services?

Yes, it also supports Amazons own music service, however that can require a UK credit card like Revolut to get working in Ireland.

Does it support playing music from a phone via Bluetooth?

Yes, Amazon Echo can work as a basic Bluetooth speaker.

What Home Automation Services does it support?

Many, including but not limited to:

- Philips Hue (smart lights)
- Belkin Wemo Smart Plugs
- Netatmo/Hive/Tado/Nest Smart Thermostats
- Smarthings
- etc.

Does it work with IFTTT?

IFTTT is currently not working in the UK and Ireland. However it does work on Amazon US Echo's so it will likely come eventually to UK and Ireland.

However an alternative service Yonomi does work with Amazon Echo and works very well.

Does it work with Logitech Harmony Remotes?

Basic support (turn on/off activities only) works in US Echos, but not UK and Ireland yet. However you can get the same level of support for Harmony in UK and Ireland using the excellent Yonomi app.

More to come.......
bk is offline  
Advertisement
09-11-2016, 12:11   #2
Tom Cruises Left Nut
Registered User
 
Tom Cruises Left Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,740
So IFTTT doesn't work here at all then ?
Tom Cruises Left Nut is offline  
09-11-2016, 12:16   #3
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Cruises Left Nut View Post
So IFTTT doesn't work here at all then ?
Not unless you set yours up as a US Echo. However I assume this will be fixed soon, I can't see why it wouldn't and it most be a top priority for devs.

Yonomi is also worth checking out as an alternative to IFTTT. While Yonomi can't do as much as IFTTT, it seems to work much more reliably for what it does support and it works with the UK Echo.
bk is offline  
Thanks from:
09-11-2016, 14:33   #4
Stoner
Moderator
 
Stoner's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Cruises Left Nut
So IFTTT doesn't work here at all then ?
You mean just for the echo right?
Stoner is offline  
09-11-2016, 14:36   #5
Tom Cruises Left Nut
Registered User
 
Tom Cruises Left Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoner View Post
You mean just for the echo right?
Yep, ordered the echo dot this morning
Tom Cruises Left Nut is offline  
Advertisement
09-11-2016, 15:26   #6
whiteley91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 150
I think it would be a good idea to sticky these in the forum along with the Google home FAQ thread. Would be a good starting point for people new to the forum and can always add more FAQ's as needed.
whiteley91 is offline  
09-11-2016, 23:16   #7
kennM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 588
Hey guys,

Quick question... anyone know if you can set the Device Location to an address in Ireland? Been trying with no success thus far. Got hooked up to spotify/nest etc. so far and pretty impressed.

Still early days yet though
kennM is offline  
10-11-2016, 00:36   #8
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennM View Post
Hey guys,

Quick question... anyone know if you can set the Device Location to an address in Ireland? Been trying with no success thus far. Got hooked up to spotify/nest etc. so far and pretty impressed.

Still early days yet though
If your address doesn't work, then try close by street names.
bk is offline  
Thanks from:
15-11-2016, 14:50   #9
methodinsane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Bit disappointed to hear it doesn't do so well on TuneIn. I'm looking for a new kitchen/sitting room radio device that has bluetooth and internet radio. I thought maybe this would be a good fit but at the moment I'm not sure it's worth the hassle. Unless somebody can tell it works fine with asking to play Nova or TodayFM on TuneIn?

Thanks.
methodinsane is offline  
Advertisement
15-11-2016, 16:00   #10
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodinsane View Post
Bit disappointed to hear it doesn't do so well on TuneIn. I'm looking for a new kitchen/sitting room radio device that has bluetooth and internet radio. I thought maybe this would be a good fit but at the moment I'm not sure it's worth the hassle. Unless somebody can tell it works fine with asking to play Nova or TodayFM on TuneIn?

Thanks.
You can select any station from the app (or web) and play via echo that way. If you play the same station all the time, then manually select that station and then say "Alexa, play tunein" and it will always select the last played station.
degsie is offline  
15-11-2016, 16:38   #11
methodinsane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by degsie View Post
You can select any station from the app (or web) and play via echo that way. If you play the same station all the time, then manually select that station and then say "Alexa, play tunein" and it will always select the last played station.
Cool thanks for the info. It's been a while since I used TuneIn. Do you know does it have a preset ability so you could say something like "Alexa play preset 1 on TuneIn"?

Thanks!
methodinsane is offline  
15-11-2016, 16:39   #12
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodinsane View Post
Cool thanks for the info. It's been a while since I used TuneIn. Do you know does it have a preset ability so you could say something like "Alexa play preset 1 on TuneIn"?

Thanks!
No, there is currently no way to do this.

On the whole, Google Home handles Tunein far better. Though GH is not officially available in Ireland yet
bk is offline  
15-11-2016, 17:02   #13
Irish Gunner
Registered User
 
Irish Gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,886
On the Echo for TuneIn you have to name the radio station ??
I don't listen to many Irish radio stations so do I just have to say Alexis play 'name of station'......better get my naming right
Irish Gunner is offline  
15-11-2016, 17:20   #14
Tom Cruises Left Nut
Registered User
 
Tom Cruises Left Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk View Post
If your address doesn't work, then try close by street names.
Can't seem to add any IE address to the echo app

Any other suggestions ?
Tom Cruises Left Nut is offline  
15-11-2016, 18:03   #15
kennM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 588
I couldnt get it sorted.... ended up just adding Belfast address so timezone was right
kennM is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet