Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The BIG thread on how to import from Japan

• Registered Users Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Ah okay, seems bit of a con, when one can communicate with Revenue with the same detail and profiency as a customs broker.

Then again, does the Customs Broker keep you updated on when the car/ship has arrived and duly has it offloaded and stored? Am I right in thinking that storage is free for the 1st 7 days?

The broker doesn't just talk to customs, they also deal with the boat it comes in on, the Stevedoring company and also the physical release of the car. They notify you of every step along the way. First 7 days, from the first day it lands are free yeah.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Jjohnrockk

Planning to import a Honda fit from Japan, 2016 model perhaps or Honda insight 2014. Any tips.

Any tips and how much in percentage terms a car costing X in auction would cost here - On Road Cost say 3X or 4X?

Jazz of 2014 are being sold at 9K and 2016 at 10K. Will I save any significant money by importing say 2-3K????

insight of 2011 at 7k or 2014 at 11K in Ireland.

Jjohnrockk wrote: »
    Planning to import a Honda fit from Japan, 2016 model perhaps or Honda insight 2014. Any tips.

My friend bought an insight and auction records show dealer sold it for 7000 while he had bought it for about than 2K. R Grade car.

I want to buy on my own to avoid buying a damaged car and save 2-3K.

He might have bought it for 2 grand, but shipping is another grand, then import fees including customs and vat will bring it up another 2 grand, then VRT, tyres and maintenence will be another grand and now it owes him 6 grand. He made a grand off you, not 5.

R doesn't always mean 'damaged'.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Jjohnrockk

He might have bought it for 2 grand, but shipping is another grand, then import fees including customs and vat will bring it up another 2 grand, then VRT, tyres and maintenence will be another grand and now it owes him 6 grand. He made a grand off you, not 5.

R doesn't always mean 'damaged'.

Thanks. I didnt say he made 5K. My post said save 2K indicating money made well worth his efforts.

Why buy a R when you can get a 4 rated by paying 1k higher perhaps.

Not to distract from the topics, Im seeking tips to import. Not to gauge his money or proffits

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭User1998

Any tips and how much in percentage terms a car costing X in auction would cost here - On Road Cost say 3X or 4X?

I see you have edited your post but as above the dealer would have only made about €1.5k profit on that deal after all costs.

R grade means that a panel has been replaced or the car is modified. It usually indicates accident damage. They are always cheaper which is why they might be popular to import

On the road cost really depends on the car. But very roughly its about 4x the cost. If a car costs €1,000, shipping is another €1,000, vat and customs around €700, customs broker fee, port fees, nct, tax, €400, VRT depends on the car, usually €700+, and then you have possible tyre and battery change, €300.

Also you need to make yourself aware of all of the paperwork involved and the emissions etc or your car will be left to rot at Dublin port.

Thanks. I didnt say he made 5K. My post said save 2K indicating money made well worth his efforts.

Why buy a R when you can get a 4 rated by paying 1k higher perhaps.

Not to distract from the topics, Im seeking tips to import. Not to gauge his money or proffits

It was a breakdown of your example, not necessarily what you did or didn't say.

A 4 can be a 3 in another Auction House. My own R32 was a 3.5 in 2014, and six years later it was an R because it got a bonnet and a grille, nothing else had changed. Take each individual car on its own merits, and not what the sheet says.

Get in touch with a GOOD importer, who can organise scoping the car before it goes through the auction.

Personally, I had 13 cars checked before I found my own GTR, and I didn't even end up buying from auction.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Dragon6250

Hoping to import a Nissan Fairladyz from Japan. Question is the amount of vat and duty payable calculated on the documentation from the auction house or does the Irish customs decide the value of the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭5500

It's calculated on the cost of car/transport/clearance/insurance/shipping, basically whatever it costs you to land the car in Ireland, the duty and vat is calculated off that. Its the VRT that's the random number game (assuming it's post 1991 and not eligible for classic vrt)

On the grading note, don't let it be the sole decider in picking a car, there can be good R's and bad, likewise 3.5/4 that are rough or great. There's less concern with the likes of newer or family cars, but when it comes to anything performance related/vintage era it's a whole different ball game and they really need to be checked over in advance

Hoping to import a Nissan Fairladyz from Japan. Question is the amount of vat and duty payable calculated on the documentation from the auction house or does the Irish customs decide the value of the car.

The Nissan 350z (fairladyz) Is not listed when trying to calculate the VRT is there any way to get an accurate figure.

Unfortunately no, you won't get a figure until you present the car for VRT and revenue come back after a few days with a price, which could literally be anything from 1500 to 10,000. Even if you found someone who imported the exact same year and model ect recently, the price you get on the day can be totally different to theirs.

It's the gamble with importing from Japan with certain cars the past few years now, and doesn't look likely to change either.

Dragon6250 wrote: »
    The Nissan 350z (fairladyz) Is not listed when trying to calculate the VRT is there any way to get an accurate figure.

If you find out the emissions of the car (which you will have to do yourself anyway if importing from Japan) you will know the VRT rate, so most likely 36% for that car. If you find similar models on Donedeal for say €10,000, the VRT should be around €3,600 + Nox, but as above it could be anything really.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Jap imports rising, albeit from a low base

Since Britain’s withdrawal from the European Union in January 2021, second-hand car imports from England, Scotland and Wales have been subject to VAT and a range of new customs formalities.

As a result, used-car imports from Britain have fallen dramatically.

“In 2019, just before the onset of the pandemic and Brexit, we imported 108,000 cars from the UK,” according to the report’s author, economist Dr Tom Gillespie.

“In 2021 the total number of used car imports from the UK was just 47,034, a fall of 56% from 2019 levels.”

It means there is a deficit of used cars is in the region of 125,000 vs normal trading conditions. This “has led to a doubling of the number of imported used cars from Japan, from 3,243 in 2019 to 9,805 in 2021″, according to Gillespie. 

https://www.thejournal.ie/used-car-price-hikes-5651060-Jan2022/

I presume he meant to say tripling rather than doubling

• Registered Users Posts: 22,034 ✭✭✭✭Esel

It's it possible that someone may have misinterpreted a 200% increase as being the same as doubling?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 5 NoxJapan

Guys, has anyone had any joy whatsoever getting confirmation of NOx emissions Data from anywhere in Japan. The japan ministry of transport looks like just as much a mess as any Irish public site with missing URL's etc. i know dealers are importing regularly so has to be an easier way. the auction i spoke to said they do not provide this data so you could be stuck paying €600 for a NOx charge that is supposed to be €40-€60 this appears to be a mostly Irish problem for now as we are trying to reduce number of diesels on the road... anyone got any help finding a reliable source for NOX data? thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Has anybody recently imported a plugin hybrid from Japan? If so what did you get and how much did it cost?

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭daesal

lots of useful info here.thanks.

i have been looking at a lot of Japanese auction sites. Can anyone recommend a recent good auction broker to go through?

i'm lost with all the options google is throwing up and would like to find a few reliable ones to see prices and whats out there.

Also with the import costs - is there a nox charge on vehicles over 30 years?

thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭corks finest

It’s confusing and from imported jap prices here the last few months it’s highly improbable that there’s bargains to be had

hope I’m wrong bigtime

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Oops!

Can anybody point me in the right direction of a document that vrt will accept printed out as the official CO2 and NOX emissions for a KSP-130 Vitz with a 1KR engine please?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Google is a bad lad. You need to be getting informed from reputable websites.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭hello2020

Thanks ..can someone suggest any trust able place to order car ? how much do they charge?

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Ekerot

Does anyone think it's worth importing an electric car from Japan here to Ireland?

I've tried doing my research but I keep on hearing horror stories of cars not being able to be registered here when they finally come and being left with a big piece of coal in the process.

From my limited research there doesn’t seem to be a lot of electric cars available to purchase from Japan. There are lots of hybrid options tho

• Registered Users Posts: 81,338 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think it's more of an issue with the language needing to be changed in the car and also the pairing up with the charging network where the problems are. I've seen online Australian companies who specialise in the change over to English on them but when I tried looking for any examples in the UK or any examples of anyone in the UK who had successfully imported one from Japan I couldn't find any examples.

They are dirt cheap from Japan, no VRT on them either being electric (for almost all), lots of LEAF's here....

https://www.japanesecartrade.com/stock_list.php?make_id=2&maker_id=22538&SA=make&isSearched=1&desksearch=desksearch

Hey oops, I asked the same question and I'm surprised nobody on this thread has answered it completely as yet considering it's exactly what is needed to get the vehicle past inspection. The auction I spoke to have a sheet with NOx value for the fit I want to import, hope it works with revenue but who knows??? I have also gotten PDFs from Honda Japan but they were buried in their website and I literally almost learned some Japanese while trying doing it! Ireland is such a small market the Japanese sites still have not come back to me with a definite answer though perhaps the sheets I have MIGHT work. Lads anyone here actually imported a car from Japan and gotten NOx value as opposed to just chatting about it ? Thanks 👍

I'm also aware of the Japan ministry of land transport suggestion but they are a nightmare to contact

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Oops!

Hi there, yes i have the correct paperwork to pass VRT inspection and have the car on irish plates. If you need any help send me a PM.

The NoX value on a hybrid fit is 0.013 (GP5 model) have an appeal in with revenue at the moment with the correct paperwork submitted, will update when they reply

Every single car from Japan has Nox of 0.013 for some reason

• Registered Users Posts: 8,865 ✭✭✭Soarer

I miss the 90's, when there was Jap yokes all over the place.

Miss my old yoke.