Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

There are 6100 comments on this thread. Every post does not specifically mean that items referenced were included in the post quoted.
    And if you can't understand the difference between mentioning something and speaking in derogatory terms, then it explains a lot, but is no excuse.This thread continues to convince me we are close to if not having already passed a threshold where the majority of people support Greta's views, there is no objective argument against it here only nonsense, subjectivity and straw men arguments. Greta is going very well to communicate a necessary message. Fair play to her.

Glad you cleared that up - so there's no derogatory comment regarding aspergers there or in the vast majority of comments in this thread. Grand so. But why drag it up as a wet fish in reply in the first place? Looks like little more than cheap shots as again simply no coherent argument to support such bizarre pedestal pushing extreme eco anxiety

Here another alarmist message using children which had to be removed due to its overt style of alarmism

'The film was made in an attempt to challenge the "no pressure" attitude (allegedly) displayed by governments and individuals towards taking real action on climate change. 10:10 highlighted the urgency of action with claims that carbon dioxide emissions (had to be) be stabilised by 2014* (within four years) in order to avoid disaster'

https://www.eitb.eus/en/news/detail/513293/controversial-climate-change-campaign-film-disgusts-make-a-point/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

And as always, if you are that concerned, heed her message. She will be thankful and that will help her.

That's not how it works. Capitulation to her ideals and not addressing the issue of manipulation will not help in any way.
    If the concern is as real as you suggest (it most definitely isn't) then those expressing that concern might reign in the derogatory remarks about those suffering with Asperger. It kind of undermines the image of a compassionate society they are trying to project.

As has been pointed out, there are very few derogatory comments and mentioning her disability/superpower is fair game as she openly promotes it.
    Greta is going very well to communicate a necessary message. Fair play to her.

No she isn't. There is an even bigger backlash brewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Ironicname wrote:

A few million people around the planet seem to think so, there always will be backlash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,937 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ironicname wrote: »
    That's not how it works. Capitulation to her ideals and not addressing the issue of manipulation will not help in any way.

As has been pointed out, there are very few derogatory comments and mentioning her disability/superpower is fair game as she openly promotes it.

So, you dont believe theres an issue with the environment which is partially caused by human behaviours and we need to listen to the scientists who say we need to act? Because those are her ideals. Is she wrong?

First it was there were no derogatory comments, now it's there were very few, at least we're moving towards the truth. Also, she doesn't promote it, she acknowledges it. Big difference.

What bigger backlash? What are you talking about?

Ironicname wrote: »

Here's some of that backlash...

https://twitter.com/jeffgoodell/status/1186291007958245376?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

mzungu wrote: »
    Ah listen, she is 16 years old. She does better than most would in that situation. So what if she has a few lapses? Plus, most people in the public eye operate off a script. Whether that be politicians, actors, musicians etc. When things go off script even they start to flounder a little. Usually those that can go free form easily would be academics and journalists, mainly because they would have decades of research in various fields behind them. But a 16 year old? Nah, a few silent moments here and there and some botched answers is not out of the norm.

TL;DR Some of the most world renowned orators would be nowhere near as impressive if they were not working from a script. Nobody just goes out and starts winging it like some kind of open mic rap battle in a Detroit bar.

She was asked what message SHE hoped world leaders would get from HER UN speech. She stuttered for a few seconds then palmed it off to the panel. She hadn’t a clue how to answer it. She works off scripts because she has no clue about climate change.

So, you dont believe theres an issue with the environment which is partially caused by human behaviours and we need to listen to the scientists who say we need to act? Because those are her ideals. Is she wrong?First it was there were no derogatory comments, now it's there were very few, at least we're moving towards the truth. Also, she doesn't promote it, she acknowledges it. Big difference. ...

Pointing out that greta's alarmism is unhealthy has nothing to do with anyone believing "theres an issue with the environment" or otherwise. But you know that already.

Lol. Making it up? So you are now saying there were derogatory references re. aspergers in my comment to which you went off on a bender about it for no reason? Could you make up your mind there thanks. As clearly stated there was none in that comment. So you can drop the hyperbole and faux outrage you detailed earlier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

Ah listen, she is 16 years old. She does better than most would in that situation. So what if she has a few lapses? Plus, most people in the public eye operate off a script. Whether that be politicians, actors, musicians etc. When things go off script even they start to flounder a little. Usually those that can go free form easily would be academics and journalists, mainly because they would have decades of research in various fields behind them. But a 16 year old? Nah, a few silent moments here and there and some botched answers is not out of the norm.

TL;DR Some of the most world renowned orators would be nowhere near as impressive if they were not working from a script. Nobody just goes out and starts winging it like some kind of open mic rap battle in a Detroit bar.

The problem isn't Greta herself, it's the people manipulating her. Her parents have lied and lied and lied. They've absolutely fooked up both of their kids and shamelessly attention whore them for their own personal gain. A has been actor and a has been singer with grandparents in the entertainment industry too. I've no doubt Greta believes this stuff, she's been fed it all her life and the poor kid self harms because of it. She and her sister should have been taken into care years ago and the parents charged with child abuse. She's just a puppet and her family is doing very nicely financially from it all. No matter to her parents that the kid is well on her way to a nervous breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

blueshade wrote:
    The problem isn't Greta herself, it's the people manipulating her. Her parents have lied and lied and lied. They've absolutely fooked up both of their kids and shamelessly attention whore them for their own personal gain. A has been actor and a has been singer with grandparents in the entertainment industry too. I've no doubt Greta believes this stuff, she's been fed it all her life and the poor kid self harms because of it. She and her sister should have been taken into care years ago and the parents charged with child abuse. She's just a puppet and her family is doing very nicely financially from it all. No matter to her parents that the kid is well on her way to a nervous breakdown.

Self harm is common with autism, particularly with females

blueshade wrote: »

She's not been manipulated.
    Her parents haven't lied and lied and lied.
    The thunbeg children have not been '****ed up'.
    The children have not been shored for attention.
    Her parents aren't 'has been' anything any more than yours are.
    She hasn't been force fed anything.
    There is no evidence the Thunberg children should have been taken in to care.
    There is no evidence the Thunberg children have been abused.
    She is not a puppet.
    There is no evidence the Thunbergs have financially benefitted from her experience to any great degree.
    Greta's demeanour would suggest she is very much enjoying her current experiences and there is no evidence that she is closer to a breakdown than she may have been previously.

Are you Donald Trump?
    The amount of lies, innuendo, heresay and libel in this single post was astonishing.
    And once again, thanked by someone who later will be saying no one has really said anything untrue about Greta or her parents and are in fact just concerned for her welfare...

Please!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

She is not a puppet.
    There is no evidence the Thunbergs have financially benefitted from her experience to any great degree.
    Greta's demeanour would suggest she is very much enjoying her current experiences and there is no evidence that she is closer to a breakdown than she may have been previously.

Are you Donald Trump?
    The amount of lies, innuendo, heresay and libel in this single post was astonishing.
    And once again, thanked by someone who later will be saying no one has really said anything untrue about Greta or her parents and are in fact just concerned for her welfare...

Please!

Fanboy levels of denial there :pac: Of course her parents stand to financially gain out of Greta... her mother already has in fact with Greta being the basis of the book she conveniently released around the time Greta was handpicked to be a climate messiah. Her father is in the process of making a documentary with Greta center stage, you think he won't have a payday. Then there is the media appearance fees, parties, award ceremonies etc, lots of perks for them.

She is not a puppet.

Are you Donald Trump?

Please!

Keep drinking the Kool Aid.

Fanboy levels of denial there :pac: Of course her parents stand to financially gain out of Greta... her mother already has in fact with Greta being the basis of the book she conveniently released around the time Greta was handpicked to be a climate messiah. Her father is in the process of making a documentary with Greta center stage, you think he won't have a payday. Then there is the media appearance fees, parties, award ceremonies etc, lots of perks for them.

Greta's protests began at the same time her mothers book was published. In fact if anyone cares to do even the most basic of searches they will find out that it's all basically tied to her mother's book and her mother's publishers and the PR company behind that. They'll also find that the kids at Greta's school had zero interest in all of it to begin with. I'm sure that Greta's photo replacing her mother's on the front of her mother's book won't bother her at all. Hey, just as long as those checkout tills are ringing with sales of that book who cares what lies get told and who gets hurt?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,503 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Posts deleted

@blueshade - keep that type of speculation to yourself

Greta's protests began at the same time her mothers book was published. In fact if anyone cares to do even the most basic of searches they will find out that it's all basically tied to her mother's book and her mother's publishers and the PR company behind that. They'll also find that the kids at Greta's school had zero interest in all of it to begin with. I'm sure that Greta's photo replacing her mother's on the front of her mother's book won't bother her at all. Hey, just as long as those checkout tills are ringing with sales of that book who cares what lies get told and who gets hurt?

It so incredibly in your face. The whole messianic Greta show couldn't be more manufactured even if you put Louis Walsh in charge.

When was she last on television?

Are you Donald Trump?
    Please!

Now why would you think that of a poster? Heres an equally daft question - Are you donald duck? The amount of sideswiping and obsession with who thanks who for what - in that comment is astonishing.

Afaik the only thing Mr trump has said about greta was this...
    She seems like a very happy young girl looking forward to a bright and wonderful future. So nice to see!”

It was obviously toungue in cheek considering the death stares being levied by Ms thunberg at the president during that conference.

At least she or whoever manages her twitter account appeared to take the tweet in the same vein and simply added the comment temporarily to her twitter profile. So all fine there.

Why the continued and daft personalisations and projections? - none of that make any sense tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,477 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

For all you folk with the India China bollocks, check this out

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2019/oct/21/britain-is-g7s-biggest-net-importer-of-co2-emissions-per-capita-says-ons

I doubt we're far behind them - it is we rich Europeans and Yanks that are fuelling Chinese pollution.

For all you folk with the India China bollocks, check this out

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2019/oct/21/britain-is-g7s-biggest-net-importer-of-co2-emissions-per-capita-says-ons

I doubt we're far behind them - it is we rich Europeans and Yanks that are fuelling Chinese pollution.

Yeah. It's our fault the Chinese are polluting. Nothing to do with the Chinese.

It's our fault and their fault

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/oct/21/ocean-acidification-can-cause-mass-extinctions-fossils-reveal

Carbon is acidifying the oceans too and killing marine life. More lies from scientists.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/oct/21/ocean-acidification-can-cause-mass-extinctions-fossils-reveal
    Carbon is acidifying the oceans too and killing marine life. More lies from scientists.

Shiney new subscription to the alarmist Guardian newspaper yes?
    Ocean acidification can cause the mass extinction of marine life, fossil evidence from 66m years ago has revealed...

He said caution was needed in making the comparison between the acidification spike 66m years ago and today: “When the asteroid struck, atmospheric CO2 was naturally already much higher than today, and the pH much lower. Furthermore, large asteroid impacts cause prolonged darkness.”

So the bottom line is - the planet better not get hit by a large planet impacting Asteroid. Right so. I'll put that on the check list. Thanks for that;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

She was asked what message SHE hoped world leaders would get from HER UN speech. She stuttered for a few seconds then palmed it off to the panel. She hadn’t a clue how to answer it. She works off scripts because she has no clue about climate change.

Pretty much all figures in the public eye work off scripts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Your post reads as an attack on her family with no evidence to back it up.

Are you concerned only for her welfare, or is your issue that she is a spokesperson for a campaign you disagree with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

gozunda wrote: »
    So the bottom line is - the planet better not get hit by a large planet impacting Asteroid. Right so. I'll put that on the check list. Thanks for that;)

What we need is more algae, that will bring the end of days and the salvation the XR bourgeois alarmists seek by destroying modern civilisation. :rolleyes:

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

Pretty much all figures in the public eye work off scripts.

They do. But if they were asked a simple question, they would be able to answer it without a script. She stuttered and um'd and ah'd. Then passed the question to the panel.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/dublin-air-pollution-breaching-eu-limits-epa-warns-1.3950575

Filthy air in Dublin, not in India or China, we need less cars and fossil fuels. This has affects on our health.
    I might have to become one of those guys that wears a stupid mask while cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/dublin-air-pollution-breaching-eu-limits-epa-warns-1.3950575

Filthy air in Dublin, not in India or China, we need less cars and fossil fuels. This has affects on our health.
    I might have to become one of those guys that wears a stupid mask while cycling.

1) Dublin exceeds EU limits which are the most stringent in the world, it does not mean we are worse than china or India etc.. who have no such limits. We're still lightyears ahead of them in air quality.

2) If you look at the streets where the excess is being recorded , its two of the most congested streets in Dublin (Pearse st and the quays) where theres more bus lanes than car lanes and the governments 'road diet' plan keeps cars idling endlessly in traffic.

1) Dublin exceeds EU limits which are the most stringent in the world, it does not mean we are worse than china or India etc.. who have no such limits. We're still lightyears ahead of them in air quality.

2) If you look at the streets where the excess is being recorded , its two of the most congested streets in Dublin (Pearse st and the quays) where theres more bus lanes than car lanes and the governments 'road diet' plan keeps cars idling endlessly in traffic.

It means that our air is dirty and we need to clean up our own country regardless of what's going on in the rest of the world.
    Well we seem to be moving towards more restrictions for private cars in the city and there are plans to build more bike and bus lanes so hopefully the days of driving your car into the city for shopping etc are numbered. We really need congestion charges too for private cars. How would you cope Eric, you might actually have to walk somewhere?! I'll pray for you.

It means that our air is dirty and we need to clean up our own country regardless of what's going on in the rest of the world.
    Well we seem to be moving towards more restrictions for private cars in the city and there are plans to build more bike and bus lanes so hopefully the days of driving your car into the city for shopping etc are numbered. We really need congestion charges too for private cars. How would you cope Eric, you might actually have to walk somewhere?! I'll pray for you.

Or the city centre becomes a rundown kip, like O'Connell St, and people use the Pavilions, Blanch, and other outer shopping centres, causing more congestion outside the city.

How on earth would having more pedestrianised streets and less cars turn it into a run down kip? It would improve it in so many ways including aesthetically. Time and time again it has been proven that more pedestrian and cycling friendly streets leads to more business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Or the city centre becomes a rundown kip, like O'Connell St, .

Yep o Connel St is a mess. Henry St and grafton is how it should be done

I drive through the city for work , ill just pass the charges on to my clients. You won't get me off the roads of the city.

this is exactly what will happen, we already have restricted car parking spaces and accessibility to a crippling level, its already hurting trade and will just continue the decline.

I drive through the city for work , ill just pass the charges on to my clients. You won't get me off the roads of the city.

Ah but we might, you may have to go right around the centre eventually or be really inconvenienced! We need to get private cars out of the city no matter what, and it's slowly moving in that way.

Im already really inconvenienced by the road diet, one way streets and parking spaces being eroded to appeal to a bunch of cyclists who can't even follow the most basic of rules. but the idea of cycling, scooters or public transport is just so much worse than sitting in traffic and pretty much always will be.

Well yeah you'll just be sitting in traffic longer as the restrictions get worse and worse for people like you. It's about time they gave some of the streets back to people, but we've a long way to go.
    Cars don't follow the rules either, and they cause all the deaths remember.

Well yeah you'll just be sitting in traffic longer as the restrictions get worse and worse for people like you. It's about time they gave some of the streets back to people, but we've a long way to go.

Here's an idea - get out of the congested urban areas with all the pollution and gridlock. Move to the countryside and buy a bicycle. Sorted.

How on earth would having more pedestrianised streets and less cars turn it into a run down kip? It would improve it in so many ways including aesthetically. Time and time again it has been proven that more pedestrian and cycling friendly streets leads to more business.

Less cars, less people, less profit, less shops, less rates.

It's hardly rocket science.

Less cars, less people, less profit, less shops, less rates.

It's hardly rocket science.

Less cars and pedestrianisation of streets leads to more business for retailers.
    Do you suggest we encourage more cars into the city centre, or keep things as they are, or reduce the numbers?

Less cars and pedestrianisation of streets leads to more business for retailers.
    Do you suggest we encourage more cars into the city centre, or keep things as they are, or reduce the numbers?

removing cars off a street often makes it more dangerous and open spaces without roads in Dublin become a magnet for drug addicts and anti social behaviour.

the commuters are the people..... apologies some of us aren't either wealthy or state dependant enough to have housing in the city. Many people are being forced out of their cars with no alternative.

don't you live in the middle of nowhere because you wouldn't live in a city? I would say the majority of people driving into Dublin have other options, e.g. the 1000s of civil servants who have parking spaces in the centre.

removing cars off a street often makes it more dangerous and open spaces without roads in Dublin become a magnet for drug addicts and anti social behaviour.

Grafton st? Suffolk st? They seem fine to me. They voted recently in the council to pedestrianise Liffey st too which is great.

Yeah, right on. Turn it into a ghost town after 6pm. A habitat for junkies and villains.

Again, what pedestrianised streets are habitats for junkies and villains? Grafton st is a ghost town at night is it? Temple bar is? You guys are f*cking unbelievable lol, just anti absolutely everything that is different.

this is exactly what will happen, we already have restricted car parking spaces and accessibility to a crippling level, its already hurting trade and will just continue the decline.

The source and extent of the argument of many against Greta.
    I. do. not. want. to. change.

Dress it up as lack of confidence in science, concern for the girl, feeling it is just governments looking to introduce taxes.

This is it. Selfishness.

Isn't that what countless threads on Boards already suggest it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,213 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

This is what is already happening. Urban decay from the inside out.
    No one travels to the city center to shop anymore.
    The DCC is very anti-car (even anti-EV).

I don't drive to the city center anymore. Can't remember the last time I was in there. Too much hassle. And with that, goes all the meetings I would have had, money spent on lunches, drinks, impulse shopping, etc. I don't know how traders survive.

If it wasn't for the lobby behind the high rise carparks being so strong I think we would be a lot more pedestrianised already. And for what? So greta and her ilk can ride around on illegal scooters powered by farts and their misplaced sense of wellbeing?

Eco mentalist nonsense.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Dublin isn't far off that. I was shocked by a recent stay in Dublin city centre the contrast between rush hour and 2 or 3 hours later. Heaving mass of people at rush hour, dead to the world later that evening.

And the commuter towns are probably the reverse, dead during the day, busy in the evening.

The way we locate housing and workplaces is a huge reason for our high carbon footprint. And its only going to get worse as large companies want to locate in Dublin 2 but expect their employees to commute from long distances.

The government don't care as long as the corporation tax revenues keep coming in.

Restaurants pubs tourism retail all booming in DCC. You people just invent your own truths, youre all mad!