Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Instagram models

• 20-05-2019 1:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

What's the story with Instagram models and endless thirsty guys drooling over them and posting cringy comments.

This phenomenon (seemingly a naked narcissistic supply) where any decent looking woman has hundreds of guys fawning over her, is it new.

Or has it been going on for a while now.

The world is seriously ****ed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

What's the story with Instagram models and endless thirsty guys drooling over them and posting cringy comments.

This phenomenon (seemingly a naked narcissistic supply) where any decent looking woman has hundreds of guys fawning over her, is it new.

Or has it been going on for a while now.

They do it for money.

For those living in the states there is a lot of money in it. Or they do it to promote themselves etc.

They will post about a club or a new drink that has come out or a product or a store etc ...some models will ask for a dollar per every like.

The might need someone to help mod it though. Then there is twitch youtube etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Influencers isnt that the term.

Does anyone check how effective it might be?

You'd fear for the coming generations..

Not so sure CQD there was nutjobs in every generation.

Not sure how many people watch them and think they speak the truth or how many watch in disbelief or amusement. Then I'm sure there's many that just perv on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They're not influencing me.

Shower of eejits.

Not so sure CQD there was nutjobs in every generation.

Not sure how many people watch them and think they speak the truth or how many watch in disbelief or amusement. Then I'm sure there's many that just perv on them.

Yeah, but the nutjobs weren't something to which the kids aspired to be previously..every young one wasn't hoping to become a nutjob in her teens like..

My primary ambition in life has always been to become a complete and utter nutjob and safe to say mission completed! :)

Well done..I've succeeded in this regard myself, even if it wasn't something to which I aspired..I suppose you could say I just had a natural talent..

TEACH ME MASTER! :p

I have seen many people on Facebook whos profession is full time mad bastard that's the same thing as nutjob, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Its all marketing. The more people you have following you, the broader your audience. Easiest way to get that is to flaunt/ expose yourself.

I know someone who hired a professional photographer for 6 months and did multiple shoots to catalog 500 pics. She posted about 50 and her followers jumped immensely then started posting 1 per week.
    She has 42K followers and contacts start up clothing and make up brands who will pay to advertise on her page.

She gets free merch and the more her following grows the more money these brands offer.

tuxy wrote: »
    I have seen many people on Facebook whos profession is full time mad bastard that's the same thing as nutjob, isn't it?

I think it's very very different.

Brendog wrote: »
    Its all marketing. The more people you have following you, the broader your audience. Easiest way to get that is to flaunt/ expose yourself.

I know someone who hired a professional photographer for 6 months and did multiple shoots to catalog 500 pics. She posted about 50 and her followers jumped immensely then started posting 1 per week.
    She has 42K followers and contacts start up clothing and make up brands who will pay to advertise on her page.

She gets free merch and the more her following grows the more money these brands offer.
    A lot of Make up artists or MUAS etc do it ..or collab with people.

Is it not the same thing just different generation?

I guess so :p

I mean even vogue sometimes collabs with them.

Naomi Campbell made a video with Partick Star!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Dirkziggler

It gets worse 2 particular "influencers" in my group of friends or distant group have set up a recruitment agency on Instagram no CV required just follow them and fill in a survey they will match your job to you. Now this is the beauty, there is no training, Qualifications or anything for the girls both have never worked in the field and now they are directing people's future aspiration. Madness.

Taking the 'influencer' concept a bit far alright maybe..

Oh you have no idea. It is a shambles and somebody is gonna be burned.

BRING IT! :D

Ah good for them ...at least they are trying :)

BRING IT! :D

Ah good for them ...at least they are trying :)
    Trying what? They are in fantasy land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

It's quite hard to form a proper opinion without actually seeing the subject matter.

Is there a way we can populate this thread with images of such people from a number of angles? I would then be better equipped to make suggestions on how each model could live a more fulfilling life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I dated an instagram 'model' briefly. It was an interesting time in my life. Let alphabetcards highlight his findings.

1) Whatever you think they are making from their posts, unless they are turning 25,000 likes each post they aren't making a living out of it.
    2) If they have numerous cities listed in their bio, they escort in one of those cities.
    3) Webcamming takes minutes to arrange but can haul in cash every week.
    4) They love ritalin and modafinil.
    5) Most get too comfortable and fall for some silly trap - like a sugardaddy providing them with an apartment... until 4 months later the landlord is knocking in, asking why the rent has been behind for 2 months. It's actually a dude bailing on his last few months rent and leaving the deposit, but gives them about 8/9 weeks of being a total baller with some thot. Easy to pull off in London apparently, where one can slip into anonymity in minutes.

I dated an instagram 'model' briefly. It was an interesting time in my life. Let alphabetcards highlight his findings.

1) Whatever you think they are making from their posts, unless they are turning 25,000 likes each post they aren't making a living out of it.
    2) If they have numerous cities listed in their bio, they escort in one of those cities.
    3) Webcamming takes minutes to arrange but can haul in cash every week.
    4) They love ritalin and modafinil.
    5) Most get too comfortable and fall for some silly trap - like a sugardaddy providing them with an apartment... until 4 months later the landlord is knocking in, asking why the rent has been behind for 2 months. It's actually a dude bailing on his last few months rent and leaving the deposit, but gives them about 8/9 weeks of being a total baller with some thot. Easy to pull off in London apparently, where one can slip into anonymity in minutes.

Is that your personal experience of someone? Jaysus it sounds like a horrible way to have to live. We king out a living based on people's fickle opinions of what you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

"full time mad bastard" = dole4life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Fair play to them, if you can make a load of money through being good looking then why don’t you. Has ruined Instagram though, would be nice to have a site that was about nice photographs instead of people’s arses popping up all over the place but sex sells.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You'd fear for the coming generations..

Well, the current generations are also being massively impacted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I guess so :p

I mean even vogue sometimes collabs with them.

Naomi Campbell made a video with Partick Star!

The starfish from Spongebob?

The models themselves don't bother me; as someone mentioned, it's the middle-aged men with the cringe-inducing comments that are the real tragedy here.

I follow someone on Insta who isn't a model, but she's fairly well known and is good-looking. Guys are always leaving vaguely seady comments about her appearance, even if it's just a picture of a mates' birthday event or whatever.

For sure, everybody loves compliments, but I'm amazed that some people don't have the self-awareness to suspect that they might come-off a little leery. "Ur looking gud, wouldn't mind a bit of that", for example -- FFS, man, you're about 45, bald and probably impotent, and your profile pic is of your children.

What do they even think is going to come of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭victor8600

Exactly. Somebody has to peddle stuff to the public. I do not know about you, but I do not watch TV, nor do I buy papers or glossy magazines (though I am still subscribed to a popsci magazine).

So how do adverts reach me? Through Youtube, Google search, FB etc. Instagram would be the equivalent of a glassy magazine of old, with some articles in-between full page ads sporting young women in sparse clothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I have a word game app with a chat feature. My profile pic is of the dog and every so often I'll get a game invite then a message often asking if I'm male or female. If I answer and say male then I'm blocked straight away. Wrong answer it seems. I've had one fella ask where I am, telling me I'm a beautiful woman, blah, blah, blah.

If anyone is surprised by women flaunting themselves on Instagram getting messages then you'll surely be amazed at the sleazy messages men send on word games.

......."Ur looking gud, wouldn't mind a bit of that", for example -- FFS, man, you're about 45, bald and probably impotent, and your profile pic is of your children.

Well said. This behaviour is just stupid. What if some google algorithm is tracking his activities online, building his profile based on what he posts and then selling the data to insurance companies and to his wife's divorce lawyer.

If the governments would allow it, it is possible now to build a person's profile, calculate how much money can be squeezed out of him and automatically e-mail the details of his sleazy behaviour to his wife's solicitor alongside with the case revenue projections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

As someone else alluded to, I feel for the vast majority of them their photos rarely accurately represent their actual income. I’m sure if you’re Emily Ratajkowski with millions of followers then you can legitimately make a good income off Instagram alone. For many though I was always under the impression that Instagram was just a landing page for their other activities which were the real earners i.e. modeling/escorting.

There was a reddit ama with a fitness model who was very up front that the vast bulk of her income came from sex, then modeling and only a small portion directly from Instagram. And this was someone with followers in the hundreds of thousands. I think there’s a huge underbelly to a lot of Instagram models’ profiles that people don’t realize.

Personally I’ve no problem with it. It’s undoubtedly a very limited shelf life for a lot of these girls and if they’re comfortable with what they’re doing and able to make a good living from it then so be it. My only fear is for the young teenagers that lack the maturity to question how so many people without an obvious income source can have such a great apparent lifestyle and as a result, may feel that they must somehow measure up to this.

if companies are willing to boost the economy by throwing money at marketing in any form, let them do so.

its good for the economy

if companies are willing to boost the economy by throwing money at marketing in any form, let them do so.

its good for the economy

Is it though? What economy is it helping?
    I'm not arguing the point by the way. It's something I never got involved with as in online marketing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Instagram. Sounds like a dietary supplement for these waifs!

What are waifs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

victor8600 wrote: »
    Well said. This behaviour is just stupid. What if some google algorithm is tracking his activities online, building his profile based on what he posts and then selling the data to insurance companies and to his wife's divorce lawyer.

If the governments would allow it, it is possible now to build a person's profile, calculate how much money can be squeezed out of him and automatically e-mail the details of his sleazy behaviour to his wife's solicitor alongside with the case revenue projections.

That's eh ... that's not how data collection works.

razorblunt wrote: »
    That's eh ... that's not how data collection works.

That's not how it works only because we have controls like GDPR in place. If those controls slip, or if we allow a company as powerful as Google but less scrupulous to exist, then it is possible. Given the access to Google's data, I personally can develop a program to mine enough data to know how much your earn, what you spend your money on, what are your social media handles and what you post and so on, unless you are really careful about how you use the internet.

But I may be mistaken. Please do tell me how data collection works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

What are waifs?

Sorry, friend I’ll have to waif you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

victor8600 wrote: »
    That's not how it works only because we have controls like GDPR in place. If those controls slip, or if we allow a company as powerful as Google but less scrupulous to exist, then it is possible. Given the access to Google's data, I personally can develop a program to mine enough data to know how much your earn, what you spend your money on, what are your social media handles and what you post and so on, unless you are really careful about how you use the internet.

But I may be mistaken. Please do tell me how data collection works.

Excellent, we're in agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Vacuous nonsense, lapped up by equally vacuous fools. May their whole sordid subculture crumble around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

This isn't even the worst of it.

There is a subscription site called OnlyFans that a lot of 'instagram models' are now using, which charges users a set fee to subscribe to their posts every month. Can be anywhere from $5 - $20 per month just to see them post pictures or videos of them and their daily life. There are a lot of 'regular' girls now promoting their sites on instagram etc to get people to sign up to them. There is no censorship on that platform so you can imagine what type of images / videos are being published. I have read that the 'regular' girls who are publishing content are as young as 20 and choosing to pursue that as a career rather than normal jobs as the income is so high, regular and easy.

Now I appreciate what instagram does and I use and enjoy the app myself but I really hate how it became monetized and all these 'influencers' have started a career of just talking sh1te into a phone camera and expect to get paid for it and receive everything for free. It's so fake with all the fake reviews etc. And what's worse is that young minds genuinely think that this is a viable career path to go down. And now with further subscription sites, it's going to get even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Instagram models are just the modern version of strippers. No contact teasing to desperate men who are happy to pay to ogle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

The models themselves don't bother me; as someone mentioned, it's the middle-aged men with the cringe-inducing comments that are the real tragedy here.

I follow someone on Insta who isn't a model, but she's fairly well known and is good-looking. Guys are always leaving vaguely seady comments about her appearance, even if it's just a picture of a mates' birthday event or whatever.

For sure, everybody loves compliments, but I'm amazed that some people don't have the self-awareness to suspect that they might come-off a little leery. "Ur looking gud, wouldn't mind a bit of that", for example -- FFS, man, you're about 45, bald and probably impotent, and your profile pic is of your children.

In reality, they are courting this attention on purpose. The lure of attention is too much for them and it is clear that girls are looking to be creeped on by posting up skimpy outfits and suggestive poses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

What happens to these people in 15-20 years time when their looks fade and guys no longer salivate over them.

They retire just like you would from any other job. If they have done well then they will be married to a man who's at least reasonably wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

They retire just like you would from any other job. If they have done well then they will be married to a man who's at least reasonably wealthy.

Retire at forty? I wish I could.

That they find a wealthy man? I'm sure not everyone will be able to do that (although given the multitude of rich saps out there, they probably will).

Kinda sad that that's now an aspiration for a lot of young women.

Unless they start learning new skills.
    Are they learning new skills and diversifying. Maybe they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,509 ✭✭✭✭kowloon