Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Rolex - Fake or Real

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Jack Moore wrote: »
    These posts are quite clear
    Yes Im aware there are posts telling him to be careful and Im not denying that happened, however nobody actually told him to stop did they? My point is the OP should have been told he was about to "carefully" devalue the object by what sounds like a 5-figure sum according to some reports after the fact, you'd expect that to have been screamed from the rooftops in a forum full of experts...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭893bet

Thargor wrote: »
    He was using post #29 (the one I quoted) as an example of the OP being warned not to do what he did, I dont understand it either.

You don’t understand as you haven’t read the thread and are assuming no one advised keeping it original. Given who did the work in Kilkenny would be extremely experience I assume he made an assessment and concluded the original could not be saved.

Eitherway. I don’t think replacing the glass will kill its value. OP is up 2000% on what he paid for it!

His biggest issue is finding a way of selling. Auction in the UK I think is the best option. Or keep it. These will only go up in value. They ain’t making anymore of them!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 21,238 CMod ✭✭✭✭Eoin

2kpdxi.jpg

Yes Im aware there are posts telling him to be careful and Im not denying that happened, however nobody actually told him to stop did they? My point is the OP should have been told he was about to "carefully" devalue the object by what sounds like a 5-figure sum according to some reports after the fact, you'd expect that to have been screamed from the rooftops in a forum full of experts...

You are adding greatly to the topic. Please stick around.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

893bet wrote: »
    You don’t understand as you haven’t read the thread and are assuming no one advised keeping it original.
    Yeah you can keep saying that but it wont make it true, do you want me to try and explain it for you for a 5th time? Try reading the thread yourself and have another go at getting my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

Post 60 stated don’t touch it
    61 stated go to an expert

The lads on here are understated

I’m happy for op he made a good profit but don’t pretend that the correct information wasn’t provided
    That’s not fair on the keen enthusiasts that offered the correct info and advice

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Gorteen making a ton of money whatever way it goes down. I think that's great :D

I don’t have the interest to argue with you.

Back on topic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My point is the OP should have been told he was about to "carefully" devalue the object by what sounds like a 5-figure sum according to some reports after the fact, you'd expect that to have been screamed from the rooftops in a forum full of experts...
    I would have thought "Don't touch it... Sell it as is!!" was pretty clear and many other suggested caution/seek expert advice.

BTW Thargor Less of the snark about a "forum full of experts" please. We're enthusiasts and collectors of all sorts of timepieces. We've had twenty quid Casios to 30 grand Pateks in here. Nobody has ever claimed to be an expert, but even so the advice was along the lines of what actual experts would advise.

Oh and "actual" experts get it wrong, sometimes very wrong in this game. The usual Watch forum self appointed "experts" are bad enough, but I've seen major league auction house valuers being completely wrong. Hell, the UK Antiques Roadshow has come out with some real howlers down the years and each expert on screen has a specialised team behind him or her.

Level of restoration and patina also varies from market to market. EG the German vintage market often wants watches restored so they look like brand new. The local Swiss market the same. The Japanese often want watches that look like they've been dredged from a lake, for the "wabi", Anglosphere collectors have kinda followed them. This watch a good example. Some will pay more for the well worn version and then pay more again to jazz it up, rather than someone else doing the jazzing for them. Nope, it makes no sense to me either T. You sometimes see this with classic cars, where a barn find with extra chickenshite and hay near rusted into the ground is worth more than a fully restored driving version of the same car.

In the heel of the hunt, the market will decide and our various opinions and conjecture will amount to little enough. The OP got the watch for feck all, left it in a toolbox for donkey's years and didn't realise the potential value. I'd reckon no matter what he would have done would draw questions, even ire, from different quarters, but in the end of the day, it's his watch to do with as he pleases. And he'll get a nice little windfall along the way. And fair play.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

BTW Debate is cool, being pissy and dragging the thread down is not. Any more and I'm removing posters from the forum.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    In the heel of the hunt, the market will decide and our various opinions and conjecture will amount to little enough. The OP got the watch for feck all, left it in a toolbox for donkey's years and didn't realise the potential value. I'd reckon no matter what he would have done would draw questions, even ire, from different quarters, but in the end of the day, it's his watch to do with as he pleases. And he'll get a nice little windfall along the way. And fair play.

Awwww Wibbs made the thread all better again :)
    ...re-follows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Would be great if the OP would come back on and let us know what the restorer of the watch said? OP whats the crack at this stage. Dont hang around, vintage Rolex is crash hot at the moment its time to sell if your not going to keep it......

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

OP is in the Bahamas! With a brand new g-shock on his arm and wallet full of Rolex dollars.
    Well done OP . Enjoy it whatever you decide

Would be great if the OP would come back on and let us know what the restorer of the watch said

Would be interested in this also.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,646 ✭✭✭54and56

A+-Guru wrote: »
    He bought it at a car boot sale 10 years ago. If you take time to read all thread.

I am confident he wants to maximize resale value.

So am I but I bet the watch repairer didn't read the thread and may just have been asked to get it back to the best condition possible.

If it was a watch passed down from my father as a family heirloom I'd want to wear it daily and wouldn't give a damn that I may be foregoing €5k or €10k in resale value.

I invested in a Rolex GMT II over 10 years ago and had a family saying/motto engraved on the caseback which I intend to leave to my son or (preferably) give to him on his wedding day. I sent him the link to the $1m auction watch that was posted in this thread yesterday by WhatsApp with a message that I hope he gets as lucky when I pass my watch on to him and his immediate response was "I can't get lucky like that because im never going to sell it..." :p

His intentions are good but who knows what difficulties he'll face in his life and if he ever needs to sell the watch then I won't be turning in my grave, I'll be happy that it helped him in a moment of need!!

Enough philosophising for one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Just saw this. Interesting article.

Similar to thread title ;)

"These side-by-side photos show real and fake Rolex watches — here's how to spot the counterfeit"

https://www.businessinsider.de/pictures-show-real-and-fake-rolex-watches-and-70-of-people-cant-tell-the-difference-2017-11?r=UK&IR=T

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

OmegaGene wrote: »
    This made me laugh
    If the caseback is made out of plastic it’s most likely a fake

Where’s my pen so I can take notes lol

You'd be surprised those that don't know Lol ...

gozunda wrote: »
    You'd be surprised those that don't know Lol ...
    Like I noted earlier G, you'd be surprised how many well regarded experts don't know either. I've been surprised down the years. Gobsmacked at times. The interwebs while giving us so much more info than I could have dreamed of buying "old watches" for feck all back when I was a teenager in the 80's, but it has also given us a fair few myths, fallacies and downright inaccuracies, that have become credo. Especially around high ticket marques like vintage Rolex. Rolex themselves will shy away from saying yay or nay on a vintage piece. For a start their records aren't in the same league as an IWC, Longines, Patek, or Omega. And there's usually much bigger sums involved, so they wisely have steered clear of it. I suspect that's why they're well known for receiving vintage stuff in for service and automatically replacing old with new. Treat it like they always have as a watch in need of repair/updating, rather than a vintage item in need of preservation. Covers their arse if things go wrong.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Rolex themselves will shy away from saying yay or nay on a vintage piece. For a start their records aren't in the same league as an IWC, Longines, Patek, or Omega. And there's usually much bigger sums involved, so they wisely have steered clear of it. I suspect that's why they're well known for receiving vintage stuff in for service and automatically replacing old with new. Treat it like they always have as a watch in need of repair/updating, rather than a vintage item in need of preservation. Covers their arse if things go wrong.

Maybe it's because Rolex are focused on functionality and accuracy rather than collector value? Isn't that a more pure mission? Send them a wrecked old watch and they'll do what they can to get it back working as a functioning time keeper. Isn't that the reason they exist?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Me again. Out of the country and relying on free WiFi to get online. Watch will be sold and I have emailed a few dealers. Have offer of £13k (€14k). Some sellers looking for mid €20k on websites. Would love to get €20k.

Gorteen wrote: »
    Me again. Out of the country and relying on free WiFi to get online. Watch will be sold and I have emailed a few dealers. Have offer of £13k (€14k). Some sellers looking for mid €20k on websites. Would love to get €20k.

My simple advice is that you need to research where the same model watch has sold in the last few years and what it sold for. If auction house X has more of a track record of selling that particular model than auction Y or Z then auction house X is much more likely to have a database of buyers with an interest in your particular watch model and/or is more likely to have its sales monitored by those interested in your watch model, particularly under bidders from previous sales who were unsuccessful. They have a proven interest in purchasing your model watch, know that they under bid previously and may be more prepared to push the boat a little if they get an opportunity to acquire your watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Don't forget there'll be a fee from an auction house too I'm sure