Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Work life balance in the USA

• 21-11-2020 9:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I've long considered wanting to move to the US at some point in my life. I recognise it has some serious flaws, but my main gripe about the country is with the lack of annual leave the US (and Canada) both have. Am I right in saying the US has NO guaranteed paid leave whatsoever and it has be negotiated with an employer before hand? I also read that approximately 25% of Americans don't get ANY paid leave whatsoever? I think the average American only gets just 10 days off a year? In Canada its not much better either with 2 weeks only (and wages are also lower than the US).

AUS/NZ appear to have a similar work-life balance to that of Ireland/UK by contrast. A minimum of 4-5 weeks plus an extra 10-13 paid days for public holidays which is a pretty good deal, so I'm open to moving there also. But the lack of paid work leave is a bit of a drag about North America. I'd be ok with 3 weeks but 10 days or less would depress me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭arctictree

I've long considered wanting to move to the US at some point in my life. I recognise it has some serious flaws, but my main gripe about the country is with the lack of annual leave the US (and Canada) both have. Am I right in saying the US has NO guaranteed paid leave whatsoever and it has be negotiated with an employer before hand? I also read that approximately 25% of Americans don't get ANY paid leave whatsoever? I think the average American only gets just 10 days off a year? In Canada its not much better either with 2 weeks only (and wages are also lower than the US).

AUS/NZ appear to have a similar work-life balance to that of Ireland/UK by contrast. A minimum of 4-5 weeks plus an extra 10-13 paid days for public holidays which is a pretty good deal, so I'm open to moving there also. But the lack of paid work leave is a bit of a drag about North America. I'd be ok with 3 weeks but 10 days or less would depress me.

If your main concern is time off then just do fixed term contracts or move from job to job and take time off between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

My uncle worked there what seems to be normal is no paid holiday the first year, 5 the second and 10 after that.

Its a load of bollix. That LunchMoney Lewis song is an accurate portrayal of life over there. Even if you get a good job and don't buy things on credit you are only a small dose of bad luck away from financial ruin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,104 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I don't think the US is for you OP if that's your biggest concern.

Yep, there is no statutory paid vacation, it is entirely at the employer's discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

What industry do you work in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,536 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Most jobs in the US give you the public holidays paid but not all. Plenty of people are on part-time hours without any holiday leave; in job that could clearly employ people full time but don't because if they hire them part time they get state supports of various kinds (food stamps, medicare) and can hence 'afford' to work for the awful wages.

However, if you're in a job that will get you a US visa you'll be getting 20-30 days between AL and public holidays. You're not going there to pack bags in Walmart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭vafankillar

listermint wrote: »

is that you jeff bezos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

listermint wrote: »

I think your bigger integrated issue is the medical insurance that is often tied to your job - not working leaves you very exposed unless you ate very canny and can afford to provide and bankroll some kind of private insurance without the huge subsidys an employer gives.

I’d also at the moment be worrying about what a stay in an american hospital could cost you ecen with insurance - there is usually a percentage the sick person has to pay - and unna country where calling an ambulance can cost up to 5k, things cN get very expensive quickly - and thats before you are seen in ICU by 3 kinds of specialists because you sneezed!

My brother is over there - he has 15 paid holiday days and the option after he is there for X years to buy more holiday days. Frighteningly depressing. They also have a group sick leave scheme where if nobody takes more than 3 sick
    days in a year the whole department gets a extra percentage bonus. It really puts pressure on people to come in- and infect everyone - and drives him mad. Different places have different deals. I was under the impressions holidays were typically paid. I also gather that finding a job with paid maternity leave is as rare as finding an honest politician. But I gather some must exist somewhere.

I’d be more chosing somewhere to live based on uality of life, or costs, or income and opportunity rather than paid holiday days. As you said Oz, Canada and most of Europe have balanced lifestyles, normal ie close to Our attitudes towards work life balance and paid holidays. Of course if you set up your own company or work in the trades for yourself you can choose your own days/payments spreads. It just depends.

Teachers still get paid holidays - on permanent contracts - what area are you in OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

What industry do you work in?

I'm a qualified electrical engineer but I quit the job a while back being a carer for my parents and I'm now considering changing career (so this potential move isn't imminent and a while off yet, but I'm thinking long term about it).
    listermint wrote:

The thing is its really my only gripe because I'm personally ok with healthcare and gun culture (most of the murders take place in crap parts of the major cities), or at least they don't bother me.

If I could get it up to say 3 weeks off, I'd be ok with that. I don't need 5-6 weeks, but I don't want 5-10 days either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,789 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As my cousin says, the best place when things are going well, when they ain’t, it’s the loneliest place on the planet. He’s known both sides, his family emigrated there from Dublin when he was about 7, his father died suddenly 6 years later, he was managing a petrol station to studying at night getting to college to study law... he has just retired at 60 with a nice 4 bedroom gaff, pool, sauna, Merc in the drive... but to get there, he seriously broke his back, had to, I’d see it myself over there staying with him, hed set his alarm for 7.00am and not be in the door till after 7.30pm.... the pay is not great either, generally speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The regulations might differ from state to state in their federal system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I work for an American company. They used to give the US employees 12 days paid holidays to start off with, but you could build that up to 24 over 6 years (2 days a year of service).

They now give unlimited PTO to their US employees, which ironically they can’t give here because of our statutory minimum paid leave requirements.

I think they have a rule that they can’t take more than a week at a time, but I’ve seen people out for 2. They tend to take loads of long weekends, and then a week in the summer, time around Thanksgiving (although as an e-commerce company, that’s actually our busiest time, so bit everyone can take time off then), and then they’re all off over Christmas.

In the Irish office, we start with 22 days, and can build up to 30 with service.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

Roughly 10 days per year, plus some companies give personal days. My husbands gave 5 days which most people tied into the annual leave anyway. But yes annual leave isn't great.

I would second the opinion that its the best place in the world when things are going well. But I wouldn't like to be there if things were not.

I'm a qualified electrical engineer but I quit the job a while back being a carer for my parents and I'm now considering changing career (so this potential move isn't imminent and a while off yet, but I'm thinking long term about it).

The thing is its really my only gripe because I'm personally ok with healthcare and gun culture (most of the murders take place in crap parts of the major cities), or at least they don't bother me.

If I could get it up to say 3 weeks off, I'd be ok with that. I don't need 5-6 weeks, but I don't want 5-10 days either.

Fair dues to
    you for helping out your folks & putting your career on hold for them. That dosn’t sound like too extreme a goal. With all the big companies with contracts for the defense forces over there I’d imagine it wouldn’t be too difficult to get work in one of the military contract multinationals or big industry - and those types of
    jobs usually come either unionised or with good pay and benefits. Including reasonable paid holidays.

Anyone I know in Law in any country is a slave.

Just don’t go doing aNything mad like joining the military - you want to tKe their money not them take your soul and mentaL health - or legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

To be honest I think America is a great place to visit but not to live.

The only way id move there to live is if I had wealth, I know people who live there and have some relations there too and it's brutal.

People slave away working ridiculous hours, poor pay, little to no security and god forbid you get sick, all to negative for me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Any sick days you take gets taken out of those 5- 10 days too ...most people don't realize that.

I would hate to live in the US.

To be honest I think America is a great place to visit but not to live.

The only way id move there to live is if I had wealth, I know people who live there and have some relations there too and it's brutal.

People slave away working ridiculous hours, poor pay, little to no security and god forbid you get sick, all to negative for me personally.

Yep, if you’ve a good job and can afford health insurance fine and dandy but imagine you lost your job, you got sick.... over there from what I know it not as here, where everything or most is free.

Strumms wrote: »
    Yep, if you’ve a good job and can afford health insurance fine and dandy but imagine you lost your job, you got sick.... over there from what I know it not as here, where everything or most is free.
    There are some Doctors who don't even accept health insurance for some things. Just cash. Although they are cracking down on it i think.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

In Europe, people work to live.

In America, you live to work.

As someone who lived and worked in the USA in the past, I think European countries have it the right way around. In Ireland of course in the 2000s Celtic Tiger/Speculative bubble many saw us going the way of the States, but I think that since then we have moved back towards the European work/life balance ethic.

A lot of people in the states have like three jobs and still no health insurance.

JupiterKid wrote: »

As someone who lived and worked in the USA in the past, I think European countries have it the right way around. In Ireland of course in the 2000s Celtic Tiger/Speculative bubble many saw us going the way of the States, but I think that since then we have moved back towards the European work/life balance ethic.

We have but you only need to see in your own workplace or pop over to the work / jobs forum here to see the number of people advocating the whole live to work ‘experience’ ... business owners, managers ok in the main. But the rest of us need to be resisting that shît.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It is daft the mentality over there to ""work ones ass off"" perpetually in the hope of some day being able to live the dream. How the phooq can they continue to believe in this scam for so long given all the poverty and trailer parks surrounding them?

They absolutely idolise the rags-to-riches tale of the lad who worked his way up the corporate ladder completely ignoring the great deal of luck involved

We have but you only need to see in your own workplace or pop over to the work / jobs forum here to see the number of people advocating the whole live to work ‘experience’ ... business owners, managers ok in the main. But the rest of us need to be resisting that shît.
    No one ever died wishing 'OH I WISH I HAD SPENT MORE TIME IN THE OFFICE!':pac:

A lot of people I went to college with including family members (who didn’t go to college) emigrated to the states and all of
    them have good lives, great houses and lifestyles, go on holidays and trips overseas several times a year, most have second homes - bought not inherited, and their kids have the kind of outdoors,BBQ, family friendly littleball lives we see on TV. Its certainly not the deerhunter kind of squalor and hardship painted here. Of course there are pros and cons ( not to mention the old orange issues) and not everybody has a perfect life but of those I know there are far more shining commercial success stories than for those left behind scratching to afford a semi-d for half a million in celtic tiger ireland.

the OP hs a good qualification & experience in a respected area - no need to put him in a trailerpark eating out of old cans of beans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

They work hard yes but in my experience there is certainly a great social aspect to life. Far more than I’ve experienced living in other parts of Europe or even Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,123 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If you think 10 days a year is important then you have no business in the US.

Unless you get into a big multi national and even then you might not be too popular for taking the time.

Danzy wrote: »
    If you think 10 days a year is important then you have no business in the US.

Unless you get into a big multi national and even then you might not be too popular for taking the time.

Not true - I know a few in big insurance and car hire businesses - they seem to be constantly taking exotic holidays & get home twice a year for 5 or 6 days. Not saying thats 100% typicL nor that they din’t work hard but they do get paid
    holidays.

I worked with USA multinationals in Ireland 3 times. On two occasions I was dispatched to the states to live & train for few months. I couldn’t believe the cultural difference - here - in Ireland - I woiod ve at my desk by 0730 and still at it by 7 or 8pm most nights. I did and was expected to do conference calls on US timelines and wirked like a linatic on high pressure demanding projects. Over there - San Fran and Washington DC - they sauntered in for 8 or 0830, took lengthy lunchbreaks and had softball leagues and picnics at lunch, and were never at their desks past 5pm. I couldn’t believe it . We had embraced the worst and were being driven like slaves to achieve for our US overlords by Irish management while they were skipping through their lives and drawing better salaries aNd benefits. I’m still getting over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭walshtipp

miss.paula wrote: »
    If you work hard and get the head down you can live a life way better than in Ireland, in US you got to write off 10 years of your life and work hard, then you are on the pigs back, you will have a house and life style we can only dream of in Ireland.
    2 car family, huge beautiful house with all mod cons and plenty of spending money, that aint happening here in Ireland

That's not totally true. In my opinion, you can achieve anything you want in Ireland if you are willing to work hard for it. Progress your career, don't waste money, save and invest. You don't have to look too far here to see large houses with two luxury cars on the drive. Perhaps there are more opportunities in the US, the American dream and all that.

But it's not fair to say that people do not live good lifestyles in Ireland.

I’ve spent some time over in our US office. My experience is they’re great at giving the impression they work non stop - answering emails at 7 in the morning, calling into meetings on their commute into work, stuff that gives the impression of long hours. In reality, they either come in early and then head home early, or they come in later and then head home at a regular time. There was many occasions that I put my head up at 6pm and the whole office was totally empty.

Another thing I find is that they will not go to a work event that is not on during work hours. In the office over here, we’d often have drinks in the evening/night time - it’s just normal. Over there, it’s “happy hour” at 4.30, then they’ve all scarpered at 5.30. None of them will hang around into their personal time, and none of them will put their hand in their pockets either - work is paying, or they won’t go.

The difference is in the states Bus drivers, Post men, Council workers are living a life style comparable to the highest earners in Ireland.

This is in no way accurate. US bus drivers having the same standards of living as people on six figure salaries here? Come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭walshtipp

This is in no way accurate. US bus drivers having the same standards of living as people on six figure salaries here? Come on!

Was thinking that.

I have no experience of living or working in the US. You don't even have to be earning six figure sums in Ireland to live well though. It really depends on your own priorities. I usually find that the people who complain that they are not satisfied with their lives here are the same people who visit the pub regularly and then buy a pack of 20 fags before heading to the bookies.

"Look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭con___manx1

If I was you op I would move to Australia. They have a much better work life balance.
    Alot of work places finish early on a Friday ��
    I have lived in canada and Australia. Canada has similar annual leave to America. It is really depressing only having 10 days off.
    I'm convinced its why so many americans are idiots. Most Americans are not well travelled for obvious reasons.
    You have feck all workers rights in america aswell. Alot of people live in fear of being fired for nothing over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Know a few people who have lived and worked in America, and the work/life balance is not great. On top of that, the work culture is pretty terrible.

A few posters have stated that you get a lifestyle there you can't get here. While this is probably true to a degree if you get seriously sick and have no one to support you, you're screwed.

Also, I think the viewpoints of a lot of people of the nation and the pure capitalistic structure is distasteful. And the deep-rooted issues of racism, homelessness etc. Not my idea of a good country.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The difference is in the states Bus drivers, Post men, Council workers are living a life style comparable to the highest earners in Ireland.

This is complete rubbish. Where did you get this fanciful notion?

Google is your friend
    Look at the properties owned by "working class" americans, look at the TV reality shows, the "working class" american is living large , comparable to the Irish upper class.
    Plus what i know from family in the states.

I have to hand it to you. I’ve never seen anyone cite “reality TV” as evidence in a debate on socio-economic matters before, so thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

I work for an American company. They used to give the US employees 12 days paid holidays to start off with, but you could build that up to 24 over 6 years (2 days a year of service).

They now give unlimited PTO to their US employees, which ironically they can’t give here because of our statutory minimum paid leave requirements.

I think they have a rule that they can’t take more than a week at a time, but I’ve seen people out for 2. They tend to take loads of long weekends, and then a week in the summer, time around Thanksgiving (although as an e-commerce company, that’s actually our busiest time, so bit everyone can take time off then), and then they’re all off over Christmas.

In the Irish office, we start with 22 days, and can build up to 30 with service.

Unlimited PTO is a bit of a scam imo. The kinds of job that offer it are usualy fairly high grade and performance rated, so taking more than 20-25 days off would be frowned upon. In a lot of cases you would be pressured to do so much work you would probably be taking less days off than if you just had 20 assigned. I'm sure it also works well from the point of view that they no longer have pay or carry over for days you worked as you dont have any set number of days off defined.

imitation wrote: »
    Unlimited PTO is a bit of a scam imo. The kinds of job that offer it are usualy fairly high grade and performance rated, so taking more than 20-25 days off would be frowned upon. In a lot of cases you would be pressured to do so much work you would probably be taking less days off than if you just had 20 assigned. I'm sure it also works well from the point of view that they no longer have pay or carry over for days you worked as you dont have any set number of days off defined.

Yeah, it is. In fairness the CEO was quite up front about the financial benefits to the company, in not having to pay people who leave in lieu of unused PTO. That said, my personal experience of looking at my US colleagues is that they seem to be taking plenty of time off. But no, I wouldn’t want it here - I’m up to 30 days now, and I like the security of knowing it’s an entitlement.

The company also gave everyone across the globe an extra (paid) “company holiday” day off in May, and we’re getting another in December. Plus a few departments (including mine) introduced “summer hours” of a half day each Friday for June, July and August (no change in pay), and then announce it was being extended for the whole year. Not too shabby.

Also, no one in my company - US or not - takes time off for a doctor or dentist appointment, or bring the car to a mechanic. You just do it, and come into work after. It’s not even a matter making up the hours as such. Once you get your work done and don’t leave deadlines hanging, you really get to manage your own time (within reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,893 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Land of the free, apparently! Freedom must mean something else over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Land of the free, apparently! Freedom must mean something else over there!

Many Americans have a strong work ethic and prioritize their careers. If that’s the way they choose to live, let them at it.

There’s no better place to be if you’re young and ambitious.

Hamachi wrote: »
    Many Americans have a strong work ethic and prioritize their careers. If that’s the way they choose to live, let them at it.

There’s no better place to be if you’re young and ambitious.

A strong work ethic is a great thing... as long as you are suitably rewarded for it.

No point in walking into a job, after a while you are getting all the plaudits, pats on the back, you are constantly told how great you are, your being told how your work is being mentioned at management meetings...keep it up and you’ll go places... three year later, same job, similar pay and the recurring promises but excuse after excuse as to why ‘not just yet’...

Lots of stories like that from America... American companies here too...

Ambition is working for a company that values and rewards hard work, loyalty, intelligence, ambition and ability... American crowd I worked for way back loved all those attributes but were only prepared to reward those who were YES men over raw ability.

Apart from the hours, I could not stand the fake upbeatness American's seem to need to display. Like yay this company is great. All of the ones I work with are positively over the fuking moon to be there every day.

A strong work ethic is a great thing... as long as you are suitably rewarded for it.

No point in walking into a job, after a while you are getting all the plaudits, pats on the back, you are constantly told how great you are, your being told how your work is being mentioned at management meetings...keep it up and you’ll go places... three year later, same job, similar pay and the recurring promises but excuse after excuse as to why ‘not just yet’...

Lots of stories like that from America... American companies here too...

Ambition is working for a company that values and rewards hard work, loyalty, intelligence, ambition and ability... American crowd I worked for way back loved all those attributes but were only prepared to reward those who were YES men over raw ability.

There’s a lot more to prioritising your career than sticking with the same company - especially if they’re doing that to you. The people I know that have rapidly progressed in their careers did so by changing jobs strategically. You have a much better chance of significant pay rises and promotions by changing jobs. You can move up in a company by staying with them, but it takes longer and the money is never as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

rubbish , people on low or modest incomes have a much better life in ireland than in america where if you dont have a good education , its common to work two or three jobs to make ends meet

Australia is the land of milk and honey for people with modest value skills to live a good lifestyle , unlike america , it also has a fairly strong welfare state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Just move to Malta, 26 days paid holiday, and 14 days paid public holidays. Malta ranked first in the latest survey for overall job satisfaction out of 64 countries
    Malta ranked 5th worldwide in the field of healthcare. Malta follows some serious high standards in the medical field that why anyone who pays for national insurance is eligible for free public healthcare in the country and this includes expats.

It's a bit of a tax haven, so lots of large companies there that are into financial , gaming, IT, types of businesses.

Plus the beach is only a few steps away.

Malta_how_to_get_laid_in_Malta_clubs_bars_single_student_sex_girls_EF_Languages_Abroad_paceville.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

There’s a lot more to prioritising your career than sticking with the same company - especially if they’re doing that to you. The people I know that have rapidly progressed in their careers did so by changing jobs strategically. You have a much better chance of significant pay rises and promotions by changing jobs. You can move up in a company by staying with them, but it takes longer and the money is never as good.

Agreed. If you’re allowing a company take you for a fool with unrealized promises, that’s on you. You have to be strategic about making a change if you aren’t getting anywhere.

Personally, I’ve worked for Irish, European, and American tech companies. The American companies are by the far the workplaces in which hard work and intellectual horse power are valued and rewarded.

Sure, they work you hard and the relentless positivity can be fake and nauseating. However, my experience is that they are a meritocracy, where the cream rises to the top.

If you aren’t prepared to work hard, push yourself forward, and believe in yourself, US workplaces are not the right environment for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

What part of the US are you thinking of moving to OP?
    It can make a huge difference in your life depending on your location and what you're looking for. There's a huge difference in the cost of living throughout the States too.
    If you're looking for a good outdoor type lifestyle, the states of Oregon and Washington are beautiful with beaches and mountains, and very laid back in general.
    A lot depends on your financial situation too, if it's not great you can rule out a lot of the west coast or bigger cities as you'll need a headstart when you arrive.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Just don’t go doing aNything mad like joining the military - you want to tKe their money not them take your soul and mentaL health - or legs.

Actually, the financial benefits are outstanding. I wouldn't recommend anyone join just because of it, but in terms of the various assistance I've gotten, it's been one of the better moves in my life.

I don't think that's quite right. It's more like that Europeans will live a little more during the work years, whilst Americans work more in order to reap a better retirement at the end of it all. I think the European attitude is better (There's no guarantee you won't get hit by a bus the day before you retire!), but it's not 'slave to the taskmaster' around here.

For example, Americans are, contrary to common perception, more likely to travel away than most folks. The difference is that they don't travel internationally, which is fine considering the variety of options of scenery and activities in the US and affordable price of getting and staying there. Data is 2014, but presumably hasn't changed much.
    1414054172752_wps_1_Table_screenshot_JPG.jpg

Obviously the fact that we're taking these trips indicates we have both time and money to do it. From where I am living in Texas, in a under a three-hour flight, for only a couple hundred dollars return I can be in a skiing resort or on a tropical island, without need of a passport. That's a pretty reasonable quality of life if you like getting out and about.

Other activities can also be relatively affordable. Flying, for example, or motorsports. Some activities, like shooting or hunting, are rare options in Europe even with the money. And some are just weather related, so if you're in a suitable location like California or Texas, I drive with the roof down in January.

Quite how many days off you get will depend very much on your employer and the nature of your job. I'd put my vacation time allowance up against any typical European employer, but obviously just because I have it, doesn't mean you will get it.

Still, we're not Japanese. Most employers around here understand that there has to be a work-life balance and will not work you to the bone, expect you to be around just because the boss is, or anything like that.

If you have the opportunity to work/live here for a few years, I think it's worth a crack as long as you're not irrevocably abandoning a career in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Most companys dont have union,s , people rely on companys to pay health insurance.1000 s of people go bankrupt in america every year because they get sick and they end up with large bills for medical treatment.
    ordinary workers get fired while ceos get paid millions .
    You can work long hours for a company and not get paid for overtime .
    stay away from california, it seems to get mega fires every year .
    people were stuck at home , hot and afraid to go out due to low air quality .
    why would someone move to the usa in the middle of a pandemic .
    America is a good place to live if you are on a high salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,475 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Just move to Malta, 26 days paid holiday, and 14 days paid public holidays. Malta ranked first in the latest survey for overall job satisfaction out of 64 countries
    Malta ranked 5th worldwide in the field of healthcare. Malta follows some serious high standards in the medical field that why anyone who pays for national insurance is eligible for free public healthcare in the country and this includes expats.

It's a bit of a tax haven, so lots of large companies there that are into financial , gaming, IT, types of businesses.

Plus the beach is only a few steps away.

Actually there are very few beaches, there's golden bay on the north of the island and not much else. Healthcare is good yes, my brother just got out of hospital there. There is very little public transport and St Julian's/Valetta is just one giant traffic jam, and they all drive like lunatics. Gets unbearably hot in summer, and it's the only place in Europe with less trees than Ireland, no parks or green spaces.
    It's a hard place to live in, but does have some good things going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Actually, the financial benefits are outstanding. I wouldn't recommend anyone join just because of it, but in terms of the various assistance I've gotten, it's been one of the better moves in my life.

I don't think that's quite right. It's more like that Europeans will live a little more during the work years, whilst Americans work more in order to reap a better retirement at the end of it all. I think the European attitude is better (There's no guarantee you won't get hit by a bus the day before you retire!), but it's not 'slave to the taskmaster' around here.

For example, Americans are, contrary to common perception, more likely to travel away than most folks. The difference is that they don't travel internationally, which is fine considering the variety of options of scenery and activities in the US and affordable price of getting and staying there. Data is 2014, but presumably hasn't changed much.
    1414054172752_wps_1_Table_screenshot_JPG.jpg

Obviously the fact that we're taking these trips indicates we have both time and money to do it. From where I am living in Texas, in a under a three-hour flight, for only a couple hundred dollars return I can be in a skiing resort or on a tropical island, without need of a passport. That's a pretty reasonable quality of life if you like getting out and about.

Other activities can also be relatively affordable. Flying, for example, or motorsports. Some activities, like shooting or hunting, are rare options in Europe even with the money. And some are just weather related, so if you're in a suitable location like California or Texas, I drive with the roof down in January.

Quite how many days off you get will depend very much on your employer and the nature of your job. I'd put my vacation time allowance up against any typical European employer, but obviously just because I have it, doesn't mean you will get it.

Still, we're not Japanese. Most employers around here understand that there has to be a work-life balance and will not work you to the bone, expect you to be around just because the boss is, or anything like that.

If you have the opportunity to work/live here for a few years, I think it's worth a crack as long as you're not irrevocably abandoning a career in Ireland.

Really good post. For trips america has a lot, cities, sun, ski and amazing natural beauty. In europe you have to fly to a different country to get something different`, at least for those of us not on the continent.

I think for a lot of irish people we grow up watching TV thinking the US has everything, but once we hit adulthood we realize a lot of the things that helped us out in Irish society, like the public healthcare, subisided college and dole aren't there to the same extent people get surpised. Thing is if you have a good job, and things go smoothly you will be fine, but there is no safety net if you get ill or loose your job. I think going to the US for a few years to get the experience is a good idea, maybe its more likely you will get worked harder, but you could just as easily get stuck in a job doing 60 hour weeks in Ireland.

Only question in my mind, is how would you get the visa, Trump went hard on work visas, and Ireland has no special preference over say China or India so you are competing with a lot of people for a limited number of work H1B visas. The only way to get an edge afaik is to get a masters so you get in a smaller pool.