Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling (Liam Mccarthy Cup) 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    No preview of the big match on The Sunday Game. There'll probably be good analysis on Up For The Match at least....

Ah jaysus, they have Jacqui Hurley on, terrible presenter and not great on the eye.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Ah jaysus, they have Jacqui Hurley on, terrible presenter and not great on the eye.

I'd settle for someone knowing what they were talking about.

And us females get Des Cahill !

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I see Verney at it again with his top-notch analysis. Coming up with a combined Tipp-Kilkenny XV based on form, yet excluding Brendan Maher and Adrian Mullen.

The lad spoofs like no other.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭C__MC

Match of the day running order

Irish dancers in kilkenny and tipp jerseys
    Two houses on the border in kilkenny and tipp colours
    A sequence on sheedy and cody from 2009-10
    Cahill talking gibberish about the game
    Eddie keher and babs reunion about past games
    Two Johnnie sing us out

Ya know yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

C__MC wrote: »

Two Johnnie sing us out

Ya know yourself

And get rte couldn't do a preview of the final on the Sunday game last night. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seadin

Two Johnnie sing us out

Ya know yourself
    You won't be far off :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭golfball37

I see Verney at it again with his top-notch analysis. Coming up with a combined Tipp-Kilkenny XV based on form, yet excluding Brendan Maher and Adrian Mullen.

The lad spoofs like no other.

Verney had Mullen on his team, Stapleton didn’t.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Two Johnnie sing us out

Ya know yourself

You forgot Fan Larkin and Bobby Ryan telling "funny" stories

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Two Johnnie sing us out

Ya know yourself

I'd be very surprised if Christy Heffernan doesn't make the running order. If ever a lad dined out on his 15 mins of fame...

Eddie Brennan is an absolute shoe in to appear this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭1984baby

golfball37 wrote: »
    Eddie Brennan is an absolute shoe in to appear this year.

Eddie Keher is always on too. Bobby Kerr (dragons den) was on a couple of times also. Don’t forget Elvis 😂😂
    I wonder what s*** sketches they’ll have on this year. Do you remember the year when it was all about something in the water that gave us good hurlers- cringe!!!

It’s tradition tho, I’ll have to watch it. Then give out about it the whole way to Dublin on Sunday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I've been going to the All Ire preview night in Flannery's the past two years. If any ye lookin for bit of banter and few drinks im sure it will be on this Saturday. Duignan has hosted it both years with Mullane, Eddie Brennan, Nicky English doing a Q & A type thing in pretty jovial surroundings.

I record Up for the Match and watch it half pished when get home with a big kebab and an even bigger woman last year (was in rag order the next day. Might have overdid the double vodkas but hurling talk and alcohol are a recipe for MADNESS!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Fast Twitch

citykat wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if Christy Heffernan doesn't make the running order. If ever a lad dined out on his 15 mins of fame...

Christy and one of his last hurling games hitting a streaker with the hurl across 'the ham' heard that one 20 times. Joe Hayes and Fan often on together. Joe is funny enough. Kevin 'The Gander' Hennessy for a neutral and his uniqur brand of craic.

Micheal O'Muircheartaigh of course. The President, Horan will be a bag of laughs. And at the end mentioning not to forget the minors of Kilkenny and Galway who will play tomorrow.

Back in 1998 there was a quiz for tickets between competing fans of Offaly and Kilkenny. Joe Hennessy, representing Kilkenny, was asked to name a member of Boyzone by their first name. Answer one from Joe 'Canice'! Now I know Canice is big in Kilkenny with the saint from the diocese but Boyzone?! Next answer from Joe 'Noel'. At this stage it seemed like Joe was going through the Hickey family of Dunamaggin:D

I went full circle on up for the match years ago. It’s so bad it’s brilliant kind of thing. I now look forward to it almost as much as the match itself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭Prestonites

I've been going to the All Ire preview night in Flannery's the past two years. If any ye lookin for bit of banter and few drinks im sure it will be on this Saturday. Duignan has hosted it both years with Mullane, Eddie Brennan, Nicky English doing a Q & A type thing in pretty jovial surroundings.

I record Up for the Match and watch it half pished when get home with a big kebab and an even bigger woman last year (was in rag order the next day. Might have overdid the double vodkas but hurling talk and alcohol are a recipe for MADNESS!).

I will be going to up for the match but have been to Flannerys good set up and usually good panel. Over to Babylon for a kebab after then round for last orders and a bit how do you do with some female from Sneem in coppers. All Ireland final weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Only fair to say Up for the Match has improved dramatically over the years. Can be a bit of craic now, used to be brutal altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seadin

Only fair to say Up for the Match has improved dramatically over the years. Can be a bit of craic now, used to be brutal altogether.

Not when Des and Grainne are presenting it. Cardboard stuff altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

I went full circle on up for the match years ago. It’s so bad it’s brilliant kind of thing. I now look forward to it almost as much as the match itself

It's right craic in the pub with a few lads pulling the piss out of it.

Des Cahill is brutal on it however. Grainne saved the show and she will be a massive loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

What does it matter what she looks like? I don't like the show, but she is not the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Des Cahill is brutal on it however. Grainne saved the show and she will be a massive loss.
    Des "Coleslaw" Cahill is ****ing useless full stop. I wish Daragh Maloney would take over all his duties.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

D9Male wrote: »
    What does it matter what she looks like? I don't like the show, but she is not the problem.

Well it would be a bonus if she was a looker, her and twisted mouth on, no thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Yes, it's simple to target the midfield and backs, though does it need to be said that it doesn't instantly become effective by simply saying it? Tipperary do have the option of trying to do something about it. Wont get the space they got in 2016 to drop ball in front of Seamus Callanan, i think we can all safely assume that much at least! Brian Hogan hasnt looked like a weak link this summer to me anyway, may not beat Murphy for the all star but not much between them imo. Tipp puck outs can still be an issue, but wouldnt necessarily hang all that on the keeper.

The form lines are hard to judge,

Limerick comprehensively beat Tipp, KK comprehensively beat Limerick. ...ergo Kilkenny should beat Tipp with little trouble.

But similarly Wexford beat Kilkenny and Tipp beat Wexford... ergo Tipp should beat Kilkenny

This could be a tight affair though. KK will want to keep it tight, make a battle of it and not allow Tipp any space. But I wonder do they have the players to hold Tipp for 75+ minutes ??

In summry, I am leaning towards KK... I think Kilkenny's improvement after two earlier defeats (Galway & Wexford) has been better than Tipps after their one (albeit big) defeat. I just think there is a steeliness and resolve about Kilkenny now, they simply won't be denied.

also Kilkenny have mostly had Tipps number when it comes to big games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

bcklschaps wrote: »
    The form lines are hard to judge,

Limerick comprehensively beat Tipp, KK comprehensively beat Limerick. ...ergo Kilkenny should beat Tipp with little trouble.

But similarly Wexford beat Kilkenny and Tipp beat Wexford... ergo Tipp should beat Kilkenny

This could be a tight affair though. KK will want to keep it tight, make a battle of it and not allow Tipp any space. But I wonder do they have the players to hold Tipp for 75+ minutes ??

In summry, I am leaning towards KK... I think Kilkenny's improvement after two earlier defeats (Galway & Wexford) has been better than Tipps after their one (albeit big) defeat. I just think there is a steeliness and resolve about Kilkenny now, they simply won't be denied.

also Kilkenny have mostly had Tipps number when it comes to big games.

7th final Sunday in last decade, 3_2 to Kilkenny in final wins so no I wouldn't say they have tipps number at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    7th final Sunday in last decade, 3_2 to Kilkenny in final wins so no I wouldn't say they have tipps number at all.

Those two victories were in situations where Tipp had

1) Lar Corbett playing the game of his life. (2010)
    2) Kilkenny fielding a very, very average team. (2016)

You can choose to ignore League Finals, or for that matter All Ireland Semi finals if you wish, but that is being laughably selective about it.

Overwhelmingly, over the last decade when games have been tight and the teams evenly matched, KK have won.

It's what's known as 'having your number'.

I don't think any of it has any bearing on Sunday, but let's be honest about the thing.

The score in 21 games between Tipp and Kilkenny from 09 to now is KK 15 wins Tipp 3. I love the way people still claim KK don’t have Tipps number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Those two victories were in situations where Tipp had

1) Lar Corbett playing the game of his life. (2010)
    2) Kilkenny fielding a very, very average team. (2016)

You can choose to ignore League Finals, or for that matter All Ireland Semi finals if you wish, but that is being laughably selective about it.

Overwhelmingly, over the last decade when games have been tight and the teams evenly matched, KK have won.

It's what's known as 'having your number'.

I don't think any of it has any bearing on Sunday, but let's be honest about the thing.

Why would you defend a point you don't agree with? If you don't think it has any bearing, how can you claim Kilkenny have Tipps number?

And the point about 2016 is complete bull, ye have 10 starters from that day with Blanchfield likely to come on. Kevin Kelly got 1-2, the young fellas have a long way to go before they can call Eoin Larking average. Kieran Joyce (man of the match in an all Ireland in 2014 if I recall) and Prendergast the other two.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭puzl

Which Kilkenny and which Tipp are you all talking about? These are different teams with some commonality but a lot of the young guys have hardly played each other at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Why would you defend a point you don't agree with? If you don't think it has any bearing, how can you claim Kilkenny have Tipps number?

Because we have had.

Do you know the difference between past, present, and future ?
    And the point about 2016 is complete bull, ye have 10 starters from that day with Blanchfield likely to come on. Kevin Kelly got 1-2, the young fellas have a long way to go before they can call Eoin Larking average. Kieran Joyce (man of the match in an all Ireland in 2014 if I recall) and Prendergast the other two.

Ten starters from that day. That fills me with confidence :D

Are Paul Murphy or Joey Holden significantly better players now than they were then ? No.

Blanchfield 'likely to come on'. Oh, big wows.

Kevin Kelly. Same.

Eoin Larkin is an individual, not a team.

Shane Prendergast. Say no more.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Most of the Tipp team will have played in 2016 either from the start or off the bench. Only 9 or 10 of the KK team from that day will start. So experience will go to Tipp this time. Tipp are also favs and prob justify it over the course of the season. IMO it will come down to the hungrier team. I think that has generally being the difference between the teams over the years in finals