Six year sentence for the rape of two children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

vicwatson wrote: »
    Maybe forget all the hanging, castration, beheading suggestions (though I'm not totally against some type of corporal punishment), but give the fúcker 20 years imprisonment at least, protect society for longer than 6 poxy years.

A signal needs to be sent to these nonces, and I've yet to see a judge sending these signals.

What really sickens me about these cases is that this fúcker will be sent probably to arbor hill to be with other perverts like himself who will then spend the next few years making tons of paedo connections and **** themselves into a frenzy laughing about what they've done and planning what they will do.

Throw the bastards into mountjoy or portlaoise and let them take their chances.

There is definitely questions to be asked about the judiciaries sympathies in a lot of these cases. You can see people get longer sentences for robbery than for raping a child - it's disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

As a father of two young girls I totally despair when I hear about this kind of rubbish. I realise people like this monster exist in this country and accept these things unfortunately will happen but I simply refuse to accept our pathetic justice system that hands out longer jail time for a guy who dodges import tax on garlic than a guy who rapes two children. At a very minimum this piece of sh it should be looking at 25 years with zero chance of serving a day less. Our judges and justice system are not fit for purpose we all know it yet we see stuff like this all the time and nothing changes.

I'm no tough guy but I truly believe god forbid that anybody subjected my kids to this horrific ordeal i'd have to take matters into my own hands as I just couldn't trust the powers that be to hand out a just and proper sentence. Shame on the judge, shame.

Can we just drop the garlic stuff?

Every. Legal. Discussion.

Garlic importer, garlic importer, garlic importer. He was caught in a 1.5 million euro tax fraud, initially given 6 years and that was reduced to 2 on appeal. He deserved every day of it.

It is comparing 2 completely different issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bandwagonesque

Probably has a mental illness. Poor fella. Locking him up won't help him etc. etc. How could someone who's right in the head do something like this etc. etc. some other lefty boll0cks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

As you raise it, should he have been castrated when he was 15 after he committed the first rape?

Yes, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

Since when did castration prevent a re-occurrence of sexual assault?

It has a huge impact, due to it killing the sex drive almost completely. It's mostly done chemically.

Have a watch of the Louis Theroux series on pedophiles if you want to learn more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Hamadeusentman

I recall reading John Lonergan's 'The Governor' and being struck by the lengths he went to to make Mountjoy a rehabilitative prison. He came across as a compassionate man who tried to earn the respect of staff and prisoners alike. But when I finished it I thought to myself that prisons, especially in today's society, can no longer afford to be like the one he envisaged. They must act as a deterrent for potential criminals. White collar crime affects people, no doubt about that - people lose their homes, are swindled out of money, tax cheats etc.. but this sentence is ridiculous. In six years that chap will be 24 (assuming he serves the full term; he may serve only two thirds of it for good behaviour) and I would certainly not like to see his like on the streets as a parent. A zero tolerance stance from our courts is badly needed. It's a dark day for Ireland.

Winterlong wrote: »
    Yes, of course.

So you would castrate minors?

Hmmmm.

I wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

So you would castrate minors?

Hmmmm.

I wouldn't.

A minor who is old enough to rape a child - yeah I would have no problem castrating them and protecting society.
    And a good kicking too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Garlic importer, garlic importer, garlic importer. He was caught in a 1.5 million euro tax fraud, initially given 6 years and that was reduced to 2 on appeal. He deserved every day of it.

Your not wrong, in fairness. Somehow, though, I think the two kids suffered more than the fat pigs collecting revenue for their trough in Europe.

Winterlong wrote: »
    A minor who is old enough to rape a child - yeah I would have no problem castrating them and protecting society.
    And a good kicking too.

Bad idea. I often wondered if "neutering" a human would work like it does with a dog, but in sentient men, the removal of testosterone production can lead to - among many things - frustration, which could boil over. If we're lucky, they'll top themselves. If we're not, they'll take it out on someone else...
    Easier to just do the topping for them. And cheaper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Your Face wrote: »
    I'm surprised the judge didnt sentence the victims.
    Perhaps he did.

He did, he sentenced them to 6 years of knowing that soon that pile of fcuking ****e will be out on the streets.
    He got a ridiculous sentence and I'm hoping the DPP appeal that sentence solely on the fact it's a fcuking farce.
    I do take some comfort in the fact that prisoners don't take too kindly to child rapists in prison so I'm hoping a similar 6 years of role reversal for him is handed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Outragustice - anger prompted by lenient sentences for serious crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

What, a member of the legal profession does not want to highlight fact the judiciary of this country gave a longer sentence to someone who imported garlic without paying due import duties than a guy who raped two children.

BTW the same judge that gave him 6 years, consecutive sentences mind you, then didn't sentence a would be rapist nor a teenager who in a premeditated attack hit the head of another another teenager with a hammer causing brain injury.

AFAIK larry muprhy didn't get consecutive sentences, but for some reason a garlic smuggler did.
    Care to explain that ?

Justice, the legal profession and judiciary don't know the meaning of it.

And you probably wonder why the legal profession are one of those with a reputation not much better than some of their clients.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Out of interest, were the sentences concurrent or consecutive? Not that it makes much difference in terms of leniency.

Hopefully it can be appealed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

Not the last we will see of him, I would almost bet the farm on it.
    He will rape and rape again, and may even progress.
    What makes me so sure?
    He didnt just rape children, he raped VULNERABLE children. He had a plan, he thought it out. He SELECTED his victims very carefully based on their disabilities. And his ability to exploit that.
    He was calculated and I'd say if the truth be told, they may not have been his only victims to date.
    That Judge is not only a disgrace to judiciary but to people everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Out of interest, were the sentences concurrent or consecutive? Not that it makes much difference in terms of leniency.

Hopefully it can be appealed.

Concurrect - 3 years per victim plus 5 year supervision afterwards annnndd sexual offenders therapy..

jmayo wrote: »
    What, a member of the legal profession...

This could be the third time you have posted about my job.

Yes, I understand the law. It's my job to do so. This seems to bother you.

But yes, it tires me when people without the first iota make nonsensical posts, like assuming everything in Irish law relates back to fraud on garlic.

If you think I am part of some conspiracy to prevent questions about the Judiciary...oh dear. Maybe take the tinfoil off the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

This could be the third time you have posted about my job.

Yes, I understand the law. It's my job to do so. This seems to bother you.

I don't care what job you do if you would have the good grace not to often come on and excuse the joke sentences handed out by our so called legal system.
    BTW I would be far more bothered that I believe you campaigned for that leeching bull crapper legal professional from Kerry. ;)
    But yes, it tires me when people without the first iota make nonsensical posts, like assuming everything in Irish law relates back to fraud on garlic.

We know it doesn't, but you have to say that it stinks to high hell when it appears you get a longer jail term for defrauding the state of some cash than for violating the body of a child.

Can you not see that or are you able to see the splinter in my eye, but not the 2x4 in the eyes of our justice system.

If the garlic smuggler got 6 years and a child rapist got 20 then no one would be dragging up the case of a garlic smuggler.

The same judge that sentenced to jail the garlic smuggler, the social welfare fraudster and the madam/prostitute on the other hand gave suspended sentences to an attempted rapist, a hammer wielding attempted murderer.
    If an attempted rapist got 10 years in actual jail then far fewer would have compared it to the 6 years handed out by the same judge.
    If a kid that hammered the head off another had gotten 10-20 years rather than a suspended sentence how many would have raised the garlic smuggling case.

It appears money is more important criteria to measure a crime to that ex Garda who sits on the bench than how much physical damage a criminal does to another humans body or mind.

And even then it is all so selective within the justice system.
    Some smugglers go to jail, some tax evaders go to jail, others get to sit in our parliament.
    Some who defraud the state of a few hundred grand go to jail whilst other stick the state for multiple millions get a free pass.

On some threads (like case of aforementioned Foxrock hammer wielding teenager) people state it is those with money that get off.
    I always argue is not those with money, but those with connections.

If you think I am part of some conspiracy to prevent questions about the Judiciary...oh dear. Maybe take the tinfoil off the head?

No but we all know how the legal system works, much like some other areas of the state, where ranks close and the system must be protected from those who of course don't know what they are talking about.

I always believe common sense and call me a tinfoil hat wearer for never trusting people who talk down to you all the while they fleece your pockets.
    To me a lot of the legal profession are just interested in the law and justice is an alien concept.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

It is a sentence on the population, starting in about four years when he gets out and re-offends.

I don't care what job you do if you would have the good grace not to often come on and excuse the joke sentences handed out by our so called legal system...

I haven't actually excused this sentence at all, but...
    BTW I would be far more bothered that I believe you campaigned for that leeching bull crapper legal professional from Kerry. ;)

...at least I see what seems to be really bothering you with the analysis of me.

Either way, I believe the garlic importer got what he deserved. To suggest it is a yardstick by which all other sentences must be measured is invalid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

One thing USA do well is proper sentences for crimes like this. In the USA he probably get 20-30 years and it would be right. Two lifes ruined yet this filth bag is out in four years max. The judge should hang is head in shame. He should be jailed for this sentence. Its a total mockery. Also this filth bag will almost defo reoffend and you will hear the same ****e again. Animals like this need locking up for a long time in general population so they get a good kicking every so often.

And Martin Nolan amazingly wasn't the judge. There are far too many lenient sentences for acts of depravity, especially by repeat offenders. And I'd be far, far from the "law and order"/Blueshirt/Michael McDowell/Brendan McGahon/hang them all/Paddy Cooney/crypto-fascist type.

It's possible to oppose such lenient sentencing (as they threaten public safety) and still believe it would be better for Irish society if prisons were places of reform and rehabilitation rather than of mere punishment (as punishment results in more repeat offenders, which obviously also threatens public safety).

Either way, we're not going to solve that one here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

One thing USA do well is proper sentences for crimes like this. In the USA he probably get 20-30 years and it would be right. Two lifes ruined yet this filth bag is out in four years max. The judge should hang is head in shame. He should be jailed for this sentence. Its a total mockery. Also this filth bag will almost defo reoffend and you will hear the same ****e again. Animals like this need locking up for a long time in general population so they get a good kicking every so often.

Really in the USA he would have got 20-30 years have you been living under a rock past couple of days, http://www.vox.com/2016/6/8/11883112/brock-turner-stanford-rape

And Martin Nolan amazingly wasn't the judge. There are far too many lenient sentences for acts of depravity, especially by repeat offenders. And I'd be far, far from the "law and order"/Blueshirt/Michael McDowell/Brendan McGahon/hang them all/Paddy Cooney/crypto-fascist type.

It's possible to oppose such lenient sentencing (as they threaten public safety) and still believe it would be better for Irish society if prisons were places of reform and rehabilitation rather than of mere punishment (as punishment results in more repeat offenders, which obviously also threatens public safety).

Either way, we're not going to solve that one here.

9 life sentences for rape in 2014, the vast majority of rapes ended in prison time no suspension and the usual sentence imposed being at least 10 years in that year 2 sentences fully suspended and at least one of them overturned on appeal. So in numbers 9 times more people got life than a suspended sentence.

Whats the difference between two consecutive three year sentences and two concurrent six year sentences?

I'm sure there must be an angle here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Probably has a mental illness. Poor fella. Locking him up won't help him etc. etc. How could someone who's right in the head do something like this etc. etc. some other lefty boll0cks.
    People may not agree with him being tortured and may suggest he abused because he was abused, but that is about as lenient as they would get - I don't think anyone would go as easy on him as you suggest, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

A sledgehammer wouldn't be good enough for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

We wouldn't need to look that far for an example - the UK have stronger sentences for child abuse crimes.

A sentence as soft as this one would make a parent consider taking the law into their own hands. Why would you put your child through the trauma of Gardai interviews, giving testimony etc when the outcome is that someone can be out walking the streets in three years.

Sapphire wrote: »
    We wouldn't need to look that far for an example - the UK have stronger sentences for child abuse crimes.

A sentence as soft as this one would make a parent consider taking the law into their own hands. Why would you put your child through the trauma of Gardai interviews, giving testimony etc when the outcome is that someone can be out walking the streets in three years.

40 months https://www.judiciary.gov.uk/wp-content/uploads/JCO/Documents/Judgments/channer-monteiro-judgment-23052012.pdf

It was increased on appeal but low sentences are not a Irish only issue.

The original case http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/shock-as-judge-sentences-rapists-to-just-737039[URL][/url]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

Interestingly, if anyone was watching "24 Hours in Police Custody" on C4 tonight, there was a guy on there who got a nine year custodial sentence for sexual assault(not rape)on two girls in their home(he exposed himself and then rubbed his genitals on one of their tshirts). He had previous for indecent exposure and similar(not huge amounts but still)
    Another guy got 2 years custodial for grooming a girl on the internet.
    To put that into comparison to the case here just shows how lenient the judiciary are on sex crimes.
    Serious questions need to start being asked about our sentencing of sex crimes here.