Im homeless and disabled..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

You were getting disability allowance, carers allowance and rent allowance and your son was getting a supplement too?
    That comes to over €500 a week before rent allowance. Every adult has to pay €30 towards their rent if they are getting a sw payment.

Maybe moving to a more rural area might be better for you, maybe you could find a bungalow that's wheelchair friendly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

really? to be fair its not everyday that people take the piss out of me,that is prove doctors took the piss

there could have been a better one as i asked the doctor could i get a selfie
    i learned a valuable lesson,never make a doctor laugh as he is putting a tube in the eye of the storm..poor man couldn't stop laughing:D

good to see you still have your humor. you ll need that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

I don't understand what you mean?

The OP took a photo of himself as he is to show the reality and truth of his plight.

I don't see the relevance of a catheter to homelessness or what relevance it has to homelessness.

12Phase wrote: »
    OP, any chance you could possibly put a word of warning above that image?
    I fully appreciate what you're saying here and what the situation is, but I opened that image in the middle of a public space here. I didn't expect that at all.

It's a pair of legs with a blue tube. There is nothing remotely obscene or OTT about that image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Superhorse wrote: »
    The hacks and spin merchants want us all turning on each other, "It's the unemployed fault", "bloody single mums", "council house scroungers" etc.. we all know the types of arguments that crop up time and again and all the while the establishment get away with daylight robbery. Boom/Bust/Emigration the great release/ rinse and repeat the Irish way.

You can dismiss the argument all you want but as op is in hospital right now there are perfectly healthy and fit people all around the country who have never worked a day in their lives living in houses provided for them by the state. Sure, in a perfect world everyone would be housed, but in the world we live in right now, those people are taking up room in a limited capacity system and op loses out because of it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Gatling wrote: »
    Imagine if this was all a wind up
    Gatling wrote: »
    Very real ,
    Very cynical

Okay, Mr. Cynical, you can leave the thread if you don't have anything useful to add.

Can we get back to the topic rather than the verity of the picture, why it was taken etc.?

Mod

You can dismiss the argument all you want but as op is in hospital right now there are perfectly healthy and fit people all around the country who have never worked a day in their lives living in houses provided for them by the state. Sure, in a perfect world everyone would be housed, but in the world we live in right now, those people are taking up room in a limited capacity system and op loses out because of it.

you need to research the root causes of long term unemployment. its not straight forward. in fact its very complex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

OP, any chance you could possibly put a word of warning above that image?
    I fully appreciate what you're saying here and what the situation is, but I opened that image in the middle of a public space here. I didn't expect that at all.

God darn reality of the situation ruining your day, the horror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Fair play DKelly, more media hopefully going to look into it.

https://twitter.com/jonathanhealy/status/739892834812186625

OP, absolutely saddened beyond belief for you. Hopefully your thread will spark some action on your behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

Two Tone wrote: »
    Oh dear, it's an awful pity you felt compelled to do that. That comment from Gatling was extremely mean-spirited and unnecessary, but I think most people don't doubt that you're genuine.

i have been on boards long enough to know that all posters have good intentions,its the keyboard fault for putting letters in front of them
    i used to be a standup comedian and am thinking of going back to it,hence the pic,having the photo is a memory even though its a rough memory

i wasn't thinking of boards when i took it,as i said in other post ,i wanted the proof that the piss was taken out of me from doctors:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

It's a pair of legs with a blue tube. There is nothing remotely obscene or OTT about that image.

It got a major over reaction here. (Not from me)

God love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

God love them.

That's what I said! I work with a bunch of 19th century types...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

are you for real? that is a very very cynical view of the world?
    Indeed F. I am happy, or "maybe in need of therapy and cuddles" :D to admit I am an atomic powered cynical prick at the best of times, but even I have my limits. And they're pretty out there and my Cynicometer is not twitching here.
    Superhorse wrote: »
    I completely disagree we care more for the needy in African nations for example than we do of our own. Sending 600m per annum to Africa and cases like the OP's showing up here. As I said we don't look after our most in need and it's to the shame of us all.
    I'd be among the first to say "da fuq ballsology is this??" when it comes to overseas aid expenditure, however and it's a big however SH, when we set that against the fact that we spend many multiples of that on social safety nets, into the billions, a huge percentage of the public budget. Nearly half of all Irish people have a medical card.

And y'know what, I have not so much an issue with the expenditure itself. I certainly don't want to live in a culture like the US with the elderly living under overpasses because their insurance ran out, or where a Walter White Breaking Bad type is seen as normal "ah yeah I can see why he got into that stuff" because he came down with cancer. Fcuk that noise and all the sociopaths and naive that hail it.

However. Part Two. The directors cut. It's how and where our society spends the resources that I have the pulling my hair out issue with. I'd be fairly bloody sure even the most Right On(™) among us know at least one if not more freeloading prick milking the system like a hungry newborn calf on a teat, while actually deserving cases go ignored, or left hanging, like F here.

That's my problem and this is a good example of it. And I have personally seen similar up close.

This isn't or shouldn't be some retarded political football for or agin social safety nets, it should be - at least among the non retarded non extremist numpties - a call for better application of those nets to those folks in our society that need it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Ffs, it's a tube and a pair of jeans, what did they say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Woe be on to them, at least thats all they have to deal with :rolleyes:

failinis wrote: »
    Woe be on to them, at least thats all they have to deal with :rolleyes:

Well, what I can I say other than I work with some right prudes and I agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Look I'm not doing the whole council house argument now tbh of course there are scroungers but it's a very small number most people in council housing work and all pay rent to the state.

The fact is over the last 20 or so years the establishment made a conscious effort to stop building council dwellings and allowed corrupt developers to forgo their responsibility to provide 10% social housing within their developments whilst at the same time allowed house prices to explode. That's why we are where we are and we have families living in B&B's and people like the OP living in a feckin car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I'm afraid that I don't know much about this area op but my heart goes out to you. Hope things get better for you soon.

You were getting disability allowance, carers allowance and rent allowance and your son was getting a supplement too?
    That comes to over €500 a week before rent allowance. Every adult has to pay €30 towards their rent if they are getting a sw payment.

Maybe moving to a more rural area might be better for you, maybe you could find a bungalow that's wheelchair friendly?

you read my post wrongly
    ,nobody is getting carers allowance as i am waiting ten months

my son was getting a hundred euros to do the work of a nurse,would you change ****ty clothes everyday for 100 euros?

where i live is rural,which means my son pays 30/60 euros a week on buses from his money

rent allowance is paid to landlord

i get a 180 allowance ,which up to last week had to give a hundred euros to make up the shortage out of eighty euros a week i give 20 euros to a person to come in once a week to clean and get on top of things for me.this eases the workload on me

Populism and pandering to a very particular electorate of NIMBY snobs who would probably claim to be in favour of a classless society and think they're champagne socialists!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Wonzy

Sorry to hear this OP. Terrible thing to be happening to you.

Unfortunately too many people abusing the system in this country and this is the consequence. The government are too stupid to put down proper measures and most of the junior ministers don't have a backbone and just bend over for the more senior people involved.

Everyone knows people abusing the system and unfortunately the people that really need it are suffering. I could go on with stories of people I know but don't want to derail the thread.

I'm male and understand your post of compassion,il look into ittomrrow
    thank u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Never has my sig so apt for a thread... I'm sorry to read this fluffy.
    Jesus even reading the last sentence is weird. I'm saying sorry to a fluffy Angel!!!

By the way putting the tube in is the easy part... Speaking from experience be extra nice to the nurse that takes it out!!!
    Keep the spirits up, I know it sounds like bs coming from total strangers but at least you know people actually give a sh!te.

Yeah, to be fair a good few people seem to be actually attempting to get something done.

Community spirit is thankfully something that tends to save this country from its heartless "system" that seems to be fine with the idea of leaving the OP sleeping in his car!

Yeah, to be fair a good few people seem to be actually attempting to get something done.

Community spirit is thankfully something that tends to save this country from its heartless "system" that seems to be fine with the idea of leaving the OP sleeping in his car!

its the only thing that ll save us when the system eventually falls to pieces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

Have you any family??

Failing that go and sit in at the social welfare office until it's sorted

What's the point in a dept of social welfare if they won't help you when it's needed

Do you think he should leave the hospital where he is receiving care and go to the SW office and sit there? What would that achieve? Absolutely nothing I can assure you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Hi Op

I tweeted red fm and they want to speak to you. The neil prenderville show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    you need to research the root causes of long term unemployment. its not straight forward. in fact its very complex

Indeed it is. But some people are just lazy, entitled scroungers that drain the system.