Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Very disappointing.

Barely any goal chances, even with the forwards we have.

Looked like Tony Kelly was playing very deep, for whatever reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Dreadful display. Never got going. WTF was Davy trying to achieve by having the half-forwards playing so deep:mad:. No Plan B. Idiotic short passing out of defence. The purpose of a defence clearance should be to give the forwards a favourable chance. In the last 10 mins of the game, Waterford packed their defence. Yet there were only 2 Clare forwards inside the 20m line. Mind boggling:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Just back from the game I saw the two league final games on TV. But watching in the flesh today Clare are again toothless in attack for the third game vs Waterford. Very timid no real physicality. Some very good technical hurlers but not enough overall it'll be a short year for Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

we didnt help ourselves at any stage today , when we got on top we struck wides , we won very little breaking balls , very little puck outs . and several key men failed to perform , tony kelly , conor mcgrath , honan and at times galven and podge were below par ,conlon looked off the pace too

i also stand corrected on the importance of colin ryan , yes we would have to drop one of the midfielders to compensate him but his frees would have at least kept us in the game here today especially in the first half , our heads had dropped by the time he came on

on todays expose's we will struggle to see the 1/4 final stage , on the positive it is good to see , david mac back conlon returning and the performance's of oisin o'brien , conor cleary , david reidy who were the only ones driving us on and had fine displays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

On another day ye have the goal cancelled out fairly early on (brilliant save from WD goalie) and wouldn't have so many wides or is that lazy analysis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

Very disappointing again in Munster today, this shambles of a record continues.

It's a very worrying performance, particularly as the team was dominated physically again. The big one for me, is cat could be out of the bag with regards to this puckout strategy in bringing up the wing backs to win ball, it was completed negated by Waterford this time. The reality is McGrath completely schooled Davy today on the tactics side, we had a complete systems failure to such a bad degree we had Kelly playing in the backs to get space, our backs staying in the half-forward line trying to win ball, and a way over crowded forward line. It means the half backline loses so much structure and tightness, Waterford could run through us with ease. We were all over the place in the second half.

There's very few positives to take from the game and it will raise questions as to whether this teams old failings are resolved. The reality is we just don't have a very balanced squad with few physical players (maybe we have to fast track Shanagher, idk). Davy should feel proper pressure now, if we get knocked out early again this year his position is surely untenable. Today was not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭mullinr2

How many years have ye not won a match in Munster? Shocking stuff from Clare. Ye have alot of improving to do if ye r to knock the functional beyond belief champions. I wonder do the players have complete belief in the system Davy has them playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,289 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hard luck today. Best of luck in the qualifiers

Who's out stocking up on the miwadi and biscuits lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

mullinr2 wrote: »
    How many years have ye not won a match in Munster? Shocking stuff from Clare. Ye have alot of improving to do if ye r to knock the functional beyond belief champions. I wonder do the players have complete belief in the system Davy has them playing.

My memory is a little hazy, I think we won 2 games in 2008 under Mike Mc and one under Davy in 2013. After that I'm not quite sure, I think it's 3 wins since 2003 or in other words, lost our first outing in 11/13 years.

Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

we didnt help ourselves at any stage today , when we got on top we struck wides , we won very little breaking balls , very little puck outs . and several key men failed to perform , tony kelly , conor mcgrath , honan and at times galven and podge were below par ,conlon looked off the pace too

i also stand corrected on the importance of colin ryan , yes we would have to drop one of the midfielders to compensate him but his frees would have at least kept us in the game here today especially in the first half , our heads had dropped by the time he came on

on todays expose's we will struggle to see the 1/4 final stage , on the positive it is good to see , david mac back conlon returning and the performance's of oisin o'brien , conor cleary , david reidy who were the only ones driving us on and had fine displays

Bang on analysis imo. We really didn't help ourselves at all. Some very sloppy play, poor wides and key players didn't show up.

It also must be said that Waterford performed very well and really negated the influence of Tony kelly. They won the tactical battle, took most of their chances, seemed to win most of the breaking ball and this time we're professional in seeing the game out.

And while we weren't in the game really I think it really changed with the poor john Condon turnover just before half time. We could have brought it back to 1 and next thing we were 3 down

Why David reidy was pretty much playing full back in the first half is beyond me?? Just why waste his ability playing that deep.

Something just wasn't quite right with everyone on the Clare camp today. Even Davy wasn't as animated as usual.

Think we are out July 2nd and who can the opposition be?? Cork, Wexford, Laois, Westmeath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Another Munster defeat, another performance littered with shocking wides, another match with virtually no goal threat, another match overplaying the ball and practically beating ourselves, another anonymous display from Honan and O'Donnell. How much longer do we keep carrying these two players as passengers in the side? How much longer do we stick with a manager that stifles incredibly talented hurlers into a system that can no longer yield championship wins? Am I right in saying that Offaly are the only side that Clare have beaten in the championship since winning the All-Ireland almost 3 years ago? Worst thing is this isn't even surprising. It's all so predictable.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

As a Waterford fan I genuinely had no idea how the match would go today . Very happy to have gotten over a good clare team . I'd like to commend the clare supporters around us today who were very gracious in defeat but seemed a bit shell shocked by the result. Best of luck in the qualifiers and we may well meet again this season who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Ye won the league. That's all ye'll be winning folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Rightwing wrote: »
    Ye won the league. That's all ye'll be winning folks.

Superb contribution. Anything else to tell us.
    Enjoy your victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,341 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Superb contribution. Anything else to tell us.
    Enjoy your victory.

Please don't classify him as a Waterford fan. He'd be over in the Waterford thread making snide remarks too if the game went the other way.

Not to be for Clare today, days like that happen. As many have said, Clare most likely will be there up till the business end. Best of luck in the qualifiers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

He's from Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Sometimes it feels like we're too interested in surprising the opposition.

Such as Kelly and Reidy playing so deep. (Waterford must have been delighted given the damage he did the last day)
    Some of the strange decision making, playing Dave Mc up forward even if he wasn't named on the programme.

Why not just play our best hurlers in their best positions, and let the opposition worry about themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Such as Kelly and Reidy playing so deep. (Waterford must have been delighted given the damage he did the last day)
    Some of the strange decision making, playing Dave Mc up forward even if he wasn't named on the programme.

Why not just play our best hurlers in their best positions, and let the opposition worry about themselves

I agree. Clare were a shambles. If I were from Clare, I'd be calling for Fitz and cusack's heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Hard luck today. Best of luck in the qualifiers

Who's out stocking up on the miwadi and biscuits lol

Well it worked the last time...!
    Best team won today! Don't think Brian Cody looked too worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Another Munster defeat, another performance littered with shocking wides, another match with virtually no goal threat, another match overplaying the ball and practically beating ourselves, another anonymous display from Honan and O'Donnell. How much longer do we keep carrying these two players as passengers in the side? How much longer do we stick with a manager that stifles incredibly talented hurlers into a system that can no longer yield championship wins? Am I right in saying that Offaly are the only side that Clare have beaten in the championship since winning the All-Ireland almost 3 years ago? Worst thing is this isn't even surprising. It's all so predictable.

I'd turn that point about Honan and O'Donnell around.. when are we going to use the most potent forwards in the right way. A full forward line with O'Donnell, Conlon and Honan today should have been fed ball. They aren't passengers, they not being used.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    On another day ye have the goal cancelled out fairly early on (brilliant save from WD goalie) and wouldn't have so many wides or is that lazy analysis?

no it isnt lazy analysis at the time it would have acted as a turning point of sorts , we were on top in the field of play but behind on the scoreboard , however wide's are something that have hunted us for years anyway especially in thurles , since the qualifiers have been introduced our record in munster (mainly thurles) has been woeful

we had plenty of periods of dominance but failed to make it count , waterford were the opposite which is why they won in the end ,

Bang on analysis imo. We really didn't help ourselves at all. Some very sloppy play, poor wides and key players didn't show up.

It also must be said that Waterford performed very well and really negated the influence of Tony kelly. They won the tactical battle, took most of their chances, seemed to win most of the breaking ball and this time we're professional in seeing the game out.

And while we weren't in the game really I think it really changed with the poor john Condon turnover just before half time. We could have brought it back to 1 and next thing we were 3 down

Why David reidy was pretty much playing full back in the first half is beyond me?? Just why waste his ability playing that deep.

Something just wasn't quite right with everyone on the Clare camp today. Even Davy wasn't as animated as usual.

Think we are out July 2nd and who can the opposition be?? Cork, Wexford, Laois, Westmeath

the problem with the positioning was ,i asume the players were asked to go with there men , for example , david mac on gleeson , gleeson tracks back macinerney finds himself in the half forward line , same with david fitz on moran , reidy ended up being a spare man and not sure what to do but was still effective in his role

it probably would have helped our cause had we maybe adopted a zonal marking system that other teams use in which a half back holds his position and just picks up whoever is free at the time

the qualifiers is the same as last year 3 munster teams , 5 leinster teams
    3 munster teams v 3 leinster , and
    1 remaining leinster v 2 remaining leinster

the four winners will advance to round 2 and in an open draw play off , the winners of round 2 will play a provincial runner up in the 1/4 finals

the 3 munster teams are

clare
    cork
    limerick/tipp loosers

the 5 leinster teams ( notice the elephant in the room down at the end :eek: )

wexford
    westmeath
    laois
    galway/offaly losers
    dublin/kilkenny losers

there is every chance dublin could win in o'moore park next saturday night and worst case scenario pit us with a trip back down to nolan park .......but that is just worst case scenario ...

dont know if you saw any of the first game but that is exactly how donal maloney had the intermediates set up

the problem with the positioning was ,i asume the players were asked to go with there men , for example , david mac on gleeson , gleeson tracks back macinerney finds himself in the half forward line , same with david fitz on moran , reidy ended up being a spare man and not sure what to do but was still effective in his role

it probably would have helped our cause had we maybe adopted a zonal marking system that other teams use in which a half back holds his position and just picks up whoever is free at the time

the qualifiers is the same as last year 3 munster teams , 5 leinster teams
    3 munster teams v 3 leinster , and
    1 remaining leinster v 2 remaining leinster

the four winners will advance to round 2 and in an open draw play off , the winners of round 2 will play a provincial runner up in the 1/4 finals

the 3 munster teams are

clare
    cork
    limerick/tipp loosers

the 5 leinster teams ( notice the elephant in the room down at the end :eek: )

wexford
    westmeath
    laois
    galway/offaly losers
    dublin/kilkenny losers

there is every chance dublin could win in o'moore park next saturday night and worst case scenario pit us with a trip back down to nolan park .......but that is just worst case scenario ...

i think Westmeath and Offaly (if they lose to Galway) will be added to munster bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Is it possible for Clare to meet Waterford again at the AI quarter final or semi final stage, if Clare were to get through the qualifiers? Or are repeat ties avoided?

Cake Man wrote: »
    Is it possible for Clare to meet Waterford again at the AI quarter final or semi final stage, if Clare were to get through the qualifiers? Or are repeat ties avoided?

not at 1/4 final stage , what would normally happen is clare would just end up playing the leinster runners up if waterford lost the munster final

at semi final stage there might be an outside chance of it happening if ye beat tipp/limerick , and they along with clare go on to win there 1/4 final games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Alpha Centauri

Your down but not out Clare, heads up.... I'm sure you will have a long summer ahead of ye. Ye have a fantastic squad of players.

This time yesterday I was fair nervous before the match, hearing that ye had a 100% fit squad, with the likes of Conlon back. Unfortunately for ye it didnt go to plan.

Great squad and great supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Your down but not out Clare, heads up.... I'm sure you will have a long summer ahead of ye. Ye have a fantastic squad of players.

This time yesterday I was fair nervous before the match, hearing that ye had a 100% fit squad, with the likes of Conlon back. Unfortunately for ye it didnt go to plan.

Great squad and great supporters

Woeful sideline. No plan B:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Unlucky on Sunday lads, I wasn't sure we would win it tbh.

I think Clare on the day were just flat. I have a feeling we'll be playing ye again. The form you were in against the Cats in the league would take stopping.

I would love to see ye get Kilkenny, I actually think ye are one of the teams that could take them in Croke park.

Anyway best of luck in the rest of the championship.

davy really has a unusual record with yourselves than he did with Us

Waterford (July 2008- Aug 2011)- 18 games, 10 victories, 6 Defeats, 2 draws. won a Munster championship in 2010 and players fought in every game but we had the massacares of the 2008 All Ireland final and 2011 Munster final.

Clare (Jun 2012- present)- 18 Games, 8 Victories, 2 draws and 8 defeats. Only 1 victory in the Munster championship (2013 vs Waterford in the Munster QF) but the All Ireland win in 2013 will cement his managerial legacy. 1 win since 2013s All Ireland is not good enough for all the talent in the Squad.

who knws all ireland number 2 might follow this year but an early exit cud spell the end of davy.

Waterford only suffered 2 defeats in the munster championship under Davy, While Clare only won 1 Munster championship game under Davy