Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The great Bail debacle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Speedwell wrote: »
    If I had 1450 in cash and 1200 or so of that had to go for rent and bills, I wouldn't "have" 1000, either. Does everyone have a bank account?

In that scenario you should keep that in mind before you commit crimes and end up in court.

It's called consequences of choices.

Canadel wrote: »
    I imagine she took the Judge at his word regarding the €100 bail. Unfortunately for her it seems the judge has a problem with poor people possessing large amounts of cash. As do many posters here.

I've a similar problem with electric cars that run on petrol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

This woman committed a crime believe it or not
    I missed the report of the crime she was convicted of, please tell us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,032 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

she hasnt been convicted yet but she has plead guilty to theft so i dont think its a stretch to say she has committed a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I've a similar problem with electric cars that run on petrol....
    Both problems require a lack of reasoning so I can understand why.

Back on topic: Who does that woman think she is possessing money? The cheek. People like her are the problem. Enough is enough. Go home roma roger. :mad:

so a romanian national is in court on theft charges and you assume she is Roma? A bit racist no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

I imagine she took the Judge at his word regarding the €100 bail. Unfortunately for her it seems the judge has a problem with poor people possessing large amounts of cash. As do many posters here.

Who called her poor?

She had over €1500 cash in her pockets and had just returned from a trip to Romania.

Doesn't sound poor to me.

The judge was right to set bail at the price he did, the woman was abusing the court system at best and he put an end to it. Swiftly.

so a romanian national is in court on theft charges and you assume she is Roma? A bit racist no?
    They're all the same. They should all be sent home. Contributing nothing and carrying around wads of cash. Criminals. Judge was absolutely right. Should have taken her clothes too as they were probably bought in a high street shop, or perhaps even custom made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

shes not Roma, shes Romanian.

try to keep up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

"She has 21 previous convictions, many of them for theft..."

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligochampion/news/romanian-is-told-to-stay-out-of-sligo-27589993.html

She's also banned from Sligo! :pac:

They're all the same. They should all be sent home. Contributing nothing and carrying around wads of cash. Criminals. Judge was absolutely right. Should have taken her clothes too as they were probably bought in a high street shop, or perhaps even custom made.

well now you are the one who made that association. dont be trying to bluster out of it with hyperbole.

shes not Roma, shes Romanian.

try to keep up.
    Capital letters. Punctuation.

Try to keep up.

Less of the personal insults please; both are problems because neither exists.

who does she think she is possessing money while lying that she has none. People like her who steal stuff in a country they supposedly want to belong to and live in are indeed a problem.

If she wants to steal then yes - let her "go home".

We've enough of our own repeat offenders and scumbags to deal with.

Don't try to turn this into racism - it's not.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligochampion/news/romanian-is-told-to-stay-out-of-sligo-27589993.html

do the courts consider that a punishment?

Try to keep up.

when in doubt play the man and not the ball, eh?

Less of the personal insults please; both are problems because neither exists.
    Nothing more personal than punishing someone for being poor surely?

Don't try to turn this into racism - it's not.
    Not trying to turn this into anything. It's very clear.
    Played the post.

Try to keep up.

I was not aware my punctuation, or lack thereof, made my argument any less relevant.

Here's the rewrite, are you better able to understand it now?

''She is not Roma, she is Romanian.'

Try to keep up.''

assumptions she is Roma because she has convictions and barring orders etc and is from Romania are not only racist but idiotic.

but like a previous poster said,

Sure isn't that what everyone playing a race card to get out of the consequences of their actions does ?

Forget the brawl / theft / drugs / assault - you're jailing me because I'm [insert appropriate minority group here which probably hates criminals as much as the rest of us]

It's pathetic.

Nothing more personal than punishing someone for being poor surely?

The judge was punishing her for her crime and for lying that she was poor.

Not trying to turn this into anything. It's very clear.

You implied that it was getting random foreign/ poor people to go home and nothing to do with her choice to commit crimes while here.
    Played the post.

No you didn't. But you knew that.
    Try to keep up.

Try to drop the petty sarky stuff if you want an actual discussion as befits a - y'know - discussion board.

I was not aware my punctuation, or lack thereof, made my argument any less relevant.
    And I was not aware my not knowing her race, nationality, skin colour, IQ, hair colour, age, favourite football team, made my argument any less relevant.
    assumptions she is Roma because she has convictions and barring orders etc and is from Romania are not only racist but idiotic.
    I don't care what race she calls herself or where she is from. You, and one or two other posters, do seem to care.

Try to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Canadel, your trolling is not acceptable. Please do not post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Interestingly she could converse in english with Judge Kilrane there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod note:

Please do not reply to Canadel, as he is not allowed to respond or post on the thread any more.

Replies to Canadel deleted.

If you were a gambling person what do you think the odds would be.?

If you have Romanian friends, you should ask them.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,809 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Thread title changed to something less inflammatory.

Can we get this thread back onto discussion of legal issues arising and leave the race issue aside?

So getting back to the legal issue, can somebody in the profession tell us if the judges actions were within the rules of the district court? I know they have very wide latitude but can they just make it up on the fly as this judge did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

There's plenty in court claiming the poor mouth with ample often ill gotten funds stashed away but they get free legal aid ridiculous bail etc. In this case regardless of having means or not she had it on her so fair play to the judge.

So getting back to the legal issue, can somebody in the profession tell us if the judges actions were within the rules of the district court? I know they have very wide latitude but can they just make it up on the fly as this judge did?

bail was originally set at €1000
    the judge asked her could she pay 'do you have cash etc'

she said no I can offer €100 though. pleading poverty.

he said oh okay yeah thats grand she then walked up to pay it took a roll of €50 euro notes worth approx €1450 out of her purse along with some sterling peeled off the €100 and shoved the rest down her blouse.

The judge saw it, and said hold on stop the lights you said you couldnt pay it.
    directed someone to count it, came to the amount above and said pay the original amount.

he didnt change the amount to make it higher, it was orignally €1000 she claimed poverty he reduced it, said pay what you can, and then procceded to produce the orignal amount of €1000 in front of the judge who thought she was taking the piss (rightly so as well to be fair. dont say you dont have the money when its sitting in your purse...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Speedwell wrote: »
    If I had 1450 in cash and 1200 or so of that had to go for rent and bills, I wouldn't "have" 1000, either. Does everyone have a bank account?

Everyone but Bertie.

Thread title changed to something less inflammatory.

Small point re the new title: surely it wasn't "set at €100"; it was set at €1000, reduced to €100 due to the "poor mouth" and then reinstated when the accused produced the wad of cash ?