adele asks fan to stop recording concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,030 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

could have been worse.. like oul Christy swearing buckets and telling the fans to shut up for the audacity to sing along...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

its such an odd phenomenon lately, so many people seem to live their lives through their phonescreens, recording everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Depp wrote: »
    its such an odd phenomenon lately, so many people seem to live their lives through their phonescreens, recording everything

That cloud isn't going to fill itself up with incorrectly framed shakey out of focus recordings that nobody's interested in ever watching you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

its annoying as fcuk to be out having a great time,with friends,family etc when there is always one watching it through a phone screen missing everything and excluding themselves from that moment that wont ever be repeated... i fcking hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Adele is a very nice lady.

Ask anyone that went to her show in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

What ever happened to people being sprayed with water at concerts to cool them down? Surely if this practice was brought back there would be less people filming the concerts on iPads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'll admit to have done it in the past, but I also think its really silly too ~ and if you're in a standing area then its totally inappropriate.

Last one I done was at a Korn/Slipknot concert and only three songs which I really liked, the recordings turned out great and I'd watch them regularly.

I've photos and video of concerts I've attended way back as far as 1982 (no video back then obviously).

Right, I've mentioned Korn & Slipknot so you can guess the last gig I'd be seen at is an Adele gig ~ I detest her music but all that said she's right too.

If you've ever been to a Christy Moore gig you'll know what a cranky bollox is!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Suas11 wrote: »
    Sometimes if I'm at a concert, I'll take one or two photos just as mementos but I don't understand who just stand there and record the whole thing on a phone or iPad.
    I do the same, it reminds me of where I was in the venue which can bring memories back, I make sure not to block peoples view, often take it between songs. Almost always I will find a far better quality video on youtube within days, closer to the stage and better sound etc, why miss out on the actual gig when some idiot will do it for you, and a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

Hopefully enough people will ask Adele to stop recording music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I would normally film one or two few minute clips of an act I would be reviewing for my blog just so I could embed them to emphasise some of my points but thats about it. I once recorded the complete audio of the Aphex Twin gig at Forbidden Fruit but the purpose was to upload to the Aphex Twin forum in We Are the Music Makers.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Debil

I think the person had the camera on a tripod. That's a bit different to filming half a song on your phone.

Is this really worse than holding a smartphone/ipad though? It's still the same phenomenon I guess. Maybe it looks a little funnier to see due to it being more uncommon, slightly less so if it was a monopod.

I can understand an artist taking an issue with it if they think it will be a pirate DVD or something. I don't understand why you would focus on one person in a sea of thousands if your problem is somebody not experiencing the moment for themselves though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

RayCon wrote: »
    Hopefully enough people will ask Adele to stop recording music.

Brilliant. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Never been one for recording gigs, can't see the point of it to be honest. But on the other side of things I've never been annoyed by someone recording either. Though the gigs I usually go to don't tend to be the standing around and singing along type, so if someone has a phone out chances are it'll get knocked out of their hand once the dancing and pushing starts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Was at a Michael Winslow comedy gig (the impressionist cop in Po;ice Academy), he took a phone off someone recording, licked the screen and shoved it down his trousers giving it a good rub, handed it back and told the guy to stop recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,443 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

endacl wrote: »
    I'm 6'4", so it doesn't affect me that way. It does allow for a good angle to flick beer at the offending device though. :D

Aaah. The avatar. There is logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Dont like her music but I think she is dead right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

guylikeme wrote: »
    Alot of high and mighty on here as if butter wouldn't melt.

Praytell ye holy lot, how many of you have never recorded a show/song you like?

I never have, and I wouldn't think I'm that rare either. My recording would be poor quality, why would I bother? I'd rather immerse myself fully. I don't even take photos at gigs, what's the point? They're never good anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

Im old school. Turn off the outside world, enjoy the gig. It's what you paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

HS3 wrote: »
    Im old school. Turn off the outside world, enjoy the gig. It's what you paid for.

Or, if you'd rather watch crap phone footage, stay at home and save yourself the price of the ticket. Some other tool will have it uploaded later that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

endacl wrote: »
    Or, if you'd rather watch crap phone footage, stay at home and save yourself the price of the ticket. Some other tool will have it uploaded later that night.

I agree completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I would normally film one or two few minute clips of an act I would be reviewing for my blog just so I could embed them to emphasise some of my points but thats about it. I once recorded the complete audio of the Aphex Twin gig at Forbidden Fruit but the purpose was to upload to the Aphex Twin forum in We Are the Music Makers.

Ooooooh well la de da with your bloooog.

I must record for my blooooog.

Blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

A tripod?!?! Should have been beaten with it. Ruining it for everyone with that shite! Surely she was within view of security staff or have loads of heads in front of her so the footage would be rubbish anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

The reason people record at concerts is because 99% of gigs are ****ing ****e and people don't realise how awkward standing in a packed room watching someone play music is until they're there. When you record it you get to at least tell yourself you're doing something. You'll notice it's way more common at standing gigs, at seated ones there's no pressure to do anything other than sit and watch (although the potential of amazing atmosphere is severely reduced too).

For most people, the main reason for going to gigs is having an event to look forward to.

If a band can't be captivating enough to get you to snap away from your f*cking camera, they're probably not worth going to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

The reason people record at concerts is because 99% of gigs are ****ing ****e and people don't realise how awkward standing in a packed room watching someone play music is until they're there. When you record it you get to at least tell yourself you're doing something. You'll notice it's way more common at standing gigs, at seated ones there's no pressure to do anything other than sit and watch (although the potential of amazing atmosphere is severely reduced too).

For most people, the main reason for going to gigs is having an event to look forward to.

If a band can't be captivating enough to get you to snap away from your f*cking camera, they're probably not worth going to.

That's all pure bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭SteM

No, it's because 99% of people these days are aresholes. Doesn't matter how captivating a performance is, there are always people who whip their phone out to record their 'amazing' night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

She was using a tripod and a camera, not a phone so I get why she said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Every concert I've been to with a phone, I've turned the phone off. The point of being there is to be there, not somewhere else mentally.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Debil

She was using a tripod and a camera, not a phone so I get why she said it.

What's the difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

SteM wrote: »
    No, it's because 99% of people these days are aresholes. Doesn't matter how captivating a performance is, there are always people who whip their phone out to record their 'amazing' night.
    Perhaps the underlying motive behind them going isn't to document the night of this thing they've done that they can now talk about for a few days to break the monotony of their day-to-day conversation. If that's the case, it doesn't matter a f*ck how captivating the performance is once it's a name everyone they talk to regularly will know.
    Adele would obviously be a key act for that kind of person.

There's so many factors that can make a gig ****:
    - the band not being into it (big big big one for me)
    - the audience not being into it (so you can rule out almost every major gig)
    - the sound sucking
    - the wait time before the performance being ridiculous (I don't get why more acts don't try and find things to do with that time or at least break it up a bit)
    - the songs being significantly inferior to the studio versions
    - the songs being too similar to the studio versions
    - the band having a sound that is simply not appropriate for the size of venue involved (larger audiences require more viscerally alluring big sounds)
    - the band playing too many songs the majority of the audience don't recognise

With all of these factors in mind, I've came to the conclusion my perfect live band would be Limp Bizkit, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭SteM

Debil wrote: »
    What's the difference?

You really don't see the difference between someone setting up a tripod to record a full show and people recording snippets of shows on their smartphones?