Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,278 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

but1er wrote: »
    Dermos on fire your defence is terrified

Gerrup 5 days

I would say if Dublin played the U21s v Laois they would still win handy enough.
    Maybe they should? :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

I would say if Dublin played the U21s v Laois they would still win handy enough.
    Maybe they should? :D

Lets not get to cockney.. But your spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Not so sure last year the Laois U21 gave the Dublin U21 team a good game.
    Different this year though I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 his holiness captain caveman

So its almost time for another summer road trip.
    Packed sambos and suncream on the ready!

Has anyone any idea how a full Nowlan park can handle the traffic? Should we be adding an hour to the standard travel time to allow for parking etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭droppingball

Nowlan Park is ideal for Dublin fans coming off the motorway. If you come off at junction 8 the road off the motorway brings you straight to the ground as its on that side of the town, straight through the roundabout at the ring road. If you park along by the Toyota garage across from McDonalds you will have a ten minute walk to the stadium but you will be close to main road and get out very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 his holiness captain caveman

Good man cheers Not a ground I've been to before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,278 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I will be leaving good and early Kilkenny will be jammed with culchies, culchie comedians, foreign comedians and the comedians playing for laois! :)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Kilkenny is great place for a match. Been there lots of times over the years, including Dublin matches where there have been big crowds and getting in and out has never been a proble. You'd think some people were going to Azerbaijan ........

It also holds the distinction, along with Parnell, of having the closest pub to a county crowd. The Park Inn, directly across the road from the stand and O'Loughlin's end terrace. I remember that from my gargling days :-)

Great town. Unfortunately looks like I won't be able to go myself :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bruce Springsteen, a wedding & a 21st this weekend past. Another wedding, a Communion & serious Star Wars shenanigans down in Dingle the weekend before (including some serious carnage at Paudi's)....I'm not entirely sure I can survive a Dubs Bank Holiday weekend in Killkenny. With a heat wave added in, for good measure. And it's my birthday too. If I don't surface until some time in late August, don't be worried !

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Bruce Springsteen, a wedding & a 21st this weekend past. Another wedding, a Communion & serious Star Wars shenanigans down in Dingle the weekend before (including some serious carnage at Paudi's)....I'm not entirely sure I can survive a Dubs Bank Holiday weekend in Killkenny. With a heat wave added in, for good measure. And it's my birthday too. If I don't surface until some time in late August, don't be worried !

What sort of selfish bast@rds get married on the same day as Dublin matches?

Happened to me before in 2011 on day they hammered Tyrone. There was some amount of people gazing intently into their laps during the speeches :)

Anyone heading to Wexford later for the under 21s semi final against Wexford?

Wexford are favourites and on last year's form and their minors from last year deserve to be. However, it is a strong looking Dublin side with a few fellas with some senior experience under their belt so I'd give them a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

Just booked Dublin coach 20 quid return

Cant give out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Credit the sheep .. they did a great job for Saturday (coutesy Kilkenny GAA)

06ab3be53bab27992cbd33761a8faa34.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Looks great all right. Apparently the lads took a spin down to NP last Saturday & had a run around at 7pm, the exact time of throw in. Will be interesting to see how the setting sun affects the light & shadows on the pitch & if it affects the players sight lines. T'will be totally different to Croker. Can't wait !

Encouraging start from the 21's down in Wexico .. 5pts to 1 after 15 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭terryrogers

Dublin look comfortable, Wexford very wasteful as usual. Very careless tackle by O'Donnell there, you could see the Wexford chaps whole body crumple with change of motion, be very surprised if theres no rib/back injury there. Another good example of incompetent GAA refs unable to decipher between dangerous play & the old 'hard shoulder'.

Strong enough wind but hopefully they hang on. Ref is giving Wexford some ridiculously soft frees. A shoulder gets yellow card now!

Seán Treacy hurling out of his skin.

COYBIB!

Didn't realise the wind was as strong as it is .. lots of hard running to close them down out the field required

Looking good. Not even a card for breaking the stick across Treacy. They never lost that art anyway :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Just threw on the game there. Jaysus.

Was gonna stick a few on us last night as we were decent price. Damn.

I bet I'm the only one here looking for a mini Wexford revival - Wex +4.5 pts taken after 2nd goal :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭robbiezero

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I bet I'm the only one here looking for a mini Wexford revival - Wex +4.5 pts taken after 2nd goal :rolleyes:

No danger of it. They are brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭corny

Can't see it. Are Dublin playing well or have Wexford just lost the plot?

I backed them at 13/8 but cashed out to win half what I might have done.

I feel sort of disloyal :(

corny wrote: »
    Can't see it. Are Dublin playing well or have Wexford just lost the plot?

I think Dublin are playing ok. Its unusual to say that with them 10 points up, but they have been just ok. They are tackling hard and well up for it and Wexford are shocking bad.

Excellent win. Fair play to Fortune. He's gotten a bit of stick but he had them perfectly prepared tonight. Work rate and tackling were brilliant and forwards made great use of the ball against the wind. I suspect Wexford walked into a bit of an ambush. After hammering the Cats last year I don't think they took Dublin as a serious threat and never got into the game at all. Well, they weren't allowed to in fairness!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I backed them at 13/8 but cashed out to win half what I might have done.

I feel sort of disloyal :(

I was the only one looking for that last free to be pointed :mad: - replayed Wex +6.5

b611f2905412aa7c596adf25f8b7880c.png

Clear run to the All-Ireland now for ye anyway. Westmeath, Offaly and Antrim to play to get there.

robbiezero wrote: »
    Clear run to the All-Ireland now for ye anyway. Westmeath, Offaly and Antrim to play to get there.

Don't be saying that! I'd imagine that's exactly what had seeped into Wexford's heads.

Dublin look way too strong for the other Leinster teams - you left out Carlow by the way, which might be an error, just saying !!! - and are value at 2/5. They'll know what to expect from the Westies and are physically and hurling wise ahead of Offaly and Carlow.

After that, you just never know with Antrim. They ambushed Wexicans a few years ago but they won't have that physical edge on Dublin.

Truth be told, standard of Munster and Galway 21s has been vastly superior for most of last ten years so IF Dublin were to get that far they would be facing a huge task. But they can enjoy it for the time being, as there were plenty out to gut Fortune and the selectors had they been beaten. Sad but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Realbhoy

I think the leinster champions play Galway this year in the under 21 semi final.