Season 6 Episode 6 "Blood Of My Blood" - "Non book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think though that when Arya is just being Arya, with all her baggage and everything, that she's a lot more lethal. She has been pretending to be something that she's just not for a while now. Being a faceless assassin doesn't suit her because it's so impersonal. The things that have happened to Arya, the reasons why she wanted to be an assassin in the first place, are incredibly personal and that's what drives her vengeful feelings and makes her dangerous. I think seeing the play, meeting the actress who plays Cersei and thinking that she didn't deserve to die just reminded her that there are people who have really hurt her who actually do deserve to die and that she has to follow through on that. She might feel the same way about the waif. Arya can't shake who she is or her history and she's much better, much more ruthless in every respect, when she's just being herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Inside the episode for this week:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

It must be very far away from all the other shenanigans because of his brother's comment at the dinner table. That father of his! Dreadful man. That very last scene though left me feeling uneasy.
    The actor who played Sam's dad absolutely f***ing nailed the 'horrible b*stard' routine though, I'd have put him right up there with Ser Allister, The Hound, etc for sheer ars*holery just off his few lines. The highlight of the episode, and one of the highlight acting scenes of the season so far (still giving it to Varys with the Sons of the Harpee informant woman though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

For plausibilities sake though, she shouldn't.

The Waif has been kicking her ass badly, even when unarmed against the staff-bearing Arya....

The program makers have given us no indication that she stands any chance..... of course that doesn't matter anymore!
    The writers will find a way.

The waif was told not to make her suffer, but she will want to.

Arya never had needle in those fights. The Waif will ignore her instructions and want to humiliate Arya by beating her with a staff and end up getting the pointy end of needle for her trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

J. Marston wrote: »
    Arya did learn how to change faces. Remember how she killed Meryn Trant?

She's gonna kill the waif and ransack the House of Black & White.

yup

DeVore wrote: »
    It felt like a bit of a filler episode but at least stuff got moved forwards. Amazingly Eujon (?) is building just the right number of ships for Khalessi and the Dothraki.... neat that!
    I'm guessing Theon and [sister, feck... forgot her name!] reach their first, get Dany onside, and smash Euron & co when they arrive, take the ships and head over. I'm hoping it's soon but not holding my breath - ending the season on a long shot of the ships setting sail from Essos would give them massive hype coming into next season though, I would reckon far, far beyond anything that has ended a previous season (The Jon Snow thing died down after a few weeks, and many of us called that he was not dead before the credits finished rolling last year).

Another prediction: Sansa just met Jon at the Wall, and they're looking to push south to (among other things) get Rickon back. We know now that Bran is quickly heading back toward the wall on horseback with his long presumed dead uncle (who I think will refuse to so much as pass under The Wall's entrance way out of principle of his oath, which should be pretty emotionally built up). Finally, Arya is going to have to bail ASAP after she kills the girl with the very punchable face, and head to the safest place possible. Braavos to White Harbor which is just south of Winterfell is pretty easy to make it to (see map) and even if she goes in from the Fingers she can get there from the Vale now. We might be getting a big Stark family reunion, but my guess is they'll increasingly tease is at the back end of this season and have it happen early/mid next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

All say after that episode is Tommen is a fcukstick
    Can the fire witch bring Geoffrey back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

For plausibilities sake though, she shouldn't.

The Waif has been kicking her ass badly, even when unarmed against the staff-bearing Arya....

The program makers have given us no indication that she stands any chance..... of course that doesn't matter anymore!
    The writers will find a way.

Yeah but when she walks in work her sticks Ayra is gonna shank her good style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Rubbish episode, I'd say one of the worst of the series so far, I hope they get on track soon because that was awful shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Someone pieced together Bran's versions of Jamie and the Mad King

tumblr_o7ywjpQK2m1s9bcqro2_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Also all the scenes from the visions here

http://imgur.com/gallery/5WMdv/new

Dragons shadow flying over Kings Landing im guessing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Yeah, it did jump about a bit. Storytelling at different speeds, quality of acting and probably different directors on many different location made it feel a bit odd at times. Interesting to see Walder Frey back and a first look at Sam's family.

My big gripe that bothers me here, is the apparent reduction of the numbers of Wights even after their 'victory' at Hardhome. What looked like tens of thousands on the shoreline as Jon departed, became a few thousand at most when the Night King found Bran, and now a few dozens chasing down Bran and Meera. OK, so not all the wights might have gave chase but the producers must keep what we see on screen consistant throughout the series.

I understand the expense of extra's and quality CGI plays a part but the show has felt less 'epic' recently. That criticism applies to Kings Landing as well. There should be huge numbers of soldiers in that city but all we see is a few dozen on screen at any one time.

Braavos - What was the point in the end? Such a huge deal was made of when Arya used the coin at the end of the fourth season. Jaqen H'ger became the mentor and she gained his respect but... now he wants her dead! Strange lay out to that story.

Ah Benjen! You know I all almost feel for the actor who plays him. I can imagine D and D, after those first few episodes, telling him to hang in there, that he'll play a crucial role later in the show... just five years later!

Oh, anyone else notice the head transplant when Jaime rode the horse up the steps? I found that amusing...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Small but irritating continuity error - he's got his post-hand-chopped-off short hair in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ryoishin

Arya returned to where she knows she's in danger.

She's been training blind and now in a room with one candle where she knows they are coming for her. I hope she gives the Bane speech from batman as she kills them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

I suppose we should have guessed that they were never gonna film a full blown horse battle in the middle of old Dubrovnik or where that was. But any way. There was something very lacking and false about the whole scene but i think its because it because the High Sparrow was playing poker face with Jamie and Maergery is definitely playing games too. In another swope the Lannister influence on kings landing is non existent, christ Kevan is so bloody week.

Anyone who wants to bitch about them teasing big fights hasn't been watching this show, the entire of season 3 was building up to be a massive battle at the end but then whole war was ended in the space of 5 mins.

As for the complaints for about Randall Tarly no having recent context, what Sam said about him in season 1 is still etched in my memory. The show can't always be dedicating time to remind people things from previous seasons.

As for Dany arsing around the desert, she started with nothing for feck sake and Quaithe did say in season 2 she had to go back to go fowards.

"The Crowd was ****" was definitely a Withnail and I easter egg i think we were all hoping.

The really should have Benjens voice a bit more f'ed up from the cold you could tell that Geordie accent under that cloak straight off.

Great to see Walder back , hope it isn't short lived.

lbj666 wrote: »
    As for Dany arsing around the desert, she started with nothing for feck sake and Quaithe did say in season 2 she had to go back to go fowards.
    Is anyone else thinking Quaithe was the Mereen Red Woman in disguise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Thought it was quite a poor episode.

Getting just about sick of episodes ending with Dany giving some lame speech. Seems to have happened a good few times now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Taking Heartsbane confused me. Obviously Valyrian steel would be advantageous in the north but Sam's mission is to head further south to Oldtown. I can't see him going against express orders from Jon.

It's a Freudian impulse on Sam's part. The sword represents his father's manhood, which Sam is appropriating for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

For me the most interesting part of the episode was the High Sparrow stuff. I think he's a fantastic character and I always enjoy his scenes.

Margaery is clearly scheming and, as said above, she's much better at it than Cersei. I'm not convinced she'll out-maneuver the High Sparrow, though. I wasn't too sure if she was happy to see the Tyrell soldiers show up or if she was afraid they'd wreck her plan.

Tommen is so stupid he makes me angry. The Lannisters/Baratheons obviously put all their eggs in the Joffrey basket when they were thinking about the future of the throne.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What's the point of the blackfish, Frey etc. story? Can anyone sum up what we know and hire it relates to the rest of the story?

Billy86 wrote: »
    Is anyone else thinking Quaithe was the Mereen Red Woman in disguise?

Its different actresses anyway, i dunno, Quaithe was in Qarth and the place had lot of Magicy stuff happening there like Pyat Pree not necessarily lord of light stuff.

What's the point of the blackfish, Frey etc. story? Can anyone sum up what we know and hire it relates to the rest of the story?
    I'm thinking it's a easier way to squish Ramsey quick, though that in turn would likely lead to Littlefinger presenting himself as far more dangerous than any Bolton ever was. Also the possibly introduction of a few characters, but can't say anything further because of massive book spoiler potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Billy86 wrote: »
    Small but irritating continuity error - he's got his post-hand-chopped-off short hair in that.

It was ~20 years ago, he might have had short hair then :pac:

lbj666 wrote: »
    Its different actresses anyway, i dunno, Quaithe was in Qarth and the place had lot of Magicy stuff happening there like Pyat Pree not necessarily lord of light stuff.
    I read a good theory on it that I'll look for when I get the chance, but it covers a lot of that. So here's something incredibly lazy in the mean time - http://www.aminoapps.com/page/thrones/3871273/is-quaithe-somehow-connected-to-rhllor . :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Thought it was another damn good episode until Dannys at the end. A bit too much screen time given to Sam too.

The CGI though, Jesus it was bad at the end. I hope its because they're saving the budget for something big in the final episodes.

Vojera wrote: »
    For me the most interesting part of the episode was the High Sparrow stuff. I think he's a fantastic character and I always enjoy his scenes.

Margaery is clearly scheming and, as said above, she's much better at it than Cersei. I'm not convinced she'll out-maneuver the High Sparrow, though. I wasn't too sure if she was happy to see the Tyrell soldiers show up or if she was afraid they'd wreck her plan.

Tommen is so stupid he makes me angry. The Lannisters/Baratheons obviously put all their eggs in the Joffrey basket when they were thinking about the future of the throne.

Don't you mean the Tywin basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,106 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Found it strange that the reason Benjen went North was to search for White Walkers.... why the fook would you go searching for White Walkers?

rawn wrote: »
    It was ~20 years ago, he might have had short hair then :pac:

I know, but he looks older with the short hair and it seems to have symbolised his change from knight/warrior to politician/diplomat. Just thought it wouldn't have killed them to slap a wig on him for what were a few split second flashbacks. But not a big deal... because it was a split second flashback. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,242 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Well Jon probably can't take back Winterfell without the Blackfish's help, and keeping the Freys in power helps the Lannisters/Bolton, so it's really just a precursor/extension of the Jon/Ramsey fight.