Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 6 Episode 6 "Blood Of My Blood" - "Non book readers"

• 29-05-2016 8:18pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Pre empting the upcoming episode post by including some highlights from the charter. I'll try to set up each episode in advance each week; thread will be unlocked on Sunday evening.

This is ONLY about the specific episode shown on TV! No information from any other source, interviews etc. are allowed to be posted with the one exception that SPOILER tagged lore from the DVD releases and interviews will be allowed in the thread. Such information has to directly relate to the episode however and be clearly marked as for example "DVD lore from Season X relating to matter Y"
    Lore and conclusions go here

This means book readers are allowed to post but they can not reference ANYTHING from the books.

In addition anyone picking up 3 yellow cards will be banned from the forum for the current season; in case of serious enough transgressions the ban may come earlier than 3 cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The CGI at the end there. Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Weaker episode but had it good spots. Stream I had was ****ing atrocious for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Benjin is looking well considering he was stabbed in the heart with dragonglass.

Decent episode overall, pity we didn't get to see Mace Tyrell sing the high sparrow into submission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Weaker episode but had it good spots. Stream I had was ****ing atrocious for me

Had to make up some of Daenerys' dialog because the FPS was less than an xbox in my stream.

So Benjen is a bit ****ed by the looks of things. Disappointed we didnt get to see Margaery get shamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Copy paste speech by Dany.

Sam and Gilly got way too much screentime. Time that could be spent on the romance everyone is actually interested in, Tormund and Brienne.

Riverlands is back, about time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Bit of a mixed episode for me on the one hand.
    Mad king flashbacks yay and prove Jaime told the truth, the wildfire has future potential or could just be a reference to Jaime destroying the pyromancers cache to save everyone.
    Then there's yet another Dany speech I get that its set up but god just get to Meereen and then leave already.

Lastly dear god Tommen, you have cotton balls for brains used by your Great Uncle and the High Sparrow, he has no common sense what so ever. High Sparrow wants to control him and so does Kevan but Margaery is either insane, brainwashed or conniving. Just waiting to see where this goes, it'll probably come to a head when Cersei faces her trial.

Walder seems same as ever, thinks everyones laughing at him, obsessed with the status of his house. He seems to be going ahead with the Edmure plot but I don't know whether they will add the wife plot line too. Everyone may or may not be laughing at him but considering what we have been led to beleive about Westeros and their codes of honour no one likes him and would turn against him if they had the chance. Not only did he kill a guest, he also slaughtered his liege lords family at his wedding and kept him captive for years. Doubt he'll last much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Christ, Tommen is so ****ing feeble-minded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

too many stories running connsecutively, which means too little progression in each story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Danys rousing speech at the end there really falls flat since we all know it'll take another 6 seasons to get her to Westeros.

Good to have Benjen back though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭leonil7

khaleesi really knows how to make a motivational speech :)
    dn8776a92vtliwf6g.jpg

I found this week's episode to be very frantic. There was an awful lot going on. I was surprised how wealthy Sam's family were. His mum and sister were certainly not what I was expecting. I imagined his home town to be similar to Winterfell yet smaller. His mum older and much plainer.

It must be very far away from all the other shenanigans because of his brother's comment at the dinner table. That father of his! Dreadful man. That very last scene though left me feeling uneasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I surely cannot be the only one that thought that was the Hound who rescued Bran? Sounded the fecking same and everything.

Too late to stay up for a god damn mickey tease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

I found this week's episode to be very frantic. There was an awful lot going on. I was surprised how wealthy Sam's family were. His mum and sister were certainly not what I was expecting. I imagined his home town to be similar to Winterfell yet smaller. His mum older and much plainer

Stannis (not a man to express admiration easily) mentioned that Randall was the only general to defeat Robert (who was a military beast) in battle and they have a valerian steel sword (not even the Lannisters had one until recently) so it's safe enough to assume they're a massively influential house. I reckon they're just a step below the High Lords. I hope Randall has a big part to play in the wider story before too long- his character and actor look excellent- a sort of Tywin/Stannis style badass.

I was hoping for a full flashback scene of the assassination of Aerys by a young Jamie instead of the jumble we got- we may get it yet. I'm thinking "burn them all" has a similar time-bending significance to "hold the door".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Was a very strange episode in that it covered a lot of stories but not a whole lot happened in any of them.

It has set it up for the next couple of episodes though. I suspect the greyjoys and khaleesi's stories will merge shortly. Arya is going to have to escape so I imagine her story has to merge with another story soon.

I think the introduction of time travel and the 'hold the door' thing could be game of thrones 'jump the shark' moment however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

Jesus if Khaleesi isnt on a ship in the next episode im going to be pissed, Shes been marching around Deserts with dragons since season 1 !!!

p.s Why is no one in Kings landing pissing themselves scared at the idea of a Targaryn coming over with Three Dragons!? ??

Mace Tyrell in full battle regalia was a sight to behold. Truly a man to be feared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

shane9689 wrote: »
    p.s Why is no one in Kings landing pissing themselves scared at the idea of a Targaryn coming over with Three Dragons!? ??

Same reason they're not pissing themselves scared of an army of the dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

PressRun wrote: »
    Christ, Tommen is so ****ing feeble-minded.

Yeah, but Margaery isn't. She's every bit as manipulative as Cersei, nowhere near as shortsighted, and has a far better game face. No doubt she's got the High Sparrow fooled, and I'd suspect that as soon as she's got Tommen alone she'll tell of the abuses she suffered in the dungeons. Her talk with Loras definitely spurned her into action, she really does love him and she wants to see him free, but while Cersei might be all sound and thunder in her vengeful proclaimations, Margaery is calculating and can wrap just about anyone around her little finger. Just think how she had Joffrey going.

That right there is why the High Sparrow is ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Decent enough for an episode mid series which main job was to set up the end of series.
    Will defo watch it again tonight as it was a little busy watching earlier.

Sam bringing more Valarian steel back north by the look of things, wonder will he go back to castle black or elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Decent enough for an episode mid series which main job was to set up the end of series.
    Will defo watch it again tonight as it was a little busy watching earlier.

Sam bringing more Valarian steel back north by the look of things, wonder will he go back to castle black or elsewhere.

Taking Heartsbane confused me. Obviously Valyrian steel would be advantageous in the north but Sam's mission is to head further south to Oldtown. I can't see him going against express orders from Jon.

Links234 wrote: »
    Yeah, but Margaery isn't. She's every bit as manipulative as Cersei, nowhere near as shortsighted, and has a far better game face. No doubt she's got the High Sparrow fooled, and I'd suspect that as soon as she's got Tommen alone she'll tell of the abuses she suffered in the dungeons. Her talk with Loras definitely spurned her into action, she really does love him and she wants to see him free, but while Cersei might be all sound and thunder in her vengeful proclaimations, Margaery is calculating and can wrap just about anyone around her little finger. Just think how she had Joffrey going.

That right there is why the High Sparrow is ****ed.

Tbh, I think they're all ****ed - the Tyrells, the High Sparrow, most definitely Tommen and possibly the other remaining Lannisters. Their power struggle in King's Landing feels fairly irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

Kings landing is ****ed, i think Jamie might come out unscaved, but everyone else will be pigs to the slaughter when Danearys comes flying in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

This week was an odd one.
    Fine in spots, but lots of problems.

- Benji is back and worse for the ware.
    Bran's visions was quite cool... we see the mad king (Danny's father) getting killed by Jamie.
    As predicted from last week, Bran was extricated far too easily.

- The hostility of Sam's father.... we knew it was there from previous seasons, however when its presented before us there is no context.
    Without any context or reason it seems petty & trivial & fundamentally pointless.
    Sam takes the family sword... presumably daddy could have his head cleaved for this in a day, obviously the show runners won't let that happen though, so who cares?

- A girl proved to be not up for the job... quelle suprise!
    The musical cues here were all over the place... the crecendo rising to when Arya blowing out her candle was ridiculous.

- So, the Sparrow continues to act the politician and sways the hearts of the feeble minded.
    Because Margery's conversion was pretty much instantaneous & again, without context, suffice to assume she is faking it in order to damage House Lannister.
    Jamie's similarly instantaneous & more-or-less reasonless expulsion from the Kings Guard was poor.

- Walder, still alive.... to be seen if relevant.
    We've seen a lot of foreshadowing that matters not a jot.

- Over to Danny in the desert.... sigh.
    We know she now commands the loyalty of the the Dothraki.... otherwise they would not be marching obediently behind her.
    Want to bring Drogon back to hang out... that's fine.
    However to use it as some device to deliver an 'Any given sunday' rallying speech was an utter waste of time.
    She already commands their loyalty!
    So this speech was completely redundant!

I felt this episode was the weakest of the season by some distance.

Pacing was poor, editing felt off.... musical cues seemed wrong in several places.

I don't mind the 'setting up the chess pieces' episodes... but this one was just done poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

An awful lot of conflict being teased followed by nothing.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

At least Arya is back on track, though I'm not sure what she's learned for the whole time she's been there... how to get beaten up with sticks perhaps? That waif is totally toast though haha (mind you, how do you defeat an assassin who could be anyone?) ... I had been looking forward to her getting access to the many faces but now it seems like she wont which makes the whole thing seem a little pointless. Still, more Arya is good!

It felt like a bit of a filler episode but at least stuff got moved forwards. Amazingly Eujon (?) is building just the right number of ships for Khalessi and the Dothraki.... neat that! I don't think Bran is going to ever warg into anyone else in his dreams after what happened to Hodor, so I don't think "time travel" will make any difference to the story. (Its not time-travel anyway, he had already warged into Hodor in the past, he didn't change his present by doing so, he merely reiterated what had already been established in his time line, so... no deviation from the time line, no timetravel. No one else is walking around like Hodor so, we can pretty much assume he wont be doing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

DeVore wrote: »
    At least Arya is back on track, though I'm not sure what she's learned for the whole time she's been there... how to get beaten up with sticks perhaps? That waif is totally toast though haha (mind you, how do you defeat an assassin who could be anyone?) ... I had been looking forward to her getting access to the many faces but now it seems like she wont which makes the whole thing seem a little pointless. Still, more Arya is good!

It felt like a bit of a filler episode but at least stuff got moved forwards. Amazingly Eujon (?) is building just the right number of ships for Khalessi and the Dothraki.... neat that! I don't think Bran is going to ever warg into anyone else in his dreams after what happened to Hodor, so I don't think "time travel" will make any difference to the story. (Its not time-travel anyway, he had already warged into Hodor in the past, he didn't change his present by doing so, he merely reiterated what had already been established in his time line, so... no deviation from the time line, no timetravel. No one else is walking around like Hodor so, we can pretty much assume he wont be doing it again.

Except the mad King ! Money is on bran warging into him !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Daenarys

empacher wrote: »
    too many stories running connsecutively, which means too little progression in each story.

I agree. I preferred when we nearly had to wait a whole season to find out where someone had gone or what they were doing....rather than seeing 3 minute clips of nearly all the storylines currently in play....no f€ckin intrigue! I'll watch it again tonight though :pac:

Arya did learn how to change faces. Remember how she killed Meryn Trant?

She's gonna kill the waif and ransack the House of Black & White.

J. Marston wrote: »
    She's gonna kill the waif

For plausibilities sake though, she shouldn't.

The Waif has been kicking her ass badly, even when unarmed against the staff-bearing Arya....

The program makers have given us no indication that she stands any chance..... of course that doesn't matter anymore!
    The writers will find a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Benjen: Come with me if you want to live. You have to understand the dead are out there. They can't be bargained with, they can't be reasoned with and they absolutely will not stop, until you are dead... too.

Totally skippable episode. Someone misses the episode and you can say "Oh right, remember that build-up with Margery and Loras? Yeah, forget about that. That build-up with Arya going to assassinate the actress? Yeah, she doesn't. Sam goes back home, you can imagine how that goes. Apparently the Blackfish - remember him: yeah he took Riverrun. No, no we didn't see that. No, we don't see him either: we do see his nephew though, being held by the Freys. Oh yeah, Benjen shows up and cooks rabbit."

There's not much wrong about the episode, but boy does it feel like they are playing for time. I want to see Sansa planning revenge. I want to see sparrows being chopped down. I want to see Daenerys actually doing something. I want to see what Westeros looks like in the wake of the war of Five Kings.

Daenerys:
    wait a minute, my dragon wifi just connected.
    Daario: What, out here in the middle of no-where?
    Daenerys: Yeah, Drogon network has got pretty good coverage, it's just that Vaes Dothrak doesn't have good signal. A bit like Connemara.

Child Of Forest WhiteWalker Manual - if your whitewalker stops functioning try turning your dragonglass off and on again.

I think though that when Arya is just being Arya, with all her baggage and everything, that she's a lot more lethal. She has been pretending to be something that she's just not for a while now. Being a faceless assassin doesn't suit her because it's so impersonal. The things that have happened to Arya, the reasons why she wanted to be an assassin in the first place, are incredibly personal and that's what drives her vengeful feelings and makes her dangerous. I think seeing the play, meeting the actress who plays Cersei and thinking that she didn't deserve to die just reminded her that there are people who have really hurt her who actually do deserve to die and that she has to follow through on that. She might feel the same way about the waif. Arya can't shake who she is or her history and she's much better, much more ruthless in every respect, when she's just being herself.

Inside the episode for this week:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

It must be very far away from all the other shenanigans because of his brother's comment at the dinner table. That father of his! Dreadful man. That very last scene though left me feeling uneasy.
    The actor who played Sam's dad absolutely f***ing nailed the 'horrible b*stard' routine though, I'd have put him right up there with Ser Allister, The Hound, etc for sheer ars*holery just off his few lines. The highlight of the episode, and one of the highlight acting scenes of the season so far (still giving it to Varys with the Sons of the Harpee informant woman though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

The Waif has been kicking her ass badly, even when unarmed against the staff-bearing Arya....

The program makers have given us no indication that she stands any chance..... of course that doesn't matter anymore!

The waif was told not to make her suffer, but she will want to.

Arya never had needle in those fights. The Waif will ignore her instructions and want to humiliate Arya by beating her with a staff and end up getting the pointy end of needle for her trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

J. Marston wrote: »
    Arya did learn how to change faces. Remember how she killed Meryn Trant?

She's gonna kill the waif and ransack the House of Black & White.

yup

It felt like a bit of a filler episode but at least stuff got moved forwards. Amazingly Eujon (?) is building just the right number of ships for Khalessi and the Dothraki.... neat that!
    I'm guessing Theon and [sister, feck... forgot her name!] reach their first, get Dany onside, and smash Euron & co when they arrive, take the ships and head over. I'm hoping it's soon but not holding my breath - ending the season on a long shot of the ships setting sail from Essos would give them massive hype coming into next season though, I would reckon far, far beyond anything that has ended a previous season (The Jon Snow thing died down after a few weeks, and many of us called that he was not dead before the credits finished rolling last year).

Another prediction: Sansa just met Jon at the Wall, and they're looking to push south to (among other things) get Rickon back. We know now that Bran is quickly heading back toward the wall on horseback with his long presumed dead uncle (who I think will refuse to so much as pass under The Wall's entrance way out of principle of his oath, which should be pretty emotionally built up). Finally, Arya is going to have to bail ASAP after she kills the girl with the very punchable face, and head to the safest place possible. Braavos to White Harbor which is just south of Winterfell is pretty easy to make it to (see map) and even if she goes in from the Fingers she can get there from the Vale now. We might be getting a big Stark family reunion, but my guess is they'll increasingly tease is at the back end of this season and have it happen early/mid next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

All say after that episode is Tommen is a fcukstick
    Can the fire witch bring Geoffrey back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Yeah but when she walks in work her sticks Ayra is gonna shank her good style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Rubbish episode, I'd say one of the worst of the series so far, I hope they get on track soon because that was awful shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Someone pieced together Bran's versions of Jamie and the Mad King

tumblr_o7ywjpQK2m1s9bcqro2_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Also all the scenes from the visions here

http://imgur.com/gallery/5WMdv/new

Dragons shadow flying over Kings Landing im guessing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Yeah, it did jump about a bit. Storytelling at different speeds, quality of acting and probably different directors on many different location made it feel a bit odd at times. Interesting to see Walder Frey back and a first look at Sam's family.

My big gripe that bothers me here, is the apparent reduction of the numbers of Wights even after their 'victory' at Hardhome. What looked like tens of thousands on the shoreline as Jon departed, became a few thousand at most when the Night King found Bran, and now a few dozens chasing down Bran and Meera. OK, so not all the wights might have gave chase but the producers must keep what we see on screen consistant throughout the series.

I understand the expense of extra's and quality CGI plays a part but the show has felt less 'epic' recently. That criticism applies to Kings Landing as well. There should be huge numbers of soldiers in that city but all we see is a few dozen on screen at any one time.

Braavos - What was the point in the end? Such a huge deal was made of when Arya used the coin at the end of the fourth season. Jaqen H'ger became the mentor and she gained his respect but... now he wants her dead! Strange lay out to that story.

Ah Benjen! You know I all almost feel for the actor who plays him. I can imagine D and D, after those first few episodes, telling him to hang in there, that he'll play a crucial role later in the show... just five years later!

Oh, anyone else notice the head transplant when Jaime rode the horse up the steps? I found that amusing...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Small but irritating continuity error - he's got his post-hand-chopped-off short hair in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

Arya returned to where she knows she's in danger.

She's been training blind and now in a room with one candle where she knows they are coming for her. I hope she gives the Bane speech from batman as she kills them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭lbj666

I suppose we should have guessed that they were never gonna film a full blown horse battle in the middle of old Dubrovnik or where that was. But any way. There was something very lacking and false about the whole scene but i think its because it because the High Sparrow was playing poker face with Jamie and Maergery is definitely playing games too. In another swope the Lannister influence on kings landing is non existent, christ Kevan is so bloody week.

Anyone who wants to bitch about them teasing big fights hasn't been watching this show, the entire of season 3 was building up to be a massive battle at the end but then whole war was ended in the space of 5 mins.

As for the complaints for about Randall Tarly no having recent context, what Sam said about him in season 1 is still etched in my memory. The show can't always be dedicating time to remind people things from previous seasons.

As for Dany arsing around the desert, she started with nothing for feck sake and Quaithe did say in season 2 she had to go back to go fowards.

"The Crowd was ****" was definitely a Withnail and I easter egg i think we were all hoping.

The really should have Benjens voice a bit more f'ed up from the cold you could tell that Geordie accent under that cloak straight off.

Great to see Walder back , hope it isn't short lived.

lbj666 wrote: »
    As for Dany arsing around the desert, she started with nothing for feck sake and Quaithe did say in season 2 she had to go back to go fowards.
    Is anyone else thinking Quaithe was the Mereen Red Woman in disguise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Thought it was quite a poor episode.

Getting just about sick of episodes ending with Dany giving some lame speech. Seems to have happened a good few times now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Taking Heartsbane confused me. Obviously Valyrian steel would be advantageous in the north but Sam's mission is to head further south to Oldtown. I can't see him going against express orders from Jon.

It's a Freudian impulse on Sam's part. The sword represents his father's manhood, which Sam is appropriating for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

For me the most interesting part of the episode was the High Sparrow stuff. I think he's a fantastic character and I always enjoy his scenes.

Margaery is clearly scheming and, as said above, she's much better at it than Cersei. I'm not convinced she'll out-maneuver the High Sparrow, though. I wasn't too sure if she was happy to see the Tyrell soldiers show up or if she was afraid they'd wreck her plan.

Tommen is so stupid he makes me angry. The Lannisters/Baratheons obviously put all their eggs in the Joffrey basket when they were thinking about the future of the throne.