Canadian ambassador tackles protestor, eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Protestor on public property I assume?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

h2005 wrote: »
    Massive over reaction by the ambassador and probably actually is assault. Why hadn't the many gardai that were there intervened? Had the man actually committed any offence? Next time someone protests and I don't agree with it can I act the same way?

Private function ? Private property ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That's the kind of hot head we need as garda commissioner

Do you think he would have unnarmed gardai riding around on bicycles in the middle of the shooting gallery that is the north inner city if he was in charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Cienciano wrote: »
    I like what he did, but neither a or b apply here. Breach of the peace maybe, but you can argue any protest is breach of the peace

I get the impression that a lot of Irish people would love nothing more than to see all forms of protest banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

I don't know the answer to either

State function so I guess a public function no?

RayM wrote: »
    I get the impression that a lot of Irish people would love nothing more than to see all forms of protest banned.

Nope just not the time or place for it, I would expect the same to happen if it was a guy at the 1916 remembrance for the Irish that died in 1916.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Canadian ambassador is an asshole.

given his gung ho history he probably relishes this type of confrontation.
    pr*ck

vicwatson wrote: »
    State function so I guess a public function no?

Invite only so nope.

Cemetery is looked after by the OPW according to wiki

Nope just not the time or place for it, I would expect the same to happen if it was a guy at the 1916 remembrance for the Irish that died in 1916.

If a commemoration honouring British soldiers who died in 1916 isn't the right place for a peaceful protest, then I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

What sort of petty minded individual goes to an event like that just to make a scene anyway? Having a commemoration like this shows how much we've grown as a nation over the last 100 years. Protesting against it just shows that guy up to be a throwback from the Dark Ages who really needs to get over himself. The ambassador deserves to be applauded for removing that idiot.

Invite only so nope.

Who makes these stupid rules about who gets invited, Gubberment thinking they are above us peasants again. Elitism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭testicles

If a commemoration honouring British soldiers who died in 1916 isn't the right place for a peaceful protest, then I don't know what is.

So you would be fine with some nut shouting at the opposite event ?

If they felt strongly enough about it, then yes, absolutely. You don't have to agree with someone's viewpoint to accept their right to express it.

Who makes these stupid rules about who gets invited, Gubberment thinking they are above us peasants again. Elitism.

If it's private property then it's an entirely different issue. And would you expect to turn up to any private function and cause issues without being removed ? My opinion is not based on it being British soldiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

It's probably for the best. If everyone was invited, then more scumbags would surely be present.

If they felt strongly enough about it, then yes, absolutely. You don't have to agree with someone's viewpoint to accept their right to express it.

True but I treat remembrance events with decorum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'm getting old. I pretty much disagree with everything in this story.
    I disagree with a ceremony to honour British soldiers.
    I disagree in which the way this guy protests.
    I disagree with how the Canadian ambassador tackled him.
    I disagree with how the garda present stood around doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Many of them were Dubliners themselves.

If it's private property then it's an entirely different issue. And would you expect to turn up to any private function and cause issues without being removed ? My opinion is not based on it being British soldiers.

OPW is state owned

So is the Dail, Try causing trouble in there ?

Re: the wider issue of commemorating the British dead of 1916, I'll just leave this here. J R R Tolkien had it right, and he was in the trenches of WW1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Cienciano wrote: »
    I'm getting old. I pretty much disagree with everything in this story.
    I disagree with a ceremony to honour British soldiers.
    I disagree in which the way this guy protests.
    I disagree with how the Canadian ambassador tackled him.
    I disagree with how the garda present stood around doing nothing.

I must be as old as ya as I agree with everything you posted :D

if you look at the rte news clip you will ,he has to be a garda walking beside yer man with his hand on his holster, well I hope its a holster...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

Many of them were Dubliners themselves.

And hadn't conscription already been introduced in Britain by 1916? That, and the fact many of those who had willingly signed up were expecting to go to France not Dublin. Funny how if they died in the trenches they'd be heroes, but since they were unfortunate enough to end up in Dublin, they're "imperialist scum". Point is it's not like they wanted to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Zaph wrote: »
    What sort of petty minded individual goes to an event like that just to make a scene anyway? Having a commemoration like this shows how much we've grown as a nation over the last 100 years. Protesting against it just shows that guy up to be a throwback from the Dark Ages who really needs to get over himself. The ambassador deserves to be applauded for removing that idiot.

Probably some barstool republican. A member of da brits out brigade who supports Man Utd etc etc.

Some really gormless people out there. Sinn Fein are hoovering them up though. Comical Gerry knows how to appeal to morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,547 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

My opinion (as a resident of Canada) is that our ambassador would be well advised to let Irish security handle a situation like this, basically it's none of our business either way and as there was no imminent threat presented, I am not sure what makes him the person expected to intervene or act in any way. His job is just to represent Canada at events, not to provide security (as it was in his more celebrated intervention in Ottawa). You have to bear in mind that the man was given the post as a sort of ceremonial thank you for what was widely seen as a heroic action, so at least that tells you being sent to Dublin is considered a good thing here for what that's worth (not sure if the reverse would be true and it shouldn't be either :) ).

So is the Dail, Try causing trouble in there ?

Just sayin, it's public property.