Whats the most boring place in ireland ?

• 24-05-2016 11:53PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Id say cor na mona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,384 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The Backwards Man's local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

This thread.

Ireland is what you make of it. Cop on, go to bed. Get up earlier. Go for a run.

I don't know...

Ray D'arcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Jaysus what next, Irish towns that only levitate on Thursdays. :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Muff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Cornamona in Co. Galway. They used to run a really crap Gaeltacht summer camp over there. It was terrible, stuck in a parish Hall for 3 weeks playing indoor soccer.

Anorak34c wrote: »

Actually I have discovered a minor paradox. Kinvara is actually the most boring and the most exciting place in Ireland - depending on whether there is a gig on there.

I have seen so many gigs there - with the most wonderful after parties. From Charis to the night John Martyn played there - and man what a party that was.

To the night I went there when there was no gig on and it was 6 houses and a tiny broken down little pier - and an ice cream store with a sign saying "be back next week".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Actually I have discovered a minor paradox. Kinvara is actually the most boring and the most exciting place in Ireland - depending on whether there is a gig on there.

I have seen so many gigs there - with the most wonderful after parties. From Charis to the night John Martyn played there - and man what a party that was.

To the night I went there when there was no gig on and it was 6 houses and a tiny broken down little pier - and an ice cream store with a sign saying "be back next week".

Pilltown Co Kilkenny,totally misleading placename.Never again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

That town where they have all the threads about the most boring or ugly or depressing town in Ireland.

Dublin, I think it's called...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Now there's an order!

Did you go back the following week, like you were told?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

If there was a most boring place, like a scientifically established most boring place I'd like to go there. I imagine I'd be excited to go there. I'd arrive there, full of excitement for visiting the most boring place in Ireland, and then I'd arrive, and be bored. And I'd be really disappointed. And that's exactly what's wrong with me.

Now there's an order!

Did you go back the following week, like you were told?

Wellllllll - it might have been delayed quite a few months. Perhaps over a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ruu wrote: »

I wish I could thank this twice. My little doggie is called rico informally, his proper title being Rico Rodriguez Bailey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

It may be wealthy and safe but large parts of South Co Dublin are pretty staid, places like Booterstown or Monkstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Lyaiera wrote: »
    If there was a most boring place, like a scientifically established most boring place I'd like to go there. I imagine I'd be excited to go there. I'd arrive there, full of excitement for visiting the most boring place in Ireland, and then I'd arrive, and be bored. And I'd be really disappointed. And that's exactly what's wrong with me.

Kindof like a Guinness Book of records type thing!? I bet a thrawl through newspapers etc would reveal someplace that never gets a mention and has never had anything remotely interesting hqppen or emerge in a place.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Front row of The Voice Of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Anorak34c wrote:
    Id say cor na mona

Depends if The Joyce Country Ceili Band are about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Carrigstown otherwise known as Fair City

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

the midlands all of it....boring & dismal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Archeron

Lyaiera wrote: »

Or, you get there and your excitement about being in the most boring place in Ireland is just enough to lift the town spirit so it's no longer actually the most boring and they lose their title, get really angry and then attack you with sacks of doorknobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

The Motorways. Cut into the ground with nothing to look at except the middle concrete boundary. Grim and Boring boring boring

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

I would say Lucan, because irrelevant to its proximity to the city centre, the actual town is so fractured wi feck all to do unless you get a kick out of housing estates.

That said, nothing happens there until something massive happens. Such as a bomb or robbery or an execution. But the day to day - tedium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Pilltown Co Kilkenny,totally misleading placename.Never again....

Only one l, piltown ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bandwagonesque

RTE studios.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Wherever boring people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Shannon - You will sometimes see bewildered American tourists wandering around the "town centre" wondering where it is. The locals are a right odd bunch too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Riders Of Rohan

Achill Island is a bit meh after the first day.