If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Happy Pears twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

kidneyfan wrote: »
    If you put yourself out there as a personality some people won't like you. I can't stand Kathryn Thomas (for all I know she could be lovely in real life).

As the saying goes: If nobody hates what you do you then nobody loves what you do either.

I don't usually indulge in gossip (honestly...) but I've met them a few times and it definitely wasn't only the organic pesto that had them so chilled out... man. One of them went into a big spiel about the psychedelic colours of the taste rainbow.

They're a couple of lovely hippies who are doing their best to advance the idea of healthy eating. Fair play to that. Ireland is on-target to become the most obese country in the EU. Anything that advances a healthy attitude to food should be celebrated.

I don't give a flying fcuk whether it's pandering to hipsters and trend-followers if it makes us all reflect on our diets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

In fairness, they've built a very devoted customer base so they're doing something right..

I've often passed by on a wet Saturday afternoon and there can be 20 or 30 people standing outside queuing in the lashing rain waiting to get served. I always feel sorry for them but each to their own I suppose and if someone doesn't mind standing in the rain, getting soaked through for the sake of saying they got a coffee in the HP well who are we to argue..

Hordes of people come out on the Dart every weekend just to visit the shop.

It's also become the "place to be seen" for all the local wannabe hippies and hipster types so there's another loyal fan base...

They're getting plenty of media coverage(free advertising), they've teamed up with Supervalue which will get their products out nationwide and they've diversified into other areas such as the Happy Heart course.

All seems like good business to me..

I thought they made complete eejits of themselves on the late late alright but here we are talking about them so it's served a purpose.. :)

Never got the hype myself but then i'm not into vegan.

But i wish them well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

ted1 wrote: »
    6 stops.
    Bray, Shankill, Killiney, Dalkey, Glenageary and then Glasthule.

nobby gets on the dart in greystones, passes bray, shankill, and killiney.

Nobby alights from dart in Dalkey (relates the thread) nobby passed 3 stops.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

They did a 'stint' at a cookery school I attended recently and while they seemed like knowledgeable and nice enough lads, after an hour they were doing my head in.
    They're way too hyper and over the top and kept doing hand stands to show off they're bronzed torsos.

<gossip snipped> They're just too much and for people who don't eat sugar, I find them too sweet to be wholesome!

MOD
    After Hours isn't a gossip column, so can you kindly keep that kind of speculation to yourself please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

Oh come on,you've even got a fake Cavistons and Jaipur's little brother.

Jaipurs litttle brother done good Fred. Chakra was voted one of Ireland's best restaurants in the last week.

Anyway the point is, most people who live there, want to live there.

They don't secretly wish they could all move to sandycove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I can have delicious,fresh pesto that costs that for double the quantity.

Basil,Parmesan, pine nuts and olive oil and garlic.

It's not rocket science.

I know. But for people who want to buy it it's delicious and good value quality wise compared to a lot of the brands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Could you please tell me what was begrudging and bitter about my post. Why can people in this country not just accept that some people just don't like some other people?

As I said the tone of your post eg saying that lots of people in grey stones don't like them with nothing to back it up. No problem with someone saying 'they're not my cup of tea' but your post sounded a bit nasty and bitter to my ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Jaipurs litttle brother done good Fred. Chakra was voted one of Ireland's best restaurants in the last week.

Anyway the point is, most people who live there, want to live there.

They don't secretly wish they could all move to sandycove.

I know, it was a joke.

Greystones seems to have a similar set of yummy mummy Pilates going, health food nutters who avoid gluten, yeast, dairy and vaccines like they would bubonic plague, as we have in SoCoDu.

Fair play to the Happy Pear lads, it is obviously something they are in to and they have seized an opportunity.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

I don't like these two guys and I know a lot of people in Greystones who don't. I don't like the way they seem to have completely taken over the footpath in front of the shop. At weekends it is becoming increasingly difficult to get past with the amount of people in the way but they seem to think they can get away with it because they are some sort of Greystones 'institution'.

Dear God.........
    Obviously a few issues here as this seems to go waaaay beyond not liking.

2011 wrote: »
    Dear God.........
    Obviously a few issues here as this seems to go waaaay beyond not liking.
    http://digitalspyuk.cdnds.net/16/13/1280x720/gallery-1459434113-15-04-coro-mary-norris-tyrone-04.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Hi Donegal!
    Where even the typos make sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Where even the typos make sense!

How backwards can you get!?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Effects wrote: »
    What's wrong with honey?

Nothing but they called the recipe sugar-free, honey is sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,153 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Fashionable to be seen eating there, or having a takeout bag with their name on it.

I've no doubt they are lovely blokes, and that their food is to die for, but it just seems like a wannabe seen in kind of place.

They have tapped into a certain market (I wanna be fashionable and healthy and seen to be so), and have obviously chosen the right place to do it it!

There is obviously a market out there for the committed vegan/veggie too though.

Best of luck to them.

Wouldn't begrudge them their success, but at some healthy eating seminar they apparently claimed to know a guy who cured his pancreatic cancer on a vegan diet alone. That sort of talk is irresponsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

I used to know the lads years ago when they first opened the shop. They sacrificed and worked insane hours to get their business off the ground and were way before the hipsterism and healthy eating trend arrived in earnest to Ireland.
    They are very friendly and genuine guys and fair play to them for making a success of it, if you don't like what they're selling don't buy it.
    Their personality is who they are its not a cleverly thought out marketing ploy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Wouldn't begrudge them their success, but at some healthy eating seminar they apparently claimed to know a guy who cured his pancreatic cancer on a vegan diet alone. That sort of talk is irresponsible.

It's full on proselytising propaganda. Preying on insecurity and vulnerability.

And yeah, oblig 'I'm not begrudging' bit just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,708 ✭✭✭✭ted1

nobby gets on the dart in greystones, passes bray, shankill, and killiney.

Nobby alights from dart in Dalkey (relates the thread) nobby passed 3 stops.

Passed three to get to Dalkey , but you need to include the Dalkey stop which means you live 4 stops away and still 6 from the other two options,

When people want to live in an area they always shorten the distance to there. Are you sure you live in greystones and not Newtown mount Kennedy or kilcoole?

You should check out there ted talk. You'd feel like knocking them out. Fair play to them for what they've done. They are pretty ruthless in what they are trying to do. Alot of my generation in greystones dont like them at all.

What generation is that ? 2 local lads born and raised in the area , providing jobs and investment in the town aswell as bringing in customers from further afield who spend more money in the town

kidneyfan wrote: »
    I was just curious because I would have the odds of two brothers being gay would be about 1 in 500

It's rare but it does happen.

The Northern Irish twins who run the (in)famous cereal café in London are both gay. Speaking of whom, I'd much rather eat some notionsy cereal than anything the Happy Pear lads are selling. I've had to stop buying boxes of cereal because they are like the food version of crack to me; one bowl turns into two turns into six. :o

Also the Canadian music duo Tegan and Sara (who are also twins) are both lesbians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭edanto

Some of you guys would make youtube commenters blush. Wtf are these guys doing wrong?

I've eaten a couple of time at the restaurant, liked the food so much that I decided to a Happy Heart course and went full on vegan for the month of the course. It's full of good food science, teaches you how to make a few of their dishes and you get to eat loads of samples during the course.

Our cholesterol was measured before and after the course (which was spread over a month) and the average drop in cholesterol was 20%, across a group of about 30 people from 20ish to 60ish. That's the kind of change that can make a big big different to someone's life.

Not to mention dropping weight, I left a stone behind me.

The lads are genuinely on a mission to make people healthier, they are growing a small business in a sector littered with failures and with cheap high fat/sugar foods on literally every corner. I don't know the details of their business but I'd guess there are at least 20 people working at the company and probably more.

The Irish diet is not healthy. It's full of meat, dairy and other fat/sugar. We know that. We'd rather not do anything about it but we'd still like to live past 65 or 75. These lads are doing a fairly awesome job spreading the simple knowledge on how to do that (eat less meat, less dairy, get active, eat more whole foods) which of course is going to run into obstacles in a culture that subsidises meat and dairy production.

I'm well pleased to see them getting a bit of a national profile and would recommend anyone to try some recipes off their site and see how you like the food.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Mec27

edanto wrote: »

The Irish diet is not healthy. It's full of meat, dairy and other fat/sugar. We know that. We'd rather not do anything about it but we'd still like to live past 65 or 75. These lads are doing a fairly awesome job spreading the simple knowledge on how to do that (eat less meat, less dairy, get active, eat more whole foods) which of course is going to run into obstacles in a culture that subsidises meat and dairy production.

I'm well pleased to see them getting a bit of a national profile and would recommend anyone to try some recipes off their site and see how you like the food.

You have drank the kool aid

Denis Cotter's Paradiso in Cork, and Cornucopia in Dublin come to mind as being great places for wholefoods and veggie.

But then again they are not exclusively VEGAN. Nor are they on the LLS and the radio very often.

It's not what you cook, it's who you know and where you live. MIAOW.

What a shame, the grub is lovely in the above places, as it is in many others too.

Denis Cotter's Paradiso in Cork, and Cornucopia in Dublin come to mind as being great places for wholefoods and veggie.

But then again they are not VEGAN. Nor are they on the LLS and the radio very often.

What a shame, the grub is lovely in the above places, as it is in many others too.

What are you talking about?

They are two guys who have very cleverly tied up a corner of the food market. Perhaps the owners of Paradiso and Cornucopia are quite content to keep their business as is and not seek to build a profile through the media. That's grand.

What are you talking about?

They are two guys who have very cleverly tied up a corner of the food market. Perhaps the owners of Paradiso and Cornucopia are quite content to keep their business as is and not seek to build a profile through the media. That's grand.

Did I say otherwise?

But then again they are not exclusively VEGAN. Nor are they on the LLS and the radio very often.

Generally the media would approach them rather than them approaching the media.

Maybe the places you named should work on their marketing skills

Generally the media would approach them rather than them approaching the media.

Maybe they won't want to or need to, and rely on their reputations. No need for publicity. lol.

Maybe they are in a completely different market.

As in chefs with restaurants looking for the acclaim of their peers and diners. Not hipster kids with finance degrees selling beans and granola to suckers.

Maybe they won't want to or need to, and rely on their reputations. No need for publicity. lol.

Haha you really don't get business do you.

You know Google/Alaphbet is the biggest company in the world and there money comes from advertising/ marketing . Are you saying that their is no need for it?