Season 6 Episode 5 "The Door" - "Book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

I get why people are upset a bit with the Ironborn stuff but they're what they've always been. A means to an end. A way to get Danny a fleet. They'll do that and go back to irrelevance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I think he was just repeating Varys' line to him in the S5 E1 opener re Daenerys.

Feck yeah that's right, now I remember it annoying me then too :o just a pet hate of mine. It's just the phrasing, 'I did not say "her", my lord" or something would have been fine. It's a real nit picking thing but anachronistic phrasing like that ("we'll get back to you with an answer" "I'm not sure you know how much people hate the Lannisters?") jumps out at me a lot more than things like time travel paradoxes and the transpetyr

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

There should only be All Bran - but the Nights King being able to touch his body in the past would suggest he has physicality as well as consciousness in the past.

I would counter that there is only one consciousness of All Bran, but maybe 2 physical Brans?

<<head explodes>>

Was it in the past? I assumed that Bran/bloodraven could see the past present and future. It couldnt have been too far in the past because, assuming a) they can go anywhere in the north but not pass the wall and b) they want to kill all humans/living creatures, why didnt they whitewalkerify all the wildlings a year before the whole thing started?

However, whether it was the past or present, it surprised me that the nights king touched him once and then suddenly appeared in real life. Did the nights king have sufficient understanding of timeline paradoxes that he waited until after Bran had gone back before striking i.e. he knew where Bran was going to be in advance but waited until the opportune moment? Or if the present can they move very fast if they want to but choose instead to be slow in attacking the wildlings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭xper

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Can give or take Ayra's storyline at the moment- i'm sure it is building somewhere but I'm not totally engrossed in it..
    To be credible, her period of training in the House of Black and White would have to be lengthy but that also means that for the viewer/reader, there has to be some sort of decent payoff after its all done. It looks like we may be about to come to a conclusion with perhaps her own sense of justice on a collision course with the Faceless Men's business model.
    I would sacrifice a thousand Hodors to see Coldhands on that elk.

Would also settle for Benjen. The hype is real.
    A fella riding an elk might be a bit too Hobbity. And expensive. If they do bump into someone friendly, he'll be on a horse or foot.

.... If balance is a warty willy then I don't want it.
    Theon or Varys might be less fussy.
    ...And Tormund's weird smile at Brienne was one of the funniest non-verbal moments I can think of in the show.
    Tormund's been brilliant in the last three episodes and he's barely had a line of dialog. Aside from the world class leering, I thought his reaction as the Pink Letter was read out was great. He'll come and see alright.
    awec wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking that this is the first major character death that has been a surprise for book readers?
    I'd have thought Ser Barriston Selmy's early TV exit might have caused more upset - I read the books after that season so was surprised the other way around to find find him at the end of A Dance with Dragons uncomfortably playing politics in Mereen in Dany's absence.
    Bambi wrote: »
    "I have an one of the biggest armies in westeros and I'll do whatever you tell me to"

"Oh f**k off littlefinger"

That was an officer class decision right there Sansa sweetheart, the correct response was: "Off you go then matey, get stuck into the boltons"
    I disagree. Sansa has apparently figured out what her father didn't. Once you know you can't trust Littlefinger, don't ask for his help even when it appears your interests align with his own - he is expert at not just picking the winning side in a fight but also weakening or fooling the winning side so that his own position grows stronger. And as viewers, we already know that her instinct is right, that LF used her as a bargaining chip in a secret alliance with the Boltons so he could unite the military powers of the North and the Vale for his bid for the Iron Throne. Ramsey turning out to be a monster, which he apparently genuinely didn't know beforehand, has thrown plans off a bit but, hey, chaos is a ladder, he still wants Winterfell for himself. I think he does genuinely hold some sort of flame for Sansa (as a Cat substitute) but his lust for power will override that whenever a half chance for strategic gain comes up. She's better off without his "help". That said, he is hardly going to just head off back to the Vale and sulk now.
    rawn wrote: »
    Loved loved loved this episode. I'm disappointed with show-Euron as i feel they could flesh him out a little more, no mention of Silence? Also Damphair supporting him which is the complete opposite from the books but it's of no consequence.
    I really enjoyed the wacky different world of the Iron Islands succession story in the books. It helped that I read it after watching Seasons 1-5 so it had the attraction of being completely unchartered ASOIAF territory for me. Now having taken up this story arc so late in the day, I can understand that the show can't give it much screentime so Kingsmoot Lite, no Victarion and so forth I can accept. But the portrayal of Euron is a bit of a let down, the actor's performance just doesn't have the gravitas or charisma (the script is not great either) that would make you believe that the moot would drop Yara and get behind him. Damphair, on the other hand, though reduced to a peripheral role, is a pretty much spot on - you can smell the seaweed and righteousness off him! And the coronation/drowning scene worked well (great setting, excellent score, no dialog!) .
    rawn wrote: »
    What's the deal with the red woman in Meerenn? Is she the shows replacement for the Green Grace?
    Well, at the end of the last book, Victarion Greyjoy is close to arriving at Mereen having fished a red priest out of the water en route. With either Euron or, more likely, Theon/Yara taking Victarion's place as head of an Iron fleet heading east but waaaay behind in the timeline, I guess we are getting a red priestess/green grace combo character to progress the Saver's Bay politics arc, wherever that's going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

sup_dude wrote: »
    A

Did they really have to make Summer dying be so long? I mean, I would have been quite satisfied after she dived into the middle of the attackers (though if we really gonna nitpick, showing her killing several would have been better again), without all the yelping.

Ffs, it went on for about 3 seconds with a few yelps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Ffs, it went on for about 3 seconds with a few yelps.

Not sure why you're getting angry...

I thought (and you are perfectly entitled to disagree without the attitude) that it crossed the line between "ah crap, the direwolf is dead" and uncomfortable.

For the most part, these threads are full of interesting discussion. Then there's the few that seemed determined to get offended at the slightest bit of disagreement with their own views who drag the quality of the threads down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

They did stop to maul her which bought them time running down the tunnel.

I'm not angry in the slightest, I just find all this lamenting over a direwolf that never really did anything and hasn't been seen for two years a bit strange.

Summer died in a few seconds, buying the others a few more that it turned out they needed. There were a few yelps to let everyone definitively know he was dead. That was it.

I think with regarding Dorne and the Ironborn in the books, people get thrown off by new things and read faster to get to their favourite's chapters. Given they never come in AFFC I can see how it would grate, it wasn't great on the first read for myself. Heck, when Stannis was introduced at the start of Clash I was thrown.

Victarion's chapters are great when you read them properly however, his relationship with Euron and his general badassery make for compelling reading. Theon is the most tragic character in the series and Asha's dynamic is very good as a woman strong enough to lead Ironborn into battle. Euron I'm not a big fan off but he's mysterious so hard to know much about him really. Not like the show where everything is so straightforward "yes I killed the king, make me king".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Feck yeah that's right, now I remember it annoying me then too :o just a pet hate of mine. It's just the phrasing, 'I did not say "her", my lord" or something would have been fine. It's a real nit picking thing but anachronistic phrasing like that ("we'll get back to you with an answer" "I'm not sure you know how much people hate the Lannisters?") jumps out at me a lot more than things like time travel paradoxes and the transpetyr

The whole thing is in modern English, though.

I'm not angry in the slightest, I just find all this lamenting over a direwolf that never really did anything and hasn't been seen for two years a bit strange.

It wasn't that the wolf died, why the wolf died, or even how the wolf died.

My point was the scene went just into the realms of uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Perhaps that was the intention.

Why? Because a piece of CGI let out a few yelps?!

Lads, people are entitled to feel discomfort just as much as anyone else is entitled to feel satisfied by story progression or annoyed at the Ironborn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭duffman13

Ah man was picked apart for about twenty seconds soon after, its tragic, I felt for the wolf but didn't find the scene uncomfortable if anything I thought the wolf would have held them up a bit longer.

Still though if anything happens to ghost ill be very sad, my favourite and last surviving direwolf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Watched the last ten minutes of it again last night. I think its the way that the final chase was shot that annoys me than anything else. Its like this this kind of weird, jerky, stop motion chase. Meera and the gang seems to be moving their feet very quickly but not actually sprinting. I dont know - There's a lot of shuffling going on up the tunnel. I cant put my finger on what it reminds me of.
    Even leaf dying .... lying still whilst the evil dead are in fast forward mode around her.

Also, we dont know that Hodor is dead !!! Same as Stannis.... we havent seen a body yet !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Just a quick question. Why did the white walkers attack? Was it to kill the people who created them or to get at Bran?

Good bloody question. Night's King had a keen interest in killing Bloodraven, so perhaps something to do with that.

There's enough reason to believe (in my opinion), that those were the last of the Children of the Forest, so perhaps wiping them out of it was part of it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Anyone who complains about the episode, I simply retort with 'No Sand Snakes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭BKtje

Jofspring wrote: »
    Loved the episode.

It was kind of spoiled though. I really can't understand why people feel the need to jump on twitter and Facebook and spoil episodes as soon as they have seen them. Its so frustrating. This season alone I've seen hashtag Jon Snow is back and last night five different people putting up Hold the Door or I'm in tears, why Hodor. Seriously people, you didn't see book readers splashing spoilers all over the place for the first few seasons so why the hell are people doing it now. It's turned into a race to watch the episode to avoid it being ruined.

cad-20160504-65531.png

Why? Because a piece of CGI let out a few yelps?!

Is this really necessary? This is exactly what I meant about some posters bringing down the standard of the GoT threads because they cannot accept that some people don't have the exact same reaction to every single detail of the show as they do. Did you know Ned Stark didn't die either? It was actually just an actor called Sean Bean. Did you also know that giants don't actually exist? They're CGI as well. Tyrion isn't really witty, it's just the screenwriters... If you go down that path, then there's no point in watching the show because none of it is real.

I'm pretty sure the Dragons are real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭sticksman

Should Tyrion's whereabouts not be known to Cersei at this stage given that he is effectively ruling a city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Its like this this kind of weird, jerky, stop motion chase. Meera and the gang seems to be moving their feet very quickly but not actually sprinting. I dont know - There's a lot of shuffling going on up the tunnel. I cant put my finger on what it reminds me of.

Yes, I felt that too. Its almost as though it was shot in one speed then shown to us in a different speed? Its just a bit "unnatural" looking - which sounds mad applying the word unnatural to zombies - but there you go!

Pter wrote:
    I'm pretty sure the Dragons are real.

With exception to them, of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Regarding the book iron islands, yes those chapters dragged a bit but you still had two great characters in victarion and euron. Vic is not in the show and they got euron completely wrong imo so in that respect it's a disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

duffman13 wrote: »
    Still though if anything happens to ghost ill be very sad, my favourite and last surviving direwolf.

Nymeria is still roaming the lands with her pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Liam O wrote: »
    Bloodraven never explained his motivations for teaching Bran did he in the show?

I always assumed he was bran from the future, who wargs back too far, and is stuck in the roots for the 1000 years.. do we ever see him walking outside of the visions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

sticksman wrote: »
    Should Tyrion's whereabouts not be known to Cersei at this stage given that he is effectively ruling a city?

She's been distracted, no longer has Varys looking out for her, and Meereen is far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

I always assumed he was bran from the future, who wargs back too far, and is stuck in the roots for the 1000 years.. do we ever see him walking outside of the visions?

In the books, he is Bloodraven.

He has the same physical description, minus the roots.