Season 6 Episode 5 "The Door" - "Book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

I think I'm in the minority here, but I'll never forget my disappointment in starting a new chapter and turning the page to see a Greyjoy's name. Euron, Theon, Asha/Yara, the Iron Islands, the kings moot... the whole lot of it was an incredible slog to read and a snooze fest for me. I was bored and waiting to get back to the mainland. I'm glad it got so little air time on the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Stayed up last night to watch it on Atlantic.

Epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

PetKing wrote:
    I think I'm in the minority here, but I'll never forget my disappointment in starting a new chapter and turning the page to see a Greyjoy's name. Euron, Theon, Asha/Yara, the Iron Islands, the kings moot... the whole lot of it was an incredible slog to read and a snooze fest for me. I was bored and waiting to get back to the mainland. I'm glad it got so little air time on the series.

Completely agree. I can't see why other people love that subplot so much. I found myself skimming most of it so I could get back to the real business quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

This season is really top notch. Each episode is trumping the previous in terms of shocks and surprises. Some of the over scrutiny is a bit over the top. Suspend your belief lads. You`ll enjoy it more.:)

I reckon Yara and Theon are the show's Victarion now. Euron is gonna realize he won't be building a thousand ships and catching up to them anytime soon. Niece and Nephew will ferry Dany via the iron Stenaline to Westeros. Euron will take advantage of the current situation in the south. Lannisters/Tyrells pre-occupied with the Faith Militant and each other in KL and the Riverlands/Riverrun. Potential civil war again which will severely weaken both sides + the Martells are on the warpath heading for the Crownlands. No one to defend the Reach and Oldtown. Perfect time for Euron to strike. Plus, it`s too convenient that Sam is heading there in a few episodes time.

Here`s a thing actually. Now that the Night`s King posse has dwindled to three, what happened to the other ones from the WW baptism back in season 4 ? There were 13 in that wide shot with the baby in the center. We`ve only witnessed like three walkers kick the bucket thus far ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

That actually killed me, I was tearing up :(

• Administrators Posts: 56,211 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

PetKing wrote: »

Yes I actually hated it. My least favourite book story arc by a distance.

Monotonous and (so far in the books) without much purpose. At the very least not enough purpose to justify the amount of pages it got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

My feelings exactly... Every time I finished a chapter and turned the page and it was an Iron Islands chapter my thought was alway "fúck!"
    That's not to say there wasn't some stuff in there that I eventually enjoyed... But I agree it was a slog to read at times, especially if I was already tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

First time I cried at GOT, what an ending. Definitely one of the best episodes ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I really enjoyed Theon and Asha's chapters. Couldn't stand Aeron and Victarion's though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Great episode. A few things.

I think this is quite possibly the first major story spoiler from a book readers pov. i.e. I would be fairly sure the Hodor stuff will be in the books.

"Lets go murder them" - is this Euron being lined up as the next pantomime villian hinting at a need to replace ramsey?

That Nights King and his merry band do hop all over the place north of the wall. Are they planning on heading south at some point?

* forgot one more thing - Can we ban the "we have x and y supernatural thing in the show and you are complaining about z?" crap. It's perfectly valid to question a shows internal consistency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Rewatching now, Jesus balls almighty that daenerys and jorah bit really is dreadful.

Also total pet peeve, Tyrion says 'who said anything about him?'. Besides sounding completely anachronistic, every single tv show uses that EXACT line when character A speaks in general terms about a person and character B makes an incorrect assumption about their gender. Nobody ever says I'm talking about a woman' or 'her, actually'. Nobody ever says anything except 'who said anything about him'. Just lazy, tropey, sitcom bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

mewso wrote: »

"Lets go murder them" - is this Euron being lined up as the next pantomime villian hinting at a need to replace ramsey?

That may have been the best reading of a terrible line I've ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

* forgot one more thing - Can we ban the "we have x and y supernatural thing in the show and you are complaining about z?" crap. It's perfectly valid to question a shows internal consistency.

And it's just as valid to question a posters internal consistency. Why are you trying to dictate who is allowed to say what?

Saying you hate time travel being used as a plot device because it leads to plot holes in a show that has magic and resurrection is a bit silly. No one is actually time travelling. One person is seeing events in the past, many other people are seeing events in the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

And it's just as valid to question a posters internal consistency. Why are you trying to dictate who is allowed to say what?

Saying you hate time travel being used as a plot device because it leads to plot holes in a show that has magic and resurrection is a bit silly. No one is actually time travelling. One person is seeing events in the past, many other people are seeing events in the future!

Saying that you hate nuclear bombs being used as a plot device in a show that has guns is a bit silly. Um.

I'm on the fence here with this in GOT, but they're in really dangerous territory. I'm fine with someone viewing the past, but having someone being able to affect or influence the past? It can be enough to violate the entire narrative structure. Closed loops are just as problematic in many ways, as the terminator franchise has shown. I think in the X-Men series a number of films' plots can be considered consigned to the bin due to subsequent (or should that be prior?) time travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

That Nights King and his merry band do hop all over the place north of the wall. Are they planning on heading south at some point?

Because they couldnt get south beyond the wall cause of magic in the wall. With bran heading south, he could/should allow that spell broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

My first comment after watching it was.... "Well that was a bit silly".
    I've always been a big sansa fan, more so than arya, so I'm happy to see her come of age as a stark. Loved littlefingers snide comment as he was leaving...doubt he'd come alone to a meeting like that though. I was fully expecting him to click his fingers and a few guards to pop out if it went south. Dany stuff again this week.. Meh. Arya still getting the sh*t kicked out of her. Euron killing his brother, now off to kill his niece and nephew and nobody having a problem with either... Wasn't buying that.
    Thought bran warging into hodor was pretty well done. Finally get to know his name origin, didn't see that coming! Cool to see the aerial shot of the graveyard and tree where the whitewalkers were. That spiral pattern. We saw it previously I think when Jon and Sam go beyond the wall and find all the dead night watch? Surely they have to meet Coldhands/Benjen now?
    So bran can warg into the past to affect the present... Hmm. Wonder what box of tricks that's opens up.
    Anyone else think Arya is going to become lady stoneheart? Will she take the face of her mother?
    So far season six is average enough for me... Lots of stuff happening but once again all just to prop up some big showdown later on. And for some reason there's some characters I'm losing interest in... I don't think anything will top the earlier seasons for the deceit and underhand actions that were in play. Think we've lost that along the way... It all seems to be playing out in front of our eyes now. Suppose it's bound to happen once we get near the endgame.
    Anyway, average episode for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Thought bran warging into hodor was pretty well done. Finally get to know his name origin, didn't see that coming! Cool to see the aerial shot of the graveyard and tree where the whitewalkers were. That spiral pattern. We saw it previously I think when Jon and Sam go beyond the wall and find all the dead night watch?

Yup

latest?cb=20130416000005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    It all seems to be playing out in front of our eyes now. Suppose it's bound to happen once we get near the endgame.
    Anyway, average episode for me.

Probably, there's probably a tipping point for people that if they see POV characters like Sansa being shat on one more time they'll stop investing in them. They need to turn the corner at some some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Saying that you hate nuclear bombs being used as a plot device in a show that has guns is a bit silly. Um.

I'm on the fence here with this in GOT, but they're in really dangerous territory. I'm fine with someone viewing the past, but having someone being able to affect or influence the past? It can be enough to violate the entire narrative structure. Closed loops are just as problematic in many ways, as the terminator franchise has shown. I think in the X-Men series a number of films' plots can be considered consigned to the bin due to subsequent (or should that be prior?) time travelling.

And just like you are entitled to think (and post) that, others are entitled to hold and post an opposing view.

Anyone is entitled to think anything they watch is a bit silly, and others might think they are silly for thinking that.

This is a discussion forum. I don't think anyone's opinion should be censored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Loved that episode.
    It was interesting to see Varys and Littlefinger taken aback in their respective situations for a change.

I wasn't sold on Euron but he turned it around over the course of the speech, they pushed it a bit too far with him running off to kill the Yara and Theon.

Really enjoyed Arya's inability to forget who she is when watching the play and the sadness when she saw Sansa being dragged off by Tyrion.

My only major grip was with Summer, could have had a more badass send off seeing Shaggydog was off screen, Ghost hasn't done much and Nymeria is off 'gallavanting'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

So I rewatched it and I was more of a mess the second time.

Hold the door :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Having played GOT telltale game on the PS4 I really wanted Ser Davos to mention the Forristor family of the North which the game revolves around where they have a run in with the Boltons also so would have made a great ally. Would have been a nice touch. Great episode all round I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,194 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

CiaranW wrote: »
    I know Brienne said she killed Stannis, but I'm still not so sure! They didn't fully show it after all.
    Maybe Yara and Theon will meet him.

I was thinking the same, but Ramsay mentions he wants to reward whoever killed Stannis. Presumably he saw the body if he knows he's dead

Everyone on boards seems to hate it, anyone that mentions that they hate it always gets a load of likes. I was the opposite, I liked the Iron Islands stories.
    Anything to do with Dorn made me want to skip pages in the books.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

jimmy180sx wrote: »
    Having played GOT telltale game on the PS4 I really wanted Ser Davos to mention the Forristor family of the North
    Glad I wasn't the only one. Really wanted that one too and it would have fit in very nicely given their opinion of Ramsey Snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Loved the episode.

It was kind of spoiled though. I really can't understand why people feel the need to jump on twitter and Facebook and spoil episodes as soon as they have seen them. Its so frustrating. This season alone I've seen hashtag Jon Snow is back and last night five different people putting up Hold the Door or I'm in tears, why Hodor. Seriously people, you didn't see book readers splashing spoilers all over the place for the first few seasons so why the hell are people doing it now. It's turned into a race to watch the episode to avoid it being ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Am I the only one who didn't like how mindless and zombie like the WW's army is? I mean, even if they didn't have the silly zombie sound effects, it would be much better. They used to be eerie in their silence, now I can't help rolling my eyes a little bit. They aren't really supposed to be zombies as such but they're just copied and pasted from the Walking Dead.

Did they really have to make Summer dying be so long? I mean, I would have been quite satisfied after she dived into the middle of the attackers (though if we really gonna nitpick, showing her killing several would have been better again), without all the yelping.

/complaints

Poor, poor Hodor. What a fantastically tragic story line.

Sansa- I really love how she's developed from this whingey, gullible little princess to a strong, powerful woman. I really don't know how some people can't see this.

I wonder if Bran will be relatively safe now until he reaches the wall? The WWs now need him to cross it so I would think they'd only attack in order to remind him to keep running. I wonder will Meera and Bran realise before they get there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Also total pet peeve, Tyrion says 'who said anything about him?'. Besides sounding completely anachronistic, every single tv show uses that EXACT line when character A speaks in general terms about a person and character B makes an incorrect assumption about their gender. Nobody ever says I'm talking about a woman' or 'her, actually'. Nobody ever says anything except 'who said anything about him'. Just lazy, tropey, sitcom bollocks.

I think he was just repeating Varys' line to him in the S5 E1 opener re Daenerys.

I also think people are overthinking Bran's abilities being used down the road to alter the past or rewrite history. Hodor has always been the way we knew him therefore that was always destined to happen to Bran & co, and Bloodraven more than likely knew that all along. So it's more catching up with destiny than rewriting history, as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭Jofspring

2ndcoming wrote: »

I also think people are overthinking Bran's abilities being used down the road to alter the past or rewrite history. Hodor has always been the way we knew him therefore that was always destined to happen to Bran & co, and Bloodraven more than likely knew that all along. So it's more catching up with destiny than rewriting history, as far as I can see.

Agree completely with that. If history gets altered by Bran then technically it has always been altered because he has already travelled back in the future to allow the current series of events to take place, as in it is always destined to happen. Time travel in anything usually wrecks my head to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I think he was just repeating Varys' line to him in the S5 E1 opener re Daenerys.

It's not necessarily about him rewriting history, it's what has he already caused to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Can anyone explain why the last CofT sacrificed herself? She could have just lobbed the bomb at the horde of white walkers instead of just lying down with it.