Are most Irish people thick c.unts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

smash wrote: »
    Is this a dole thread?

They're all dole threads, some however are more subtle than others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Any customer facing job will show you the most ignorant, oblivious, narrow minded, rude, entitled, inarticulate people you'll ever meet.

There's also people who might not have much IQ in the traditional sense but are naturals at conversation and very thoughtful and considerate of others. Rare that you find both.

Cant help but remember in the banking crash, branch tellers across the country being brought to tears by arseholes who thought they themselves made the wreckless decisions. People are thick cnunts alrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Yeah, we have a world class literary history and all that but do you think most of your colleagues at work and friends are simply daft, thick c.unts?

More ignorance than lack of intelligence, imo. Most irish people boil down to "having the craic" and not much else. Completely fixable though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The Oxford guy?

For what they're worth, IQ tests are a measure of problem solving ability. If they were a measure of an ability to recount poetry or quote Shakespeare, I'd be more inclined to agree with you.
    To be fair to my Uncle, it was an arts degree he got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

timthumbni wrote: »
    I've always wondered about how you actually measure intelligence. Some of the so called stupidest (iq wise) people I know are artists with their hands. Various trades and it really is something to behold when you watch a good joiner or carpenter do their thing.

Similarly some of the supposed cleverest people I know are socially and practically backward.

True true. In my first post in this thread, I mentioned doctoral candidates and postdocs I used to work with. People who are going for the highest possible educational qualification and they were insufferable, incurious bores.

Though, I have to say, doing a trade doesn't mean you are lower IQ. I think overall that group would have lower IQ than other job groupings but that's just the average of the group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

Everyone seems to think they're not apart of the 95% who are apparently 'idiots'.

I'd concur with RayM in that the explosion of social media and discussion platforms has led to the "loudest one in the room makes the most noise".

Well, yeah, generally the loudest one makes the most noise. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

conorhal wrote: »
    I think that there's an argument to be made that as a society we're more educated than any previous generation but perhaps not as smart as some previous ones.
    All Irish colleges are dumbed down and feminised. Older people who went to 3rd level got a better education.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Story Bud? wrote: »
    I'm away at the minute, in the Middle East, just had dinner with three Irish lads who are absolutely raking in hundred of thousands of dollars heading up an international IT company.

We might be a bit thick, but we're not stupid ;)

IT professionals must have degrees masters etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Just listen to Live Line or the Marion Finucane panel or look at the politicians elected in this country. Our public services are atrocious yet we spend a fortune on them. Disorganised, chaotic and a bit dim and very passive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Agricola wrote: »
    Very true. My old man left school in the 40's with a national school education. Trained as a mechanic but could turn his hand to anything practical. If something needed to be made or fixed, whether it be stonework, woodwork, metalwork, whatever, he could do it to a level approaching trade quality and often times better than that.

My uncle is a Londoner with a degree from Oxford. Theatre/Opera going, amateur historian.........the whole bit. Guy has never lifted the bonnet of his car, wouldn't know how to top up the windscreen washer. As for anything DIY in the house? They call someone in to change the bulbs in the recessed ceiling lights in the bathroom!

Who is more intelligent?!

The Oxford guy.

He probably makes enough money to have yer auld lad do all his manual labour for him so he can do better things with his time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

bigpink wrote: »
    IT professionals must have degrees masters etc

They don't you know :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Story Bud? wrote: »
    They don't you know :)

Rare in the industry?
    The millionares you know how they get into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

bigpink wrote: »
    Rare in the industry?
    The millionares you know how they get into it

Not that rare, not in IT at least.

Experience trumps a degree in most instances, pair that with professional qualifications, you can do very well if you have the right head on your shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I know many inbred looking thick cnuts. They're unavoidable in a small country town.

I refer to them as 'Micks'. It's ok for me to use that slur because I am Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Sadly id say a mixture of thick and ignorant

Many of course are not ignorant.... But I made a thread here earlier about how people who put " having the Craic" first and the backlash was unnatural... Speaks volume imo

I.think we are all idiots for letting the people who are in politics in there

Imo you want into politics you should have a PhD in political science.... End of

The amount of corrupt b***ards we've let in to government is insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Agricola wrote: »
    Very true. My old man left school in the 40's with a national school education. Trained as a mechanic but could turn his hand to anything practical. If something needed to be made or fixed, whether it be stonework, woodwork, metalwork, whatever, he could do it to a level approaching trade quality and often times better than that.
    !

A mechanic has so many trades involved wrapped up in one. They are dealing with complicated auto electronics, plumbing systems like air con, coolant, lubrication, heating and ventilation, metal work, computer systems as most vehicles these days have twenty to thirty different computers, technical drawings, rewrite and remap software, communication systems, mechanical engineering, radar, sonar, complex fuel systems etc. Most mechanics are trained for 4-5 years and then start Diagnostic training. Some of the newest up to date technology in the world can often start with cars and tie in with military and space programmes.

Generally though, I don't think adults are really all that much smarter than many teenagers - the amount of utterly stupid things so many people believe, and the number of ways (otherwise very intelligent) people can get trapped in dumb ways of thinking, is staggering really.

"Adults are obsolete children" - Dr Suess :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Just want to chime in and say I always did well in school, have a BA and a 1:1 masters, and I spent all afternoon locked out of my house and cursing my landlady for not texting me back. Was texting the landlady I had two years ago.

And now I'm late going to meet my friend, who's still making fun of me since I organised a group of us to go to a pub quiz a while back, I got the pub right in fairness, unfortunately the quiz finished up three days before we arrived.

Academic intelligence is one thing, but I think I'd trade some in for the kind that makes people not do dumb shít like I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Just want to chime in and say I always did well in school, have a BA and a 1:1 masters, and I spent all afternoon locked out of my house and cursing my landlady for not texting me back. Was texting the landlady I had two years ago.

Similar, and i'll still put the debit card the wrong way in the machine then trip over my own shopping at the checkout. It's all about making a good impression, he said sarcastically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Are most people stupid?
    Nope. Not a chance. Anyone who thinks otherwise.... Well.... Is stupid :pac:

But to be serious there are different levels of intelligence. You can find someone who generally can't spell or write their name. Yet could buy and sell you and me.

You can have someone who is actually quite intelligent (book smarts if you want to call it that) but can be so naive. There's different types of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

lawlolawl wrote: »
    The Oxford guy.

He probably makes enough money to have yer auld lad do all his manual labour for him so he can do better things with his time.

You would think that wouldn't you, but bar sporadic contract work, his coveted degree didn't do him much good. As is said many many times on these boards, degrees count for little, experience and real world ability are what matters and he was lacking in both.
    His wife, a woman with an Irish Leaving Cert who emigrated to London in the 60's was the main bread winner for most of their married life. She worked in a 9 to 5 in payroll. But for her, he would have spent years on the scratch!

Also, I wouldn't equate money making ability with intelligence. There are plenty of people who win the life lottery, get a great education and go on to be materially wealthy. Doesn't mean anything. I would view someone who came from nothing, taught themselves a myriad of skills throughout life and ended up being comfortable as more impressive (and possibly intelligent)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

fryup wrote: »
    we're so thick that some of us stand in the middle of the road eating a 99
    It's OK 'cos he is wearing Hi Viz which will magically protect you from everything including HGV's, abduction, dinosaurs and meteors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Maireadio wrote: »
    Well, yeah, generally the loudest one makes the most noise. :pac:

Stating the obvious. Due to all the thick ***** :pac: Ah you know what I mean though. A few loudmouths drown out the ones who aren't pig ignorant and obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

pone2012 wrote: »
    Sadly id say a mixture of thick and ignorant

Many of course are not ignorant.... But I made a thread here earlier about how people who put " having the Craic" first and the backlash was unnatural... Speaks volume imo

I.think we are all idiots for letting the people who are in politics in there

Imo you want into politics you should have a PhD in political science.... End of

The amount of corrupt b***ards we've let in to government is insane
    Yes only people with phds in politics are entitled to be public representatives. Thus only the well off and well educated have representation. Caste ststem would be great too i suppose?. Save the untouchable " idiots" from bothering their betters. God it is bad enough as it is. Jog on.
    Ps the backlash was perfectly natural. People don't like your condesending attitude.

melissak wrote: »
    Yes only people with phds in politics are entitled to be public representatives. Thus only the well off and well educated have representation. Caste ststem would be great too i suppose?. Save the untouchable " idiots" from bothering their betters. God it is bad enough as it is. Jog on.
    Ps the backlash was perfectly natural. People don't like your condesending attitude.

Are you kidding me?

Theres a bunch of teachers and farmers running the f****** country on six figure salaries, and they ARE UNQUALIFIED to do so...Clearly you missed that?

would you let a carpenter do your accounting? or perhaps a plumber perform surgery on you?? No, i dont think you would..but you'll willingly let people who have little understanding make decisions that affect the whole country? Yeah thats a clever concept isnt it? :rolleyes:

Im from a working class background and an currently considering PhD Options..so no..its not about being rich or poor... Any person who would commit themselves to 6-7 years of education to be in politics would clearly be in a position to represent the people...

There's not a whole lot of excuses for being uneducated in Ireland..the BTEA plus fees paid provide the same standard of living as social welfare. In fact, a better one because you can work on BTEA without the payment being affected

Tell me any other country that would give a student near 16,000 euro per annum to study?:rolleyes:

pone2012 wrote: »
    Are you kidding me?

Theres a bunch of teachers and farmers running the f****** country on six figure salaries, and they ARE UNQUALIFIED to do so...Clearly you missed that?

would you let a carpenter do your accounting? or perhaps a plumber perform surgery on you?? No, i dont think you would..but you'll willingly let people who have little understanding make decisions that affect the whole country? Yeah thats a clever concept isnt it? :rolleyes:

Im from a working class background and an currently considering PhD Options..so no..its not about being rich or poor... Any person who would commit themselves to 6-7 years of education to be in politics would clearly be in a position to represent the people...

There's not a whole lot of excuses for being uneducated in Ireland..the BTEA plus fees paid provide the same standard of living as social welfare. In fact, a better one because you can work on BTEA without the payment being affected

Tell me any other country that would give a student near 16,000 euro per annum to study?:rolleyes:
    No they wouldn't. Do you know what represent means? If the government gives people 16 grand a year to study politics there are some who would say that money could be better spent. Is this including tuition? And you can work aswell?
    They don't have to be qualified. They have to be elected. Did you study politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

If you find they're a bit thick just add more water. :)

The government will pay pay person who qualifies just under 10k a year and then tuition (6k usually), forget about secondary benefits like rent allowance, child benefits etc, you'd be looking at 20k plus in certain situations, plus free healthcare ...its slightly reduced for under 26's but not a whole lot (188 to 160 I believe)

Some could say what they want...thats a measure in place to tackle inequality...however a lot of people dont use it as they just couldnt be bothered...plus you are allowed work part time without the primary sum being affected...so again ill say it...there's little excuse

I didnt study politics, and neither did they... but common sense tells me a profession as important as that should be regulated by a body overseeing a minimum level of education...FFS these peoples decisions affect everyone!!

You never answered my question about the carpenters or plumbers either , would you care to? :rolleyes:

I didn't answer because it is not equating like with like. Public representatives in a democracy come from a variety of backgrounds so the government is in thoery representative of the public. Even those you consider idiots.

melissak wrote: »
    I didn't answer because it is not equating like with like. Public representatives in a democracy come from a variety of backgrounds so the government is in theory representative of the public. Even those you consider idiots.

The government is far from a representative of the public.....theory and practice are two different things

Just take a look at the last election..Looks whos BACK in power and look whos back as Taoiseach...did the public ask for it? No...did it happen anyway

No person unqualified to be in politics should be...that is the very reason this country is so corrupt....you have uneducated people with their own interests at heart running this country

You cannot run a collective society with an individualistic agenda...Politicians time and time again put themselves before the public

Show me a person who's put down 6-7 year of education in Political Science and I'll show you a person who has a true interest in the career...not a teacher/farmer/accountant etc who wants the perks of being a TD

and btw, the answer to the question is no, you wouldn't..unless you wanted a plumber operating on you... and nobody would want that