Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are most Irish people thick c.unts?

• 20-05-2016 5:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭

Yeah, we have a world class literary history and all that but do you think most of your colleagues at work and friends are simply daft, thick c.unts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 wofias8

if this thread is anything to go by, then yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Yeah, we have a world class literary history and all that but do you think most of your colleagues at work and friends are simply daft, thick c.unts?

It's not an affliction limited to Irish people I'm afraid :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

It's not an affliction limited to Irish people I'm afraid :)

True that, homeboy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I'm a daft thick cnut.
    But I go about my day with a big smile on my face. Life is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

No more then 50% i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Grand bunch of thick c.unts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭gifted

People in glass houses op ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Is this a dole thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

At a certain point in your life you eventually realise that 95% of the world's population are thick c**ts?

If you never make this discovery then you are one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

If you did make this discovery then you are thick c.unt with notions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭granturismo

... do you think most of your colleagues at work and friends are simply daft, thick c.unts?

Live or work on any other country and you'll find the same distribution of morons, selfish p####s and the ordinary decent people you just get along with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

"People are strange"

Olishi4 wrote: »
    "People are strange"

When you're a stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

You could definitely arrive at that conclusion if you based your impression of Irish people on the standard of comments they leave on Facebook, under news articles etc... I prefer to believe that there's a self selecting bias of the thickest ***** commenting the most frequently. Generally people I speak to in real life have more sense.

There could be a generational thing too, some of the thickest, most ignorant comments with sweeping generalisations and logical jumps are posted frequently by an older demographic. This isn't an absolute obviously, just an observation on pattern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

This thread can only go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Jesus. That's an awful thing to say about your friends, surely?

I've met idiots of all nationalities, but I don't think I'd ever describe someone I thought of as a friend in this manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

Irish are certainly on the lower end of the intelligence spectrum when compared with the rest of the world. And that's not an opinion it's fact going by the IQ rankings.

I think what Irish lack in traditional IQ they make up for in emotional IQ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I think the internet has given thick people of all nationalities a platform that you they didn't have before, so your their thickness might be more visible nowadays. Also, it lasts longer. I mean, if you hear someone saying something stupid in a casual conversation, you're less likely to remember it than if it's been haphazardly shat out onto Facebook or Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

They're lacking,i try not to associate with them these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I don't understand the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

WarZ wrote: »
    Irish are certainly on the lower end of the intelligence spectrum when compared with the rest of the world. And that's not an opinion it's fact going by the IQ rankings.

I think what Irish lack in traditional IQ they make up for in emotional IQ.

Joint 15th on the site I'm looking at. Be grand sure, it'll do. We'll worry about it tomorrow. Meantime, few pints, wahey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I'm away at the minute, in the Middle East, just had dinner with three Irish lads who are absolutely raking in hundred of thousands of dollars heading up an international IT company.

We might be a bit thick, but we're not stupid ;)

Joint 15th on the site I'm looking at. Be grand sure, it'll do. We'll worry about it tomorrow. Meantime, few pints, wahey!

It's not joint 15th though. That implies there's only 15 countries ahead of us when that is simply not true, we are the lowest ranked western developed country

No it doesn't. It implies that our IQ score is the fifteenth highest along with the other countries in fifteenth place.

In any case, the usefulness of IQ testing is debatable, and up until the seventies we were barely a developed country in many ways. The average score of a group of Irish ten year olds would get now would be far higher than it would have been forty years ago I'd imagine.

I mean, the notion that the people of any given country are inherently more intelligent than those of another country is a bit bonkers.

Seriously, be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Diggg

Seriously, be grand

Applicable in every situation, nothing truer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

smash wrote: »
    When you're a stranger.
    Faces look ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Feets

I think the opposite...we seem to have access to a better education system then the UK and the USA. Then there are those that aren't smart but the are smart arses so there is a bit of cop on there too.

No it doesn't. It implies that our IQ score is the fifteenth highest along with the other countries in fifteenth place.

In any case, the usefulness of IQ testing is debatable, and up until the seventies we were barely a developed country in many ways. The average score of a group of Irish ten year olds would get now would be far higher than it would have been forty years ago I'd imagine.

I mean, the notion that the people of any given country are inherently more intelligent than those of another country is a bit bonkers.

Seriously, be grand

It's not the 15th highest, you need to take into account the other joint placed countries ahead of us (of which there are many) to get an accurate picture.

We are the lowest ranked in the western world. That is a fact.

Feets wrote: »
    I think the opposite...we seem to have access to a better education system then the UK and the USA. Then there are those that aren't smart but the are smart arses so there is a bit of cop on there too.

Actually, I think the majority of the people I've met who have been, not stupid exactly, but just spectacularly uninformed or ignorant or anti-intellectual have been English. Could say the same about the most educated, articulate and intellectual people I've met as well though.

Maybe clever English people are cleverer than clever Irish people (though maybe just the accent makes them sound more impressive) but by god a thick English person is something to see.

In my experience you rarely find a well-rounded stupid person anyways, the vast majority of people are quite smart at something. Might be a totally useless something that doesn't transfer to any other area of life though.

It's not the 15th highest, you need to take into account the other joint placed countries ahead of us (of which there are many) to get an accurate picture.

God above, fifteenth highest SCORE. Not fifteenth highest country. Our IQ score shares joint fifteenth place in the world. That and being ranked lowest among developed countries aren't mutually exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

people are not thick but seem souless

And it's growing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Will you listen to the Electro Bitch! are you a bit thick or what? :p

God above, fifteenth highest SCORE. Not fifteenth highest country. Our IQ score shares joint fifteenth place in the world. That and being ranked lowest among developed countries aren't mutually exclusive.

You don't need to be sarky. The way you explained it a lot of people would come away thinking that we were the 15th highest placed country in the world and that everything's grand when in actuality we are very poorly ranked when compared to other western nations (the worst) and worldwide we rank behind 50 other countries. This is extraordinarily poor for a western country in fact the only country dumber than us in the EU is Lithuania!

OK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Yeah but were did the Englishman , Scotsman, Irishman. jokes originate from were the Irishman always comes out the thick one, I personally think it comes from a generation long gone, The Irish leaving school/ collage these days are far from thick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Thread needs poll. But yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

Only the two that were daft enough to marry me.
    Poor girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Yeah but were did the Englishman , Scotsman, Irishman. jokes originate from were the Irishman always comes out the thick one, I personally think it comes from a generation long gone, The Irish leaving school/ collage these days are far from thick.

That's a question with a lot of different answers in fairness. Colonial ideology being one of the big ones. We don't look particularly apelike compared to other countries, either, but for colonial purposes that image of us suited. Unlike many other colonised populations, we're white, strip an Irishman and an Englishman naked and you can't tell the difference, there had to be a difference; and one based on our inferiority, to justify colonial role. Enter the Celt (us and the Scots). White, yes, but stupid, violent, unpredictable, and incapable of self-governance.

And yes, also, for most of our history most of us were fairly uneducated, huge illiteracy and innumeracy rates, and that takes generations to fix from a strong start, which we've only managed in the past few decades really. We didn't speak English and if we did we spoke it funny. We were Catholic and therefore seen as a bit primitive.

If you look at fiction and reportage about the Irish by the English and others up til the early-ish twentieth century, another interesting thing is that we're not always (or not all of us) presented as straight up thick, but as deviously pretending to be stupid in order to exploit people. The 'cute hoor' kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭sjb25

wofias8 wrote: »
    if this thread is anything to go by, then yes

Faces look ugly.

When you're alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

When you're alone

Women seem wicked, when your unwanted

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Women seem wicked, when your unwanted

Streets are uneven, when you're down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

I worked with a bunch of girls before, all either postdocs or working towards science PhDs and sweet jesus. Such a bunch of dull, conventional, uninquisitives broads I have never met. :rolleyes:

Getting excited about celebrities' wedding dresses, discussing fake tan application, and don't get me started on the time they were discussing a girl they know whose other half beat her. According to them, she was stupid and no amount of telling them that this kind of abuse can be insidious would convince them otherwise. No sympathy the woman at all, just smug superiority. I tried to offer a different viewpoint but swiftly realised that it's not worth talking about stuff like this in work.

Usually, in most workplaces, I found one kindred spirit, but nope, there was none to found in that place. Gawd, I hated that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭munster87

Streets are uneven, when you're down!

When you're strange

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭JakeArmitage

At a certain point in your life you eventually realise that 95% of the world's population are thick c**ts?

Hi Thickcunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Hmm.. If 'Irish' was substituted with any other nationality in the thread title I wonder how long it would take for the padlock icon to start appearing beside it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I've always wondered about how you actually measure intelligence. Some of the so called stupidest (iq wise) people I know are artists with their hands. Various trades and it really is something to behold when you watch a good joiner or carpenter do their thing.

Similarly some of the supposed cleverest people I know are socially and practically backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Everyone is thick to some extent. However, you can gain at least some knowledge from most people.

Even the most intelligent make mistakes and people that wouldn't be considered the brightest sparks can be insightful at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

I dunno - you don't need to be smart to be happy and live a decent/successful life - in fact, a good dose of ignorance can make a lot of morally questionable things a hell of a lot easier for you - maybe dumb people are smart after all :pac:

Generally though, I don't think adults are really all that much smarter than many teenagers - the amount of utterly stupid things so many people believe, and the number of ways (otherwise very intelligent) people can get trapped in dumb ways of thinking, is staggering really.