Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

mickdw wrote: »
    They seem to have left out the important photo.
    Nice project for someone in the trade but I don't think it is worthwhile if paying full retail prices at a bodyshop.

One for the pro's all right. Two lads in a shed swinging a sledge wont cut it with that one at all.

Even a pro would struggle to get that tailgate to shut properly again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Buffman

Assuming its not recorded. But it probably is.

Ye, I was wondering about that too, is there a way to record it without having a registration number? VIN I suppose?

Also, I'm guessing the VRT isn't paid, so you'd have to do your sums before making an offer on it.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,741 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

My own car. Willing to answer any questions in here about it for anyone that's interested. €950 ono

OTllMmFmNjJlMDI3NDEzZDJiZjZkNDYwMGNlMDgxMGHb9QHqsErrCK4n2qlBa8YQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NjcxODQyNHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Fresh looking considering the mileage.

Do you reckon it will need much to get through an NCT?

Fresh looking considering the mileage.

Do you reckon it will need much to get through an NCT?

It went in for NCT, and failed on a couple of bulbs (since replaced) a tyre (since replaced) a rear brake caliper (since replaced) and a ball joint on the front left (not replaced yet). That was about 3 months ago if I remember correctly. I know there are two options on the front, one costs approx €30 and one costs approx €90 but I'm not sure which one is gone. Apart from that it should pass the test. If it doesn't sell quickly I'll just park it up till after the summer when funds become available and test it.

It is a fresh looking car. My wife drove it and she kept it immaculate. I've had it for two years, and apart from the usual couple of bushings that go on Peugeots it's never given me any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭carzony

The ball joint is a simple enough job on them peugeots aswell. I done one on my citroen a few months ago. Plents of heat but it makes a huge difference when driving :) Nice peugeot btw real clean looking bus..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

https://www.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/2006-vw-passat-2-0-auto-leather-petrol/11878151

Nice spec and seems to need just a thermostat?? NCT Jan 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

https://www.donedeal.co.uk/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-new-nct-great-driver/11692016

Dunno why I'm showing you this............might pick it up myself!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

GvidoR wrote: »

sold:mad:, anybody know what was the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

€1400 with the alloys you see

€1000 without

There are aneurysm's that would be less likely to kill you than trying to fix this, but it would be fun trying:

ZjBmNTRhN2Q4N2U0YjYzZjU1MmFkMTUyYjA4OGViMjaDRX1dN5F2mh_1m_FyuRIuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NzYxNDA1MXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Its V6. Its 4wd. Its awesome...

Chain let go so needs new heads apparently. Those heads are alfa specific - as are the pistons, valves and intake. I dont think a gm sourced head would do. Chain, guides and tensioner are GM though.

But it would be a cool project.

The cream & red interior trim combination is horrible too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,851 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It looks fantastic in those pictures in my opinion of course.

Why does that Alfa look so familiar...?
    I'm trying to remember if that belongs to an AO member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

There are aneurysm's that would be less likely to kill you than trying to fix this, but it would be fun trying:

ZjBmNTRhN2Q4N2U0YjYzZjU1MmFkMTUyYjA4OGViMjaDRX1dN5F2mh_1m_FyuRIuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NzYxNDA1MXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Its V6. Its 4wd. Its awesome...

Chain let go so needs new heads apparently. Those heads are alfa specific - as are the pistons, valves and intake. I dont think a gm sourced head would do. Chain, guides and tensioner are GM though.

But it would be a cool project.

Think this Alfa was disused before either here or on another forum. The cost of parts alone makes this car a no go financially unless you want to fix it to keep it, in which case, just buy one that doesn't need the work, it will be cheaper.

Beautiful beautiful car though..............but I'm biased

I think I know now why that car looks familiar.
    If I'm right it was owned by an enthusiast who then had to sell it (cheap too I remember) because he was being relocated to the States.
    But this is just a guess cause the number plate rings a bell.

I'm nearly sure it was in the net long ago in it's current state for 3 grand.

Look at the state of the back tires

And its been sitting up a while now

A grand I'd give him...maybe. Madness otherwise

Blame that on GM, they used a skinny chain for that engine. All the other Bussos used a belt.
    I suspect the owner wasn't adhering to the regular 10k oil changes which then resulted in the chain stretching.

A grand I'd give him...maybe. Madness otherwise

I was thinking about the same. It would be a big gamble otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

nd wrote: »

Im due my yearly visit to Mikes yard :pac:

Check out his Renault ads, they're absolutely fantastic if you want some lols!
    Claimed to Ded Zebra, 166man and I that he was a qualified barrister but was a natural born wheeler and dealer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Claimed to Ded Zebra, 166man and I that he was a qualified barrister but was a natural born wheeler and dealer :p

He also trades stocks all night on the laptop instead of sleeping.

Oh he also loves jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Some brilliant stuff in his other ads:eek::D:D:D

That just can't be a 2005, unless registered seriously late. The interior is still the pre 03 facelift.
    The back of it says it's the 2.0 and not a 1.8 and it's Sportivo and not Sportevo :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-vw-golf-gti/12364135

Worth a look, for the brave or foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,819 ✭✭✭Bigus

283,547 km on NCT , which would explain a lot , would give me more confidence in the low price .

Bigus wrote: »
    283,547 km on NCT , which would explain a lot , would give me more confidence in the low price .

Yup, you can be pretty confident that everything has worn out. :D

I'm gonna be letting this go for €400 during the week unless I get a better offer. If anyone here matches the offer or beats it I'll give them prerference.

OTllMmFmNjJlMDI3NDEzZDJiZjZkNDYwMGNlMDgxMGHb9QHqsErrCK4n2qlBa8YQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NjcxODQyNHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg