Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What really obvious thing have you only just realised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

The disease Hepatitis is so named because it affects the liver...never occurred to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

When you buy a door it doesn't come with handles. Seems everyone knew but me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Shannon757 wrote: »

I didn't know that! Why doesn't it have handles?

Whispered wrote: »
    I didn't know that! Why doesn't it have handles?

So you can choose which ones you want on them. My mind is still blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭SuperS54

So you can choose which ones you want on them. My mind is still blown.

Also a lot easier to transport and store doors without handles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,285 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Same goes for hinges. I knew, though.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Same goes for hinges. I knew, though.

I didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

That the plug for the bath is supposed to click on to the circle thing under the tap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

melissak wrote: »
    That the plug for the bath is supposed to click on to the circle thing under the tap

I tried it on mine but it doesnt fit. Must be only on certain models.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

That the name Adam Ant is a play on words... :rolleyes: How I never noticed it before is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

New Home wrote: »
    That the name Adam Ant is a play on words... :rolleyes: How I never noticed it before is beyond me.

Adamant :)

Not Your Ornery Onager

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Adamant :)

A damn ant. :p

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Esel wrote: »
    A damn ant. :p

Once you see one, then you know there's a whole colony! :)

Not Your Ornery Onager

Thought you were taking the piss for a minute! :)

Not your ornery onager

Not Your Ornery Onager

Muffin the Mule is not a criminal offence.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭KungPao

Was arsing about on youtube tonight and came across footage of bill, john and eamon doing the buildup to ireland v romania in 1990. I knew we were, and still are, long ball merchants, but they showed some of our play...and good grief! Our no 1 tactic was to wooooooooof it from gk to big niall or just pass it back to bonner again and again and again. Then wooooooof to big nialI again...never realised how horrible our tactics were then. Really anti football stuff.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Tinder on its own won't light your fire. You need a good spark as well.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Sooooo, it gets better and better. Well, that's one new thing I've learnt today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm guessing you didn't pick up on Aladdin Sane? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,821 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

KungPao wrote: »
    Was arsing about on youtube tonight and came across footage of bill, john and eamon doing the buildup to ireland v romania in 1990. I knew we were, and still are, long ball merchants, but they showed some of our play...and good grief! Our no 1 tactic was to wooooooooof it from gk to big niall or just pass it back to bonner again and again and again. Then wooooooof to big nialI again...never realised how horrible our tactics were then. Really anti football stuff.

Yet Dunphy was torn to shreds for pointing that out at the time.:rolleyes:

Malari wrote: »
    I'm guessing you didn't pick up on Aladdin Sane? ;-)

Sooooo, it gets better and better. Well, that's the second new thing I've learnt today. :D

Not Your Ornery Onager

NIMAN wrote: »
    Yet Dunphy was torn to shreds for pointing that out at the time.:rolleyes:

"Get up the field and face the ball!"

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Any of ye older folk remember this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

wiki says this is how he got the name.

Upon his discharge from the hospital, Goddard renamed himself Adam Ant (Adam being the first man and Ant because "they are resilient little buggers") with Mills renaming herself Eve

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Ant#Early_musical_career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭valoren

KungPao wrote: »

Jacks Lad's were a contributing factor to introducing the back pass rule in 1992 in response to Italia 90, a watershed in terms of quality. It was a dreadful tournament.

The tactics were simple and primitive. Put 'em under pressure to get the ball back, then work it back to Packie Bonner who would then hoof it as you say, long up to Cascarino or Quinn who would try to win the ball so the rest could feed off the scraps. Wash, rinse, repeat for 90 dreary minutes. The 120 minutes of the Romania match must have a special place in Hell. The masterpiece of this particular tactic was the equaliser against the Dutch.

The venom spat at Dunphy was incredible. An analogy I would use would be the same similar venom thrown at academic Morgan Kelly when the housing bubble was getting bubblier. Essentially, it was, We don't want a reality check. Stop wrecking our buzz! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Bucket list. Things to do before you kick it. Duh! Never copped it!

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Bucket list. Things to do before you kick it. Duh! Never copped it!

This thread is fast becoming a list of things I had no clue about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That the Ku Klux Klan were founded by members of the Democrat Party.

The GOP were the enemy. They reversed black slavery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

That the Ku Klux Klan were founded by members of the Democrat Party.

The GOP were the enemy. They reversed black slavery.

Yep, Kennedy and especially Johnson changed that, Lyndon said himself when he brought in Civil Rights that it was the end of the Democratic states in the South. A complete turnaround in what the parties stood for for 2 centuries.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.