Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bellator/WSOF/One FC etc events Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

awful news :(

Bellator fighter Jordan Parsons' career is likely over after being hit by a motor vehicle in Delray Beach, Florida on Sunday morning.
    Parsons, a featherweight affiliated with the Blackzilians, had the bottom half of his right leg amputated after he was apparently the victim of an apparent hit-and-run incident.
    As of Sunday afternoon, he's listed in critical condition at Delray Medical Center.
    Parsons, a Michigan native who had an 11-2 record (2-1 Bellator), was scheduled to fight Adam Piccolotti at Bellator 154 in San Jose on May 14. It is expected the bout will be scrapped and Piccolotti will not have a replacement opponent.
    Bellator released a statement indicating Delray Beach police are seeking info from anyone who may have witnessed the accident.
    "Bellator has been informed of a terrible accident that occurred last night involving featherweight fighter Jordan Parsons, who was struck by a vehicle in a hit-and-run incident," the statement read. "We are still in the process of uncovering details and with his family’s consent, hope to have an update on his medical condition soon. Our thoughts and prayers are with Jordan and his family as he recovers. The hit-and-run occurred on Lindell Blvd. and South Federal Highway in Delray Beach, Florida. Anyone with information regarding this incident is asked to call the Delray Beach Police Department at (561) 243-7800."

http://www.mmafighting.com/2016/5/1/11549944/bellators-jordan-parsons-has-part-of-leg-amputated-after-apparent-hit?_ga=1.99260510.1359424689.1422328970

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

https://twitter.com/SBNLukeThomas/status/727929685536067584

“It is with profound sadness that we announce the passing of a dear member of the Bellator family, Jordan Parsons. Jordan was an exceptional athlete and a rising star in the sport. But more importantly, he was an exceptional young man. Jordan was hard-working, dedicated, intelligent, and a pleasure to be around. He represented all the reasons we love this sport. It is a terribly tragic loss and our thoughts and prayers go out to his family, friends, and teammates.”- Scott Coker

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭dowthebow

Anyone catch One FC over the weekend? That Lee family are a talented bunch!!
    The womens title fight must be a contender for fight of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

dowthebow wrote: »
    Anyone catch One FC over the weekend? That Lee family are a talented bunch!!
    The womens title fight must be a contender for fight of the year.

Mei Yamaguchi was paid her win bonus even though she lost.
    Angela Lee was given a $50k Warrior bonus.

Here's the full fight for anyone that missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Mellor wrote: »
    Mei Yamaguchi was paid her win bonus even though she lost.
    Angela Lee was given a $50k Warrior bonus.

Here's the full fight for anyone that missed it

That was fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Lads/Ladies/People who are only here because of the lucky charms.

Does nayone in the knowif cagewarriors will have an irish card this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

dashoonage wrote: »
    Lads/Ladies/People who are only here because of the lucky charms.

Does nayone in the knowif cagewarriors will have an irish card this year?

Could have sworn I seen Grahame Boylan saying there would be on Facebook but this was a while ago, hopefully there is. Having it all on fight pass is great though.

Could be waiting until the regulation gets through...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,298 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Venator FC confirmed both Mayhem Miller and Palhares landed in Italy for their separate fights this Saturday. That should be interesting to say the least.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Venator FC confirmed both Mayhem Miller and Palhares landed in Italy for their separate fights this Saturday. That should be interesting to say the least.

Appearing in a brand new episode of "Locked up abroad" next week...... :pac:

For the talk of fighters being better of in Bellator I've just noticed it looks like Phil Davis is on the same contract(30&30) as he was in the UFC even though he didn't have the extra pressure of headlining cards in the UFC. Yeah he's most likely made more money off sponsors than he would with Reebok but I expected with all the talk the contracts would have had an increase aswell. I've not looked into any other fighters that have switched, just noticed when read an article about last weeks bellator, does anyone else know if this is same/similar for the other recent switcharoos?

Devastator wrote: »
    Appearing in a brand new episode of "Locked up abroad" next week...... :pac:

For the talk of fighters being better of in Bellator I've just noticed it looks like Phil Davis is on the same contract(30&30) as he was in the UFC even though he didn't have the extra pressure of headlining cards in the UFC. Yeah he's most likely made more money off sponsors than he would with Reebok but I expected with all the talk the contracts would have had an increase aswell. I've not looked into any other fighters that have switched, just noticed when read an article about last weeks bellator, does anyone else know if this is same/similar for the other recent switcharoos?

Seen that myself, I would imagine that will rise if he wins the belt (I doubt he will McGeary is a beast) but mainly the earning potential is massively higher with the sponsors that's what compensates the x/x money. Tried to find info from Bensons first fight but I can't find anything similar bit I'd imagine it would be fairly similar to Davis but possibly more as he was a bigger name.

So Mayhem Miller just weighed in for the venator event against Barnett and he is a measley*ahem* 24lbs overweight :eek::eek::eek:

Venator is sounding like a shady organisation from the tv show Kingdom where fella's come in weighing whatever they want.....and yes I will be doing my best to tune in to watch how it goes.

Me too, its another couple of weeks before the circus comes to town so in the meantime venator :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I assume BT sports or sky are showing this?

According to Ariel, Barnatt made weight at 185, Venator offered him 30% of Miller's purse and an extra 5k if he accepts the fight. Luke currently thinking it over. This is gas. Was supposed to be for the title an all. Mayhem is currently at heavyweight :pac:

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    I assume BT sports or sky are showing this?

I doubt it, although I haven't heard anything. I'd say if any channel were showing it, it might be premier sports or spike. Think best bet is online streams though.

Re:Mayhem, people are now excuseing him by saying things like"What did you expect?", "Sure you know what hes like"....thats like excusing Hitler for murdering millions of Jews then saying "Sure its Hitler, ya know what hes like"

(Yes I'm well aware I compared the holocaust to missing weight, its to highlight a ridiculous non excuse before anyone goes into fauxrage mode)

Devastator wrote: »
    I doubt it, although I haven't heard anything. I'd say if any channel were showing it, it might be premier sports or spike. Think best bet is online streams though.

Re:Mayhem, people are now excuseing him by saying things like"What did you expect?", "Sure you know what hes like"....thats like excusing Hitler for murdering millions of Jews then saying "Sure its Hitler, ya know what hes like"

(Yes I'm well aware I compared the holocaust to missing weight, its to highlight a ridiculous non excuse before anyone goes into fauxrage mode)

In fairness to him he shouldn't be fighting, he has serious mental problems.
    Sad to see his fall, was prob a top 10 WW in the world at one stage, he must be badly stuck for money.

SWITCHAROO! Barnett is now fighting Stefan Croitoru, who is another MW that was supposed to be fighting somebody else on the same card. I think they wanted to keep the title fight on the card. Not sure if they've found a HW for Mayhem

Here's the vid of the weigh in, just bizarre, as if taking off the shorts would help :pac: That little guy with him is apparently his muay thai coach but you just don't know what to believe with Mayhem.

strange alright. What was with the attempted shocked look when they gave out his weight? Was he really trying to act surprised he was that far overweight? Fair play to Barnett, very professional to even do the face off and shake his hand after that.

https://twitter.com/MMAjunkieJohn/status/733670743821684736

Schiavolin was the MW who was supposed to be fighting Barnetts new opponent, he'll be down the chippy right now trying to make LHW

Mayham is really taking the heat off Palhares here

Really looking forward to watching him rip some limbs, he's a joy to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

ASOT wrote: »
    Really looking forward to watching him rip some limbs, he's a joy to watch.

He's a complete scumbag with the brain capacity of a zoo chimp

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    He's a complete scumbag with the brain capacity of a zoo chimp

Absolute dummy but great to watch bar the holding, his ground game is phenomenal.

Leave him alone lads, he's a changed man! He said so at the last Polaris but then he didn't get in a position to do any damage. Saying that, i wouldn't send my enemy into the cage with him.

I can't tell if the last Polaris was a sign he changed, or just how great Tonon was at shutting him down.
    This time he faces a guys playing fancy dress Vikings. He'll rip his leg off if he feels like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

I can't tell if the last Polaris was a sign he changed, or just how great Tonon was at shutting him down.
    This time he faces a guys playing fancy dress Vikings. He'll rip his leg off if he feels like it

hahahah mucho love!!

So is Peter Queally fighting on Venator? I saw be was as of 2 days ago but i found sine live play results and he's name isn't on the card.

Edit: Never mind, fecking sherdog didn't have him as part of their results card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

So is Peter Queally fighting on Venator? I saw be was as of 2 days ago but i found sine live play results and he's name isn't on the card.

Edit: Never mind, fecking sherdog didn't have him as part of their results card.

When is he on? Or have I missed it :(