Sinead O'Connor missing(Mod warning in op)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

redshoes15 wrote: »
    She made reference to an upcoming court date regarding her son who is currently in care on Facebook over the weekend. Hopefully she'll surface to find out the outcome. Very sad the way things have turned out for her. What an extraordinarily talented woman. Hope she turns up ok.

She's also in for a €5 million law suit for defamation after comments she made during Prince's death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Speedwell wrote: »
    Good, it should be, and you can add my well-deserved snide bitterness toward everyone who similarly makes themselves feel good about "doing something" by doing nothing.

Bit harsh no??

people can say a prayer for someone in need and not have intentions of making themselves feel better, your post strikes me as being very angry at people who are religious minded just because you are not, which somehow offends you.

Speedwell wrote: »
    Good, it should be, and you can add my well-deserved snide bitterness toward everyone who similarly makes themselves feel good about "doing something" by doing nothing.

I'll pass that on to my lovely well-meaning granny who does just that with the kindest and sweetest intentions to help people.

I personally might not find it useful, but the intention is kind and completely undeserving of your bitter scorn.

I hope Sinead is found safe and well, and that she gets some help with her struggle and finds peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

lazza14 wrote: »
    F*cking mad yoke is probably in some crack house somewhere.

Major attention seeker , she will be found safe and well soon - be grand .

I don't know what motivates people to post nasty crap like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

smash wrote: »
    She's also in for a €5 million law suit for defamation after comments she made during Prince's death.

I would have thought the USA is the last place she'd want to go considering that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cathy.C wrote: »
    An Irish person with a mental illness is 'missing suicidal' abroad and yet some 'adults' think that's a suitable time for jokes?

Nothing said on here, good or bad, is going to effect the situation either way.

People need to stop being so precious about what others find funny.

A prayer to help the situation? Now theres some funny ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

redshoes15 wrote: »
    She made reference to an upcoming court date regarding her son who is currently in care on Facebook over the weekend.

How can he be in care on Facebook ?

sorry if I have the wrong end of the stick.

LordSutch wrote: »
    How can he in care on Facebook ?

She made the post on Facebook.

Read it like:
    She made reference on Facebook to an upcoming court date regarding her son who is currently in care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

I hope she turns up safe. I have always had great admiration for her music and for some reason a feeling of fondness towards the woman herself - because of her bravery in being a rebel, not caring about public opinion, being independent, feisty, honest, brave. If people would stop judging her on her illness that would be great. All the best to you, Sinéad. Keep her lit.

Very very talented woman who, when it happens, unfortunately probably won't be remembered for her music but more so for the attitude problem she has. But that will be excused because 'she was troubled' or she 'suffered with her nerves' and she's be praised as an angel.

I don't think anyone makes excuses for her, rather people understand that she suffers from a mental illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

She made the post on Facebook.

Read it like:
    She made reference on Facebook to an upcoming court date regarding her son who is currently in care

Ah thanks, its the back to front way redshoes phrased it :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

My sympathy lies with her children. The families of people suffering from mental illness are often forgotten , and the pain they experience is rarely addressed.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I don't think anyone makes excuses for her, rather people understand that she suffers from a mental illness.

My opinion on the matter might be an unpopular one, but I'm tired of people using mental illness as an excuse.

Does she have a mental illness? Yes. Everyone can see it and has seen it for years. Does this excuse her for all her actions? No it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Strange that you wouldn't see people making jokes and off the wall remarks in any of the stickied threads that are sometimes at the top of AH when someone goes missing, but feel the need to in here because she's well known. Hopefully will be a good outcome to this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

Just another twist in a very sad life. Hopefully she is found safe and well (but obviously she isn't) poor woman.

My opinion on the matter might be an unpopular one, but I'm tired of people using mental illness as an excuse.

Does she have a mental illness? Yes. Everyone can see it and has seen it for years. Does this excuse her for all her actions? No it doesn't.

It may not excuse her for ALL her actions, agreed , but it does explain a lot of things she does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Despite the popularity and wonderful nature of Social Media these days, does anyone ever think that it can be very detrimental to those who may not think (or be capable of rational thought), before ranting and posting?

I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

LordSutch wrote: »
    How can he be in care on Facebook ?

sorry if I have the wrong end of the stick.

Oh come on ffs!!

Despite the popularity and wonderful nature of Social Media these days, does anyone ever think that it can be very detrimental to those who may not think (or be capable of rational thought), before ranting and posting?

I dunno.

No. Sorry but everywhere you go there's all this "we need to talk about mental health" and "it needs to be an open platform" but it appears you can only talk about it if you walk on egg shells and have nothing bad to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Saw on Twitter that Sinead O'Connor was more missing and likely suicidal and just knew that there would be a thread on here with quite a bit of stigmatising crap. Well done. (Not meaning all btw)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

No. Sorry but everywhere you go there's all this "we need to talk about mental health" and "it needs to be an open platform" but it appears you can only talk about it if you walk on egg shells and have nothing bad to say.

I get the impression that some people have nothing nice to say - or at least, that they would hate to actually say anything nice, thus giving off the impression that they have a shred of empathy. So they resort to pig-ignorant crap instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ok, I get you. But that maybe refers to people talking to professionals or friends etc. that you can trust face to face, not ranting on SM for all to see whether you are drunk, on medication, or normal.

Just saying like.

Ok, I get you. But that maybe refers to people talking to professionals or friends etc. that you can trust face to face, not ranting on SM for all to see whether you are drunk, on medication, or normal.

Just saying like.

How do you mean? What is "normal"?

RayM wrote: »
    I get the impression that some people have nothing nice to say - or at least, that they would hate to actually say anything nice, thus giving off the impression that they have a shred of empathy. So they resort to pig-ignorant crap instead.

That's bullshít Ray and you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Are we currently discussing behaviours not generally associated with mental illness?

If not, is there a thread you'd like to start about something inexcusable Sinead O'Connor has done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Mearings

Incorrect. Reread this thread and you will find lots of badness expressed. However your apology is noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

If someone fractured the bones in their hand as a kid and it healed in such a way that it refused to work properly sometimes 20/30/40 yrs later, would you tell them to stop using it as an excuse for dropping something from their grip at times? Health issues are health issues, mental or physical.

maggiepip wrote: »
    My sympathy lies with her children. The families of people suffering from mental illness are often forgotten , and the pain they experience is rarely addressed.

I feel bad for her family and friends for the ongoing stress of loving someone so ill, but she also still has had a life of struggle and hardship fighting an enemy within that most of us can't grasp, and deserves our compassion and understanding for herself as well as those around her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

I hope you never have a mental illness, truly i do, as I do not think you would be capable of bearing it. It can be the most horrific experience imaginable - like being imprisoned and suffocated every minute of every day - and it takes insane strength and bravery to navigate through it. Only the truly strong get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Stig Inge wrote: »
    Call off the search. No need. Prayers are being said

I consider prayer to be a useless gesture, mostly motived by a desire to self-soothe, but I have to ask: in what way can any of us here contribute more usefully to this situation than this fella praying? In what way is our discussion here more useful than prayer?

What actions exactly are you asking of 100cent?