Sinead O'Connor missing(Mod warning in op)

• 16-05-2016 05:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,210 ✭✭✭✭

Police are worried about her, troubled woman hope she is ok.

http://m.independent.ie/world-news/americas/us-police-issue-alert-after-sinead-oconnor-goes-missing-on-bike-trip-34719699.html
    THE singer Sinead O'Connor has reportedly gone missing, and police in the US have expressed concerns about her wellbeing.

The US website TMZ is reporting that she went on a bicycle ride in Chicago yesterday, and has not been seen since.

It is understood the 49-year-old went cycling in the suburb of Wilmette.

TMZ reports that police have sent out an alert for the singer, classifying her as 'missing suicidal'.

Mod- Folks keep this on topic or it will be closed. It's about Sinead O'Connor missing. Not religion,not mental health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Poor Sinead is a really troubled soul, hope she shows up alright and someone finally gives her the time and help that's obviously needed.

Her voice is one of the most beautiful and unique in the industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Poor Sinead is a really troubled soul, hope she shows up alright and someone finally gives her the time and help that's obviously needed.

Her voice is one of the most beautiful and unique in the industry.

I'd say many, many people have tried to help. People need to want to help themselves.

This is it.

Someone I'm familiar with spent a lot of time receiving psychological help for a condition, in facilities and counselors, but it wasn't until something clicked in their head that they need to get better that it started to have an effect.

I hope she's OK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

There's only so much you can do for people like this. She's probably wrecked the heads of anyone who's ever been close to her to an extent where they need to distance themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Very very talented woman who, when it happens, unfortunately probably won't be remembered for her music but more so for the attitude problem she has. But that will be excused because 'she was troubled' or she 'suffered with her nerves' and she's be praised as an angel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Talented or not she's a human being, she's a mother, a sister, a friend. There are a lot of people worried out of their minds right now. I hope she's okay and is found safe and well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Maybe Arsenio Hall had her whacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

What was she doing in the US? Looking for Prince?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Seriously hope she's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I think it's a goddamn shame that a woman goes missing and all people can think of to say is that she had an attitude problem. Sure, she was difficult. But A WOMAN IS MISSING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Has it been seven hours and fifteen days since she took herself away?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭100cent

I'll say a prayer for her.

100cent wrote: »
    I'll say a prayer for her.

If it keeps you out of trouble, sure, why not.

Speedwell wrote: »
    If it keeps you out of trouble, sure, why not.

Your snide bitterness is duly noted.

100cent wrote: »
    Your snide bitterness is duly noted.

Good, it should be, and you can add my well-deserved snide bitterness toward everyone who similarly makes themselves feel good about "doing something" by doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Has it been It's been seven hours and fifteen days since she took herself away?.

you are taking a big chance with that post:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I never feel very comfortable with the "people with severe mental illnesses need to want to help themselves" narrative. It allows us to shrug our shoulders and make a moral judgement, rather than showing a bit of empathy towards someone who might not have the ability to help themselves.

Good, it should be, and you can add my well-deserved snide bitterness toward everyone who similarly makes themselves feel good about "doing something" by doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think it's a goddamn shame that a woman goes missing and all people can think of to say is that she had an attitude problem. Sure, she was difficult. But A WOMAN IS MISSING.

Many people are missing. They disappear every day. Some have big issues, some don't, or people don't know they have.

When you are a "Celebrity" it is different. But it should not be. Ever.

Still I hope she is OK anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

you are taking a big chance with that post:D

Since she's been gone I can do whatever I want :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Kirk Van Houten

RayM wrote:
    I never feel very comfortable with the "people with severe mental illnesses need to want to help themselves" narrative. It allows us to shrug our shoulders and make a moral judgement, rather than showing a bit of empathy towards someone who might not have the ability to help themselves.

Unfortunately the opposite side to the argument of people wanting to help themselves is to force help upon them which also leads to a lot of problems. So hard to find a balance with something like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

An Irish person with a mental illness is 'missing suicidal' abroad and yet some 'adults' think that's a suitable time for jokes?

Hope she turns up safe and can preform on more nights like this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

RayM wrote: »
    Agreed RayM, though it can sometimes be born of personal experience. Where someone is around a person suffering like that and it becomes terribly difficult to see the person rather than the condition and after a long enough time you can become utterly exhausted dealing with the ebb and flow repeated until it becomes a twisted constant and normal for you. Basically have to detach or you could well be in danger of following them down the same rabbit hole.

I have been there. More than once. And yes I did finally detach. And yes there was more than a twinge of guilt for doing so. After enough time passed, I had the regret that I couldn't help, but TBH I'm very glad I detached and indeed have a slight regret that I didn't detach earlier. And TBH no way would I go through that again. Fair play if you can, but make sure you have support too. Not me though, I've paid my dues on that score.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Wibbs wrote: »
    Agreed RayM, though it can sometimes be born of personal experience. Where someone is around a person suffering like that and it becomes terribly difficult to see the person rather than the condition and after a long enough time you can become utterly exhausted dealing with the ebb and flow repeated until it becomes a twisted constant and normal for you. Basically have to detach or you could well be in danger of following them down the same rabbit hole.

I have been there. More than once. And yes I did finally detach. And yes there was more than a twinge of guilt for doing so. After enough time passed, I had the regret that I couldn't help, but TBH I'm very glad I detached and indeed have a slight regret that I didn't detach earlier. And TBH no way would I go through that again. Fair play if you can, but make sure you have support too. Not me though, I've paid my dues on that score.

That's a very honest post.

It could also apply to many other circumstances, say where a parent is narcissistic, a sibling/child/partner is beyond comprehension, lots of situations.

You do what you can, and then you retreat.

I too have had experience of similar. Detachment made me so much stronger. After a while I could help the person out. They relied on me too much at the time, and then realised they had to look after themselves or find someone else to do it for them.

It is an awful dilemma for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Most mental health problems cannot be fixed. Only managed. The very nature of the afflictions mean you cannot realistically expect them to know when they need help.
    My own condition is for life and while it can be managed it doesn't mean I have any control over it.
    Give the woman a break. She does not see life in the black and white of some here.

Patww79 wrote: »

You answered your own question with that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭lazza14

F*cking mad yoke is probably in some crack house somewhere.

Major attention seeker , she will be found safe and well soon - be grand .

FortySeven wrote: »
    Most mental health problems cannot be fixed. Only managed. The very mature of the afflictions mean you cannot realistically expect them to know when they need help.
    My own condition is for life and while it can be managed it doesn't mean I have any control over it.
    Give the woman a break. She does not see life in the black and white of some here.

Indeed and it boils my blood when I read someone say things like 'Well, these people can only be helped if they want help' implying they don't and that if they did, all would be well. The best article I ever read on depression was this one by the author Sally Brampton. Never have I read a more articulate account of someone's battle with serious depression. Her wish to be well, not just for herself, but equally for her family and friends too, could not be questioned. Unfortunately though a sufferer of depression has to win the battle with their illness every day, it only one and tragically she ended her life last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

She made reference to an upcoming court date regarding her son who is currently in care on Facebook over the weekend. Hopefully she'll surface to find out the outcome. Very sad the way things have turned out for her. What an extraordinarily talented woman. Hope she turns up ok.