Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

NIMAN wrote: »
    Although not strictly adverts, I find those promo slots for shows (for example, the little snippets of a previous Ray D'Arcy Show they play to entice you to start listening) cringe worthy.

Obviously they try to pick out the wackiest, most funny or profound moment from a previous show in recent days, most of them are anything but.

I find these irritating too - especially if it is a snippet that actually sounds interesting but I have no idea what the show is or how find it again.

The worst promo ever - from a few years back: Miriam O'Callaghan from her awful sunday morning interview show "I can see there are tears in your eye's and I can tell you i'm not far behind you, sniff, sniff". Jesus wept - pass me the sick bag please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

The morbid ad for second hand tyres. "The nurses didn't use second hand gloves, the coffin wasn't second hand" etc. Christ, talk about wrecking my buzz after I getting a bargain in Tyreland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The morbid ad for second hand tyres. "The nurses didn't use second hand gloves, the coffin wasn't second hand" etc. Christ, talk about wrecking my buzz after I getting a bargain in Tyreland!

Plenty of cremations use second hand coffins, at that. Body is in a sealed inner container which is burnable; fancy coffin gets cleaned/refreshed as required and reused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Ravelóid. It's supposed to be an Irish language festival yet there is only ONE word of Irish spoken in the whole ad.
    And it's voiced by two people who sound like it's the only word of Irish they have ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

NIMAN wrote: »
    Although not strictly adverts, I find those promo slots for shows (for example, the little snippets of a previous Ray D'Arcy Show they play to entice you to start listening) cringe worthy.

Obviously they try to pick out the wackiest, most funny or profound moment from a previous show in recent days, most of them are anything but.

You should listen to the promos for the Louise Duffy show. Jaysus.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Also not ads... But those horrible songs for Strawberry Alarm Clock .one was Jim jim, nobbbbeee the strawberry, on repeeat wihile others are current songs changed to bring in strawberry alarm clock.

I can't say his much I hate the weasel voices

L1011 wrote: »
    Plenty of cremations use second hand coffins, at that. Body is in a sealed inner container which is burnable; fancy coffin gets cleaned/refreshed as required and reused.

Now I did not know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Now I did not know that

L1011 wrote:

Heard a guy from Glasnevin crematorium on a few weeks back, and he unequivocally said that, at least there, the coffins are burned too.

Mount Jerome definitely facilitates rental coffins:

http://www.mountjerome.ie/?content=frequently-asked-questions

"Some coffins can even be rented. These coffins / caskets have a basic inner coffin resting inside a more ornate outer coffin / casket. It is the inner coffin that is removed and cremated. The outer ornate coffin / casket is returned to the funeral director for re-use."

Glasnevin doesn't have anything like that mentioned so its likely they've different rules.

This is a bit morbid for a wet Wednesday morning's googling though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

UsedToWait wrote: »
    Go away out of that..

The majority of ads on national radio are cringingly bad, including from big names who are undoubtedly not using 'small rural ad agencies'

2 current examples, of many already mentioned here: Skoda and Virgin Media

I think I covered that by pointing out the steaming great turds they can deliver to one's door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Then after the break they'll cut back to the news where there will be some $millions$ payout for incompetence for some sort of mistake in the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Deirdre O' Keane advertising her gigs, taking her " Irish mammy" voice to a whole new level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Just thinking aloud here, but if I were "Sir" Richard Branson and I were bored, I doubt the first thing I would do is go out and buy Virgin broadband. But at least his voice isn't on our radio every break anymore.

Also, that bastard Kilkenny Cat Laugh Festival ad could result in a hammer going through the work radio.

gimmick wrote: »
    Just thinking aloud here, but if I were "Sir" Richard Branson and I were bored, I doubt the first thing I would do is go out and buy Virgin broadband. But at least his voice isn't on our radio every break anymore.

Particularly as the reason we got the name here was that he *sold* his stake in VMUK to the owners of UPC who decided the Virgin name was less toxic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I still laugh at "ball gag type thing" even though I've heard it 100 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Yeah, it's hilarious especially when it's on at time when little ears are likely to hear it. I've given up trying to report it, as life is too short to try and decipher the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland complaint information that I downloaded. It's not funny even if the kids are not about - it's puerile rubbish that only a pubescent teen could think-up or laugh at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

you should get your hands on a Mrs. Browns Boys boxset, you'll absolutely love it.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Yeah, it's hilarious especially when it's on at time when little ears are likely to hear it. I've given up trying to report it, as life is too short to try and decipher the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland complaint information that I downloaded. It's not funny even if the kids are not about - it's puerile rubbish that only a pubescent teen could think-up or laugh at.

I'm far from prudish, but I agree completely with Del Monte. The ad is completely inappropriate, and it really annoys me that they continue to play it. What's in the next ad, somebody who lost their strap on in the Tesco vegetable department?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

What's in the next ad, somebody who lost their strap on in the Tesco vegetable department?

Oh, I dunno; Lidl things mean a lot :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭cml387

A whole ad break on Newstalk this morning to adverstise the Enterprise train service.
    Three minutes (it seemed hours) of contrived awfullness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Technique

cml387 wrote: »
    A whole ad break on Newstalk this morning to adverstise the Enterprise train service.

Like most radio ads, it doesn't stand up to repeated listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Technique wrote: »
    Like most radio ads, it doesn't stand up to repeated listening.

It doesn't even stand up to listening to once. Anyway, it's only more taxpayer's money being thrown to Denis O'Brien and he's well used to that by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

cml387 wrote: »
    I was half asleep and thought I dreamt it. An expensive ad to run and you have to wonder for what. It's a train service between Dublin and Belfast. Everyone knows it exists. Their trains have been refurbished but I'd doubt that's suddenly going to bring in a lot more people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Kick steps, pallet trucks, safes and stackers
    Lockers and ladders, lockers and ladders

They used to run that AJ products ad at the same time every morning on Newstalk. It's how I knew whether I was running later for my train or not. Still catch myself humming it from time to time.

Kick steps, pallet trucks, safes and stackers
    Lockers and ladders, lockers and ladders

They used to run that AJ products ad at the same time every morning on Newstalk. It's how I knew whether I was running later for my train or not. Still catch myself humming it from time to time.

Ha. Was the VO Scandinavian? Very unusual accent

Just wait til Mark Kellett finds out that he can access his email remotely, that will really blow his mind. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Dunno if it's been mentioned, but that new 123.ie ad is so stupid. The dramatic music with your wan taking about the accident she had.

Then the winning line: "Within days, she had a replacement hire car".

Within days?. How many days?. 11?. If you're involved in a crash and need a replacement car on your policy, you need in within hours.

GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The BMW ad with the tuning fork playing the note A? Described as 'concert pitch'. 'A' is only concert pitch at 440hz. The note you hear ain't even close. It's an F#. And it's not a tuning fork that's heard. It's a recording of a small bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

endacl wrote: »
    The BMW ad with the tuning fork playing the note A? Described as 'concert pitch'. 'A' is only concert pitch at 440hz. The note you hear ain't even close. It's an F#. And it's not a tuning fork that's heard. It's a recording of a small bell.

Yeah, what a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

ArthurG wrote: »
    Dunno if it's been mentioned, but that new 123.ie ad is so stupid. The dramatic music with your wan taking about the accident she had.

First thing she does after crashing into the barrier is ring 123.ie.
    Maybe you should have rang the Gardai to tell them there's a wreck in the middle of the road missus?