You only get one life..

• 15-05-2016 03:41AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭

After years and years of working my ass off in Dublin, hating my job and spending my weekends getting slaughtered drunk for no real good reason I have decided to take a massive step in my life before its too late.

I am moving to a country in Central America. Why? It's dirt cheap, along a beautiful coast and crime is low. When I was younger I went there before and on just a thousand euros a month including everything I can eat out, live in a fancy place for next nothing.

Before people ask, yes I've been to the place before. I am going to quit my job on Monday, sell the car, sublet the apartment. Take my savings and off I go. Ive no commitments here and u know what? I cant wait.

Anyone else done something similar? Anyone besides mynameisURL because I thinnk I've heard him talk about Vietnam a ziliion times :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

WarZ wrote: »
    After years and years of working my ass off in Dublin, hating my job and spending my weekends getting slaughtered drunk for no real good reason I have decided to take a massive step in my life before its too late.

I am moving to a country in Central America. Why? It's dirt cheap, along a beautiful coast and crime is low. When I was younger I went there before and on just a thousand euros a month including everything I can eat out, live in a fancy place for next nothing.

Before people ask, yes I've been to the place before. I am going to quit my job on Monday, sell the car, sublet the apartment. Take my savings and off I go. Ive no commitments here and u know what? I cant wait.

Anyone else done something similar? Anyone besides mynameisURL because I thinnk I've heard him talk about Vietnam a ziliion times :p

I'd be interested to know which country in central America you are intending to go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Correct me if i'm wrong but I'd imagine Central America is a fairly dangerous spot for gringos. Vietnam and the rest of South East Asia wouldn't appeal to me at all. Putin is giving away free land in Siberia, I might give him a buzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

A grand a month? You were doing it wrong...they saw you coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

I'd be interested to know which country in central America you are intending to go to?

Dont really want to give my indentity away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

deco nate wrote: »
    A grand a month? You were doing it wrong...they saw you coming!

Im talking about living in the best apartments, penthouses, eating in the best restaurants etc

Not backpacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Im talking about living in the best apartments, penthouses, eating in the best restaurants etc

Not backpacking.

Will you not be bored out there on your own after a few months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Not backpacking.

Unless you've got a decent job sorted, you won't be doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Go for it, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

I love visiting the places over there but I don't think I could ever live in them; living is very cheap there but unfortunately life is very cheap there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Are ya mad? Don Henley's playing the 3 Arena on July 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Go for it!!!

If you're certain that this move will make you happy, then why not..

Are they good reasons to go? If you hate your job and the routine of getting hammered, would it not be less drastic to try going for a while without getting hammered? I did, it sounds ridiculous but it changed a huge amount.

You mention a beautiful coast and low crime rates. I live in South Kerry so have the benefit of both.

The one thing you don't mention is a travel bug. Do you actually want to live abroad? 2 friends of mine always talking about leaving, sick of the routine, both single and I suspect that's what's motivating them. Which IMHO is not really a good reason. One is very resilient, intelligent and independent and will succeed anyway, the other will be back within a month when they realise that life doesn't necessarily improve on the basis of location alone.

Ha I'm pretty sure you mean me!

I did similar but not as drastic.. Was on my way to Australia, saw how easy life was here and decided to leave that grind till my 30s or 40s.

A friend moved from here to Guatemala.. She loves it. Can't wait to get over that direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

OMG!!!!!

Are you El Salvador?????

Hi, El Salvador! We knew it was you all along you silly moo!

Will you not be bored out there on your own after a few months?

Meet new people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

If you're gonna jack in your job and your flat, fly to Central America and blow €12k+ just living the high life for the heck of it then you're a mad hoor.

Fair play to you though, wish I had the balls meself. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Going to Vietnam in a few months,its dirt cheap(for now), op Id look into earning some form of passive income,even if it's only €20 euro a day it can be plenty to live on,or become a digital nomad,plenty of sites offering $$$ just for writing an article or blog entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Good luck to you. Life is too short to pass up an opportunity like this. I too spent years in a job I hated, getting hammered to make the miserable Monday-Friday existence bearable. Finally they offered me an escape route, a redundancy package which I snapped up.

The missus packed in her job and we went travelling for a year. We soon came to learn that the rat race was not for us and yearned to do a "Good Life" out in the sticks somewhere.

We almost bought a little place in Brittany but that fell through and so we ended up in a cottage in rural Ireland, firmly in the fixer-upper category, with a bit of bramble-infested land leaving with enough left over to buy a rental place in the UK to give us a small monthly income.

With no kids, not smoking and now not drinking either we can manage on a very tight budget, foregoing superficial luxuries. We can't believe how lucky we are not having to work, but in truth have never worked so hard in our lives. Monday morning is the best feeling of all when you realise that all the wage slaves are on their way to work. I pour another coffee, take the dogs for a walk around the woods and fire up the brushcutter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

*looks at time of post*

Suuuure you will, OP...sure you will...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭Lavinia

How to comment on this and make any comparison if not knowing which particular country is in question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

My cat calls bullshít on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Will you be starting a porridge import/export business. It'm told he porridge in that part of the world is delicious.

shaunr68 wrote: »
    With no kids, not smoking and now not drinking either we can manage on a very tight budget, foregoing superficial luxuries. We can't believe how lucky we are not having to work, but in truth have never worked so hard in our lives. Monday morning is the best feeling of all when you realise that all the wage slaves are on their way to work. I pour another coffee, take the dogs for a walk around the woods and fire up the brushcutter!

Every Monday? And all week?

Just how much brambles have ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Will you be starting a porridge import/export business. It'm told he porridge in that part of the world is delicious.

Is this a metaphor ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Op pm me your address myself the wife and 6 kids will come visit you regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

While it might be easy to live on $1000/month it is not easy to earn that much in third world countries unless you work for some multinational company and those companies would not allow you to live as you described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Life is short and getting out of the rat race is the dream here too. Although we'd rather stay in Ireland. Funnily, you say that having no commitments is spurring you on, we were both pretty happy until our son was born and it really reminds you every day jut how quickly life flies by.

Fair play op. If nothing else it'll be an experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Costa Rica or Panama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

To who? I doubt the locals scan boards looking for fresh meat straight off the plane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

shaunr68 wrote: »
    Good luck to you. Life is too short to pass up an opportunity like this. I too spent years in a job I hated, getting hammered to make the miserable Monday-Friday existence bearable. Finally they offered me an escape route, a redundancy package which I snapped up.

The missus packed in her job and we went travelling for a year. We soon came to learn that the rat race was not for us and yearned to do a "Good Life" out in the sticks somewhere.

We almost bought a little place in Brittany but that fell through and so we ended up in a cottage in rural Ireland, firmly in the fixer-upper category, with a bit of bramble-infested land leaving with enough left over to buy a rental place in the UK to give us a small monthly income.

How do you get money to live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

You know what, go for it. If you hate it or it doesn't work out, come back home. Don't be sitting around in 30 years time wishing you had tried it.