Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

awec wrote: »
    emmet said you were a dub with a howaya accent.

Where are you actually from? Kildare? Either way, you must feel aggrieved to have missed out on both nordie and westie status?

He's actually from Dundalk.
    I can hear his accent as he types

• errlloyd wrote: »
    Yes it is technically a charge, I used a colloquial name for it. You're like those lads on the cycling thread who go nuts every time someone says "Road tax" instead of "Motor tax". It still quite clearly says I agree with metering water!

It's not technically a charge. It is a charge.

And it's definitely not a tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

It's not technically a charge. It is a charge.

And it's definitely not a tax.

If you're being pedantic, I believe it's actually a fee. Not a charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

emmet said you were a dub with a howaya accent.

Where are you actually from? Kildare? Either way, you must feel aggrieved to have missed out on both nordie and westie status?

Yes I was fortunate enough to be raised in Kildare.

Unlike most mixed marriages I managed to avoid most of the more unfortunate tendencies of the wildlings

• Administrators Posts: 55,069 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yes I was fortunate enough to be raised in Kildare.

Unlike most mixed marriages I managed to avoid most of the more unfortunate tendencies of the wildlings

Kildare is basically greater Dublin. Do you ever reminisce ibf and think about what could have been?

• errlloyd wrote: »
    If you're being pedantic, I believe it's actually a fee. Not a charge.

Charges and fees are pretty much synonyms, but I reckon it's more normal to use 'fees' for a service rendered, and 'charges' for goods. (meaning that most pay half in fees and half in charges! (as wastewater removal is the same price as potable water delivery))

Taxes however, are a very different prospect.

There is no element of the water charges that could be reasonably called a tax. You could if you were desperate to, point to the LPT being diverted to IW in order to subsidise the cost of water as being a Tax. That is a tax, that was directed to IW as a subvention, shielding the electorate from the full costs of Water Charges.

But no, the amount that people were asked to pay directly, based upon their metered usage, is absolutely not a tax.

Kildare is basically greater Dublin. Do you ever reminisce ibf and think about what could have been?

I've heard the North is actually greater Britain.

It's not really possible to reminisce about things that haven't happened but it is interesting to think about how much I might have missed out on

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He's actually from Dundalk.
    I can hear his accent as he types

Ye can heor ih in his ahcsent wen he talks
    He's a Leinster man from Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I've heard the North is actually greater Britain.

It's not really possible to reminisce about things that haven't happened but it is interesting to think about how much I might have missed out on

Well if you were from the North I believe you have rights to an unlimited amount of referee abuse credits......

I had to torrent Radiohead's new album. wtf Radiohead get your **** together. I'm actually paying for music for years now. Put it on spotify already.

It's on Tidal. So is Beyonces which is also really good by the way (I say that without a hint of sarcasm or embarrassment).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Yeah, but Tidal is awful though.

Teferi wrote: »
    Yeah, but Tidal is awful though.

Don't have a problem with it myself

I was really put off by their initial release. I'm reluctant to even try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Is there any crossover between the two? As in is most of what's on spotify on tidal? Or what's the other one... pandora?? I'm happy out with spotify for the most part, wouldn't have a ****ing notion of paying more than one subscription service for music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I've been using the Apple music free 3 month trial and have found it excellent. Just looked and Radiohead's new album is on it. Will give it a listen later

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Just reading this article from The Guardian about two kids who discovered their parents were Russian spies when the FBI raided their house in 2010. I didn't think this stuff still went on.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/may/07/discovered-our-parents-were-russian-spies-tim-alex-foley?CMP=share_btn_tw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Max Verstappen just won the Spanish grand prix. He's 18. Most 18 year olds don't have driving license.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just reading this article from The Guardian about two kids who discovered their parents were Russian spies when the FBI raided their house in 2010. I didn't think this stuff still went on.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/may/07/discovered-our-parents-were-russian-spies-tim-alex-foley?CMP=share_btn_tw

The Americans is partly based on them I think

Yeah, it says so in the article. The creator has a background in the CIA but it was this case that inspired him. He set it back during the Cold War instead of now to have a bit more action.

I've only just started watching The Americans, it's why the article caught my eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Somebody in a security firm is going to have record levels of 'work fear' tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Somebody in a security firm is going to have record levels of 'work fear' tomorrow.

Better off just not going in and looking for a new job!

Does anyone ever listen to the Sporting Witness podcasts from BBC World Service?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00j2pn5

They basically look at key moments in sporting history by talking to people who actually took part or witnessed them. Some are more recent interviews and some are put together from archive recordings.

There's some really great stuff in there. Always amazes me how big an impact sport can have beyond just the sporting world.

So mfceiling, did you shed a tear last night at the passing of Barbara Windsor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,001 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

So mfceiling, did you shed a tear last night at the passing of Barbara Windsor?

I had to look up the guardian there to see if she died. Did she die on a TV show? I remember her getting her baps out on carry on camping...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

She died in Eastenders last night. I only know because Today FM were reporting it on the news yesterday.

Said baps in Carry on Camping:

mfceiling wrote: »
    I had to look up the guardian there to see if she died. Did she die on a TV show? I remember her getting her baps out on carry on camping...

Sure you did! I remember you telling me you were a big Eastenders fan.

Eastenders and Corrie is what you said! Said ye found big Liz McDonald fit.

Sure you did! I remember you telling me you were a big Eastenders fan.

Eastenders and Corrie is what you said! Said ye found big Liz McDonald fit.

Big liz would take the horn off an anvil....

Only trouble is big Jim!!

Communion my arse...

Get the garden tidied, get all the painting done, go and collect the food and drink, get your suit dry cleaned, sweep up at the front and tidy the garden and front path, clean up downstairs and the playroom.

All this so an 8 year old can wear a dress and get money from her grandparents.

The biggest load of bollocks I've ever had the misfortune of being involved in...

• mfceiling wrote: »
    Communion my arse...

Get the garden tidied, get all the painting done, go and collect the food and drink, get your suit dry cleaned, sweep up at the front and tidy the garden and front path, clean up downstairs and the playroom.

All this so an 8 year old can wear a dress and get money from her grandparents.

The biggest load of bollocks I've ever had the misfortune of being involved in...

Was it not for something about god?